DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,5-8,10-11,14-20,24-27,29 and 32-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references/or references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the Applicant has amended the claims to add an intermediate plate and the first set of holes are not arranged in a concentric pattern on the faceplate of the showerhead, and wherein the second set of holes are arranged in a concentric pattern on the faceplate of the showerhead such that the scope of the claims has changed, thus requiring further search and consideration. The resulting rejection, based on United States Patent Application No. 2009/0095222 to Tam et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2014/0026816 to Myo et al and United States Patent Application No. 2011/0186228 to Huang et al and United States Patent Application No. 2017/0167024 to Wiltse et al is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-8, 10, 11, 14-20, 24-27, 29, 32-34 and 37-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2009/0095222 to Tam et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2014/0026816 to Myo et al and United States Patent Application No. 2011/0186228 to Huang et al and United States Patent Application No. 2017/0167024 to Wiltse et al.
In regards to Claim 1, Tam teaches a deposition tool Fig. 1A-2F, comprising: a processing chamber 102; a substrate holder 114 configured to hold a substrate 140 within the processing chamber; and a showerhead 104 having a faceplate 153, the showerhead comprising :a first plenum 131/161; a first chamber 144 provided immediately behind a backside of the faceplate; a first set of holes 156 formed through the faceplate and in fluid communication with the first chamber 144, the first set of holes configured to distribute a first gas 154 into the processing chamber (from 131); a second plenum 132; a second chamber 145 arranged such that the first chamber is provided between the second chamber and the backside of the faceplate; an intermediate plate positioned between the first chamber and the second chamber (as shown below) a second set of holes formed 157 through the faceplate and which are in fluid communication with the second chamber via a plurality of protrusions 147, 143 that extend through and are surrounded by the first chamber (as shown in 144 Fig. 2A surrounding 142/143), wherein the plurality of protrusions are integrated with the backside of the faceplate (as the showerhead is electroformed to reduce the number of parts to be formed and as shown in the consistent slashed lines of 143, 153 to 147 Fig. 2A [0061]) and contact an intermediate plate 210, and the second set of holes extend through the plurality of protrusions to align with a corresponding plurality of holes of the intermediate plate to thereby extend to the second chamber (as shown in Fig. 1B, 2A); the second set of holes 157 configured to distribute a second gas 155 (from 132) into the processing chamber [0028-0091].
Tam does not expressly teach wherein for at least one protrusion of the plurality of protrusions, the second set of holes comprises at least two holes extending through the protrusion that have a closer spacing than adjacent holes of the first set of holes.
Myo teaches a showerhead 107 Fig. 4, 3C, wherein the arcuate protrusions 216 have a plurality of holes 312 [0037, 0046] that are closer together than the individual holes (as shown in Fig. 3C, see hole spacing of 324 vs 312 vs 224) [0019-0057]. Myo expressly teaches that the non-form conduit disposition in the walls/arcuate portions achieves a desired process condition in the process chamber [0046].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Tam and changing the hole arrangement and spacing by making the protrusions have more than one hole, as shown in the teachings of Myo and making them closer than those not in the protrusion. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of achieving a desired process condition in the process chamber, as shown in Myo. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
Tam in view of Myo does not expressly teach the plurality of protrusions are integrated with the backside of the faceplate and extend from the backside of the faceplate into contact with an intermediate plate and the second set of holes extend from the faceplate through the plurality of protrusions to align with the corresponding plurality of holes of the intermediate plate to thereby extend to the second chamber.
Huang teaches a showerhead Fig. 4A-4E, comprising a faceplate 310, a first chamber behind the first plate, protrusion 211 that has a second set of holes therein, the protrusions are integrated with the faceplate and extend from the backside of the faceplate into contact with an intermediate plate, the second set of holes extend from the faceplate through the plurality of protrusions to align with a corresponding plurality of holes of the intermediate plate 230 to thereby extend to the extend to the second chamber [0018-0028], as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 4E below:
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, the protrusions integrated with the faceplate that extends through the intermediate plate from the backside of the faceplate into contact with an intermediate plate and the second set of holes extend from the faceplate through the plurality of protrusions to align with a corresponding plurality of holes of the intermediate plate into the second chamber, as per the teachings of Huang, as analogous protrusion and hole structures, formation and shapes therein. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
Tam in view of Myo in view of Huang do not expressly teach the first set of holes are not arranged in a concentric pattern on the faceplate of the showerhead; and wherein the second set of holes are arranged in a concentric pattern on the faceplate of the showerhead.
Wiltse teaches that holes for a showerhead plate can be formed in a concentric manner 244 Fig. 5A [0047, concentric rows] and then in an asymmetric pattern 243, the holes being arranged in an asymmetric pattern to achieve uniform film deposition [0003], avoiding heat dams, [0055-0056; 0018-0056].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Tam in view of Myo in view of Huang by making the holes arranged in two different patterns, a non-concentric pattern and a concentric pattern, as per the teachings of Wiltse. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of achieving uniform film deposition and avoiding heat damns. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claim 20, Tam teaches a showerhead 104 Fig. 1A-2F, comprising: a faceplate 153; a first plenum 131; a first chamber 144 provided immediately behind a backside of the faceplate in fluid communication with the first plenum; a first set of holes 156 formed through the faceplate and in fluid communication with the first chamber, the first set of holes configured to distribute one or more of a first gas 154 into a processing chamber; a second plenum 132, a second chamber 145 in fluid communication with the second plenum 132 and arranged such that the first chamber is provided between the second chamber and the backside of the faceplate; an intermediate plate 210 positioned between the first chamber and the second chamber; and a second set of holes 157 formed through the faceplate, which are in fluid communication with the second chamber via a plurality of protrusions 143, 147 that extend through and are surrounded by the first chamber, wherein the plurality of protrusions are integrated with the backside of the faceplate and contact the intermediate plate (as the showerhead is electroformed to reduce the number of parts to be formed and as shown in the consistent slashed lines of 143, 153 to 147 Fig. 2A [0061]), and the second set of holes (openings within 147+143) extend through the plurality of protrusions to align with a corresponding plurality of holes of the intermediate plate to thereby extend to the second chamber (as shown in Fig. 2A), the second set of holes configured to distribute one or more of a second gas 155 into the processing chamber [0028-0091].
Tam does not expressly teach wherein for at least one protrusion of the plurality of protrusions, the second set of holes comprises at least two holes extending through the protrusion that have a closer spacing than adjacent holes of the first set of holes.
Myo teaches a showerhead 107 Fig. 4, 3C, wherein the arcuate protrusions 216 have a plurality of holes 312 [0037, 0046] that are closer together than the individual holes (as shown in Fig. 3C, see hole spacing of 324 vs 312 vs 224) [0019-0057]. Myo expressly teaches that the non-form conduit disposition in the walls/arcuate portions achieves a desired process condition in the process chamber [0046].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Tam and changing the hole arrangement and spacing by making the protrusions have more than one hole, as shown in the teachings of Myo and making them closer than those not in the protrusion. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of achieving a desired process condition in the process chamber, as shown in Myo. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. Tam in view of Myo does not expressly teach the plurality of protrusions are integrated with the backside of the faceplate and extend from the backside of the faceplate into contact with an intermediate plate and the second set of holes extend from the faceplate through the plurality of protrusions to align with the corresponding plurality of holes of the intermediate plate to thereby extend to the second chamber.
Tam in view of Myo does not expressly teach the plurality of protrusions are integrated with the backside of the faceplate and extend from the backside of the faceplate into contact with an intermediate plate and the second set of holes extend from the faceplate through the plurality of protrusions to align with the corresponding plurality of holes of the intermediate plate to thereby extend to the second chamber.
Huang teaches a showerhead Fig. 4A-4E, comprising a faceplate 310, a first chamber behind the first plate, protrusion 211 that has a second set of holes therein, the protrusions are integrated with the faceplate and extend from the backside of the faceplate into contact with an intermediate plate, the second set of holes extend from the faceplate through the plurality of protrusions to align with a corresponding plurality of holes of the intermediate plate 230 to thereby extend to the extend to the second chamber [0018-0028], as shown in the annotated copy of Fig. 4E below:
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, the protrusions integrated with the faceplate that extends through the intermediate plate from the backside of the faceplate into contact with an intermediate plate and the second set of holes extend from the faceplate through the plurality of protrusions to align with a corresponding plurality of holes of the intermediate plate into the second chamber, as per the teachings of Huang, as analogous protrusion and hole structures, or the formation of the protrusions and shapes therein. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
Tam in view of Myo in view of Huang do not expressly teach the first set of holes are not arranged in a concentric pattern on the faceplate of the showerhead; and wherein the second set of holes are arranged in a concentric pattern on the faceplate of the showerhead.
Wiltse teaches that holes for a showerhead plate can be formed in a concentric manner 244 Fig. 5A [0047, concentric rows] and then in an asymmetric pattern 243, the holes being arranged in an asymmetric pattern to achieve uniform film deposition [0003], avoiding heat dams, [0055-0056; 0018-0056].
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Tam in view of Myo in view of Huang by making the holes arranged in two different patterns, a non-concentric pattern and a concentric pattern, as per the teachings of Wiltse. One would be motivated to do so for the predictable result of achieving uniform film deposition and avoiding heat damns. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A.
The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claim.
In regards to Claims 5 and 24, Tam teaches the first set of holes 156 formed through the faceplate and the first plenum extend in a first axial direction (vertical); and the first gas is enabled to laterally flow within the first chamber (as shown in the arrows of gas from 131, in the horizontal direction, Fig. 1B) relative to the backside of the faceplate, in second axial directions (horizontal) that are perpendicular to the first axial direction, as shown in Fig. 1B.
In regards to Claims 6 and 25, Tam teaches the second set of holes 157 formed through the faceplate and the second plenum extend in a first axial direction (vertical); and the second gas is enabled to laterally flow within the second chamber, relative to the backside of the faceplate, in second axial directions (horizontal) that are perpendicular to the first axial direction, as shown in Fig. 1B.
In regards to Claims 7 and 26, Tam teaches the first plenum, first chamber and first set of holes are arranged to: (a) supply a first gas to the first chamber 144 via the first plenum 131; (b) enable the first gas to flow within the first chamber laterally relative to the faceplate; and (c) distribute the first gas from the first chamber into the processing chamber via the first set of holes formed through the faceplate (as shown in the arrows in Fig. 1B, 2A-2F).
In regards to Claims 8 and 27, Tam teaches the second plenum 132, second chamber 145, and the second set of holes arranged to: (d) supply a second gas and/or vapor to the second chamber via the second plenum; (e) enable the second gas and/or vapor to flow within the second chamber laterally relative to the faceplate; and (f) distribute the second gas and/or vapor from the second chamber into the processing chamber via the second set of holes formed through the faceplate (as shown in the arrows in Fig. 1B, 2A-2F).
In regards to Claim 10, Tam teaches an intermediate plate 210 is positioned adjacent to the backside of the faceplate, and wherein the intermediate plate and the backside of the faceplate at least partially define the first chamber, as shown in Fig. 1B
In regards to Claims 11 and 29, Tam teaches the showerhead further comprises the intermediate plate 210 positioned adjacent to the backside of the faceplate, wherein the intermediate plate and the backside of the faceplate at least partially define the first chamber; and a back plate 230 (as shown in Fig. 2C) positioned next to the intermediate plate, the back plate and the intermediate plate at least partially defining the second chamber, as shown in Fig. 1B
In regards to Claims 14 and 32, Tam in view of Wiltse teaches the concentric pattern is one of the following:(a) concentric circles, which is the general interpretation for concentric arrangements [Tam 0043] and the teachings of Wiltse above.
In regards to Claims 15 and 33, Tam teaches the first set of holes 156 are larger in number than the second set of holes, when interpreted as the holes of the protrusions of 147 and the second gas is easier to disperse within the processing chamber relative to the first gas, as 143 blocks some of the flow for the first gas that is not present for the second gas.
In regards to Claim 16, Tam teaches the first gas and/or vapor is a process chemistry that contains a material to be deposited on the substrate when processed in the processing chamber, as they are precursor gases [0034].
In regards to Claims 17 and 34, Tam teaches the first gas and the second gas are isolated and separated from one another inside the showerhead, but are free to mix outside the showerhead inside the processing chamber, as shown in the arrows of Fig. 2A.
In regards to Claim 18, Tam teaches the first gas is a process chemistry that contains a material to be deposited on the substrate when processed in the processing chamber and the second gas is a reactant gas, as they are precursor gases for processing [0034].
In regards to Claim 19, Tam teaches the first gas is a reactant gas and the second gas is a process chemistry that contains a material to be deposited on the substrate when processed in the processing chamber, as they are precursor gases for processing [0034].
In regards to Claims 37 and 38, Tam teaches the spacing of adjacent protrusions is greater than the spacing of adjacent holes of the first set of holes, as shown in Fig. 2B.
In regards to Claims 39 and 40, Tam in view of Myo, Huang and Wiltse teaches the first set of holes are evenly spaced across a surface of the faceplate of the showerhead, as shown in Tam and Wiltse and the generally evenly spaced distribution of the holes, as broadly recited.
In regards to Claims 41 and 42, Tam teaches the plurality of protrusions 174 are integrated with the backside of the faceplate and extend from the backside of the faceplate into contact with the intermediate plate (as shown by how 147 extends through the assembly and intermediate plate above).
Claim(s) 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over United States Patent Application No. 2009/0095222 to Tam et al in view of United States Patent Application No. 2014/0026816 to Myo et al, United States Patent Application No. 2011/0186228 to Huang et al and United States Patent Application No. 2017/0167024 to Wiltse et al, as applied to Claims 1 and 20 above, and in further view of United States Patent Application No. 2014/0103145 to White et al.
The teachings of Tam in view of Myo and Huang and Wiltse are relied upon as set forth in the above 103 rejection.
In regards to Claims 35 and 36, Tam in view of Myo and Huang and Wiltse do not expressly teach comprising a central stem connected to the back plate, the stem including the first plenum and the second plenum.
White teaches deposition tool Fig. 1-12, comprising: a processing chamber 20; a substrate holder 28 configured to hold a substrate (wafers not shown) within the processing chamber; and a showerhead 26 having a faceplate 36, the showerhead comprising: a first plenum 42, 62; a first chamber 52 provided immediately behind a backside of the faceplate; a first set of holes 86 formed through the faceplate and in fluid communication with the first chamber, the first set of holes configured to distribute a first gas and/or vapor into the processing chamber [0041-0042];
a second plenum 44, 60; a second chamber 46 arranged such that the first chamber is provided between the second chamber and the backside of the faceplate; and a second set of holes/slots 102 formed in the faceplate and which are in fluid communication with the processing chamber via a plurality of protrusions 104 that extend through and are surrounded by the first chamber (as shown in the protrusions formed in 26 in Fig. 9 and analogously in Fig. 1), the second set of holes configured to distribute a second gas and/or vapor into the processing chamber (as it is connected to the gas opening for 44; [0008, 0029-0030, 0027-0054]).
White teaches a central stem 54 connected to the back plate 32, the stem including the first plenum 62 and the second plenum.
It has been held that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). See MPEP 2144.06 II. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to have modified the apparatus of Tam in view of Myo and Huang and Wiltse, by changing the generic gas plenums and make them into a stem, as per the teachings of White, as an art analogous structure for a gas plenum. See MPEP 2143 Motivation A. The resulting apparatus fulfills the limitations of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TIFFANY Z NUCKOLS/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/Jeffrie R Lund/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716