Detailed Action
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0012876) of record, in view of Li (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2011/0006322).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (5) in which a first area and a second area, which is an area other than the first area, are defined; a first electrode (11b) and a second electrode (12b) at least partially spaced apart from each other in the first area on the substrate; a coating layer (70) covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode on the substrate; and a light emitting element (30) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the first area, wherein the coating layer comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity in an area (hydrophobicity [[0054]).
Kim is silent with respect the light emitting element “overlapping a portion of the coating layer”; “a coating layer covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode” and the coating layer “is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes”.
FIG. 1 of Li discloses a similar display device, comprising a coating layer (6) covering opposing sides of the first electrode (32) and opposing sides of the second electrode (33); and at least one light emitting element (10-12) overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Li. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of preventing short circuit ([0004] of Li).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a display device comprising: a base layer (5) in which an alignment area and a non-alignment area are defined; a first electrode (11b) and a second electrode(12b) extending in a first direction and spaced apart from each other in a second direction that is different from the first direction, at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode being in the alignment area on the base layer; a coating layer (70) covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode; at least one opening defined by the coating layer, and partially exposing the first electrode and the second electrode; and a light emitting element (30) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the alignment area, and in an area in which the opening of the coating layer is not disposed, wherein the coating layer comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity in an area (hydrophobicity [[0054]).
Kim is silent with respect the light emitting element “overlapping a portion of the coating layer”; “a coating layer covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode” and the coating layer “is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes”.
FIG. 1 of LI discloses a similar display device, comprising a coating layer (6) covering opposing sides of the first electrode (32) and opposing sides of the second electrode (33); and at least one light emitting element (10-12) overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Li. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of preventing short circuit ([0004] of Li).
Claims 1-7, 19 and 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2018/0012876) of record, in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0090510).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (5) in which a first area and a second area, which is an area other than the first area, are defined; a first electrode (11b) and a second electrode (12b) at least partially spaced apart from each other in the first area on the substrate; a coating layer (70) covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode on the substrate; and a light emitting element (30) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the first area, wherein the coating layer comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity in an area (hydrophobicity [[0054]).
Kim is silent with respect the light emitting element “overlapping a portion of the coating layer”; “a coating layer covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode” and the coating layer “is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes”.
FIG. 12 of Chen discloses a similar display device, comprising a coating layer (110-130) covering opposing sides of the first electrode (140-1) and opposing sides of the second electrode (140-2); and at least one light emitting element (160) overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Chen. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of enhancing heat dissipation efficiency ([0010] of Chen).
Regarding Claim 2
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses the first coating layer overlaps the first area, wherein the light emitting element is in an area in which the opening is not on the first coating layer.
Regarding Claim 3
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses the first coating layer covers the first electrode and the second electrodes which are in the first area; and the opening is on the first coating layer and exposes at least a portion of the first electrode and the second electrode of the first area.
Regarding Claim 4
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a first contact electrode (51) in contact with the first electrode (11b) exposed through the opening; and a second contact electrode (52) in contact with the second electrode (12b) exposed through the opening, wherein the first contact electrode is in contact with one end portion of the light emitting elements and the second contact electrode is in contact with another end portion of the light emitting element.
Regarding Claim 5
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses the first coating layer is in a gap region in which the first electrode and the second electrode are spaced apart from each others and partially overlaps facing side surfaces of the first electrode and the second electrode.
Regarding Claim 6
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses the first coating layer (70) comprises at least one coating pattern; and the coating pattern is on a first side surface of the first electrode facing the second electrode. and on a second side surface of the second electrode facing the first electrode.
Regarding Claim 7
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode is in the second area; and the first coating layer covers the first electrode and the second electrode in the second area.
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a display device comprising: a base layer (5) in which an alignment area and a non-alignment area are defined; a first electrode (11b) and a second electrode(12b) extending in a first direction and spaced apart from each other in a second direction that is different from the first direction, at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode being in the alignment area on the base layer; a coating layer (70) covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode; at least one opening defined by the coating layer, and partially exposing the first electrode and the second electrode; and a light emitting element (30) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the alignment area, and in an area in which the opening of the coating layer is not disposed, wherein the coating layer comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity in an area (hydrophobicity [[0054]).
Kim is silent with respect the light emitting element “overlapping a portion of the coating layer”; “a coating layer covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode” and the coating layer “is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes”.
FIG. 12 of Chen discloses a similar display device, comprising a coating layer (110-130) covering opposing sides of the first electrode (140-1) and opposing sides of the second electrode (140-2); and at least one light emitting element (160) overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Chen. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of enhancing heat dissipation efficiency ([0010] of Chen).
Regarding Claim 20
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a first contact electrode (51) in contact with the first electrode exposed through the opening; and a second contact electrode (52) in contact with the second electrode exposed through the opening, wherein the first contact electrode is in contact with one end portion of the light emitting elements (30) and the second contact electrode is in contact with another end portion of the light emitting element.
Claims 1 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Kim0 (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2007/0018190).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (5) in which a first area and a second area, which is an area other than the first area, are defined; a first electrode (11b) and a second electrode (12b) at least partially spaced apart from each other in the first area on the substrate; a coating layer (70) covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode on the substrate; and at least one light emitting element (30) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the first area, wherein the coating layer comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity in an area (hydrophobicity [[0054]).
Kim is silent with respect the light emitting element “overlapping a portion of the coating layer”; “a coating layer covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode” and the coating layer “is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes”.
FIG. 1 of Kim0 discloses a similar display device, comprising a coating layer (111) covering opposing sides of the first electrode (left 115) and opposing sides of the second electrode (right 115); and at least one light emitting element (21) overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Kim0. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of improving LED’s operational properties and reliability ([0007] of Kim0).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a display device comprising: a base layer (5) in which an alignment area and a non-alignment area are defined; a first electrode (11b) and a second electrode(12b) extending in a first direction and spaced apart from each other in a second direction that is different from the first direction, at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode being in the alignment area on the base layer; a coating layer (70) covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode; at least one opening defined by the coating layer, and partially exposing the first electrode and the second electrode; and a light emitting element (30) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the alignment area, and in an area in which the opening of the coating layer is not disposed, wherein the coating layer comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity in an area (hydrophobicity [[0054]).
Kim is silent with respect the light emitting element “overlapping a portion of the coating layer”; “a coating layer covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode” and the coating layer “is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes”.
FIG. 1 of Kim0 discloses a similar display device, comprising a coating layer (111) covering opposing sides of the first electrode (left 115) and opposing sides of the second electrode (right 115); and at least one light emitting element (21) overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Kim0. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of improving LED’s operational properties and reliability ([0007] of Kim0).
Claims 1 and 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, in view of Lin (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2010/0237378).
Regarding Claim 1
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (5) in which a first area and a second area, which is an area other than the first area, are defined; a first electrode (11b) and a second electrode (12b) at least partially spaced apart from each other in the first area on the substrate; a coating layer (70) covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode on the substrate; and at least one light emitting element (30) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the first area, wherein the coating layer comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity in an area (hydrophobicity [[0054]).
Kim is silent with respect the light emitting element “overlapping a portion of the coating layer”; “a coating layer covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode” and the coating layer “is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes”.
FIG. 2 of Lin discloses a similar display device, comprising a coating layer (218) covering opposing sides of the first electrode (left 208) and opposing sides of the second electrode (right 208); and at least one light emitting element (216) overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Lin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of improving reliability of high power LEDs ([0005] of Lin).
Regarding Claim 19
FIG. 18 of Kim discloses a display device comprising: a base layer (5) in which an alignment area and a non-alignment area are defined; a first electrode (11b) and a second electrode(12b) extending in a first direction and spaced apart from each other in a second direction that is different from the first direction, at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode being in the alignment area on the base layer; a coating layer (70) covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode; at least one opening defined by the coating layer, and partially exposing the first electrode and the second electrode; and a light emitting element (30) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the alignment area, and in an area in which the opening of the coating layer is not disposed, wherein the coating layer comprises a first coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity in an area (hydrophobicity [[0054]).
Kim is silent with respect the light emitting element “overlapping a portion of the coating layer”; “a coating layer covering opposing sides of the first electrode and opposing sides of the second electrode above the substrate, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode” and the coating layer “is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes”.
FIG. 2 of Lin discloses a similar display device, comprising a coating layer (218) covering opposing sides of the first electrode (left 208) and opposing sides of the second electrode (right 208); and at least one light emitting element (216) overlapping a portion of the coating layer, wherein the coating layer defines an opening exposing at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode, is located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction, and having a thickness that is less than a thickness of the first electrode and that is less than a thickness of the second electrode, overlaps an entirety of the light emitting element in the thickness direction to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Lin. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of improving reliability of high power LEDs ([0005] of Lin).
Claims 8, 9 and 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Kim0, in view of Jung (KR 20060006121) of record, in view of Do (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0172339) of record
Regarding Claim 8
Kim as modified by Kim0 discloses Claim 7.
Kim as modified by Kim0 is silent with respect to “the coating layer comprises a material having a second polarity that is opposite to the first polarity” and “a second coating layer in the first area; and the light emitting element is on the second coating layer”.
FIG. 6 Jung discloses a similar display device, wherein the coating layer comprises a material (440) having a second polarity (442 has hydrophilicity) that is opposite to the first polarity (hydrophobic).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Jung. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner in order that the solution can better enter into the opening.
Modified Kim is silent with respect to “a second coating layer in the first area; and the light emitting element is on the second coating layer”.
FIG. 5 Do discloses a similar display device, comprising a second coating layer (40) in the first area; and the light emitting element is on the second coating layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Do. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner for purpose of preventing the LED devices from being aggregated ([0112] of Do).
Regarding Claim 9
Jung discloses the first polarity is hydrophobic (425), and the second polarity is hydrophilic (442).
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Kim discloses the second coating layer is to cover the first electrode and the second electrodes which are in the first area; and the opening is on the second coating layers and exposes at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode of the first area.
Regarding Claim 12
FIG. 5 Do discloses the second coating layer is in a gap region between the first electrode and the second electrodes which are in the first area
Regarding Claim 13
FIG. 14 of Inoue discloses the second coating layer partially overlaps facing side surfaces of the first electrode (146) and the second electrode.
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, Kim0, Jung and Do, in view of Kuma (CN 100474654) of record.
Regarding Claim 10
Kim as modified by Kim0, Jung and Do discloses Claim 9.
Kim as modified by Kim0, Jung and Do is silent with respect to “the first coating layer comprises a polymer containing fluorine”.
Kuma discloses a similar coating layer, wherein the first coating layer comprises a polymer containing fluorine (Claim 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim, as taught by Kuma. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Kim in the above manner, because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values (hydrophobic), MPEP 2144.06.
Pertinent Art
Shibata (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2012/0326181) discloses a display device comprising: a substrate (200) in which a first area and a second area, which is an area other than the first area, are defined; a first electrode (401) and a second electrode (402) at least partially spaced apart from each other in the first area on the substrate; a coating layer (420) covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode on the substrate; and at least one light emitting element (410) between the first electrode and the second electrode in the first area. Hung (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2016/0276293) discloses a second coating layer in the first area; and the light emitting element is on the second coating layer, wherein: the second coating layer is to cover the first electrode and the second electrodes which are in the first area. Tanaka (JP 2004233929) discloses a coating layer comprising a material having a first polarity and a second polarity that is opposite to the first polarity, wherein the first polarity is hydrophobic and the second polarity is hydrophilic. Zhang (CN 103515500) discloses a coating layer covering at least a portion of each of the first electrode and the second electrode on the substrate; and a light emitting element, wherein the coating layer located between the light emitting element and the first and second electrodes in a thickness direction. Kimura (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2008/0191227) and KR 20160050341
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Claims 1 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. The Examiner further notes that the limitation “to physically separate the light emitting element from the first and second electrodes” requires the first and second electrodes do not directly contact the light emitting element.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG-BAI ZHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897