DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 4-5, 14, 20 is/are cancelled.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 11, 15 is/are amended.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by Cruse previously relied on references below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20050241763 to Huang in view of US 20100272895 to Tsuda and further in view of US 20110265883 to Cruse.
Claim 1: Huang discloses a gas delivery system configured to provide deposition and such gases for processing chamber for a rapid alternating process (RAP), the gas delivery system comprising: a first valve (320 [valves] on 322, Fig. 4) in fluid communication with a deposition gas manifold (322 [gas passage], para. [0002] where the gases can be for etch and deposition) and a gas distribution device (20/30/22, para. [0024]); a first orifice (430 [orifice] on 324 [first gas passage], Fig. 5) arranged between the first valve (320) and the gas distribution device (20/30/22); a second orifice (430 on 326 [second gas passage]) arranged between the first valve (320 on 322, see para. [0043] where 320 can be one single valve) and the gas distribution device (20/30/22),
wherein the first valve (320 on 322) is arranged to (i) provide deposition gas from the deposition gas manifold (322) to a first zone of the gas distribution device (42 of 20/30/22) via the first orifice (430 on 324) and (ii) provide the deposition gas from the deposition gas manifold (322) to a second zone of the gas distribution device (46 of 20/30/22) via the second orifice (430 on 326),
a second valve (320 on 362, Fig. 4-5) in fluid communication with an etch gas manifold (362 [gas passage], para. [0002] where the gases can be for etch and deposition) and the gas distribution device (20/30/22); a third orifice (430 on 364) arranged between the second valve (320 on 362) and the gas distribution device (20/30/22); and a fourth orifice (430 on 366) arranged between the second valve (320 on 362, see para. [0043] where 320 can be one single valve) and the gas distribution device (20/30/22),
wherein the second valve (320 on 362) is arranged to (i) provide etch gas from the etch gas manifold (362) to the first zone of the gas distribution device (42 of 20/30/22) via the third orifice (430 on 364) and (i) provide the etch gas from the etch gas manifold (362) to the second zone of the gas distribution device (46 of 20/30/22) via the fourth orifice (430 on 366),
However Huang does not explicitly disclose (claim 1) wherein the first orifice and the second orifice have different diameters; wherein the third orifice and the fourth orifice have different diameters.
Yet Huang teaches wherein the plurality of orifices in another section have different diameters (para. [0037], [0049]) which are necessarily also applied to the section above, and the orifices can have relative restriction sizes (smallest to largest as one possible configuration as taught by Huang, para. [0038]), and different ratios are provided of the total conductance of the orifices (para. [0038]), for the purpose of supplying different ratios of the first and second gas to the inner and outer zone of the showerhead (para. [0038]).
Huang is teaching the optimization of sizing of the orifices and differences in diameters as a result effective variable; the courts have held that “When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” MPEP 2144.05 II (B).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the sizing requirements and optimization thereof in conjunction with the ratios as taught by Huang with motivation to supply different ratios of the first and second gas to the inner and outer zone of the showerhead.
The apparatus of Huang discloses a first conduit (bottom of 40 inner zone gas supply], Fig. 1) for providing the deposition gas or the etch gas to the first zone (42 [inner zone]); a second conduit (44 [outer gas zone supply]) for providing the deposition gas or the etch gas to the second zone (46 [outer zone], para. [0025]).
The apparatus of Huang does not disclose a purge gas delivery system for flowing a purge gas to the first conduit, the second conduit, and the gas delivery system.
Tsuda discloses a purge gas delivery system (64/640, Fig. 6) for flowing a purge gas to the first conduit (any of 610 to 630), the second conduit (any other of 610 to 630), and the gas delivery system (any of 610-640/65, para. [0117]), for the purpose of having a purge gas, instead of the respective process gasses, can be supplied from the respective gas supply lines (para. [0117]), for uniformity.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the purge gas delivery system as taught by Tsuda with motivation to have a purge gas, instead of the respective process gasses, can be supplied from the respective gas supply lines, for uniformity.
However the apparatus of Huang in view of Tsuda does not disclose wherein the first orifice has a first diameter, the second orifice has a second diameter which is different than the first diameter, and the first orifice and the second orifice provide the deposition gas to the first zone and the second zone according to a first ratio; wherein the third orifice has the second diameter, and the fourth orifice has the first diameter, the third orifice and the fourth orifice provide the etch gas to the first zone and the second zone according to a second ratio, and the second ratio is opposite to the first ratio.
Cruse teaches that the apparatus may select the size of orifices to obtain desired flow ratios (para. [0019], [0049]), and depending on the relationship between the sizes of the first and second (or third and fourth) orifices, a number of flow ratios may be available for selection (para. [0040]), for the purpose of simultaneously providing choked flow for a specific combination of gas flow and minimization of the upstream pressure to prevent phase change of low vapor pressure gases (para. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of orifice sizing to achieve desired flow ratios as taught by Cruse with motivation to simultaneously provide choked flow for a specific combination of gas flow and minimization of the upstream pressure to prevent phase change of low vapor pressure gases.
Claim 3: The apparatus of Huang in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses wherein the gas distribution device (20/30/22, Fig. 1, Huang) is a showerhead (20/30/22), the first zone (42 [inner zone]) is an inner zone (42) of the showerhead (20/30/22), and the second zone (46 [outer zone]) is an outer zone (46) of the showerhead (20/30/22).
Claims 4-5: (Cancelled).
Claim 6: The apparatus of Huang in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses further comprising a controller (500 [controller], Fig. 1, Huang) configured to (i) selectively adjust the first flow ratio controller and open and close the first valve and the second valve to provide the deposition gas to the first zone and the second zone at the first predetermined ratio during a deposition cycle of the RAP and (ii) selectively adjust the second flow ratio controller and open and close the third valve and the fourth valve to provide the etch gas to the first zone and the second zone at the second predetermined ratio during an etch cycle of the RAP (para. [0054-0055]).
Claim 8: The apparatus of Huang in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses wherein the first zone (42, Fig. 1, Huang) and the second zone (46) are radial zones (para. [0017]).
Claim 9: The apparatus of Huang in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses wherein the first zone (42, Fig. 1, Huang) corresponds to a single injection point (point at 42) at a center of the gas distribution device (center of 20/30/22).
Claim 10: The apparatus of Huang in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses wherein the second zone (46, Fig. 1, Huang) corresponds to a single injection point (point at 46) at an edge of the gas distribution device (20/30/22).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Tsuda, Cruse as applied to claims 1, 3, 6, 8-10 above, and further in view of US 20070158025 to Larson.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Huang in view of Tsuda, Cruse does not disclose wherein the first valve, and the second valve are fast-switching valves configured to transition between open and closed states within 10 ms.
Larson discloses wherein the valves (400 [gas switching section], Fig. 1, 4-5) are fast-switching valves (“fast-switching valves,” para. [0053]) configured to transition between open and closed states within 10 ms (para. [0053]) for the purpose of allowing the system to change over between different gases supplied to the vacuum chamber within a short period of time (para. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the valves as fast-switching valves with speed requirements as taught by Larson with motivation to allow the system to change over between different gases supplied to the vacuum chamber within a short period of time.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Tsuda, Cruse as applied to claims 1, 3, 6, 8-10 above, and further in view of JP 2020004931 A to Sawachi (via translation by use of US 20210043425 to Sawachi).
Claim 7: The apparatus of Huang in view of Tsuda, Cruse does not explicitly disclose wherein the gas distribution device includes three or more zones.
Sawachi teaches that the number of zones is not limited to three and may be two or four or more for the purpose of suppressing the non-uniformity of the plasma treatment on the wafer (para. [0072]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the three or more zones as taught by Sawachi with motivation to suppress the non-uniformity of the plasma treatment on the wafer.
Claim(s) 11, 13, 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP 2020004931 A to Sawachi (via translation by use of US 20210043425 to Sawachi) in view of US 20100272895 to Tsuda and further in view of US 20110265883 to Cruse.
Claim 11: Sawachi discloses a gas delivery system configured to provide deposition and etch gases to processing chamber for a rapid alternating process (RAP), the gas delivery system comprising: a first flow ratio controller (131c/131e [flow rate control valve], Fig. 4) in fluid communication with a deposition gas manifold (111 [gas supply line], para. [0243]) and a gas distribution device (30 [upper electrode], Fig. 2); a first valve (132c [supply on/off valve], Fig. 4) arranged between the first flow ratio controller (131c/131e) and the gas distribution device (30), wherein a first orifice (138 [orifice] on 132c) having a first diameter is arranged between the first valve (132c) and the gas distribution device (30); a second valve (132e [supply on/off valve], Fig. 4) arranged between the first flow ratio controller (131c/131e) and the gas distribution device (30), wherein a second orifice (138 [orifice] on 132e) having a second diameter is arranged between the second valve (132e) and the gas distribution device (30);
wherein the first valve (132c) is arranged to provide deposition gas from the first flow ratio controller (131c/131e) to a first zone of the gas distribution device (37c [gas diffusion zone] of 30) and (i) the second valve (132e) is arranged to provide the deposition gas from the first flow ratio controller (131c/131e) to a second zone of the gas distribution device (37e [gas diffusion zone] of 30, para. [0243] where the gases can be used for deposition);
a second flow ratio controller (133c/133e [(flow rate control valve], Fig. 4) in fluid communication with an etch gas manifold (112 [gas supply line]) and the gas distribution device (30); a third valve arranged (134c [supply on/off valve]) between the second flow ratio controller (133c/133e) and the gas distribution device (30), wherein a third orifice (138 [orifice] on 134c) having the second diameter is arranged between the third valve (134c) and the gas distribution device (30); and a fourth valve (134e) arranged between the first flow ratio controller (133c/133e) and the gas distribution device (30), wherein a fourth orifice (138 [orifice] on 134e) having the first diameter is arranged between the fourth valve (134e) and the gas distribution device (30);
wherein the third valve (134c) is arranged to provide etch gas from the second flow ratio controller (133c/133e) to the first zone of the gas distribution device (37c of 30) and the fourth valve (134e) is arranged to provide the etch gas from the second flow ratio controller (133c/133e) to the second zone of the gas distribution device (37e of 30, para. [0050-0053] where the gases can be used for etching).
However Sawachi does not explicitly disclose the first flow ratio controller is configured to provide a first predetermined ratio of the deposition gas to the first zone and the second zone, and the first predetermined ratio is greater than or equal to a ratio of 90 to 10 for the second zone with respect to the first zone.
Sawachi teaches that the process controller (101) performs and determines the total flow rate Q which is controlled via determining Qc (flow rate of processing gas supplied to gas diffusion zone 37c) and Qe (flow rate of processing gas supplied to gas diffusion zone 37e), and Qc + Qe = Q (para. [0074-0075]). Thus, the two flow rates as a ratio can be determined as taught by Sawachi, by the controller determinations (para. [0075], [0084]), for the purpose of suppressing the non-uniformity of the plasma treatment on the wafer (para. [0072]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the variation of flow rate ratio as taught by Sawachi with motivation to suppress the non-uniformity of the plasma treatment on the wafer.
The apparatus of Sawachi discloses a first conduit (conduit of 110], Fig. 2, Sawachi) for providing the deposition gas or the etch gas to the first zone (37c [gas diffusion zone]); a second conduit (another conduit of 110) for providing the deposition gas or the etch gas to the second zone (37v [gas diffusion zone], para. [0025]).
The apparatus of Sawachi does not disclose a purge gas delivery system for flowing a purge gas to the first conduit, the second conduit, and the gas delivery system.
Tsuda discloses a purge gas delivery system (64/640, Fig. 6) for flowing a purge gas to the first conduit (any of 610 to 630), the second conduit (any other of 610 to 630), and the gas delivery system (any of 610-640/65, para. [0117]), for the purpose of having a purge gas, instead of the respective process gasses, can be supplied from the respective gas supply lines (para. [0117]), for uniformity.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the purge gas delivery system as taught by Tsuda with motivation to have a purge gas, instead of the respective process gasses, can be supplied from the respective gas supply lines, for uniformity.
However the apparatus of Sawachi in view of Tsuda does not disclose wherein the second diameter is different than the first diameter, and the second flow ratio controller is configured to provide a second predetermined ratio of the etch gas to the first zone and the second zone, the second predetermined ratio is greater than or equal to a ratio of 90 to 10 for the first zone with respect to the second zone, and the second predetermined ratio is opposite to the first predetermined ratio.
Cruse teaches that the apparatus may select the size of orifices/flow rate controllers to obtain desired flow ratios (para. [0019], [0049], [0075]), and depending on the relationship between the sizes of the first and second (or third and fourth) orifices, a number of flow ratios may be available for selection (para. [0040]), for the purpose of simultaneously providing choked flow for a specific combination of gas flow and minimization of the upstream pressure to prevent phase change of low vapor pressure gases (para. [0019]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimization of orifice sizing and flow rate controller configurations to achieve desired flow ratios as taught by Cruse with motivation to simultaneously provide choked flow for a specific combination of gas flow and minimization of the upstream pressure to prevent phase change of low vapor pressure gases.
Claim 13: The apparatus of Sawachi in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses wherein the gas distribution device (30, Fig. 1, 4, Sawachi) is a showerhead (30, para. [0039]), the first zone (37c) is an inner zone of the showerhead (37c of 30), and the second zone (37e) is an outer zone of the showerhead (37e of 30, para. [0041]).
Claim 14: (Cancelled).
Claim 15: The apparatus of Sawachi in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses further comprising a controller (100 [controller], Fig. 1, Sawachi) configured to (i) selectively adjust the first flow ratio controller (131c/131e, Fig. 4-8B) and open and close the first valve and the second valve to provide the deposition gas to the first zone and the second zone at the first predetermined ratio during a deposition cycle of the RAP and (ii) selectively adjust the second flow ratio controller and open and close the third valve and the fourth valve to provide the etch gas to the first zone and the second zone at the second predetermined ratio during an etch cycle of the RAP (para. [0072-0092]).
Claim 16: The apparatus of Sawachi in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses wherein the gas distribution device (30, Fig. 1, Sawachi) includes three or more zones (Fig. 1, where 37c, 37e, 37v are disclosed, para. [0041]).
Claim 17: The apparatus of Sawachi in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses wherein the first zone (37c, Fig. 1, Sawachi) and the second zone (37e) are radial zones (para. [0041]).
Claim 18: The apparatus of Sawachi in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses wherein the first zone (37c, Fig. 1, Sawachi) corresponds to a single injection point (point at 37c) at a center of the gas distribution device (37c, para. [0041]).
Claim 19: The apparatus of Sawachi in view of Tsuda, Cruse discloses wherein the second zone (37e, Fig. 1, Sawachi) corresponds to a single injection point (point at 37e) at an edge of the gas distribution device (37e of 30).
Claim 20: (Cancelled).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sawachi in view of Tsuda, Cruse as applied to claims 11, 13, 15-19 above, and further in view of US 20070158025 to Larson.
Claim 12: The apparatus of Sawachi in view of Tsuda, Cruse does not disclose wherein the first, second, third, and fourth valves are fast-switching valves configured to transition between open and closed states within 10 ms.
Larson discloses wherein the valves (400 [gas switching section], Fig. 1, 4-5) are fast-switching valves (“fast-switching valves,” para. [0053]) configured to transition between open and closed states within 10 ms (para. [0053]) for the purpose of allowing the system to change over between different gases supplied to the vacuum chamber within a short period of time (para. [0002]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the valves as fast-switching valves with speed requirements as taught by Larson with motivation to allow the system to change over between different gases supplied to the vacuum chamber within a short period of time.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718