DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment of claims 1, 18, 26 are supported by the specification.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn.
The new grounds of rejection set forth below are necessitated by applicant's amendment filed on 1/22/2026. Thus, the following action is properly made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 12-13, 18-19, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishizuka et al (JP2000136270).
Ishizuka teaches a composition comprising homopolypropylene, 0.1 wt% of TA1 or TA2, 0.1 wt% of UVA1, 0.1 wt% of HALS1, 0.1 wt% of P1 and ZnO (example 10, table 3, 0009). TA1 is 2-(4,6-diphenyl-1,3,5-triazin-2-yl)-5-[(hexyl)oxy]]-phenol (Tinuvin 1577), TA2 is Cyasorb 1164, both are 2-(2’-hydroxyphenyl)-s-triazine compounds, P1 is Irgafos 168, UVA1 is 2,2'-methylenebis[4-(1,1,3,3-tetramethylbutyl)-6-(2N-benzotriazol-2-yl)phenol] which is a 2-(2’-hydroxyphenyl)benzotriazole UV absorber. HALS1 is Poly{[6-morpholino-2,4-diyl] [4-(2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidyl)iminohexamethylene] [4-(2,2,6,6-tetramethylpiperidyl)imino]}, which is not Tinuvin 770.
The claimed comparative changes is inherent to the composition/article of Ishizuka.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishizuka et al (JP2000136270) in view of Zenner et al (US 2010/0256266).
Ishizuka teaches limitation of claim 1, as discussed above. Ishizuka further teaches the composition further comprises a dispersant such as metal soap and the composition is suitable for extrusion molding [0026-0027, 0029].
Ishizuka does not teach a zinc salt.
However, Zenner discloses a polyolefin composition for extrusion molding and teaches zinc stearate is used for the composition (abstract, examples). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize zinc stearate for the composition of Ishizuka because it is recognized in the art that zinc stearate is a suitable for extrusion molding composition.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-5, 17-19 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 18, 21-23 of copending Application No. 17/697,232. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘232 claims a composition comprising a polymer, an antioxidant and a light stabilizer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Ishizuka is teaching against using a single UV absorber, it is noted that instant claims recites “wherein one UV absorber is present in the composition selected from…” which does not require single one UV absorber present in the composition. Given open claim language “comprising” in the present claims, the additional ingredients is permitted.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WENWEN CAI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763