DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 13 Apr 2026 for application number 17/452,867. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Applicant Arguments/Remarks, Oath/Declaration, and Claims.
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are presented for examination. Elected claims 1-4, 6-7 and 11-16 are examined below; non-elected claims 8-10 and 17-20 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Regarding claim 1, Applicant contends that the prior art does not teach, wherein the color conversion patterns of the first display panel overlap the individually addressable light-emitting elements of the second display panel that is bonded to the first display panel; Examiner respectfully disagrees. Chiu and Huang teach: wherein the color conversion patterns [204 of 602’ of Chiu] of the first display panel [30’] overlap the individually addressable light-emitting elements [104 (on and part of 702’) of Chiu; each individual 16 overlaps each respective 26 in a one-to-one correspondence of Huang] of the second display panel [40’ of Chiu] that is bonded to the first display panel [30’ of Chiu].
Regarding claim 11, Applicant contends that the prior art does not teach, wherein the color conversion patterns of the first display panel overlap the individually addressable light-emitting elements of the second display panel that is bonded to the first display panel; Examiner respectfully disagrees. Although, Chiu and Huang do not explicitly teach: wherein the color conversion patterns of the first display panel overlap the individually addressable light-emitting elements of the second display panel that is bonded to the first display panel, it would have been obvious to modify Chiu and Huang to teach this limitation, as Huang clearly teaches individually addressable light emitting elements and Chiu clearly teaches that color conversion patterns from one upper structure of a display panel may overlap another lower structure of an adjacent display panel. The modification would simply require changing a dimension of upper and lower structures to accommodate the overlap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu et al. [hereinafter as Chiu] (US 2020/0064670 A1 – as cited in PTO-892 filed 06 Sep 2024) in view of Huang et al. [hereinafter as Huang] (US 2021/0335761 A1 – relies on Foreign Application Priority Data of 22 Apr 2020).
In reference to claim 1, Chiu teaches A tiled display device comprising:
a first display panel [electronic device 30’; Fig. 5B, para 0052] comprising:
a first lower structure [fifth substrate 502’ and elements on 502’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] comprising a first driver [driving layer associated with 30’; Fig. 6, para 0058 discloses a driving layer (not illustrated) that is on first substrate 102 (i.e. 502’)]; and
a first upper structure [sixth substrate 602’ and elements on 602’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] on the first lower structure [602’ is on 502’] and comprising color conversion patterns [color conversion layer 204 of 602’, of which there are a plurality; Fig. 6, para 0061 discloses 204 is on second substrate 202 (i.e. 602’), i.e. 204 is part of the upper structure]; and a second display panel [electronic device 40’; Fig. 5B, para 0052] comprising:
a second lower structure [seventh substrate 702’ and elements on 702’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] that is adjacent to the first lower structure [702’ is adjacent to 502’] in a bonding area [area of dotted lines between 30’ and 40’, as shown in Fig. 5B], and that comprises a second driver [driving layer associated with 40’; Fig. 6, para 0058], and a light emitting element [backlight unit 104 (on and part of 702’); Fig. 6, para 0058] respectively overlapping the color conversion patterns [104 of 702’ overlaps 204 of 602’ because 702’ and 602’ overlap]; and
a second upper structure [eighth substrate 802’ and elements on 802’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] that is on the second lower structure [802’ is on 702’] and that is adjacent to the first upper structure [802’ is adjacent to 602’],
wherein the first driver [driving layer associated with 30’] and the second driver [driving layer associated with 40’] are spaced apart from the bonding area [area of dotted lines between 30’ and 40’, as shown in Fig. 5B] in a plan view [view shown in Fig. 5B],
wherein a first distance between edges of the first upper structure [602’] in a direction is different than a second distance [602’ and 802’ have different dimensions, therefore the distance between edges in each are comparatively different] between edges of the second upper structure [802’] in the direction; and
wherein the color conversion patterns [204 of 602’] of the first display panel [30’] overlap the light-emitting elements [104 (on and part of 702’)] of the second display panel [40’] that is bonded to the first display panel [30’].
However, Chiu does not explicitly teach:
individually addressable light emitting elements respectively overlapping the color conversion patterns in a one-to-one correspondence [each individual 16 overlaps each respective 26 in a one-to-one correspondence].
Huang teaches:
individually addressable light emitting elements [light emitting elements 16; Fig. 4, para 0029] respectively overlapping the color conversion patterns [color conversion layers 26] in a one-to-one correspondence [each individual 16 overlaps each respective 26 in a one-to-one correspondence].
Chiu and Huang teach:
wherein the color conversion patterns [204 of 602’ of Chiu] of the first display panel [30’] overlap the individually addressable light-emitting elements [104 (on and part of 702’) of Chiu; each individual 16 overlaps each respective 26 in a one-to-one correspondence of Huang] of the second display panel [40’ of Chiu] that is bonded to the first display panel [30’ of Chiu].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Chiu and Huang before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the individual light emitting elements as disclosed by Huang into the semiconductor device of Chiu in order to obtain a semiconductor device with individual light emitting elements in a one-to-one correspondence with respective individual color conversion patterns.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with individual light emitting elements in a one-to-one correspondence with respective individual color conversion patterns to provide the predictable result of improving display effect [Huang, para 0002].
In reference to claim 2, Chiu and Huang teach the invention of claim 1.
Chiu teaches The tiled display device of claim 1, wherein the first lower structure [502’] further comprises a plurality of first light emitting elements [para 0059 discloses that 104 may include light-emitting elements formed of various materials, i.e. a plurality of elements],
wherein the second lower structure [702’] further comprises a plurality of second light emitting elements [para 0059 discloses that 104 may include light-emitting elements formed of various materials], and
wherein the bonding area [area of dotted lines between 30’ and 40’] is between the first light emitting elements [104 of 502’] adjacent to the second lower structure [104 of 502’ are adjacent to 702’ at the bonding area] and the second light emitting elements [104 of 702’] adjacent to the first lower structure [104 of 702’ are adjacent to 502’ at the bonding area].
In reference to claim 3, Chiu and Huang teach the invention of claim 1.
Chiu teaches The tiled display device of claim 1, wherein a size of the first lower structure [502’] is the same as a size of the second lower structure [702’] in a plan view [502’ and 702’ appear to be the same size; Fig. 5B].
In reference to claim 4, Chiu and Huang teach the invention of claim 3.
Chiu teaches The tiled display device of claim 3, wherein a size of the first upper structure [602’] is larger than a size of the second upper structure [602’ is larger than 802’] in a plan view.
In reference to claim 6, Chiu and Huang teach the invention of claim 1.
Chiu teaches The tiled display device of claim 1 wherein the light emitting elements [104 of 702’] are adjacent to the first lower structure [104 of 702’ overlapping 204 of 602’ is adjacent to 502’].
In reference to claim 7, Chiu and Huang teach the invention of claim 1.
Chiu teaches The tiled display device of claim 1 wherein the color conversion patterns [204 of 602’] are adjacent to the second upper structure [204 of 602’ overlapping 104 of 702’ is adjacent to 802’].
In reference to claim 11, Chiu teaches A tiled display device comprising:
a first display panel [electronic device 10’; Fig. 5B, para 0052] comprising;
a first lower structure [first substrate 102’ and elements on 102’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] comprising a first driver [driving layer associated with 10’; Fig. 6, para 0058 discloses a driving layer (not illustrated) that is on first substrate 102 (i.e. 102’)]; and
a first upper structure [second substrate 202’ and elements on 202’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] on the first lower structure [102’] and comprising a color conversion patterns [color conversion layer 204 of 202’, of which there are a plurality; Fig. 6, para 0061];
a second display panel [electronic device 30’; Fig. 5B, para 0052] adjacent to the first display panel [10’] in a first direction [vertical direction] and comprising:
a second lower structure [fifth substrate 502’ and elements on 502’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] that is adjacent to the first lower structure [102’] in a first bonding area [area of dotted lines between 30’ and 10’, as shown in Fig. 5B], and that comprises a second driver [driving layer associated with 30’; Fig. 6, para 0058], and a light emitting element [backlight unit 104 (on and part of 502’); Fig. 6, para 0058]; and
a second upper structure [sixth substrate 602’ and elements on 602’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] that is on the second lower structure [602’ is on 502’] and that is adjacent to the first upper structure [602’ is adjacent to 202’];
a third display panel [electronic device 20’; Fig. 5B, para 0052] adjacent to the first display panel [20’ is adjacent to 10’] in a second direction [horizontal direction] crossing the first direction [vertical direction] and comprising a third lower structure [third substrate 302’ and elements on 302’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] that comprises a third driver [driving layer associated with 20’; Fig. 6, para 0058] and that is adjacent to the first lower structure [102’] in a second bonding area [area of dotted lines between 20’ and 10’, as shown in Fig. 5B], and a third upper structure [fourth substrate 402’ and elements on 402’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] that is on the third lower structure [402’ is on 302’] and that is adjacent to the first upper structure [402’ is adjacent to 202’]; and
a fourth display panel [electronic device 40’; Fig. 5B, para 0052] adjacent to the third display panel [40’ is adjacent to 20’] in the first direction [vertical direction] and comprising a fourth lower structure [seventh substrate 702’ and elements on 702’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] that comprises a fourth driver [driving layer associated with 40’; Fig. 6, para 0058], that is adjacent to the second lower structure [702’ is adjacent to 502’] in a third bonding area [area of dotted lines between 40’ and 30’, as shown in Fig. 5B], and that is adjacent to the third lower structure [702’ is adjacent to 302’] in a fourth bonding area [area of dotted lines between 40’ and 20’, as shown in Fig. 5B], and a fourth upper structure [eighth substrate 802’ and elements on 802’, as further discussed; Fig. 5B, para 0053] that is on the fourth lower structure [702’], and that is adjacent to the second and third upper structures [802’ is adjacent to 602’ and 402’],
wherein the third lower structure [302’] at least partially overlaps the first upper structure [302’ overlaps 202’],
wherein the fourth lower structure [702’] at least partially overlaps the second upper structure [702’ overlaps 602’], and at least partially overlaps the third upper structure [702’ overlaps 402’],
wherein the first to fourth drivers are spaced apart from the first to fourth bonding areas, respectively, in a plan view [the drivers of 10’, 30’, 20’, and 40’ are spaced apart by the dotted lines between them].
However, although Chiu teaches a second lower structure [502’] that comprises a light emitting element [104 of 502’], Chiu does not explicitly teach that the second lower structure comprises a light emitting element overlapping the color conversion patterns [204 of 202’].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results, to modify the teachings of Chiu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the second lower structure comprise a light emitting element overlapping the color conversion patterns. Since Chiu teaches upper structures of various sizes, one would simply need to modify the size of the first upper structure [202’] by increasing the dimensions in the vertical direction. This would allow for the light emitting element of the second lower structure [502’] to overlap the color conversion pattern of the first upper structure [202’]. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide predictable results using known methods.
However, Chiu does not explicitly teach:
individually addressable light emitting elements respectively overlapping the color conversion patterns in a one-to-one correspondence [each individual 16 overlaps each respective 26 in a one-to-one correspondence].
Huang teaches:
individually addressable light emitting elements [light emitting elements 16; Fig. 4, para 0029] respectively overlapping the color conversion patterns [color conversion layers 26] in a one-to-one correspondence [each individual 16 overlaps each respective 26 in a one-to-one correspondence].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Chiu and Huang before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the individual light emitting elements as disclosed by Huang into the semiconductor device of Chiu in order to obtain a semiconductor device with individual light emitting elements in a one-to-one correspondence with respective individual color conversion patterns.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a semiconductor device with individual light emitting elements in a one-to-one correspondence with respective individual color conversion patterns to provide the predictable result of improving display effect [Huang, para 0002].
Although, Chiu and Huang do not explicitly teach:
wherein the color conversion patterns of the first display panel overlap the individually addressable light-emitting elements of the second display panel that is bonded to the first display panel, it would have been obvious to modify Chiu and Huang to teach this limitation, as Huang clearly teaches individually addressable light emitting elements and Chiu clearly teaches that color conversion patterns from one upper structure of a display panel may overlap another lower structure of an adjacent display panel. The modification would simply require changing a dimension of upper and lower structures to accommodate the overlap.
In reference to claim 12, Chiu and Huang teach the invention of claim 11.
Chiu further teaches The tiled display device of claim 11,
wherein the first lower structure [102’] further comprises a plurality of first light emitting elements [backlight unit 104 (on and part of 102’); Fig. 6, para 0058; para 0059 discloses that 104 may include light-emitting elements formed of various materials, i.e. a plurality of elements], the second lower structure [502’] further comprises a plurality of second light emitting elements [backlight unit 104 (on and part of 502’); Fig. 6, para 0058; para 0059 discloses that 104 may include light-emitting elements formed of various materials, i.e. a plurality of elements], the third lower structure [302’] further comprises a plurality of third light emitting elements [backlight unit 104 (on and part of 302’); Fig. 6, para 0058; para 0059 discloses that 104 may include light-emitting elements formed of various materials, i.e. a plurality of elements], and the fourth lower structure [702’] further comprises a plurality of fourth light emitting elements [backlight unit 104 (on and part of 702’); Fig. 6, para 0058; para 0059 discloses that 104 may include light-emitting elements formed of various materials, i.e. a plurality of elements];
the first bonding area [area of dotted lines between 30’ and 10’, as shown in Fig. 5B] is between the first light emitting elements [backlight unit 104 (on and part of 102’); Fig. 6, para 0058] adjacent to the second lower structure [502’] and the second light emitting elements [backlight unit 104 (on and part of 502’); Fig. 6, para 0058] adjacent to the first lower structure;
the second bonding area [area of dotted lines between 20’ and 10’, as shown in Fig. 5B] is between the first light emitting elements [104 of 102’] adjacent to the third lower structure [302’] and the third light emitting elements [104 of 302’] adjacent to the first lower structure [102’];
the third bonding area [area of dotted lines between 40’ and 30’, as shown in Fig. 5B] is between the second light emitting elements [104 of 502’] adjacent to the fourth lower structure [702’] and the fourth light emitting elements [104 of 702’] adjacent to the second lower structure [502’]; and
the fourth bonding area [area of dotted lines between 40’ and 20’, as shown in Fig. 5B] is between the third light emitting elements [104 of 302’] adjacent to the fourth lower structure [702’] and the fourth lower structure [702’] adjacent to the third lower structure [302’].
In reference to claim 13, Chiu and Huang teach the invention of claim 11.
Chiu further teaches The tiled display device of claim 11, wherein respective sizes of the first to fourth lower structures are the same in a plan view [102’, 502’, 302’, and 702’ appear to be the same size, as shown in Fig. 5B].
In reference to claim 14, Chiu and Huang teach the invention of claim 13.
However, Chiu does not explicitly teach The tiled display device of claim 13, wherein a size of the first upper structure is larger than a size of the second upper structure, is larger than a size of the third upper structure, and is larger than a size of the fourth upper structure in the plan view.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results, to modify the teachings of Chiu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to teach The tiled display device of claim 13, wherein a size of the first upper structure is larger than a size of the second upper structure, is larger than a size of the third upper structure, and is larger than a size of the fourth upper structure in the plan view. Since Chiu teaches upper structures of various sizes, one would simply need to modify the size of the first upper structure [202’] by increasing its dimensions, so that the first upper structure is larger than the other upper structures. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide predictable results using known methods.
In reference to claim 15, Chiu and Huang teach the invention of claim 14.
However, Chiu does not explicitly teach The tiled display device of claim 14, wherein the size of the second upper structure is the same as the size of the third upper structure.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, absent unexpected results, to modify the teachings of Chiu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to teach The tiled display device of claim 14, wherein the size of the second upper structure is the same as the size of the third upper structure. Since Chiu teaches upper structures of various sizes, one would simply need to modify the sizes of the second [602’] and third [402’] upper structures by changing their dimensions to be the same size. One would have been motivated to make this modification to provide predictable results using known methods.
In reference to claim 16, Chiu and Huang teach the invention of claim 14.
Chiu teaches The tiled display device of claim 14, wherein the size of the fourth upper structure [802’] is smaller than the size of the second upper structure [802’ appears to be smaller than 602’], and is smaller than the size of the third upper structure [802’ appears to be smaller than 402’].
Conclusion
/ANDREW CHUNG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2898