DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments/Arguments
The amendment made to claim 1 as filed on November 13, 2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed on November 13, 2025, along with the declaration under 37 CFR section 1.132, with respect to rejections under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argues that “the Office cites Tsuchiya for disclosing a ratio of water-soluble polymer P1 and water-soluble polymer P2, wherein the ratio P1/P2 is 0.1 or more and 10 or less.” However, the Office Action mailed on May 14, 2025 actually cites Tsuchiya disclosing “wherein the water-soluble polymer comprises at least a water-soluble polymer P1 and a water-soluble polymer P2, the water-soluble polymer P1 is a vinyl alcohol polymer (paragraph 0036), a ratio (P1/P2) of a content (% by weight) of the water-soluble polymer P1 to a content (% by weight) of the water-soluble polymer P2 is 1 (Example 3, Table 1)”.
The Applicant argues that “claim 1 was amended to recite, "a ratio (P1/P2) of a content (% by weight) of the water-soluble polymer P1 to a content (% by weight) of the water-soluble polymer P2 is 0.1 or more and 5 or less." As discussed in the application, polishing compositions with P1/P2 within the recited range show excellent haze reduction”. However, as discussed above, Tsuchiya discloses a P1/P2 ratio of 1, which falls within the range as recited in the amended claim 1.
The Applicant argues that “Tsuchiya discloses a polyvinyl alcohol polymer at paragraph [0036], Tsuchiya cannot be understood as disclosing or suggesting an acetalized PVA ("Ac-PVA"), let alone the recited ratio (P1/P2) of an Ac-PVA (P1) to a water-soluble polymer P2 that is not an Ac-PVA, which is 0.1 to 10. In fact, it would not be appropriate to calculate the P1/P2 ratio by assuming that the PVA of Tsuchiya corresponds to P1, as recited in the claims.” However, Tsuchiya discloses that the vinyl alcohol polymer is typically a polymer containing a vinyl alcohol unit as a main repeating unit (PVA), wherein the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units is commonly 70% or more, and the types of repeating units other than the vinyl alcohol unit is not limited to particular types (paragraph 0036). The secondary reference of Takemoto teaches that a water-soluble polymer with the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units being 70% or more can be an acetalized polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer comprising a structural unit represented by Formula (1), wherein in formula (1), R is a hydrogen atom or a linear or branched alkyl group (paragraph 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a known water-soluble polymer with the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units being 70% or more as taught by Takemoto in the composition of Tsuchiya, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skilled artisan would be motivated to incorporate the acetalized structural unit in the PVC-based water-soluble polymer because Takemoto specifically teaches that the acetalized structural unit is an important structural unit for imparting adhesiveness to a wafer (paragraph 0015), which leads to improving the smoothness (paragraph 0021), resulting in low haze as desired by the disclosure of Tsuchiya (paragraph 0038). The molecular weight increase due to the acetalization for a polymer with no more than 30% acetalization, molecular weight increase by acetalization would be less than 4%, the P1/P2 ratio for partially acetalized PVC based water-soluble polymer is still close to 1, which falls within the range as recited in the amended claim 1.
“Although Takemoto discloses that the number average molecular weight (Mn) of Ac- PVA may fall within the range of 1,000 to 200,000, Takemoto is silent regarding the weight average molecular weight (Mw) of its Ac-PVA… Tsuchiya is completely silent regarding Ac-PVA and cannot be understood as providing any suggestion regarding the weight average molecular weight of Ac-PVA”. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). The primary reference of Tsuchiya discloses a polishing composition comprising a vinyl alcohol based polymer with a weight average molecular weight of 2x104 or less (paragraph 0040). Tsuchiya further discloses that the vinyl alcohol polymer is typically a polymer containing a vinyl alcohol unit as a main repeating unit (PVA), wherein the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units is commonly 70% or more, and the types of repeating units other than the vinyl alcohol unit is not limited to particular types (paragraph 0036). The secondary reference of Takemoto teaches that a water-soluble polymer with the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units being 70% or more can be an acetalized polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer comprising a structural unit represented by Formula (1), wherein in formula (1), R is a hydrogen atom or a linear or branched alkyl group (paragraph 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a known water-soluble polymer with the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units being 70% or more as taught by Takemoto in the composition of Tsuchiya, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skilled artisan would be motivated to incorporate the acetalized structural unit in the PVC-based water-soluble polymer because Takemoto teaches that the structural unit has excellent adsoptivity to the wafer surface and increase the smoothness of the polished wafer surface (paragraphs 0010 and 0015). Therefore, Tsuchiya in view of Takemoto discloses Ac-PVA having a Mw of 2x104 or less (Tsuchiya, paragraph 0040; Takemoto, paragraph 0012), which falls within the range recited in amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuchiya et al. (US20170081554) in view of Takemoto et al. (JP2015076494).
Regarding claim 1, Tsuchiya discloses a polishing composition (abstract) comprising an abrasive (paragraph 0047); a basic compound (paragraph 0061); a water-soluble polymer (amido group-containing polymer A and water-soluble polymer not containing an amido groups, paragraphs 0017 and 0031); and water (paragraph 0043), wherein the water-soluble polymer comprises at least a water-soluble polymer P1 and a water-soluble polymer P2, the water-soluble polymer P1 is a vinyl alcohol polymer (paragraph 0036), a ratio (P1/P2) of a content (% by weight) of the water-soluble polymer P1 to a content (% by weight) of the water-soluble polymer P2 is 1 (Example 3, Table 1), and the water-soluble polymer P2 is a water-soluble polymer other than vinyl alcohol polymer (PACMO, Example 3, Table 1); and the polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer has a weight average molecular weight of 2x104 or less (paragraph 0040). Tsuchiya is silent about the vinyl alcohol polymer being an acetalized polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer comprising a structural unit represented by Formula (1), wherein in formula (1), R is a hydrogen atom or a linear or branched alkyl group. However, Tsuchiya teaches that the vinyl alcohol polymer is typically a polymer containing a vinyl alcohol unit as a main repeating unit (PVA), wherein the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units is commonly 70% or more, and the types of repeating units other than the vinyl alcohol unit is not limited to particular types (paragraph 0036). In addition, Takemoto teaches that a water-soluble polymer with the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units being 70% or more can be an acetalized polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer comprising a structural unit represented by Formula (1), wherein in formula (1), R is a hydrogen atom or a linear or branched alkyl group (paragraph 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a known water-soluble polymer with the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units being 70% or more as taught by Takemoto in the composition of Tsuchiya, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skilled artisan would be motivated to incorporate the acetalized structural unit in the PVC-based water-soluble polymer because Takemoto teaches that the structural unit has excellent adsoptivity to the wafer surface and increase the smoothness of the polished wafer surface (paragraphs 0010 and 0015).
Regarding claim 2, Takemoto discloses wherein the water-soluble polymer P1 is an acetalized polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer having a degree of acetalization of 1 mol % or more and less than 30 mol % (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 3, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the water-soluble polymer P2 is a nitrogen atom-containing polymer (amido group-containing polymer A, paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 4, Tsuchiya discloses a surfactant (paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 5, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the surfactant includes two or more kinds of surfactants selected from the group consisting of nonionic surfactants and anionic surfactant (paragraphs 0029).
Regarding claim 6, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the surfactant includes a combination of two anionic surfactants (paragraph 0029), with molecular weight of the surfactant ranging from 2x104 or less and 2x102 or more (paragraph 0040), which overlaps with the ranges recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
.Regarding claim 7, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the acetalized polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer has a weight average molecular weight of 2x104 or less (paragraph 0040).
Regarding claim 8, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the abrasive is a silica particle (paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 9, Tsuchiya discloses which is used for polishing a surface of silicon (paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 10, Tsuchiya discloses a polishing composition (abstract) comprising an abrasive (paragraph 0047); a basic compound (paragraph 0061); a water-soluble polymer (amido group-containing polymer A and water-soluble polymer not containing an amido groups, paragraphs 0017 and 0031); a surfactant (paragraph 0028); and water (paragraph 0043), wherein the water-soluble polymer comprises at least a water-soluble polymer P1 and a water-soluble polymer P2, the water-soluble polymer P1 is a vinyl alcohol polymer (paragraph 0036), a ratio (P1/P2) of a content (% by weight) of the water-soluble polymer P1 to a content (% by weight) of the water-soluble polymer P2 is 1 (Example 3, Table 1), and the water-soluble polymer P2 is a water-soluble polymer other than vinyl alcohol polymer (PACMO, Example 3, Table 1); and a content of the polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer with respect to 100 g of the abrasive is 2.2 g (Example 3, Table 1; the content of the abrasive in the polishing composition is 0.46%, paragraph 0106; the content of the polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer in the polishing composition is 0.01%, paragraph 0108). Tsuchiya is silent about the vinyl alcohol polymer being an acetalized polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer comprising a structural unit represented by Formula (1), wherein in formula (1), R is a hydrogen atom or a linear or branched alkyl group. However, Tsuchiya teaches that the vinyl alcohol polymer is typically a polymer containing a vinyl alcohol unit as a main repeating unit (PVA), wherein the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units is commonly 70% or more, and the types of repeating units other than the vinyl alcohol unit is not limited to particular types (paragraph 0036). In addition, Takemoto teaches that a water-soluble polymer with the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units being 70% or more can be an acetalized polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer comprising a structural unit represented by Formula (1), wherein in formula (1), R is a hydrogen atom or a linear or branched alkyl group (paragraph 0012). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use a known water-soluble polymer with the proportion of the mole number of a vinyl alcohol unit relative to the mole number of all repeating units being 70% or more as taught by Takemoto in the composition of Tsuchiya, with a reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skilled artisan would be motivated to incorporate the acetalized structural unit in the PVC-based water-soluble polymer because Takemoto teaches that the structural unit has excellent adsoptivity to the wafer surface and increase the smoothness of the polished wafer surface (paragraphs 0010 and 0015).
Regarding claim 11, Takemoto discloses wherein the water-soluble polymer P1 is an acetalized polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer having a degree of acetalization of 1 mol % or more and less than 30 mol % (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 12, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the water-soluble polymer P2 is a nitrogen atom-containing polymer (amido group-containing polymer A, paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 13, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the surfactant includes two or more kinds of surfactants selected from the group consisting of nonionic surfactants and anionic surfactant (paragraphs 0029).
Regarding claim 14, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the surfactant includes a combination of two anionic surfactants (paragraph 0029), with molecular weight of the surfactant ranging from 2x104 or less and 2x102 or more (paragraph 0040), which overlaps with the ranges recited in the instant claim. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 15-16, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the acetalized polyvinyl alcohol-based polymer has a weight average molecular weight of 1.25x104 or less (paragraph 0040), which encompasses the range recited in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 17, Tsuchiya discloses wherein the abrasive is a silica particle (paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 18, Tsuchiya discloses which is used for polishing a surface of silicon (paragraph 0007).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JIONG-PING LU whose telephone number is (571) 270-1135. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F: 9:00am – 5:00pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joshua L Allen, can be reached at telephone number (571)270-3176. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JIONG-PING LU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713