DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 06/01/2026, in response to claims 1, 7-8, 10-11, and 19-20 rejection from the final office action (04/08/2026), by amending claims 1 and 19 is entered and will be addressed below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 2-6, 9, and 12-18 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group II and Species A and C-G, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretations
The previously added limitation “an inductively coupled plasma source configured to generate a first plasma portion in a center region;
a capacitively coupled plasma source configured to generate a second plasma portion in an outer region” of claims 1 and 19, Applicants’ Fig. 3 shows that the capacitive plasma is also generated in the center region, therefore, claims 1 and 19 do not exclude the plasma generation in the other region. Actually, plasma species can diffuse to different regions.
It appears the structure for such performance seems to be a smaller ICP source 612 (with an unlabeled coil) in the center region and a larger CCP source 614 (with an unlabeled disk electrode). The examiner suggests changing claims 1 and 19 by structure or size of these coil and electrode. In the spirit of compact prosecution, claims 1 and 19 will be examined by this narrow interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-8, 10-11, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al. (US 20140225503, hereafter ‘503), in view of ISHIBASHI et al. (JP 2001237099, hereafter ‘099), Kwon et al. (US 20050017201, from IDS, hereafter ’201), Moroz (US 20040194890, hereafter ‘890), and Heckman et al. (US 20100276273, hereafter ‘273). (US 6439154 is evidence for VHF of antenna is an ICP).
‘503 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: METHOD FOR CONTROLLING PLASMA PROCESSING APPARATUS (title), controlling a parallel plate plasma processing apparatus that manufactures semiconductor devices and Micro Electro Mechanical System (MEMS) devices ([0003]), a capacitive coupling plasma (CCP) apparatus is used as well as a magnetic field VHF plasma apparatus is used including a supply for a VHF wave of 200 MHz and a magnetic field generating coil ([0005]), it is possible to provide a plasma processing method that reduces the wearing out of the dielectric ceramic on the upper antenna side as in a CCP etching apparatus ([0092]), the configuration of another embodiment can be added to the configuration of an embodiment ([0094], i.e., Fig. 1 and Fig. 7 can be combined, includes the claimed “A hybrid plasma source, comprising: an inductively coupled plasma source; a capacitively coupled plasma source”, see US 6439154 for ICP with antenna and VHF, abstract and col. 1, line 44);
a counter bias control mechanism 104 is mounted through a filter unit 103 in order that a bias is transmitted to the VHF radiation antenna 115 side opposite to the wafer stage 120 to control the degree of confinement of the bias electric field for improving etching uniformity (Fig. 1, [0040], i.e. a hybrid plasms), FIG. 2 is a diagram of the configuration of the counter bias control mechanism 104. The counter bias control mechanism 104 is configured of a serial resonant portion formed of a resonant coil 201 of low resistance … a variable capacitor 202 having a moderate withstand voltage, a counter bias current detecting circuit 203, and a resonance control circuit 127 ([0041]), the electric current values of a plurality of harmonic components are monitored using a harmonic current detection circuit 207, so that information about the plasma density and the electron temperature can be obtained as well, and a change in the state of the apparatus can be detected more accurately ([0043], 2nd sentence), The resonance control circuit 127 calculates the difference between the phase of the counter bias current and the phase of the radio frequency bias current oscillated in plasma, and controls the variable capacitance based on the result ([0056]). When the etching sequence is started (S1), an apparatus control PC sends signals of a preset position 403 and a target delta value 406 for the variable capacitor (the variable element) 202 to the resonance control circuit 127, and the variable capacitor 202 is adjusted to the preset position ([0044], 4th sentence, includes the claimed “and a controller configured to control operation of the inductively coupled plasma source and the capacitively coupled plasma source such that the inductively coupled plasma source and the capacitively coupled plasma source form a resonant circuit, the controller comprises a current sensor coupled to the resonant circuit and configured to measure harmonic components of an RF current generated by the resonant circuit“).
Claim 19: A vacuum container of the dry etching apparatus includes an etching chamber 108 for a plasma processing chamber … a VHF radiation antenna 115 (Fig. 1, [0033]), Etching gases pass through … a gas inlet port A 109 and a gas inlet port B 112 ([0034]), An Si wafer (an object to be processed) 117 is placed on the wafer stage 120 ([0036], includes the claimed “An apparatus for processing a workpiece, the apparatus comprising: a processing chamber having an interior space operable to receive a process gas; a substrate holder in the interior space of the processing chamber operable to hold a substrate”);
METHOD FOR CONTROLLING PLASMA PROCESSING APPARATUS (title), controlling a parallel plate plasma processing apparatus that manufactures semiconductor devices and Micro Electro Mechanical System (MEMS) devices ([0003]), a capacitive coupling plasma (CCP) apparatus is used as well as a magnetic field VHF plasma apparatus is used including a supply for a VHF wave of 200 MHz and a magnetic field generating coil ([0005]), it is possible to provide a plasma processing method that reduces the wearing out of the dielectric ceramic on the upper antenna side as in a CCP etching apparatus ([0092]), the configuration of another embodiment can be added to the configuration of an embodiment ([0094], i.e., Fig. 1 and Fig. 7 can be combined, includes the claimed “A hybrid plasma source”);
a counter bias control mechanism 104 is mounted through a filter unit 103 in order that a bias is transmitted to the VHF radiation antenna 115 side opposite to the wafer stage 120 to control the degree of confinement of the bias electric field for improving etching uniformity (Fig. 1, [0040], i.e. a hybrid plasms), FIG. 2 is a diagram of the configuration of the counter bias control mechanism 104. The counter bias control mechanism 104 is configured of a serial resonant portion formed of a resonant coil 201 of low resistance … a variable capacitor 202 having a moderate withstand voltage, a counter bias current detecting circuit 203, and a resonance control circuit 127 ([0041]), the electric current values of a plurality of harmonic components are monitored using a harmonic current detection circuit 207, so that information about the plasma density and the electron temperature can be obtained as well, and a change in the state of the apparatus can be detected more accurately ([0043], 2nd sentence), The resonance control circuit 127 calculates the difference between the phase of the counter bias current and the phase of the radio frequency bias current oscillated in plasma, and controls the variable capacitance based on the result ([0056]). When the etching sequence is started (S1), an apparatus control PC sends signals of a preset position 403 and a target delta value 406 for the variable capacitor (the variable element) 202 to the resonance control circuit 127, and the variable capacitor 202 is adjusted to the preset position ([0044], 4th sentence, includes the claimed “comprising a resonant circuit that includes an inductively coupled plasma source and a capacitively coupled plasma source, the resonant circuit configured for operation at an excitation frequency; and a controller configured to adjust the excitation frequency by reducing a harmonic current below a target value, wherein the harmonic current is a sum of one or more currents respectively corresponding to one or more harmonics of the excitation frequency, wherein the controller in conjunction with a current sensor configured to measure the harmonic component of the RF current generated by resonant circuit“).
‘503 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claims 1 and 19: (1A) (an inductively coupled plasma source) configured to generate a first plasma portion in a center region;
(a capacitively coupled plasma source) configured to generate a second plasma portion in an outer region (1B) connected in series with the inductively coupled plasma source;
(1C) the controller comprises a first terminal connected to the inductively coupled plasma source and a second terminal connected to the capacitively coupled plasma source,
(1D) the controller comprises a first transistor configured to receive a first RF signal at its gate terminal and a second transistor configured to receive a second RF signal at its gate terminal, wherein the first RF signal and the second RF signal are pulsed RF clock signals and the first RF signal is shifted in phase relative to the second RF signal.
‘503 is silent on the size comparison when combining ICP and CCP but the size difference is of limited choice.’503 is also silent on how the power supply to the combination of CCP of Fig. 7 and the ICP of Fig. 1 is connected. Connecting in series or in parallel is a limited choice according to KSR.
Furthermore, ‘099 is analogous art in the field of PLASMA PROCESSING EQUIPMENT (title), a hybrid plasma source combining a capacitively coupled plasma source and an inductively coupled plasma source ([0002]). ‘099 teaches that a cathode electrode 1 on which a substrate is mounted, an inductive coupling antenna 2 disposed opposite to the cathode electrode 1, the cathode electrode 1 and the inductive coupling antenna 2 And an anode electrode 3 disposed between the anode electrode 3 and the cathode electrode 1, and high-frequency power supplies 4, 5, and 6 for supplying high-frequency power to the cathode electrode 1, the inductive coupling antenna 2, and the anode electrode 3, respectively (paragraph after [0011], Fig. 1 shows the antenna 2 is smaller and at a center region relative to the anode electrode 3 of the CCP).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the antenna and anode electrode arrangement of ‘099 when combining ‘503’s ICP and CCP plasma to a hybrid plasma reactor (the limitation of 1A), for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Furthermore, ‘201 is analogous art in the field of an apparatus using hybrid coupled plasma (HCP) having properties of inductively coupled plasma (ICP) and capacitively coupled plasma (CCP) ([0003]). ‘201 teaches that a source radio frequency (RF) generator 500 and a source impedance matching box (I.M.B.) 400 are connected to the antenna 340 and the electrode 360, and a bias RF generator 800 and a bias impedance matching box 700 are connected to the electrostatic chuck 600 (Fig. 3, [0031], 4th sentence), The electrode 360 corresponds to an upper electrode of a CCP type apparatus ([0035], 3rd sentence), for the purpose of avoiding deteriorating substrate ([0012]). In short, ICP coil 340 and CCP electrode 360 is connected in series.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the CCP apparatus in Fig. 7 of ‘503 with ICP antenna 340 of in Fig. 3 of ‘201 (the limitation of 1B), for the purpose of avoiding deteriorating substrate, as taught by ‘201 ([0012]).
‘890 is analogous art in the field of A hybrid plasma processing apparatus simultaneously utilises capacitively coupled plasma (CCP) and inductively coupled plasma (ICP) sources in a way that operation of the CCP source compliments operation of the ICP source in a most positive way, so the interference between these very different types of sources, a CCP plasma source and an ICP plasma source, is removed, while essential benefits of each of them are positively combined in a single apparatus (abstract), for semiconductor fabrication process ([0002]). ‘890 teaches that controller 170 is coupled to first RF power supply 114, first matching network 112, second RF power supply 126, second matching network 124 (Fig. 1A, [0064]), Single or dual (preferred embodiment) Faraday shield 140 is located between ICP RF antenna 110 and a work table 123 with a wafer W ([0046]), first Faraday shield layer 141 and second Faraday shield layer 142 are electrically grounded and can be used as a grounded upper electrode in a CCP part of the hybrid plasma source ([0048], last sentence, therefore, the controller has a first terminal to the ICP power supply 114 and a second terminal to the CCP power supply 126). Note the connection between antenna 110 and Faraday shield 140 at left hand side of Fig. 1A indicating they are in series.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the controller 170 to control ICP and CCP as shown in Fig. 1A of ‘890, as the controller of the combined apparatus of ‘503, ‘099, and ‘201 (the limitation of 1C), for the purpose of essential benefits without interference of hybrid plasma, as taught by ‘890 (abstract).
‘273 is analogous art in the field of APPARATUS FOR CONTROLLING ION ENERGY DISTRIBUTION (title), for semiconductor devices ([0002]). ‘273 teaches that the switch-mode bias supply 206 includes switch components 226', 226'' (e.g., high power field effect transistors) that are adapted to switch power to the support 208 of the substrate 210 responsive to drive signals from corresponding drive components 228', 228''. And the drive signals 230', 230'' that are generated by the drive components 228', 228'' are controlled by the controller 212 based upon timing that is defined by the content of the waveform memory 224. For example, the controller 212 in many embodiments is adapted to interpret the content of the waveform memory and generate drive-control signals 232', 232'', which are utilized by the drive components 228', 228'' to control the drive signals 230', 230'' to the switching components 226', 226' (Fig. 2, [0031], see also Fig. 3, the same configuration as Applicant’s Fig. 3A or 3B), The pulse width, pulse shape, and/or mutual delay of the two signals V2, V4 may be modulated to arrive at a desired waveform at Vout, and the voltage applied to Vbus may affect the characteristics of the pulses. In other words, the voltage Vbus may affect the pulse width, pulse shape and/or the relative phase of the signals V2, V4. Referring briefly to FIG. 4, for example, shown is a timing diagram depicting two drive signal waveforms that may be applied to T1 and T2 (as V2 and V4) so as to generate the Vout signal as depicted in FIG. 4. To modulate the shape of the pulses at Vout (e.g. to achieve the smallest time for the pulse at Vout, yet reach a peak value of the pulses) the timing of the two gate drive signals V2, V4 may be controlled ([0038]), for the purpose of a narrow ion energy distribution ([0004]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the controller circuits of Fig. 2 or 3 of ‘273, to the controller of ‘503, for the purpose of a narrow ion energy distribution ([0004]).
‘201 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 7: The variable capacitor (CR) 380 functions as a power distributor distributing the source RF power of the source RF generator 500 to the first and second sub-antennas 340a and 340b and the electrode 360 ([0034], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the resonant circuit is configured to deliver power to an RF source component for a plasma processing apparatus”).
Claim 8: a source radio frequency (RF) generator 500 and a source impedance matching box (I.M.B.) 400 are connected to the antenna 340 and the electrode 360, and a bias RF generator 800 and a bias impedance matching box 700 are connected to the electrostatic chuck 600 ([0031], 4th sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the resonant circuit is further configured to deliver power to an RF bias component for a plasma processing apparatus”, note RF generator 800 and the RF generator 500 is in a circuit connected to the ground).
‘273 further teaches the limitations of:
Claims 10-11: Although two switch components 226', 226'', which may be arranged in a half-bridge configuration, are depicted for exemplary purposes, it is certainly contemplated that fewer or additional switch components may be implemented in a variety of architectures (e.g., an H-bridge configuration) ([0031], last sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the controller comprises a half-bridge switching configuration for providing pulsed RF power from the resonant circuit” of claim 10 and “ wherein the controller comprises a full H-bridge switching configuration for providing pulsed RF power from the resonant circuit” of claim 11, see also [0034] and claim 3 of ‘273).
Claim 20: V2 and V4 represent drive signals (e.g., the drive signals 230', 230''output by the drive components 228', 228'' described with reference to FIG. 2), and in this embodiment, V2 and V4 can be timed (e.g., the length of the pulses and/or the mutual delay) so that the closure of T1 and T2 may be modulated to control the shape of the voltage output at Vout, which is applied to the substrate support ([0035], includes the claimed “wherein the controller is configured to provide pulsed RF power to at least one an RF source component or an RF bias component”, while ‘273 teaches apply to an bias component, the combination with ‘503 would have applied pulsed RF power to RF source component).
Alternatively, claims 1, 7-8, 10-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘503, in view of ‘099, ’201, ‘890, and Long et al. (US 20190116656, from IDS, hereafter ‘656).
‘503 teaches some limitations of claims 1 and 19 and does not teach the other limitations of claims 1 and 19 as discussed above
‘099 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the antenna and anode electrode arrangement of ‘099 when combining ‘503’s ICP and CCP plasma to a hybrid plasma reactor (the limitation of 1A), for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
‘201 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have combined the CCP apparatus in Fig. 7 of ‘503 with ICP antenna 340 of in Fig. 3 of ‘201 (the limitation of 1B), for the purpose of avoiding deteriorating substrate, as taught by ‘201 ([0012]).
‘890 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted the controller 170 to control ICP and CCP as shown in Fig. 1A of ‘890, as the controller of the combined apparatus of ‘503, ‘099, and ‘201 (the limitation of 1C), for the purpose of essential benefits without interference of hybrid plasma, as taught by ‘890 (abstract).
The combination of ‘503, ‘099, ‘201, and ’890 does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 10: wherein the controller comprises a half-bridge switching configuration for providing pulsed RF power from the resonant circuit.
Claim 11: wherein the controller comprises a full H-bridge switching configuration for providing pulsed RF power from the resonant circuit.
Claim 20: wherein the controller is configured to provide pulsed RF power to at least one an RF source component or an RF bias component.
‘656 is analogous art in the field of Matchless Plasma Source For Semiconductor Wafer Fabrication (title), including CCP and TCP ([0082]), a controller 304 (Fig. 3A, [0093]). ‘656 teaches that FIG. 11C is a diagram of an embodiment of system 1170 to illustrate use of an H bridge circuit 1172 to power the electrode 106. The H bridge circuit 1172 is used instead of a half-bridge circuit ([0195]), The low impedance voltage source includes power transistors, such as FETs or IGBT's, which are organized in a half-bridge setup and operated in a push-pull configuration or full bridge (H) to avoid shoot through. The power transistors are controlled from a controller board with signals associated with RF frequency and pulsing sent to a gate driver, such as a FET gate driver. Power that is output from the low impedance voltage source is determined by an agile direct current (DC) rail. The agile DC rail is used to increase, decrease, or pulse the power output from the low impedance voltage source. The use of the agile DC rail is for power regulation and modulation while enabling arbitrary shape pulses to be constructed. The pulsing capabilities are enhanced compared to a plasma tool that has the RF generator, the RF cable, and the RF match ([0007], 2nd sentence), an arbitrary-shaped pulse is generated at the output of the half-bridge FET circuit or a multi-state pulse is generated at the output. Accordingly, pulses of different shapes and of different power levels are used to drive the electrode ([0081], and elsewhere). Note Fig. 11C shows the gate drive signal 1160B is in opposite phase to the gate drive signal 1160A, same as Applicants’ RF clock signal 637 is opposite phase to the RF clock signal 636 (Fig. 3A).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted half or full bridge circuit for control, as taught by ‘656, to the controller of ‘503, for the purpose of enhanced pulsing capabilities, as taught by ‘656 ([0007], last sentence).
Claims 7-8 rejections are discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/01/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants asserted that previous rejection of claim 1 does not include the newly added limitation of amended claim 1, and summarily conclude that none of the references disclose this specific arrangement for the controller, see the bottom of page 9, and asserted that some or all features of dependent claims are patentable, in item C of page 10.
This argument is found not persuasive.
The examiner notes Applicants failed to address ‘656 applied to the dependent claim. In fact, Fig. 11C of ‘656 has the same control circuit as Applicants’ Fig. 3A or 3B. The examiner also adds a new reference ‘273 as an alternative to ‘656 in the combination for rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20130220223 is cited for CCP and ICP connected in series ([0006]).
US 20130228550, very similar to ‘503, also teaches pulse bias power ([0052]).
US 20020149445 is cited for” reduce the harmonic ground current and thus protect the RF generator from becoming unstable” ([0026]).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716