Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/1/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argued that the prior art does not disclose: “ the first diffusion barrier layer is planar; the second diffusion barrier layer is physically and continuously joined to an additional diffusion barrier of a respective underlying one of the first plurality of vias.” Examiner respectfully disagree: Mountsier discloses (Fig. 1D) a diffusion barrier layer that is planar (under the via) and no where in the claim does it say that the barrier layer cannot be on the side surface of the via.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10, 12 - 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANEKO et al. (US 20140097009 A1, “KANEKO”) in view of Mountsier et al. (US 20100187693 A1, “Mountsier”).
Regarding claim 10, KANEKO discloses (Fig. 1A, 17 & 18) a package (1) comprising: a plurality of polymer layers (39); a plurality of molding compound layers (31, 33, 35, 37), wherein the plurality of polymer layers and the plurality of molding compound layers are positioned alternatingly (para [0142] the insulating layer 32, 34 and 36 can be replaced by 39), and each of the plurality of molding compound layers physically contacts an overlying one and an underlying one of the plurality of polymer layers (Fig. 1A); a first plurality of vias (42, 44, 46), each in one of the plurality of polymer layers; and a second plurality of vias (41, 43, 45, 47), each in one of the plurality of molding compound layers, wherein the first plurality of vias and the second plurality of vias are electrically interconnected (see Fig. 1A); a first plurality of metal lines (20G, 20E), each in one of the plurality of polymer layers (39), wherein each of the first plurality of metal lines comprises a first diffusion barrier layer, and the first diffusion barrier layer is planar; and a second plurality of metal lines (20F, 20D), each in one of the plurality of molding compound layers (32, 34 and 36), wherein each of the second plurality of metal lines comprises a second diffusion barrier layer, and the second diffusion barrier layer is physically and continuously joined to an additional diffusion barrier of a respective underlying one of the first plurality of vias.
KANEKO fails to disclose wherein each of the first plurality of metal lines comprises a first diffusion barrier layer, and the first diffusion barrier layer is planar; and wherein each of the second plurality of metal lines comprises a second diffusion barrier layer, and the second diffusion barrier layer is physically and continuously joined to an additional diffusion barrier of a respective underlying one of the first plurality of vias
However, Mountsier discloses (Fig. 1D) wherein each of the first plurality of metal lines comprises a first diffusion barrier layer (105), and the first diffusion barrier layer is planar (see Fig. 1D); and wherein each of the second plurality of metal lines comprises a second diffusion barrier layer (105), and the second diffusion barrier layer is physically and continuously joined to an additional diffusion barrier of a respective underlying one of the first plurality of vias (109).
KANEKO and Mountsier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of multi-layer substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KANEKO to incorporate the teachings of Mountsier and provide wherein each of the first plurality of metal lines comprises a first diffusion barrier layer (105), and the first diffusion barrier layer is planar (see Fig. 1D); and wherein each of the second plurality of metal lines comprises a second diffusion barrier layer (105), and the second diffusion barrier layer is physically and continuously joined to an additional diffusion barrier of a respective underlying one of the first plurality of vias (109). Doing so would block the conductive materials from conductive lines into dielectric materials (abstract).
Regarding claim 12, KANEKO in view of Mountsier discloses the package of claim 10, wherein KANEKO further discloses that each of the first plurality of vias (42, 44, 46) is physically and continuously connected to an overlying conductive line without interface in between (see fig. 1A). .
Regarding claim 13, KANEKO in view of Mountsier discloses the package of claim 10, wherein KANEKO further discloses that the plurality of polymer layers (39) are thinner than the plurality of molding compound layers (para [0140]).
Claim(s) 11, 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANEKO et al. (US 20140097009 A1, “KANEKO”) in view of Mountsier et al. (US 20100187693 A1, “Mountsier”) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of MAEDA et al. (US 20130161079 A1, “MAEDA”).
Regarding claim 11, KANEKO in view of Mountsier discloses the package of claim 10, KANEKO in view of Mountsier fails to disclose wherein each of the second plurality of vias forms a planar interface with an overlying conductive line (see annotated figure below).
However MAEDA discloses, wherein each of the second plurality of vias forms a planar interface with an overlying conductive line (see annotated figure below). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the second plurality of vias forms a planar interface with an overlying conductive line as shown by MAEDA, with the circuit board of KANEKO in view of Mountsier, since as shown by MAEDA having each of the second plurality of vias forms a planar interface with an overlying conductive line is commonly done as it simplifies the manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 14, KANEKO in view of Mountsier discloses the package of claim 10, KANEKO in view of Mountsier fails to disclose wherein each of the second plurality of vias has a top surface coplanar with a top surface of a respective one of the molding compound layers.
However MAEDA discloses, wherein each of the second plurality of vias has a top surface coplanar with a top surface of a respective one of the molding compound layers (see annotated figure above). It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have each of the second plurality of vias has a top surface coplanar with a top surface of a respective one of the molding compound layers as shown by MAEDA, with the circuit board of KANEKO in view of Mountsier, since as shown by MAEDA having wherein each of the second plurality of vias has a top surface coplanar with a top surface of a respective one of the molding compound layers is commonly done as it simplifies the manufacturing process.
Regarding claim 16, KANEKO in view of Mountsier discloses the package of claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of polymer layers (39) is formed of a homogeneous material (para [0140]), and each of the plurality of molding compound layers (31, 33, 35, 37) comprises a base material (para [0140]).
KANEKO in view of Mountsier fails to disclose filler particles in the base material.
However, MAEDA discloses (Fig. 3) filler particles in the base material (para [0046]).
KANEKO in view of Mountsier and MAEDA are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wiring substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KANEKO in view of Mountsier to incorporate the teachings of MAEDA and provide filler particles in the base material (para [0046]). Doing so would lower the coefficient of thermal expansion.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANEKO et al. (US 20140097009 A1, “KANEKO”) in view of Mountsier et al. (US 20100187693 A1, “Mountsier”) as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of LAI et al. (US 20150214162 A1, “LAI”).
Regarding claim 21, KANEKO in view of Mountsier discloses the package of claim 10, KANEKO in view of Mountsier is silent on wherein an entirety of the first diffusion barrier layer is planar, and wherein the first diffusion barrier layer comprises both of a vertical portion and a horizontal portion.
However, LAI discloses (Fig. 2) wherein an entirety of the first diffusion barrier layer (150) is planar, and wherein the first diffusion barrier layer comprises both of a vertical portion and a horizontal portion (see Fig. 2).
KANEKO in view of Mountsier and LAI are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of multi-layer substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified KANEKO in view of Mountsier to incorporate the teachings of LAI and provide wherein an entirety of the first diffusion barrier layer (150) is planar, and wherein the first diffusion barrier layer comprises both of a vertical portion and a horizontal portion (see Fig. 2). Doing so would provide long-term reliability and optimal electrical performance.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 1 – 5, 7 – 9 and 17 – 20 are allowed.
Claim 22 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIDI M MAIGA/
Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/STANLEY TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847