DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US 2018/0083088), Lee (US 2018/0110122), and Iwata et al. (US 2022/0393130) all of record.
(Re Claim 1) Bae teaches a display device comprising: a first substrate (110; Fig. 2) comprising a display area (DA; Fig. 1), and a non-display area (NDA; Fig. 1) on at least one side (top side; Fig. 1 and 2) of the display area; light emitting elements (PX; Fig. 1) in different respective rows and columns on a first surface (top surface; Fig. 2) of the first substrate in the display area (Fig. 1; ¶¶79-80), and comprising respective active layers (720; Fig. 6, ¶98); a connection electrode (P1; Fig. 1) on the first surface of the first substrate in the non-display area, and electrically connected (through the power lines PL; ¶¶78-79, 97) to the light emitting elements for receiving a constant voltage (Fig. 5) and for concurrently delivering the same constant voltage to the light emitting elements in the different respective rows and columns (Fig. 1 and 5; “the plurality of pixels PX may receive the first power voltage through the plurality of power supplying wires PL1-PLn”, ¶¶79); first pads (P2 and Pk-1; Fig. 1) in the non-display area and spaced from the connection electrode in a direction (to the right; Fig. 1); a second pad (P3; Fig. 1, ¶63) spaced from the connection electrode.
Bae has not been shown to explicitly teach a display device comprising:
the light emitting elements comprising respective first semiconductor layers, the respective active layers respectively on the first semiconductor layers, and commonly connected and integral second semiconductor layers respectively on the active layers;
the connection electrode electrically connected to the light emitting elements for receiving a constant voltage and for concurrently delivering a same constant voltage to the light emitting elements in different respective rows and columns via the second semiconductor layers commonly connected to each other; second pads spaced from the connection electrode in another direction; a circuit board on a second surface of the first substrate, and comprising a first circuit board pad and a second circuit board pad on a first surface of the circuit board; a first pad connection electrode connected to the first pads and the first circuit board pad, and comprising a first connection part in a first via hole corresponding to the first pads and passing through the first substrate, and a first electrode part on the second surface of the first substrate; and a second pad connection electrode connected to the second pads and the second circuit board pad, and comprising a second connection part in a second via hole corresponding to the second pads and passing through the first substrate, and a second electrode part on the second surface of the first substrate.
Lee teaches a display device (Fig. 1A) comprising a circuit board (700; Fig. 1A) on a second surface (bottom surface; Fig. 3) of a first substrate (100; Fig. 3, ¶¶51, 71), and comprising a first circuit board pad (pad second from left side of 700; Fig. 1A) and a second circuit board pad (pad touching the leader for 750; Fig. 1A) on a first surface (top surface; Fig. 1A) of the circuit board;
a first pad connection electrode (conductive material filling via holes 510+410 that corresponds to the location of the first circuit board pad; Fig. 1A and 3; ¶106) connected to first pads (310 second from the left side of PA; Fig. 1A) and the first circuit board pad (Fig. 3), and comprising a first connection part (conductive material filling via hole 510 that corresponds to the location of the first circuit board pad) in a first via hole (510; Fig. 1A) corresponding to the first pads (Fig. 1A) and passing through the first substrate (Fig. 3), and a first electrode part (410 that corresponds to the location of the first circuit board pad; Fig. 3) on the second surface of the first substrate (Fig. 3); and
a second pad connection electrode (conductive material filling via holes 510+410 that correspond to the location of the second circuit board pad; Fig. 1A and 3, ¶106) connected to the second pads (310 to the right of the first pads; Fig. 1A) and the second circuit board pad (Fig. 1A and 3), and comprising a second connection part (conductive material filling via holes 510 that corresponds to the location of the second circuit board pad; Fig. 1A and 3) in a second via hole (510; Fig. 1A and 3) corresponding to the second pads (Fig. 1A and 3) and passing through the first substrate (Fig. 3) and a second electrode part (410 that corresponds to the location of the second circuit board pad) on the second surface of the first substrate (Fig. 3).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to implement connections between first and second pads, and first and second circuit board pads on a circuit board, as taught by Lee such that the first and second pads correspond to an immediately underlying first and second circuit board pad, in order to reduce an amount of dead space as compared to alternative circuit board connections in display panels (Lee: ¶73), and to achieve the predictable result of forming electrical connections to drive the light emitting elements of the display panel, allowing it to display images.
Furthermore, Lee teaches a configuration of pads in a pad area (PA; Fig. 17), including first and second pads (Fig. 17 markup).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to implement the pad configuration of Lee as shown in Fig. 17 to reduce the required width of the underlying circuit board (Lee: ¶73), P1 of Bae remains as the connection electrode, while the first and second pads are located as shown in the Fig. 17 markup from Lee. The first pads are spaced from the connection electrode in a top to bottom direction, and the second pads are spaced from the connection electrode in a bottom to top direction.
Iwata teaches forming light emitting elements (XR, XB, and XG; Fig. 3) comprising respective first semiconductor layers (each respective 30 contains semiconductor particles; Fig. 3, ¶80), respective active layers (24G, 24B, and 24R; Fig. 3) respectively on the first semiconductor layers, and commonly connected second semiconductor layers (31, 32, and 33 each contain semiconductor particles; the second semiconductor layers are commonly connected through element 25; Fig. 3, ¶80) respectively on the active layers.
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the light emitting elements of modified Bae such that they have the first and second semiconductor layers taught by Iwata for each color (Bae: ¶91), arranged in the same order such that the active layer of modified Bae is between them, in order to suppress exciton deactivation and improve the efficiency of each light emitting element (Iwata: ¶¶59, 61, and 118).
Doing so results in the second semiconductor layers being commonly connected through Bae’s element 730 (¶98); and the second semiconductor layers are integral through their connections to each other through the pixel defining layer (Bae: 190; Fig. 6).
(Re Claim 2) Modified Bae teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a distance between one of the light emitting elements in an outermost part of the display area and the first pads is greater than a distance between the one of the light emitting elements in the outermost part of the display area and the second pads (Fig. 17 markup).
(Re Claim 3) Modified Bae teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first connection part directly contacts the first pads (Lee: Fig. 3), wherein the second connection part directly contacts the second pads (Lee; Fig. 3), wherein the first electrode part directly contacts the first circuit board pad (Lee; Fig. 3), and wherein the second electrode part directly contacts the second circuit board pad (Lee; Fig. 3).
(Re Claim 4) Modified Bae teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the first electrode part of the first pad connection electrode and the first circuit board pad correspond to the first pads (as defined in claim 1 and shown in Lee’s Fig. 1A and 3), and wherein the second electrode part of the second pad connection electrode and the second circuit board pad correspond to the second pads (as defined in claim 1 and shown in Lee’s Fig. 1A and 3).
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US 2018/0083088), Ryu et al. (US 2011/0291119), Lee (US 2018/0110122), and Iwata et al. (US 2022/0393130), all of record.
(Re Claim 18) Bae teaches a display device comprising: a first substrate (110; Fig. 2) comprising a display area (DA; Fig. 1) in which light emitting elements (PX; Fig. 1) in different respective rows and columns are located, and a non-display area (NDA; Fig. 1) surrounding the display area, and the light emitting elements comprising respective active layers (720; Fig. 6, ¶98); common electrodes (P1 and Pk; Fig. 1) in the non-display area spaced apart from each other (Fig. 1), and electrically connected (through the power lines PL; ¶97) to the light emitting elements for receiving a constant voltage (Fig. 5) and for concurrently delivering the same constant voltage to the light emitting elements in the different respective rows and columns ((Fig. 1 and 5; “the plurality of pixels PX may receive the first power voltage through the plurality of power supplying wires PL1-PLn”, ¶¶79)); first pads (P2 and Pk-1; Fig. 1) outside the common electrodes in the non-display area; a circuit board on a second surface of the first substrate, which is opposite to a first surface of the first substrate on which the light emitting elements are located, and comprising first circuit board pads and second circuit board pads; first pad connection electrodes in first via holes passing through the first substrate and corresponding to the first pads, and respectively contacting the first pads and the first circuit board pads; and second pad connection electrodes in second via holes passing through the first substrate and corresponding to the second pads, and respectively contacting the second pads and the second circuit board pads.
Bae does not explicitly teach a display device comprising:
the light emitting elements comprising respective first semiconductor layers, the respective active layers respectively on the first semiconductor layers, and commonly connected and integral second semiconductor layers respectively on the active layers;
common electrodes in the non-display area to surround the display area, electrically connected to the light emitting elements for receiving a constant voltage and for concurrently delivering the same constant voltage to the light emitting elements in different respective rows and columns via the second semiconductor layers commonly connected to each other;
second pads between the common electrodes and the display area;
a circuit board on a second surface of the first substrate, which is opposite to a first surface of the first substrate on which the light emitting elements are located, and comprising first circuit board pads and second circuit board pads; first pad connection electrodes in first via holes passing through the first substrate and corresponding to the first pads, and respectively contacting the first pads and the first circuit board pads; and second pad connection electrodes in second via holes passing through the first substrate and corresponding to the second pads, and respectively contacting the second pads and the second circuit board pads.
Lee teaches a display device (Fig. 1A) comprising a circuit board (700; Fig. 1A) on a second surface (bottom surface; Fig. 3) of a first substrate (100; Fig. 3, ¶¶51, 71), and comprising first circuit board pads (pad second from left side and right side of 700; Fig. 1A) and second circuit board pads (pad third from left side and right side of 700; Fig. 1A) on a first surface (top surface; Fig. 1A) of the circuit board;
first pad connection electrodes (conductive material filling via holes 510+410 that corresponds to the location of the first circuit board pads; Fig. 1A and 3; ¶106) in first via holes (510; Fig. 3) passing through the first substrate and corresponding to the first pads (Fig. 1A and 3), and respectively contacting the first pads and the first circuit board pads (Fig. 3); and
second pad connection electrodes (conductive material filling via holes 510+410 that corresponds to the location of the second circuit board pads; Fig. 1A and 3; ¶106) in second via holes (510; Fig. 3) passing through the first substrate and corresponding to the second pads (Fig. 1A and 3), and respectively contacting the second pads and the second circuit board pads (Fig. 3);
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to implement connections between first and second pads, and first and second circuit board pads on a circuit board, as taught by Lee such that the first and second pads correspond to an immediately underlying first and second circuit board pad, in order to reduce an amount of dead space as compared to alternative circuit board connections in display panels (Lee: ¶73), and to achieve the predictable result of forming electrical connections to drive the light emitting elements of the display panel, allowing it to display images.
Furthermore, Lee teaches a configuration of pads in a pad area (PA; Fig. 17), including first and second pads (Fig. 17 markup).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to implement the pad configuration of Lee as shown in Fig. 17 to reduce the required width of the underlying circuit board (Lee: ¶73), P1 of Bae remains as the connection electrode, while the first and second pads are located as shown in the Fig. 17 markup from Lee. Second pads are then between the common electrodes and the display area.
Ryu teaches forming common electrodes (33+35; Fig. 2) in a non-display area (area outside of DA; Fig. 2) spaced apart from each other (Fig. 2) and electrically connected (through lines 31 and 32; Fig. 2) to the light emitting elements (12; Fig. 1) for receiving a constant voltage (“possible to uniformly apply driving power to the pixels” ¶79; “¶¶89, 111).
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form common electrodes surrounding the display area of modified Bae, as taught by Ryu, to ensure luminance uniformity of the display region (Ryu: ¶27).
The common electrodes of modified Bae are then P1 and Pkt as seen in Bae’s Fig. 1, and each common electrode 33 and 35 disposed around the display area as taught by Ryu. This results in common electrodes in the non-display area that also surround the display area.
Iwata teaches forming light emitting elements (XR, XB, and XG; Fig. 3) comprising respective first semiconductor layers (each respective 30 contains semiconductor particles; Fig. 3, ¶80), respective active layers (24G, 24B, and 24R; Fig. 3) respectively on the first semiconductor layers, and commonly connected second semiconductor layers (31, 32, and 33 each contain semiconductor particles; the second semiconductor layers are commonly connected through element 25; Fig. 3, ¶80) respectively on the active layers.
A PHOSITA would find it obvious to form the light emitting elements of modified Bae such that they have the first and second semiconductor layers taught by Iwata for each color (Bae: ¶91), arranged in the same order such that the active layer of modified Bae is between them, in order to suppress exciton deactivation and improve the efficiency of each light emitting element (Iwata: ¶¶59, 61, and 118).
Doing so results in the second semiconductor layers being commonly connected through Bae’s element 730 (¶98); and the second semiconductor layers are integral through their connections to each other through the pixel defining layer (Bae: 190; Fig. 6).
(Re Claim 19) Modified Bae teaches the display device of claim 18, wherein the light emitting elements are arranged in a first direction (left to right; Fig. 1), and in a second direction (top to bottom; Fig. 1) intersecting the first direction, wherein the first pads are spaced apart from at least some of the common electrodes in the first direction (Fig. 17 markup), and wherein the second pads are spaced apart from at least some of the common electrodes in a direction that is opposite to the first direction (right to left; Fig. 1).
(Re Claim 20) Modified Bae teaches the display device of claim 19, wherein at least some of the first pads are not located side by side with the second pads in the first direction (Fig. 17 markup).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US 2018/0083088), Ryu et al. (US 2011/0291119), Lee (US 2018/0110122), Iwata et al. (US 2022/0393130) all of record, as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2007/0085938) of record.
(Re Claim 21) Modified Bae teaches the display device of claim 18, but does not explicitly teach the display device further comprising a heat dissipation layer overlapping the light emitting elements in the display area, and directly contacting the second surface of the first substrate.
Yamazaki teaches a display device (Fig. 28) comprising a heat dissipation layer (2812; Fig. 28) overlapping light emitting elements (2804+2805; ¶293) in a display area (3701; Fig. 11, ¶253), and directly contacting a second surface of the first substrate (“heat sink 2812 may be provided in contact with the TFT substrate 2800”; Fig. 28, ¶294).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to place a heat dissipation layer overlapping the light emitting elements in the display area of modified Bae, and directly contacting the second surface of the first substrate of Bae, as taught by Yamazaki, in order to increase heat dissipation of the display device of modified Bae (Yamazaki: ¶294).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. (US 2018/0083088), Ryu et al. (US 2011/0291119), Lee (US 2018/0110122), Yamazaki et al. (US 2007/0085938), and Iwata et al. (US 2022/0393130) all of record, as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Tsai (US 2005/0180142) of record.
(Re Claim 22) Modified Bae teaches the display device of claim 21, but does not explicitly teach the display device further comprising heat dissipation patterns directly contacting the heat dissipation layer, and located in third via holes passing through the first substrate and corresponding to at least some of the light emitting elements.
Tsai teaches forming heat dissipation patterns (500; Fig. 3 and 4) directly contacting a heat dissipation layer (400; Fig. 3 and 4), located in via holes (12; Fig. 3 and 4) passing through a first substrate (10; Fig. 3 and 4, ¶23) and corresponding to at least some of the light emitting elements (20; Fig. 3 and 4, ¶23).
A person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would find it obvious to form heat dissipation patterns directly contacting the heat dissipation layer of modified Bae, located in third via holes passing through the first substrate of modified Bae and corresponding to at least some of the light emitting elements, in order to reduce the thermal resistance between the light emitting elements and heat dissipation layer of modified Bae (Tsai: ¶22).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/19/2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant appears to argue a narrower definition of “integral” than justified by the specification or claims (remarks, p. 9). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. For an element A and B to be integral, they only need to be formed as a unit. From the rejections above, the second semiconductor layers are shown to be formed as a unit and integrated in the same display device, at least through their shared connections through the pixel defining layer 190 of Bae.
The remainder of Applicant’s arguments are moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hwang (US 2017/0345877) teaches that, as an alternative to organic layers individually disposed for each OLED, the organic layers may be shared by all of the sub-pixels in the form of a single layer. (¶99)
Yasukawa shows second semiconductor layers (e.g., 134; Fig. 9) integrally formed.
/CHRISTOPHER A. SCHODDE/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898