DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on June 5, 2026 has been entered. No claim(s) has/have been canceled or added. Therefore, claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 12, 13 and 21-33 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato (US 2016/0272500, hereinafter “Sato”, previously cited) in view of Meng et al. (“Stable p- and n-type doping of few-layer graphene/graphite”, Carbon 57 (2013), 507-514, hereinafter “Meng”).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches in Fig. 4B (shown below) and related text a semiconductor structure comprising:
a substrate (11, Fig. 4B and ¶[0031]);
a dielectric layer (32, Fig. 4B and ¶[0059]) disposed on the substrate, and having an inner lateral surface that is perpendicular to the substrate (Fig. 4B); and
a graphene conductive structure (33 (31a), Fig. 4B and ¶[0062]) that is formed in the dielectric layer and that has at least one graphene layer extending in a direction parallel to the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer (Fig. 4B and ¶[0056]), wherein the graphene conductive structure is doped with an intercalating material made of FeCl3, K, Rb, Cs, Li, HNO3, SbCl5, SbF5, Br2, AlCl3, NiCl2, AsF5, and AuCl3 (¶[0062]), and wherein the intercalating material is intercalated into the graphene conductive structure.
While Sato does not explicitly teach that graphene conductive structure is doped with an intercalating material made of tetraethylenepentamine, diethylenetriamine, o-phenylenediamine, 1,2,4-triazole, trifluorobenzene, hexafluorobenzene, AuCl5, ZnMg, or combinations thereof, using, for example, ZnMg, as an intercalating material in graphene is nonetheless well-known in the art as evidenced by Meng. Specifically, Meng teaches that ZnMg can be used as an intercalating material in graphene, in order to form graphene with desired conductivity (Abstract).
Thus, since the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements, using such elements would lead to predictable results and, as such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ZnMg as an intercalating material, as doing so would amount to nothing more than using a known material for its intended purpose, such as creating graphene with desired properties/characteristics.
Regarding claim 27, Sato teaches in Fig. 4B (shown above) and related text a semiconductor structure comprising:
a substrate (11, Fig. 4B and ¶[0031]);
a dielectric layer (32, Fig. 4B and ¶[0059]) disposed on the substrate, and having an inner lateral surface that is perpendicular to the substrate (Fig. 4B); and
a graphene conductive structure (33 (31a), Fig. 4B and ¶[0062]) that is formed in the dielectric layer, that is surrounded by the inner lateral surfaces, and that has a plurality of graphene layer extending in a direction parallel to the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer (Fig. 4B and ¶[0056]), wherein the graphene conductive structure is doped with an intercalating material made of FeCl3, K, Rb, Cs, Li, HNO3, SbCl5, SbF5, Br2, AlCl3, NiCl2, AsF5, and AuCl3 (¶[0062]), and wherein the intercalating material is intercalated among the plurality of graphene layers.
While Sato does not explicitly teach that graphene conductive structure is doped with an intercalating material made of tetraethylenepentamine, diethylenetriamine, o-phenylenediamine, 1,2,4-triazole, tetraethylene glycol, trifluorobenzene, hexafluorobenzene, AuCl5, ZnMg, or combinations thereof, using, for example, ZnMg, as an intercalating material is nonetheless well-known in the art as evidenced by Meng. Specifically, Meng teaches that ZnMg can be used as an intercalating material, in order to form graphene with desired conductivity (Abstract).
Therefore, since the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements, using such elements would lead to predictable results and, as such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art would before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ZnMg as an intercalating material, as doing so would amount to nothing more than using a known material for its intended purpose, such as creating a graphene with desired properties/characteristics.
Claim(s) 1-2, and 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2015/0270225, hereinafter “Yang”, previously cited) in view Meng et al. (“Stable p- and n-type doping of few-layer graphene/graphite”, Carbon 57 (2013), 507-514, hereinafter “Meng”).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches in Figs. 1-2 and 5 (Figs. 1 and 5 shown below) and related text a semiconductor structure comprising:
a substrate (100, Fig. 1 and ¶[0019]);
a dielectric layer (i.e. topmost layer 105, Fig. 1 and ¶[0019]) disposed on the substrate, and having an inner lateral surface that is perpendicular to the substrate (Fig. 1); and
a graphene conductive structure (102, Fig. 1 and ¶¶[0019]-[0024]) that is formed in the dielectric layer and that has at least one graphene layer extending in a direction parallel to the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer (Fig. 5 and ¶¶[0019]-[0024]).
Yang, however, does not explicitly teach that graphene conductive structure is doped with an intercalating material made of tetraethylenepentamine, diethylenetriamine, o-phenylenediamine, 1,2,4-triazole, trifluorobenzene, hexafluorobenzene, AuCl5, ZnMg, or combinations thereof, wherein the intercalating material is intercalated into the graphene conductive structure. Nonetheless, doping graphene with, for example, with ZnMg, is well-known in the art, as evidenced by Meng, in order form graphene with desired conductivity (Abstract). Where it is noted that intercalating material disclosed by Matsumoto would involve intercalating into the graphene conductive structure.
Thus, since the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements, using such elements would lead to predictable results, and as such, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dope graphene conductive structure disclosed by Yang, with one of the doping materials disclosed by Meng in order to form graphene structure with desired properties/characteristics.
Regarding claim 2 (1), the combined teaching of Yang and Meng further discloses a metal layer (Yang, 109, Fig. 1 and ¶[0024]) that is connected between the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer (Yang, i.e. topmost layer 105, Fig. 1) and the graphene conductive structure (Yang, 102, Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 27, Yang teaches in Figs. 1-2 and 5 (Figs. 1 and 5 shown above) and related text, a semiconductor structure comprising:
a substrate (100, Fig. 1 and ¶[0019]);
a dielectric layer (i.e. topmost layer 105, Fig. 1 and ¶[0019]) disposed on the substrate, and having an inner lateral surface that is perpendicular to the substrate (Fig. 1); and
a graphene conductive structure (102, Fig. 1 and ¶¶[0019]-[0024]) that is formed in the dielectric layer, that is surrounded by the inner lateral surface, and that has a plurality of graphene layers extending in a direction parallel to the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer (Fig. 5 and ¶¶[0019]-[0024]).
Yang, however, does not explicitly teach that graphene conductive structure is doped with an intercalating material made of tetraethylenepentamine, diethylenetriamine, o-phenylenediamine, 1,2,4-triazole, tetraethylene glycol, trifluorobenzene, hexafluorobenzene, AuCl5, ZnMg, or combinations thereof, wherein the intercalating material is intercalated into the graphene conductive structure. Nonetheless, doping graphene with, for example, with ZnMg, is well-known in the art, as evidenced by Meng, in order to form graphene with desired conductivity (Abstract). Where it is noted that intercalating material disclosed by Meng would involve intercalating into the graphene conductive structure.
Thus, since the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements, using such elements would lead to predictable results, and as such, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dope graphene conductive structure disclosed by Yang, with one of the doping materials disclosed by Meng in order to form graphene structure with desired properties/characteristics.
Regarding claim 28 (27), the combined teaching of Yang and Meng further discloses a metal layer (Yang, 109, Fig. 1 and ¶[0024]) that is disposed between the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer and the graphene conductive structure, the graphene layers being disposed on the metal layer in a layer-by-layer manner (Yang, Figs. 1 and 5, where Fig. 5 shows graphene layers being disposed on the metal layer in a layer-by-layer manner, alternatively it is noted that the way in which graphene layer is disposed on the metal layer renders the claim a product-by-process claim which is treated according to MPEP § 2113, which states that “[e]ven through product-by process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. Since Yang teaches all the structure, the claimed method does not distinguish from the prior art).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang and Meng as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2015/0235959, hereinafter “Lee”, previously cited).
Regarding claim 12 (2), the combined teaching of Yang and Meng was discussed above in the rejection of claim 2 and further includes wherein the metal layer is made of Co, Ni, Fe, or Cu (Yang, ¶[0024]). While Yang and Meng do not explicitly teach that the metal layer is made of Rh, Re, Ag, Ir, Au, Hf, Ta, W, or combinations thereof, using, for example, W for the metal layer is well-known in the art in order to aid formation of the graphene film. Specifically, Lee teaches that W (claimed) and Co, Ni, Fe or Cu (disclosed by Yang) are equivalent and known metal materials in the art used as catalysts in graphene formation in order to form graphene film (Lee, ¶[0095]). Therefore, because W and Co, Ni, Fe and Cu were art-recognized equivalents before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute W for one of the catalysts disclosed by Yang in order to form graphene film.
Claim(s) 13 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (US 2010/0319971, hereinafter “Lin”, previously cited) in view of Meng et al. (“Stable p- and n-type doping of few-layer graphene/graphite”, Carbon 57 (2013), 507-514, hereinafter “Meng”).
Regarding claim 13, Lin teaches in Figs. 1A-1G (Fig. 1G shown below) and related text, a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first dielectric layer (18’, Fig. 1B and ¶[0169]);
a conductive layer (26, Fig. 1G and ¶[0022]) that is formed in the first dielectric layer, the conductive layer including a combination of metal and graphene (¶¶[0171]-[0172]);
a second dielectric layer (22’, Fig. 1F and ¶[0169]) disposed on the first dielectric layer (Fig. 1F); and
a graphene conductive structure (26, Fig. 1 and ¶¶[0176]-[0024]) that is formed in the second dielectric layer (Fig. 1G), that has at least one graphene layer extending in a direction perpendicular to the first dielectric layer (Fig. 1G, graphene conductive structure disclosed by Lin includes a layer that is extending in a direction perpendicular to the first dielectric layer, or alternatively, since the graphene conductive structure formed by Lin is formed on a same liner material as disclosed by the applicant (¶[0024] of the application as published) at least one graphene layer would extend in a direction perpendicular to the first dielectric layer), and that is electrically connected to the conductive layer (Fig. 1G).
Lin, however, does not explicitly teach that graphene conductive structure is doped with an intercalating material made of tetraethylenepentamine, diethylenetriamine, o-phenylenediamine, 1,2,4-triazole, trifluorobenzene, hexafluorobenzene, AuCl5, ZnMg, or combinations thereof, wherein the intercalating material is intercalated into the graphene conductive structure. Nonetheless, doping graphene with, for example, with ZnMg, is well-known in the art, as evidenced by Meng, in order to form graphene with desired conductivity (Abstract). Where it is noted that intercalating material disclosed by Meng would involve intercalating into the graphene conductive structure.
Thus, since the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements, using such elements would lead to predictable results, and as such, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dope graphene conductive structure disclosed by Lin, with one of the doping materials disclosed by Meng in order to form graphene structure with desired properties/characteristics.
Regarding claim 21 (13), the combined teaching of Lin and Meng further discloses a metal layer (Lin, Fig. 1G and ¶[0171]) that is disposed in the second dielectric layer (Lin, Fig. 1G) and that surrounds the graphene conductive structure (Lin, Fig. 1G and ¶[0171]).
Claim(s) 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin and Meng as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Wann et al. (US 2013/0015581, hereinafter “Wann”, previously cited).
Regarding claim 33 (21), the combined teaching of Lin and Meng was discussed above in the rejection of claim 21 and an upper etch stop layer (Lin, 30, Fig. 1H and ¶[0174]) disposed on the second dielectric layer (Lin, 22’, Fig. 1F and ¶[0169]) opposite an upper surface of the first dielectric layer, wherein the metal layer interfaces upper surface of the first dielectric layer (Lin, 18’, Fig. 1H), the second dielectric layer (Lin, 22’, Fig. 1H), and the upper etch stop layer (Lin, 30, Fig. 1H).
Lin and Meng, however, do not explicitly teach that a lower etch stop layer is disposed between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer (i.e. is disposed on an upper surface of the first dielectric layer) and, as a result, that the upper etch stop layer is disposed on the second dielectric layer opposite to the lower etch stop layer and the metal layer interfaces the lower etch stop layer.
Wann, in a similar field of endeavor, teaches in Fig. 9, and related text that a lower etch stop layer (68, Fig. 9 and ¶[0029]) can be formed between a first dielectric layer (60, Fig. 9 and ¶[0015]) and a second dielectric layer (66, Fig. 9 and ¶[0028]), similar to those disclosed by Lin and Meng, so that that a metal layer (260, Fig. 9 and ¶[0056]) interfaces the lower etch stop layer (Wann, 68, Fig. 9) in order to meet specific manufacturing requirements for etching the second dielectric layer (¶[0029]).
Thus, since the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements, using such elements would lead to predictable results, and as such, it would have been obvious to dispose the lower etch stop layer disclosed by Wann, between the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer disclosed by Lin and Meng in order to meet specific manufacturing requirements for etching the second dielectric layer.
Claim(s) 1-2 and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2015/0270225, hereinafter “Yang”, previously cited, under different interpretation form that used above) in view of Molokanova (US 2017/0143762, hereinafter “Molokanova”) and Meng et al. (Stable p- and n-type doping of few-layer graphene/graphite”, Carbon 57 (2013), 507-514, hereinafter “Meng”), with Duncan et al. (US 2013/0214875, hereinafter “Duncan”), used as evidentiary reference for showing that using phenol functional groups is considered doping.
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches in Figs. 4 and 5 (Fig. 4 shown below) and related text a semiconductor structure comprising:
a substrate (100, Fig. 4 and ¶[0019]);
a dielectric layer (i.e. topmost layer 105A, Fig. 4 and ¶[0032]) disposed on the substrate, and having an inner lateral surface that is perpendicular to the substrate (Fig. 4); and
a conductive structure (101, Fig. 1 and ¶¶[0019]-[0024]) that is formed in the dielectric layer and that has at least one layer extending in a direction parallel to the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer (Fig. 5 and ¶¶[0019]-[0034]).
Yang, however, does not explicitly teach that that the conductive structure is a graphene conductive structure doped with an intercalating material made of tetraethylenepentamine, diethylenetriamine, o-phenylenediamine, 1,2,4-triazole, trifluorobenzene, hexafluorobenzene, AuCl5, ZnMg, or combinations thereof, wherein the intercalating material is intercalated into the graphene conductive structure.
Molokanova, teaches that carbon nanotubes, disclosed by Yang as a material of the conductive structure and graphene doped with phenol groups, as claimed, are known equivalent conductive materials (¶¶[0014]-[0015], where it is noted that Duncan teaches in paragraph [0042] that use of phenol functional groups is considered doping) and Meng teaches that ZnMg can be used as an intercalating material (dopant) in graphene, in order to form graphene structure with desired properties/characteristics, such as conductivity. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute graphene intercalated with phenol groups or ZnMg, for the carbon nanotubes, as these materials were art-recognized equivalents, and doing so would amount to nothing more than choosing a material based on its suitability for its intended use.
Regarding claim 2 (1), the combined teaching of Yang, Molokanova and Meng further discloses a metal layer (Yang, 110, Fig. 1 and ¶[0030]) that is connected between the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer (Yang, 105A, Fig. 4) and the graphene conductive structure (Yang, 101, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 31 (1), the combined teaching of Yang, Molokanova, and Meng further discloses
a contact feature (Yang, 103, Fig. 4 and ¶[0019]) which is disposed below the graphene conductive structure (Yang, 101, Fig. 4) and which has a width greater than that of the graphene conductive structure (Yang, Fig. 4); and
an etch stop layer (Yang, 107, Fig. 4 and ¶[0021]) disposed between the contact feature (Yang, 103, Fig. 4) and the dielectric layer (Yang, 105A, Fig. 4), wherein the metal layer (Yang, 110, Fig. 4) interfaces the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer (Yang, 105A, Fig. 4), the etch stop layer (Yang, 107, Fig. 4), the graphene conductive structure (Yang, 101, Fig. 4), and the contact feature (Yang, 103, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 32 (31), the combined teaching of Yang, Molokanova and Meng further discloses
wherein the contact feature interfaces the metal layer (Yang, 110, Fig. 4), the graphene conductive structure (Yang, 101, Fig. 4), and the etch stop layer (Yang, 107, Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 13, 21-22 and 31-32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barth et al. (US 2016/0225694, hereinafter “Barth”, previously cited) in view of Meng et al. (“Stable p- and n-type doping of few-layer graphene/graphite”, Carbon 57 (2013), 507-514, hereinafter “Meng”).
Regarding claim 1, Barth teaches in Figs. 1, 2A-2B and 8 (shown below) and related text a semiconductor structure comprising: a substrate (103, Fig. 1, 203, Fig. 2A, 803, Fig. 8 and ¶¶[0023] and [0029]); a dielectric layer (111, Fig. 1, 211, Fig. 2A and ¶¶[0023] and [0029]) disposed on the substrate, and having an inner lateral surface that is perpendicular to the substrate (Figs. 1 and 2A); and
a graphene conductive structure (123, Fig. 1, 235, Fig. 2, 835, Fig. 8 and ¶¶[0026]-[0027] and [0042]-[0044]) that is formed in the dielectric layer and that has at least one graphene layer extending in a direction parallel to the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer (Figs. 1, 2A and 8, i.e. at least one graphene layer disclosed in embodiments of Figs. 1 and 2A is extending in a direction parallel to the inner surface of the dielectric layer; additionally and/or alternatively, since Barth uses the same deposition process (e.g. PECVD), as that disclosed by the applicant, including the same nucleation layer (e.g. Ni, Cu, Pd, Ru) and precursor material e.g. CH4) in order to form graphene conductive structure, the graphene conductive structure disclosed by Barth would have the claimed characteristics).
While Barth teaches in the embodiment of Fig. 8 that graphene conductive structures having at least one graphene layer extending in a direction parallel to the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer may be doped with an intercalating material (¶¶[0042]-[0044]) in order to enhance conductivity of the interconnect structure (¶¶[0016] and [0043]), Barth does not explicitly teach that the graphene conductive structure is doped with an intercalating material made tetraethylenepentamine, diethylenetriamine, o-phenylenediamine, 1,2,4-triazole, trifluorobenzene, hexafluorobenzene, AuCl5, ZnMg, or combinations thereof, wherein the intercalating material is intercalated into the graphene conductive structure. Nonetheless, doping graphene with, for example, with ZnMg, is well-known in the art, as evidenced by Meng, in order to form graphene with desired conductivity (Abstract). Where it is noted that intercalating material disclosed by Meng would involve intercalating into the graphene conductive structure.
Thus, since the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements, using such elements would lead to predictable results, and as such, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dope graphene conductive structure disclosed by Barth, with ZnMg disclosed by Meng, as doing so would amount to nothing other than using a known material for its intended purpose of reducing resistivity of the interconnect structure.
Regarding claim 2 (1), the combined teaching of Barth and Meng further discloses a metal layer (Barth, 815, Fig. 8 and ¶[0042]) that is connected between the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer (Barth, Figs. 1 and 8 and ¶[0042]) and the graphene conductive structure (Barth, 835, Figs. 1 and 8).
Regarding claim 5 (1), the combined teaching of Barth and Meng further discloses a conductive feature (Barth, 833, Fig. 8 and ¶[0042]) that is surrounded by the graphene conductive structure (Barth, 835 Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Barth teaches in Figs. 1, 2A-2B and 8 (Figs. 1, 2A-2B and 8 shown above) and related text, a semiconductor structure comprising:
a first dielectric layer (115, Fig. 1, 215, Fig. 2A and ¶¶[0024] and [0029]);
a conductive layer (121, 123, Fig. 1, 233, 235, Fig. 2A, 813, 815, 835, 833 and ¶¶[0021], [0025], [0028] and [0042]-[0044]) that is formed in the first dielectric layer, the conductive layer including a combination of metal and graphene (¶¶[0021], [0025], [0028] and [0042]-[0044]);
a second dielectric layer (111, FIG. 1, 211, Fig. 2A and ¶¶[0023] and [0029]) disposed on the first dielectric layer (Figs. 1 and 2A); and
a graphene conductive structure (123, Fig. 1, 235, Fig. 2, 835, Fig. 8 and ¶¶[0026]-[0027] and [0042]-[0044]) that is formed in the second dielectric layer and that has at least one graphene layer extending in a direction perpendicular to the first dielectric layer the dielectric layer (Figs. 1, 2A and 8, i.e. the at least one graphene layer disclosed in embodiments of Figs. 1 and 2A is extending in a direction perpendicular to the first dielectric layer; additionally and/or alternatively, since Barth uses the same deposition process (e.g. PECVD), as that disclosed by the applicant, including the same nucleation layer (e.g. Ni, Cu, Pd, Ru) and precursor material (e.g. CH4) in order to form graphene conductive structure, the graphene conductive structure disclosed by Barth would have the claimed characteristics), and that is electrically connected to the conductive layer (Figs. 1, 2A and 8).
While Barth teaches in the embodiment of Fig. 8 that graphene conductive structures having at least one graphene layer extending in a direction parallel to the inner lateral surface of the dielectric layer may be doped with an intercalating material (¶¶[0042]-[0044]) in order to enhance conductivity of the interconnect structure (¶¶[0016] and [0043]), Barth does not explicitly teach that the graphene conductive structure is doped with an intercalating material made tetraethylenepentamine, diethylenetriamine, o-phenylenediamine, 1,2,4-triazole, trifluorobenzene, hexafluorobenzene, AuCl5, ZnMg, or combinations thereof, wherein the intercalating material is intercalated into the graphene conductive structure. Nonetheless, doping graphene with, for example, with ZnMg, is well-known in the art, as evidenced by Meng, in order to form graphene with desired conductivity (Abstract). Where it is noted that intercalating material disclosed by Meng would involve intercalating into the graphene conductive structure.
Thus, since the prior art teaches all of the claimed elements, using such elements would lead to predictable results, and as such, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dope graphene conductive structure disclosed by Barth, with ZnMg disclosed by Meng, as doing so would amount to nothing other than using a known material for its intended purpose of reducing resistivity of the interconnect structure.
Regarding claim 21 (13), the combined teaching of Barth and Meng further discloses a metal layer (Barth, 815, Fig. 8 and ¶[0042]) that is disposed in the second dielectric layer (Barth, 111, Fig. 1 and 211, Fig. 2A) and that surrounds the graphene conductive structure (Barth, 835, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 22 (21), the combined teaching of Barth and Meng further discloses a conductive feature (Barth, 833, Fig. 8 and ¶[0042]) that is disposed in the second dielectric layer and that is surrounded by the graphene conductive structure (Barth, 835 Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 31 (1), the combined teaching of Barth and Meng further discloses a contact feature (Barth, 117, Fig. 1, 217, Fig. 2A) which is disposed below the graphene conductive structure (Barth, Figs. 2A-2B and 8) and which has a width greater than that of the graphene conductive structure (Barth, Figs. 1, 2A-2B and 8).
Regarding claim 32 (31), the combined teaching of Barth and Meng further discloses a contact feature (Barth, 117, Fig. 1, 217, Fig. 2A) which is disposed below and connected to the graphene conductive structure and the metal layer (Barth, Figs. 1, 2A-2B and 8).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13 and 27 have been considered but are either moot, because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, or not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.B.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893