DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
In the amendment filed on May 1, 2026, claims 1 – 23 are pending. Claims 1, 7, 11, 12, 15 have been amended. Claim 23 has been withdrawn from consideration.
Restrictions/Elections
Claim 23 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 7, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejections of the claims under 35 USC § 112 in the previous Office Action are withdrawn due to Applicant amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejections of the claims under 35 USC § 103 in the previous Office Action are withdrawn due to Applicant amendment.
Claim(s) 1 – 6, 10 – 11, 14, 16, 18 – 19, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart WO 2019/142055 A2 (hereinafter “Blanquart”) in view of Nemani et. Al. US 2016/0194758 A1 (hereinafter “Nemani”) in view of Li et al. US 2019/0055645 A1 (hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claims 1, 3, 6, 10, 11, 14, 16, 21:
Blanquart is directed to a method for depositing gap-fill layers by plasma-assisted chemical vapor deposition or atomic layer-like deposition, and particularly viscous flowable silicon-carbon films that can fill gaps (Abstract; [0008], [0011]).
In an embodiment, Blanquart discloses that the atomic layer-like deposition comprises:
providing a substrate comprising a patterned recess in a reaction space, e.g. the reaction space of an apparatus configured for atomic layer deposition (Abstract; [0047], [0071] – [0072]);
providing a plasma ignition gas [first gas] which can be H2 into the reaction space ([0073]);
providing a carrier gas [second gas] to the reaction space, wherein the second gas may be N2, Ar, and/or He ([0073]);
providing a single-species silicon-carbon precursor to the reaction space, wherein the silicon-carbon precursor has at least one Si-C bond ([0011], [0075]);
feeding precursor as a pulse into an apparatus configured for e.g. atomic layer deposition or pulsed RF chemical vapor deposition [related to claim 21] ([0062], [0076] – [0078], [0093] – [0094]);
purging the apparatus of precursor for set [first] time periods or pulsing the precursor for first time periods [ceasing flow of silicon-carbon precursor, part of the dissipating of silicon-carbon precursor during a first time period after ceasing the flow to substantially dissipate silicon-carbon precursor] ([0062] – [0063], [0093] – [0094]); and
striking a plasma after the purge step or interval [forming plasma beginning after ceasing the flow, part of the first time period and ending after the first time period, meeting claim 21 for pulsed chemical vapor deposition]; and purging again ([0011], [0060] Table 4, [0062] – [0063]; Fig. 1A).
Blanquart discloses that when the purging is set to a short interval, the precursor present near the top of a trench is substantially removed while the precursor near the bottom of the trench remains [also part of the dissipation, as the presence of precursor can be read as remaining silicon-carbon precursor], which allows for the formation of more viscous [flowable] material at the the bottom of the trench, enhancing gapfill and avoiding potential voids ([0062]).
Blanquart also discloses embodiments of their method where no oxygen and no oxygen-containing precursors are added ([0041], [0050], [0073]) and that the deposition and post-treatment steps may be performed in the same reaction space to prevent exposure of the substrate to air or other oxygen-containing atmosphere ([0085]). Finally, Blanquart discloses that the gases may be provided to an upper electrode that serves as a shower plate for reactant gas, dilution/carrier gas, and precursor gas ([0085]).
Blanquart does not expressly teach that the precursor consists of compounds represented by the recited formula; and does not expressly teach that the first gas comprises ammonia.
With regards to the precursor consisting of compounds represented by the recited formula:
Nemani is directed to a method for depositing flowable films by plasma-assisted chemical vapor deposition (Abstract; [0001], [0008], [0022]). Nemani discloses that in some embodiments, the precursor used for deposition can singularly be hexamethyldisilane [polysilane with 2 silicon atoms that that structurally matches the claimed formula as recited in claims 1, 15 ([0025], [0031]).
Blanquart discloses that any single precursor containing an Si – C bond is suitable as a monomer, including precursors bonded to saturated carbon chains.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Blanquart by substituting the precursor of Blanquart with e.g. only hexamethyldisilane because as taught by Nemani, the use of only hexamethyldisilane is known to be suitable for the purpose of as a precursor for flowable films. The courts have held that the selection of a known material/device/product based for its intended use supports a prima facie case of obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
With regards to the first gas comprising ammonia:
Li is directed to compositions and methods of forming flowable silicon-containing films, including flowable silicon carbide films, flowable silicon nitride films, and flowable silicon carbonitride films (Abstract; [0002], [0051], [0084], [0093]). Li discloses an embodiment comprising: providing a substrate comprising surface features/patterns [recesses] into a reactor [reaction space] ([0013], [0089], [0101]; Fig. 1(a)); introducing a first silane compound having at least one carbon-carbon double bond and a second compound – inter alia a polysilane, a silane or a disilane with a bridging alkyl moiety between the silicon atoms – into the reactor ([0014] – [0024], [0082], [0101]); and providing a plasma source into the reactor to at least partially react the first and second compounds to form a(n) [initially] flowable liquid silicon-containing material onto the substrate such as a silicon carbide flowable film ([0025] – [0027], [0093], [0112]).
The plasma source may be e.g. direct nitrogen/hydrogen plasma, direct nitrogen/argon plasmas generated from gaseous sources (e.g. nitrogen sources) ([0084], [0087], [0092], [0094]). The nitrogen/hydrogen plasma may a mixture of a hydrogen/nitrogen plasma and an ammonia plasma generated from hydrogen gas and ammonia (claim 2; [0004], [0026], [0092], [0122] – [0129]). The plasma may be generated as a direct plasma ([0087]). The addition of ammonia plasma aids in forming silicon carbonitride films or otherwise incorporate nitrogen in films, which affects useful material properties such as wet etch resistance/tolerance or electrical properties ([0003], [0124]).
The Examiner notes that Blanquart does disclose a desire to incorporate nitrogen as an additive gas/reactant for nitriding precursors or otherwise provide a gas-generated plasma having N-containing chemistry ([0050]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Blanquart in view of Nemani by including ammonia in combination with hydrogen as an ignition gas [i.e. first gas comprising ammonia or a first gas consisting of ammonia with a second gas comprising of H2] in the method of Blanquart because Li teaches that the inclusion of inter alia ammonia aids in providing nitrogen into resultant silicon-containing flowable films, which materially affects known properties and is desired as an N-containing chemistry by Blanquart.
Regarding claim 2:
Blanquart discloses that an example process parameter for their processes may be e.g. 300 W ([0060], Table 4). More generally Blanquart discloses that plasma power may be e.g. 50 W, 100 W, 200 W, 300 W, 400 W, 500 W, 600 W, 700 W, 800 W, 900 W, 10000 W ([0068]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5:
Blanquart discloses that the flow of hydrogen may overlap with the flow of precursor ([0073], [0093] – [0094], Table 5). While Blanquart in view of Nemani does not expressly teach that the provision of the first gas or first gas and second gas beings prior to the provision of the silicon-carbon precursor, Blanquart does disclose cyclic deposition processes like PEALD-like processes and pulsed CVD ([0095]), entails that a deposition can occur over n cycles. It would then be readily apparent to one of ordinary skill in the art that for an ith pulse (0 < i < n) of precursor provided, the carrier gas and plasma activation gas would be provided on a continuous basis for at least the pulsed CVD embodiments of the method ([0094]), thus meeting the limitations of instant claims 4 and 5 as carrier gas and plasma activation gas is provided prior to the ith pulse of precursor provided and will terminate at the end of deposition during or after the nth pulse.
Regarding claims 18, 19:
While Blanquart does not expressly teach an embodiment wherein the temperature within the reaction chamber is less than 100°C, a pressure within the reaction chamber is between 300 Pa and 2000 Pa, Blanquart does disclose that the production of a polymerized flowable film depends on the wafer temperature within the reaction chamber, the chamber pressure ([0052] – [0056]) as well as provides a general parameter range of -10 to 200°C for the wafer temperature and 300 to 101325 Pa for the chamber pressure ([0053]). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66(Fed. Cir. 1997). See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim(s) 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li as applied to claims 1 – 6, 10 – 11, 14, 16, 18 – 19, 21 above, and further in view of Antonelli.
Regarding claims 8, 9:
Blanquart discloses that after a few cycles of deposition or at the end of deposition, the deposited film may be treated with a hydrogen plasma generated from H2 [second gas in context to the first gas being a mixture of H2 and NH3, which are materially different gases under the broadest reasonable interpretation] ([0080]). The application may be periodic for a set duration [plasma application not continuous, separate in time, and performed] at an ALD cycle/treatment ratio of e.g. 7/1 ALD cycle to treatment cycle [plurality of times]. The Examiner also notes that Li discloses that the end of each ALD cycle contains a gas purge [discontinuing the flow of second gas and therefore not continuous supply].
Blanquart in view of Nemani that the step of treating comprises providing specifically the second gas during the step of forming a second plasma.
Antonelli is directed to methods of filling gaps with a dielectric material (Abstract).
Antonelli discloses a step of performing an in-situ treatment operation, i.e. operation performed in the same reaction chamber as a deposition operation, after depositing a flowable polymeric film to solidify the flowable polymeric film (col 4 lines 15 – 30, col 8 lines 10 – 20). The in-situ operation comprises a step of exposing substrates to plasmas such as e.g. helium and argon plasmas generated from their respective gases [ (col 8 lines 25 – 40). The deposition operation and the treatment operation may be repeated in a same chamber, which facilitates a multi-cycle deposition/treatment process, and an embodiment of transitioning between deposition and treatment in a cyclical manner (col 4 lines 30 – 67, col 8 lines 10 – 20). The in-situ operation comprises a step of exposing substrates to plasmas such as i.e. helium and argon plasmas, thus implying non-continuous provision (col 8 lines 25 – 40). Antonelli discloses that the treatment of the film with such argon and/or helium plasmas densifies the deposited film in a uniform manner (col 4 lines 30 – 60). The densification can be concurrent with any of increasing mechanical strength, lowering dielectric constants and/or removing/modulating carbon content (col 5 lines 15 – 21).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li by providing specifically the second gas to the reaction space during the step of forming a second plasma because Antonelli teaches that such a step allows for densification of silicon-carbon containing films, alteration of the carbon content of the film and tuning of the mechanical strengths and dielectric constants of the deposited film.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li as applied to claims 1 – 6, 10 – 11, 14, 16, 18 – 19, 21 above, and further in view of Weidman et al. US 2013/0065404 (hereinafter “Weidman”).
Regarding claim 17:
Blanquart discloses in some embodiments that the additive gas may contain reactant gases for nitriding the resultant deposited film, necessarily including nitrogen in silicon carbide films that result from the embodiment method using such reactant gases ([0041]). Furthermore, Blanquart contemplates some embodiments where SiCN films may be excluded, which naturally implies other embodiments where the film deposited may be SiCN [consisting of silicon carbon and nitrogen] or SiNH(OC) ([0050]). Furthermore, Blanquart discloses that polymerization may use argon or helium plasma, but also that hydrogen provision may not be detrimental to filling properties ([0073]).
Blanquart finally discloses that alkylsilane compounds are provided as precursors ([0011], [0075]).
Blanquart does not expressly teach an embodiment wherein the silicon-carbon material consists of silicon, carbon, nitrogen and hydrogen.
In analogous art, Weidman is directed to low temperature deposition of silicon containing films, including silicon carbonitride films, using carbosilane precursors (Abstract; [0027]). Weidman discloses a method comprising: depositing a silicon carbide film using PECVD ([0008], [0027]); and treating the deposited carbonitride film with a plasma containing helium, argon or hydrogen gas in order to remove hydrogen that is present within the deposited film ([0010], [0029]). Weidman discloses disilabutane as a precursor; disilabutane contains C – H bonds ([0011], [0034]), similar to the alkylsilanes disclosed in Blanquart. Weidman further discloses the hydrogen content of deposited films created from hexamethyldisilazane precursor and after treatment with hydrogen or hydrogen + nitrogen plasma(s) ([0055] – [0057]). Within those examples, an amount of hydrogen remains (Table 2), thus suggesting that a higher amount of hydrogen was present in the deposited films prior to dehydrogenation treatment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized and expected that films deposited from precursors containing carbon and hydrogen atoms, and prior to a post-deposition treatment, would also contain hydrogen because Weidman suggests that chemical vapor deposition of hydrocarbon-containing precursors would generally leave some amount of hydrogen in the resultant film. Thus, it would have been readily apparent that at least one embodiment of Blanquart would result in the deposition of a silicon-carbon material consisting of hydrogen alongside silicon, carbon, nitrogen.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li as applied to claims 1 – 6, 10 – 11, 14, 16, 18 – 19, 21 above, and further in view of Sims et al. US 2014/0113457A1 (hereafter Sims) and optionally Yuan et al. US 2021/0391171 (hereinafter “Yuan”).
Regarding claim 20:
Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li does not expressly teach that the properties of the silicon-carbon material are manipulated by changing on one more of the first gas and the second gas.
In analogous arts, Sims is directed to methods of depositing dielectric films such as silicon nitride, silicon carbonitrides and in some cases silicon oxide films by plasma-enhanced atomic layer deposition ([0004], [0032], [0046]). Sims discloses that their method is performed in an apparatus with similar components to that of Blanquart (compare Fig. 3 of Sims with Fig. 1 of Blanquart, with provision of RF power, a gas distribution showerhead/plate, and means for generating a direct plasma). In the context of their method, Sims discloses that during deposition of an overall film, the plasma conditions may be changed to help tune a film to desired characteristics [desired film properties] ([0056] – [0057). Among the plasma characteristics that may be different, the gas composition can be changed [changing one or more of the first gas and the second gas] ([0057]).
Optionally and additionally, Yuan is directed to a doped or undoped silicon carbide film and methods of depositing such films in one or more features of a substrate for gapfills (Abstract). Yuan discloses that the characteristics size and growth profile of the grown silicon carbide film can be controlled by controlling treatment time, treatment frequency, treatment power, time intervals between deposition phases and plasma treatment phases, and/or remote gas composition (Abstract; [0005]; [0055] – [0058]). Yuan discloses that the remote plasma gas composition may comprise a source of hydrogen radicals (e.g. hydrogen gas) alongside carrier gases such as argon and helium; the carrier gases affect the ionization characteristics of the source gas that supplies hydrogen radicals ([0038]). During plasma treatment, the remote plasma gas composition can be adjusted [changed] to obtain desired gapfill behavior [manipulation of silicon-carbon material] such as preventing the opening near the top surfaces of features do not close up ([0056] – [0057]). Yuan discloses that proper modulation and control of the gapfill behavior helps prevents voids and seams from forming ([0002], [0031]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li by changing the gases used for deposition [first or second gas] as needed because Sims teaches that changing the gas composition can help tune film characteristics over the course of a given deposition. Optionally and additionally, Yuan also teaches that such modulation aids in gapfilling recesses without creating seams or voids.
Claim(s) 12 – 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukazawa et al. US 2020/0118815 A1 (hereafter “Fukazawa”) in view of Blanquart.
Regarding claims 12, 13:
Fukazawa is directed to forming conformal silicon carbide films by cyclic chemical vapor deposition [cyclic CVD] (Abstract). The films can be formed in such a way as to form a flowable liquid that can be used as a gapfiller for filling substrates having trenches or other recesses ([0034]). Fukazawa discloses that their cyclic CVD method (Fig. 2, 3, 6, 7; [0021] – [0050]) comprises: providing a substrate having a recess pattern onto a PECVD apparatus’s lower electrode/stage [first electrode] within the apparatus’s interior/reaction zone ([0022], [0053]; Fig. 1A); performing in a cycle the steps of: supplying an organosilane precursor [silicon-carbon precursors] in pulses [necessarily ceasing of the flow of precursor, and also providing gases before a given provision of a silicon-carbon precursor] into the reaction space from an upper electrode/shower plate [second electrode that acts as a gas distribution device], wherein the precursor may be e.g. monovinyl silane ([0022], [0024], [0044], ([0053]), [0058]; Table 2; Claim 2; Fig. 1A); continuously providing a hydride gas such as H2 [first gas, wherein the first gas comprises hydrogen] and/or an inert gas such as nitrogen gas or noble gases [second gas, wherein the first gas and second gas differ and wherein the second gas comprises nitrogen gas (N2) or a noble gas e.g. specifically Ar into the reaction space through the shower plate ([0022], [0026] – [0030], [0043], [0053], [0058]; Fig. 2, 6; Table 2 “Inert Gas”); and applying RF power at a power of e.g. 50 – 500W in the reaction space by applying high frequency RF power (HRF) to one of the shower plate or stage from an HRF generator [power source] to ignite [form] a plasma during both a deposition phase and a first treatment phase from the hydride gas, e.g. hydrogen gas, and/or the inert gas, e.g. argon gas ([0017], [0022], [0026] – [0030], [0053]; Fig. 1A; Table 1). The treatment steps act to initiate or enhance an etchback step ([0046]).
In some embodiments of the disclosed method, the process temperature may be 100°C or lower ([0024] – [0033], [0034]). In those embodiments, a flowable liquid material is formed [initial flowability], which then can be used for filling gaps by using the flowable material’s surface tension ([0034]).
Fukazawa also discloses embodiments where no reactant gas for oxidizing or oxygen-doping silicon carbide is provided ([0017]), which also would imply to one of ordinary skill in the art a desire to prevent the exposure of adventitious oxygen to the substrate [performed without exposing the substrate to an oxygen-containing environment].
With regards to provision of the first gas consisting of hydrogen and with regards to the treatment step comprising forming of a second plasma from a gas consisting of the first gas, i.e. hydrogen gas:
Fukazawa does disclose that the continuously supplied gas may be selected consisting of inert gases and hydride gases ([0022]). In other words, the continuously supplied gas may be solely hydride gas or both an inert gas and an inert gas in embodiments of their method. Furthermore, Li discloses that the treatment steps are etchback steps ([0046]) and that the etchback gas is at least one gas selected from the group consisting of inert gases and hydride gases ([0036]). In other words, the treatment gas may also solely be hydride gas. In examples, Fukazawa discloses using solely H2 gas as the hydride gas [consists of hydrogen] (Table 1). Finally, Fukazawa discloses that the etchback effect within sidewalls relative to top surfaces is solely the action of the hydride gas, where hydrogen radials are used to adjust topology of a deposited film ([0044]), while the inert gas plasma are for etchbacking of top surfaces of films by sputtering. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Fukazawa implies embodiments where the treatment of silicon-carbon material may comprise the formation of an etchback second plasma solely generated from hydrogen gas, especially when motivated for situations where the only etchback required is relative etchback between top surfaces of a film and sidewall surfaces of a film [second plasma consisting of the first gas] and a pronounced etchback of the top surface is not required.
Fukazawa does not expressly teach that the silicon carbon precursor comprises/consists of a species described by the recited formulas; and that a first time period begins after the flow of the silicon-carbon precursor is ceased and the first time period ends when the silicon-carbon precursor is substantially dissipated from the reaction space.
With regards to the silicon carbon precursor:
Blanquart is directed to a method for depositing gap-fill layers by plasma-assisted chemical vapor deposition or atomic layer-like deposition, and particularly flowable silicon-carbon films (Abstract; [0008], [0011]). Blanquart further discloses that in some embodiments, the precursor used for deposition can singularly be tetramethylsilane or dimethyldivinylsilane [polysilane with 2 silicon atoms that that structurally matches the claimed formula as recited in claim 13, as evidenced by CAS10519 ([0011], [0075]). Finally, Blanquart discloses
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Fukazawa by substituting the precursors of Fukazawa with e.g. only dimethyldivinylsilane because as taught by Blanquart, the use of only dimethyldivinylsilane is known to be suitable for the purpose of as a precursor for flowable films. The courts have held that the selection of a known material/device/product based for its intended use supports a prima facie case of obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), Ryco, Inc. v. Ag-Bag Corp., 857 F.2d 1418, 8 USPQ2d 1323 (Fed. Cir. 1988).
With regards to the dissipation of the silicon-carbon precursor during a first time period after the ceasing of the flow of the silicon-carbon precursor and the formation of the first plasma beginning after ceasing the flow of the silicon-carbon precursor during the first time period and ending after the first time period:
In an embodiment, Blaquart discloses that the atomic layer-like deposition comprises: feeding precursor into an apparatus configured for atomic layer deposition; purging the apparatus [ ceasing flow of silicon-carbon precursor , part of the dissipating of silicon-carbon precursor during a first time period after ceasing the flow]; striking a plasma after the purge step [forming plasma beginning after ceasing the flow, part of the first time period and ending after the first time period]; and purging again ([0011], [0060] Table 4, [0062] – [0063], ; Fig. 1A). Blanquart discloses that when the purging is set to a short interval, the precursor present near the top of a trench is substantially removed [substantial dissipation from the reaction space] while the precursor near the bottom of the trench remains, which allows for the formation of more viscous [flowable] material at the the bottom of the trench, enhancing gapfill and avoiding potential voids ([0062]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Fukazawa in view of Blanquart to have dissipated the silicon-carbon precursor during a first time period after the ceasing of the flow of the silicon-carbon precursor and have formed the first plasma beginning after ceasing the flow of the silicon-carbon precursor during the first time period and ending after the first time period, such as in the manner taught by Blanquart, because Blanquart teaches that such a modification allows for enhanced gapfill with a minimization of voids as more flowable material is formed at the bottom of gaps as opposed to the top of gaps.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukazawa in view of Blanquart as applied to claims 12 – 13 above, and further in view of Li.
Regarding claim 15:
Fukazawa in view of Blanquart does not expressly teach that the second gas specifically includes ammonia.
The discussion of Li in the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103 over Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li also apply to the present rejection, mutatis mutandis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Fukazawa in view of Blanquart by including ammonia in a second gas in the method of Fukazawa in view of Blanquart because Li teaches that the inclusion of inter alia ammonia aids in providing nitrogen into resultant silicon-containing flowable films, which materially affects known properties and is desired as an N-containing chemistry by Blanquart and also Fukazawa ([0017]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li as applied to claims 1 – 6, 10 – 11, 14, 16, 18 – 19, 21 above, and further in view of Fukazawa.
Regarding claim 7:
Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li does not expressly teach a step of treating the silicon-carbon material, wherein the step of treating comprises providing a gas consisting of the second gas to the reaction space during a step of forming a second plasma, wherein the step of treating begins after the first time period, and wherein the second gas consists of H2.
The discussion of Fukazawa in the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103 over Fukazawa in view of Blanquart also apply to the present rejection, mutatis mutandis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li by teach a step of treating the silicon-carbon material, wherein the step of treating comprises providing a gas consisting of the second gas to the reaction space during a step of forming a second plasma, wherein the step of treating begins after the first time period, and wherein the second gas consists of H2; because Fukazawa teaches that such a treating step allows for the shaping of a topography of a film solely by etchback, which is useful for substrates having features with sidewalls, such as those disclosed by Blanquart. Fukazawa also teaches that the etchback effect within sidewalls relative to top surfaces for shaping of a film topography is solely the action of the hydride gas, especially when motivated for situations where the only etchback required is relative etchback between top surfaces of a film and sidewall surfaces of a film [second plasma consisting of the first gas] and a pronounced etchback of the top surface is not required.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li as applied to claims 1 – 6, 10 – 11, 14, 16, 18 – 19, 21 above, and further in view of Yuan.
Blanquart in view of Nemani does not expressly teach the etch selectivities of the deposited conformal silicon carbide films.
Yuan discloses that a high etch selectivity to silicon oxide and silicon nitride is a desirable property of SiCxOyNz films, including films where y = 0 (i.e. doped silicon carbide films with no oxygen, [0027] – [0029]). Yuan further discloses forming such films with an etch selectivity of at least 7:1 against both oxide and nitride materials ([0070]) by a method similar to that of Blanquart (Yuan Claim 1, 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the deposition of the silicon-carbon material deposited by the method of Blanquart in view of Nemani and Li and modified by Yuan to obtain a maximal etch selectivity because Yuan teaches that such a property his desirable in the fabrication of semiconductor devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed May 1, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 – 10, 11, 14 – 22 under 35 USC 103 primarily over Blanquart in view of Nemani have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Li.
Applicant's arguments filed on May 1, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Applicant’s remaining principal arguments are:
a.) Fukazawa and Blanquart fail to teach or suggest the limitations of claim 1. Fukazawa and Blanquart do not teach a step of treating of forming a second plasma from a gas consisting of H2. Therefore, Blanquart and Fukazawa, whether alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the limitations of claim 1.
In response to the applicant's arguments, please consider the following comments.
a.) Contrary to Applicant’s argument, Fukazawa in view of Blanquart render obvious the limitations of claim 12 in the manner discussed above in the rejection of the claims under 35 USC 103. Namely the limitation of “treating the silicon-carbon material comprising forming a second plasma from a gas consisting of the first gas” is implicitly met. "[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom." In re Preda, 401 F.2d 825, 826, 159 USPQ 342, 344 (CCPA 1968).
Conclusion
/JOSE I HERNANDEZ-KENNEY/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717