DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-15, 21, 22, 24-26 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moffatt (US 2014/0273416) in view of Andrews et al (US 2005/0130390) and Iyer et al (US 2015/0087082).
In a method of photo-excitation for depositing a layer, Moffatt teaches a processing chamber 100 is provided with a light scanning unit 188, a radiation source 186 projects a substantially coherent or incoherent beam of light or electromagnetic radiation onto the light scanning unit 188 in a desired shape of image; the light scanning unit 188 scans a beam across the substrate 108 at or near the surface, wherein a new scan is started along the longitudinal or transversal direction of the substrate until the entire substrate or a desired region of the substrate is illuminated for effective photodecomposition or photolysis of the component of the gaseous precursor, thereby depositing a material layer on the surface of the substrate (Fig 1; [0018]-[0035]), which clearly suggests projecting a first beam on selected regions of the wafer using a first laser projector to grow a semiconductor on the wafer, wherein the first laser beam moves along a path that comprises a first region and a second region. Moffatt also teaches a wafer (substrate) 108 and a substrate support 106, wherein the substrate support is rotated during processing to minimize the effect of thermal and process gas flow spatial anomalies within the process chamber 100 and an array of lamps 102 (heat source) to heat the substrate(Fig 1; [0021]-[0023]), which clearly suggest placing a wafer into a process chamber and rotating the wafer. Moffatt teaches the method may be applicable to deposition of other materials or semiconductor compounds such as silicon, dielectrics, Group III-V compound semiconductors or Group II-VI compound semiconductors, including binary, ternary, and quaternary alloys thereof, or other semiconductors, including organic semiconductors and magnetic semiconductors ([0054]). Moffatt teaches epitaxial growth and using a laser to photo-dissociate the precursor ([0029]-[0031], [0053]).
Moffatt does not teach projecting a second laser beam on the wafer to perform an etching process, wherein during the etching process, the second laser beam is projected on a third region of the wafer.
In a method of making semiconductor devices, Andrews et al teaches a device layer including active device portions 122 is formed on a device surface 114 of a semiconductor substrate or wafer 110; epitaxial layers comprise an active region having a p-n junction that emits light when energized; and a laser beam 152 is scanned (by relatively moving the laser 150, the substrate assembly 100A, or both) across the wafer 110 between the device portions 122 such that the laser beam 152 projects through the isolation trenches 132 and along each street 160, 162 to etch the substrate to separate device portions, and etching the device layer to form trenches 132, which clearly suggests a second laser beam on the wafer to perform an etching process, wherein during the etching process, the second laser beam is projected on a third region of the wafer. (Fig 2-11; [0029]-[0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Moffatt by projecting a second laser beam on the wafer to perform an etching process, wherein during the etching process, the second laser beam is projected on a third region of the wafer and the second laser beam is kept outside of a fourth region of a wafer, to etch trenches between device portions, as taught by Andrews et al. It is noted that the devices portions are first regions where epitaxy occurs with the first laser beam, and the second region would be streets where devices portions are not formed; the third region is the street between device portions where the laser etching occurs, and the second laser beam is kept out of a fourth region which would be device region.
The combination of Moffatt and Andrews et al teaches rotating the wafer. However, the combination of Moffatt and Andrews et al does not teach rotating the wafer and projecting the laser beams in specific regions.
In an laser delivery mechanism, Iyer teaches laser delivery mechanism 102 may include a laser source 110 and laser beam positioning device 112; the laser beam positioning device 112 may include one or more mirrors, prisms, electro-optic or acousto-optic deflectors, or the like, that may deflect or otherwise redirect a laser beam from the laser source 110 so as to cause the laser beam to scan along a portion of a substrate positioned within the processing tool 106; a controller 104 may direct the laser delivery mechanism 102 to selectively heat portions of the substrate; in areas in which less heat is desired, the laser beam may be turned off; and the substrate 204 also may be moved relative to the laser beam (e.g., linearly, by rotation, etc.) (Fig 1-4; [0013]-[0031]). Iyer also teaches raising substrate temperature of an area of the substrate 204 relative to other areas of the substrate 204 may increase etch or deposition rates in the heated area, and through use of laser heating, precise control over local temperature profile may be achieved at reaction sites during processing, and this allows highly accurate adjustments to etch or deposition rates at a local, selective level ([0030]-[0031]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Moffatt and Andrews et al by rotating the wafer, as taught by Iyer et al, to move the substrate relative to the substrate to position the laser in a desired location for etching and deposition processes.
Referring to claim 4, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches a plurality of laser delivery mechanisms and a controller 104 is coupled to each laser delivery mechanism 102a-c and controls operation of the laser delivery mechanisms 102a-c (Iyer [0024]), which clearly suggests a second laser beam on the wafer using a second laser projector that are operated separately. Furthermore, duplication of parts is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04)
Referring to claim 5, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches the chip design for a substrate may provide layer type and/or thickness information across a substrate, and controller 104 may access the chip design from a database or other location and use chip design information to apply different laser dwell times, powers or the like selectively across the substrate ([0032]), which clearly suggest the different power (i.e. power on/off) in different regions may be designed based on thickness, which clearly suggests adjusting a power of the first laser beam.
Referring to claim 6-7, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches laser beam ON and OFF states may be modulated by controller 104 (Iyer [0029]) and laser epitaxy in device regions, and laser etching in streets between device regions (Andrews (Fig 2-11; [0029]-[0053]).
Referring to claim 8, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches the process comprises the epitaxy process to grow the semiconductor layer on the wafer (Moffatt [0041], [0053]; Andrews [0006]).
Referring to claim 9, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches the etching process to etch the semiconductor layer (Andrews [0030] teaches etching the device layer), which clearly suggests second layer is etched from a second portion of the wafer projected by the first laser beam.
Referring to claim 10, see the remarks above. Also, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al laser epitaxy of device layers, and laser etching to form trenches (third area, etch back semiconductor layer) and scanning the laser to for break lines between device layers, wherein the laser for device (first area) formation would be kept out of the streets (second area, fourth area) 160, 162 (Andrews [0029]-[0045]; Fig 2-11).
Referring to claims 11-12 and 15, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches the chip design for a substrate may provide layer type and/or thickness information across a substrate, a metrology tool 108 may measure film thickness uniformity, CD uniformity and/or any other uniformity parameter relevant to the substrate which is to be processed and provide the substrate uniformity information to the controller 104; and based on the substrate uniformity information, the controller 104 may create a map or temperature profile that indicates at what locations across a surface of the substrate temperature should be raised to increase etch rate or deposition rate, so as to compensate for substrate uniformity variations in thickness, CD, etc. and controller 104 may access the chip design from a database or other location and use chip design information to apply different laser dwell times, powers or the like selectively across the substrate (Iyer [0016]-[0032]; Fig 4), which clearly suggest growing an epitaxial layer, measuring temperatures of different parts of the wafer, measuring the thickness and determining heating parameters based on measured temperatures and thicknesses.
Referring to claim 13, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches scanning the laser across the substrate (Iyer Fig 2).
Referring to claim 14, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches a second laser beam 110a, 110b, 110c (Iyer Fig 2)
Referring to claim 21, see the remarks above. The combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches laser epitaxy and laser etching to form device regions and etching between the device regions, and rotating the substrate to position the laser in desired locations, wherein the laser is turned on and off to provide a desired heating to enhance etching and epitaxy. Also, combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches the laser used for epitaxy is different from the laser used in etching because the epitaxial device formation occurs prior to etching, and the prior art teaches a plurality of laser for scanning different regions of the substrate, and the etching rate is higher when the laser is on compared to when the laser is off.
Referring to claim 22, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches heating lamps for heating the substrate support (Moffatt [0019]-0023]), which clearly suggests wafer is heated globally.
Referring to claim 24, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches positioning the laser during etching, and laser beam positioning device 112 may include one or more mirrors, prisms, electro-optic or acousto-optic deflectors, or the like, that may deflect or otherwise redirect a laser beam from the laser source 110 so as to cause the laser beam to scan along a portion of a substrate positioned within the processing tool 106 (Iyer [0015]), which clearly suggests the projecting angle of the laser beam on the wafer is adjusted to different angles.
Referring to claim 25, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches a plurality of laser delivery mechanisms and a controller 104 is coupled to each laser delivery mechanism 102a-c and controls operation of the laser delivery mechanisms 102a-c (Iyer [0024]). Furthermore, duplication of parts is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.04).
Referring to claim 26, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches controller 104 may cause the one or more laser beams 202a-c to be turned on and/or have a larger dwell time and/or power in areas of the substrate 204 in which additional substrate heating is desired and in areas in which less heat is desired, the controller 104 may cause the one or more laser beams 202a-c to be turned off, or decrease dwell time and/or power (Iyer [0029], which clearly moving at different speeds to provide different dwell times for different surface regions.
Referring to claim 29, the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches the chip design for a substrate may provide layer type and/or thickness information across a substrate, and controller 104 may access the chip design from a database or other location and use chip design information to apply different laser dwell times, powers or the like selectively across the substrate (Iyer [0032]), which clearly suggest the different power (i.e. power on/off) in different regions may be designed based on thickness.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moffatt (US 2014/0273416) in view of Andrews et al (US 2005/0130390) and Iyer et al (US 2015/0087082), as applied to claim 1, 4-15, 21, 22, 24-26 and 29, above, and further in view of Lancaster-Larocque et al (US 9,629,271).
The combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al teaches all of the limitations of claim 23, as discussed above, except the first laser projector slides on a track, so that the first laser beam moves on the wafer.
In a method of laser etching a substrate, Lancaster-Larocque et al teaches a laser projector slides on a track (rails), so that a laser beam moves on a wafer (See Fig 3; col 4, ln 1 to col 5, ln 67 which teaches a laser 301 emits light beam 302 toward a mirror 304 such that the laser beam 302 is redirected along an x-axis path 305 parallel with the length of the rail 306 toward mirror 307 and mirror 307 is mounted on a movable trolley 309 which may be moved along rail 306. Rail 306 is itself mounted on movable trolleys 310 so that every point of the table surface 300 can be swept by the laser beam 302 to allow movement of laser beam 302 in both the y- (303) and x-axis (305) directions and the movement of trolleys 309 and 310 is preferably controlled by a computer 311 which may be connected to motors (not shown) which drive trolleys 309 and 310; and a computer 311 may be programmed to provide precise movement of laser beam 302 along axes 303 and 305 and thus move contact point 308 to any position on cover surface 201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the combination of Moffatt, Andrews and Iyer et al by providing a laser projector slides on a track, as taught by Lancaster-Larocque et al, to provide precise movement of laser beam to any position on substrate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-15, 21-26 and 29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bukhman et al (US 5,795,493) teaches a laser position control unit 72 will differentially heat each portion of the plurality of portions to effect a differential etch rate for each portion, such that thicker portions of substrate 40 (see FIG. 1) are heated to a higher temperature than thinner portions; and laser scan unit 58 comprises laser generation apparatus 70, laser position control unit 72, temperature measurement apparatus 74, thickness measurement apparatus 76 and etch rate computational computer 78; and a substrate heating profile generating computer 85 is a computer capable of converting a thickness profile map 120 of semiconductor substrate 40 into a heating profile map 130 of substrate 40 (col 2-5).
MATTHEW J. SONG
Examiner
Art Unit 1714
/MATTHEW J SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714