Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1-7, 19 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0012876) of record.
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (5) in which a first area and a second area, which is an area other than the first area, are defined; a first alignment electrode (11b) and a second alignment electrode (12b) at least partially spaced apart from each other in the first area on the substrate [0043]; a coating layer (605) covering opposing sides of the first alignment electrode and opposing sides of the second alignment electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first alignment electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second alignment electrode (including the top portions 613 within 605); and a light emitting element (30) between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode in the first area, and overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second alignment electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second alignment electrodes such that the light emitting element does not directly contact the first alignment electrode or the second alignment electrode, and comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity (hydrophobicity, BCB is inherently hydrophobic) in an area excluding the opening.
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses the first coating layer overlaps the first area, wherein the light emitting element is in an area in which the opening is not on the first coating layer.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses the first coating layer covers the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrodes which are in the first area; and the opening is on the first coating layer and exposes at least a portion of the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode of the first area.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a first contact electrode (51) in contact with the first alignment electrode (11b) exposed through the opening; and a second contact electrode (52) in contact with the second alignment electrode (12b) exposed through the opening, wherein the first contact electrode is in contact with one end portion of the light emitting elements and the second contact electrode is in contact with another end portion of the light emitting element.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses the first coating layer is in a gap region in which the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode are spaced apart from each others and partially overlaps facing side surfaces of the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses the first coating layer (70) comprises at least one coating pattern; and the coating pattern is on a first side surface of the first alignment electrode facing the second alignment electrode. and on a second side surface of the second alignment electrode facing the first alignment electrode.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses at least a portion of each of the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode is in the second area; and the first coating layer covers the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode in the second area.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a display device comprising: a base layer (5) in which an alignment area and a non-alignment area are defined; a first alignment electrode (11b) and a second alignment electrode (12b) extending in a first direction and spaced apart from each other in a second direction that is different from the first direction, at least a portion of each of the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode being in the alignment area on the base layer [0043]; a coating layer (605) covering opposing sides of the first alignment electrode and opposing sides of the second alignment electrode, having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first alignment electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second alignment electrode (including the top portions 613 within 605), and comprising a hydrophobic material (hydrophobicity, BCB is inherently hydrophobic); at least one opening defined by the coating layer, and partially exposing the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode; and a light emitting element (30) between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode in the alignment area, overlapping a portion of the coating layer, and in an area in which the opening of the coating layer is not disposed, wherein the coating layer is located between the light emitting element and the first and second alignment electrodes in a thickness direction, and overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second alignment electrodes such that the light emitting element does not directly contact the first alignment electrode or the second alignment electrode.
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a first contact electrode (51) in contact with the first alignment electrode exposed through the opening; and a second contact electrode (52) in contact with the second alignment electrode exposed through the opening, wherein the first contact electrode is in contact with one end portion of the light emitting elements (30) and the second contact electrode is in contact with another end portion of the light emitting element.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim0 (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0018190) of record, in view of Negishi (CN 102782892, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 1 of Kim0 discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (11) in which a first area and a second area, which is an area other than the first area, are defined; a first electrode (left 15) and a second electrode (right 15) at least partially spaced apart from each other in the first area on the substrate [0037]; a coating layer (111) covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode; and a light emitting element (21) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the first area, and overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes such that the light emitting element does not directly contact the first electrode or the second electrode, and comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity (SiO2 is hydrophilic) in an area excluding the opening.
Kim0 does not explicitly discloses the light emitting element is aligned by the first electrode and the second electrode.
However, the term “alignment” is functional. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Furthermore, FIG. 109 of Negishi discloses a similar display device, wherein the light emitting element (910) is aligned by the first electrode and the second electrode [0096].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim0, as taught by Negishi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim0 in the above manner for purpose of improving alignment accuracy ([0096] of Negishi).
Claims 1, 8 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0090510) of record, in view of Imazu (WO 2013115379, machine-translation provided).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 12 of Chen discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (100) in which a first area and a second area, which is an area other than the first area, are defined; a first electrode (140-1) and a second electrode (140-2) at least partially spaced apart from each other in the first area on the substrate; a coating layer (130) covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode; and a light emitting element (LED) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the first area, and overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes such that the light emitting element does not directly contact the first electrode or the second electrode, and comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity (Silicon Oxide is hydrophilic) in an area excluding the opening.
Chen does not explicitly discloses the light emitting element is aligned by the first electrode and the second electrode.
However, the term “alignment” is functional. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Furthermore, FIG. 8 of Imazu discloses a similar display device, wherein the light emitting element (16) is aligned by the first electrode (11) and the second electrode (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Imazu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving luminous efficiency ([0083] of Imazu).
Regarding Claim 8
FIG. 12 of Chen discloses the coating layer comprises a material (110) having a second polarity (hydrophobic) that is opposite to the first polarity (hydrophilic) and a second coating layer in the first area; and the light emitting element is on the second coating layer.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 12 of Chen discloses a display device comprising: a base layer (100) in which an alignment area and a non-alignment area are defined; a first electrode (140-1) and a second electrode (140-2) extending in a first direction and spaced apart from each other in a second direction that is different from the first direction, at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode being in the alignment area on the base layer; a coating layer (110) covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode, having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode, and comprising a hydrophobic material (Silicon Nitride is hydrophobic); at least one opening defined by the coating layer, and partially exposing the first alignment electrode and the second electrode; and a light emitting element (LED) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the alignment area, overlapping a portion of the coating layer, and in an area in which the opening of the coating layer is not disposed, wherein the coating layer is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, and overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes such that the light emitting element does not directly contact the first electrode or the second electrode.
Chen does not explicitly discloses the light emitting element is aligned by the first electrode and the second electrode.
However, the term “alignment” is functional. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims< directed to >an< apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. >In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Furthermore, FIG. 8 of Imazu discloses a similar display device, wherein the light emitting element (16) is aligned by the first electrode (11) and the second electrode (12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Chen, as taught by Imazu. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Chen in the above manner for purpose of improving luminous efficiency ([0083] of Imazu).
Claims 8, 9 and 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Jung (KR 20060006121) of record, in view of Do (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0172339) of record
Regarding Claim 8
Kim discloses Claim 7.
Kim is silent with respect to “the coating layer comprises a material having a second polarity that is opposite to the first polarity” and “a second coating layer in the first area; and the light emitting element is on the second coating layer”.
FIG. 6 Jung discloses a similar display device, wherein the coating layer comprises a material (440) having a second polarity (442 has hydrophilicity) that is opposite to the first polarity (hydrophobic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Jung. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner in order that the solution can better enter into the opening.
Modified Kim is silent with respect to “a second coating layer in the first area; and the light emitting element is on the second coating layer”.
FIG. 5 Do discloses a similar display device, comprising a second coating layer (40) in the first area; and the light emitting element is on the second coating layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Do. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of preventing the LED devices from being aggregated ([0112] of Do).
Regarding Claim 9
Jung discloses the first polarity is hydrophobic (425), and the second polarity is hydrophilic (442).
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Kim discloses the second coating layer is to cover the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrodes which are in the first area; and the opening is on the second coating layers and exposes at least a portion of each of the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrode of the first area.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 5 Do discloses the second coating layer is in a gap region between the first alignment electrode and the second alignment electrodes which are in the first area
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 14 of Inoue discloses the second coating layer partially overlaps facing side surfaces of the first alignment electrode (146) and the second alignment electrode.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Jung and Do, in view of Kuma (CN 100474654) of record.
Regarding Claim 10
Kim as modified by Jung and Do discloses Claim 9.
Kim as modified by Jung and Do is silent with respect to “the first coating layer comprises a polymer containing fluorine”.
Kuma discloses a similar coating layer, wherein the first coating layer comprises a polymer containing fluorine (Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Kuma. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner, because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values (hydrophobic), MPEP 2144.06.
Pertinent Art
Shibata (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0326181) discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (200) in which a first area and a second area, which is an area other than the first area, are defined; a first electrode (401) and a second electrode (402) at least partially spaced apart from each other in the first area on the substrate; a coating layer (420) covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode on the substrate; and at least one light emitting element (410) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the first area. Hung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0276293) discloses a second coating layer in the first area; and the light emitting element is on the second coating layer, wherein: the second coating layer is to cover the first electrode and the second electrodes which are in the first area. Tanaka (JP 2004233929) discloses a coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity and a second polarity that is opposite to the first polarity, wherein the first polarity is hydrophobic and the second polarity is hydrophilic. Zhang (CN 103515500) discloses a coating layer covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode on the substrate; and a light emitting element, wherein the coating layer located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction. Kimura (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2008/0191227), KR 20160050341,
Kang (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0366615), 20220173160, 20170194541, and KR 101436123
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897