DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is sent in response to Applicant’s Communication received 29 Apr 2026 for application number 17/572,078. The Office hereby acknowledges receipt of the following and placed of record in file: Applicant Arguments/Remarks, and Claims.
Claims 1-23 are presented for examination. Elected claims 1-4, 8, and 12-23 are examined below. Non-elected claims 5-7 and 9-11 have been withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
The objections to claims 1-4, 8, and 12-16 have been removed.
The objections to claims 17-20 have been removed.
The objections to claims 21-23 have been removed.
Applicant contends that the prior art does not teach, “the light blocking member is disposed along a boundary of the at least one light emitting area in a plan view,” as in claims 1 and 21, and, “the first sub-light blocking member is disposed along a boundary of the first light emitting area and the second sub-light blocking member disposed along a boundary of the second light emitting in a plan view,” as in claim 17; Examiner respectfully disagrees. Hatsumi teaches, the light blocking member [220/230] is disposed along a boundary of the at least one light emitting area in a plan view [Figs. 3A-C, paras 0085-0089 depict 230 along boundaries of light transmission regions T] and, the first sub-light blocking member [220/230] is disposed along a boundary of the first light emitting area [Figs. 3A-C, paras 0085-0089 depict 230 along boundaries of light transmission regions T] and the second sub-light blocking member [220/230] disposed along a boundary of the second light emitting in a plan view [Figs. 3A-C, paras 0085-0089 depict 230 along boundaries of light transmission regions T]. Examiner notes that the term “boundary” can be interpreted broadly, as the claim does not further specify what constitutes a “boundary.” As such, the prior art reasonably teaches, “the light blocking member is disposed along a boundary of the at least one light emitting area in a plan view,” as in claims 1 and 21, and, “the first sub-light blocking member is disposed along a boundary of the first light emitting area and the second sub-light blocking member disposed along a boundary of the second light emitting in a plan view,” as in claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 14-19, 21, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsumi et al. [hereinafter as Hatsumi] (US 2022/0246893) in view of Kim et al. [hereinafter as Kim] (US 2020/0168844 A1).
In reference to claim 1, Hatsumi teaches A display device [electronic device 6500; Fig. 12, para 0151] comprising:
a display panel [display panel 6511 of display device 50B; Fig. 10, para 0100] comprising:
at least one light emitting area [area above light-emitting layer 193b, hereinafter as “LEA1”; Fig. 10, para 0105] from which a light is emitted,
a peripheral area [area between 45 above LEA1 and 45 above area above light-emitting layer 193a, hereinafter as “PA”; Fig 10, paras 0101-0117] adjacent to the at least one light emitting area [LEA1],
at least one light emitting element [light-emitting element OLED2; Fig. 10, para 0101], the light emitting element [OLED2] including a first electrode [pixel electrode 191; Fig. 10, para 0104], a light emitting layer [193b], and a second electrode [common electrode 115; Fig. 10, para 0104], and
a pixel definition layer [bank 216; Fig. 10, para 0114] providing at least one light emitting opening [open area between banks 216, hereinafter as LEO], at least a portion of the first electrode [191] being exposed [191 exposed at LEO] through the light emitting opening [LEO]; and
a light blocking member [first light-blocking layer 45 above and to the left of LEA1, hereinafter as “LBM1”; Fig. 10, para 0116] disposed on the display panel [6511/50B] to block the light, wherein
at least a portion [a portion of LBM1 is above LEA1] of the light blocking member [LBM1] is disposed in the at least one light emitting area [LEA1],
one side surface [right side of LBM1] of the light blocking member [LBM1] is disposed in the at least one light emitting area [LEA1],
an opposing side surface [left side of LBM1] of the light blocking member [LBM1], which is opposite to the one side surface [left side and right side of LBM1 are opposite each other], is disposed closer to a center [left side of LBM1 closer to center of PA] of the peripheral area [PA] than the one side surface [right side of LBM1] is.
However, Hatsumi does not explicitly teach:
at least a portion of the light blocking member overlaps the portion of the first electrode exposed through the light emitting opening along a thickness direction of the display device such that a portion of light from the light emitting element directed along the thickness direction is blocked by the light blocking member;
the light blocking member is disposed along a boundary of the at least one light emitting area in a plan view.
Kim teaches at least a portion of the light blocking member [reflection patterns 220/light absorption patterns 230; Fig. 4, para 0096-0099] overlaps [portions of 220/230 overlap 111 in a thickness direction] the portion of the first electrode [first electrode 111; Fig. 4, para 0060] exposed through the light emitting opening [opening above light-emitting layer 113; Fig. 4, paras 0096-0098] along a thickness direction of the display device such that a portion of light from the light emitting element [light-emitting diode E; Fig. 4, para 0048] directed along the thickness direction is blocked by the light blocking member [220/230];
the light blocking member [220/230] is disposed along a boundary of the at least one light emitting area in a plan view [Figs. 3A-C, paras 0085-0089 depict 230 along boundaries of light transmission regions T].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hatsumi and Kim before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the light blocking member overlapping a portion of a first electrode as disclosed by Kubota into the display panel device of Hatsumi in order to obtain a display panel with a light blocking member overlapping a portion of a first electrode.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a display panel with a light blocking member overlapping a portion of a first electrode to limit a viewing angle to provide privacy to a user of a display [Kim, para 0039].
In reference to claim 2, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 1.
Hatsumi teaches The display device of claim 1, wherein the at least one light emitting area comprises:
a first light emitting area [LEA1] from which a first light [para 0090 discloses that subpixels may emit a certain color of light] is emitted; and
a second light emitting area [area above light-emitting layer 193a, hereinafter as “LEA2”; Fig. 10, para 0105] from which a second light [para 0090 discloses that subpixels may emit a certain color of light] having a wavelength [para 0090 and 0016 discloses that subpixels may emit a certain color of light; different colors of light have different wavelengths; plural light emitting regions is a green, blue, or red light emitting region] different from the first light is emitted, and the light blocking member comprises:
a first sub-light blocking member [LBM1] disposed in the first light emitting area [LEA1]; and
a second sub-light blocking member [first light-blocking layer 45 above and to the right of LEA2, hereinafter as “LBM2”; Fig. 10, para 0116] disposed in the second light emitting area [LEA2].
In reference to claim 3, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 2.
Hatsumi teaches The display device of claim 2, wherein the first sub-light blocking member [LBM1] and the second sub-light blocking member [LBM2] are spaced apart [LBM1 and LBM2 are spaced apart] from each other with a first gap [LBM1 and LBM2are spaced apart with gap, hereinafter as “1G”] defined therebetween when viewed in the plan view, and
the first gap [1G] is defined to allow at least a portion [portion of 1G overlaps PA] thereof to overlap the peripheral area [PA].
In reference to claim 4, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 1.
Hatsumi teaches The display device of claim 1, further comprising: an overcoat layer [second substrate 59; Fig. 10, para 0113] disposed on the display panel [6511/50B] to cover the light blocking member [LBM1].
In reference to claim 14, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 1.
Hatsumi teaches The display device of claim 1 further comprising: an additional light blocking member [second light-blocking member 44; Fig. 10, para 0116] overlapping the peripheral area [PA].
In reference to claim 15, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 14.
Hatsumi teaches The display device of claim 14. wherein the light blocking member [LBM1] and the additional light blocking member [44] are spaced apart from each other with a second gap [LBM1 and 44 are spaced apart by a gap] defined therebetween when viewed in the plan view.
In reference to claim 16, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 1.
Hatsumi and Kim teach The display device of claim 1, wherein the opposing side surface [left side of LBM1 of Hatsumi; analogously, 220/230 of Kim] of the light blocking member [LBM1; analogously, 220/230 of Kim] is disposed at the boundary [Kim, Figs. 3A-C, paras 0085-0089 depict 230 along boundaries of light transmission regions T] between the light emitting area [LEA1 of Hatsumi; analogously, T of Kim] and the peripheral area [PA of Hatsumi] when viewed in the plan view.
In reference to claim 17, Hatsumi teaches A display device [6500] comprising:
a display panel [6511/50B] comprising:
at least one light emitting area [LEA1] and a peripheral area [PA] adjacent to the light emitting area [LEA1], wherein the at least one light emitting area [LEA1] comprises:
a first light emitting area [LEA1] from which a first light [para 0090 discloses that subpixels may emit a certain color of light] is emitted and
a second light emitting area [LEA2] from which a second light [para 0090 discloses that subpixels may emit a certain color of light] having a wavelength different [para 0090 and 0016 discloses that subpixels may emit a certain color of light; different colors of light have different wavelengths; plural light emitting regions is a green, blue, or red light emitting region] from the first light is emitted,
at least one light emitting element [light-emitting element OLED2; Fig. 10, para 0101], the light emitting element [OLED2] including a first electrode [pixel electrode 191; Fig. 10, para 0104], a light emitting layer [193b], and a second electrode [common electrode 115; Fig. 10, para 0104], and
a pixel definition layer [bank 216; Fig. 10, para 0114] providing at least one light emitting opening [open area between banks 216, hereinafter as LEO], at least a portion of the first electrode [191] being exposed [191 exposed at LEO] through the light emitting opening [LEO]; and
at least one light blocking member [LBM1] disposed on the display panel [6511/50B] to block a light,
wherein the light blocking member [LBM1] comprises:
a first sub-light blocking member [LBM1] disposed on the display panel [6511/50B] in the first light emitting area [LEA1]; and
a second sub-light blocking member [LBM2] disposed on the display panel [6511/50B] in the second light emitting area [LEA2],
wherein the first sub-light blocking member [LBM1] and the second sub-light blocking member [LBM2] are spaced apart [LBM1 and LBM2 are spaced apart] from each other with a first gap [1G] defined therebetween when viewed in a plan view,
the first gap [1G] is defined to allow at least a portion thereof to overlap [portion of 1G overlaps PA] the peripheral area [PA].
However, Hatsumi does not explicitly teach:
at least a portion of the light blocking member overlaps the portion of the first electrode exposed through the light emitting opening along a thickness direction of the display device such that a portion of light from the light emitting element directed along the thickness direction is blocked by the light blocking member;
the first sub-light blocking member is disposed along a boundary of the first light emitting area and the second sub-light blocking member disposed along a boundary of the second light emitting in a plan view.
Kim teaches at least a portion of the light blocking member [reflection patterns 220/light absorption patterns 230; Fig. 4, para 0096-0099] overlaps [portions of 220/230 overlap 111 in a thickness direction] the portion of the first electrode [first electrode 111; Fig. 4, para 0060] exposed through the light emitting opening [opening above light-emitting layer 113; Fig. 4, paras 0096-0098] along a thickness direction of the display device such that a portion of light from the light emitting element [light-emitting diode E; Fig. 4, para 0048] directed along the thickness direction is blocked by the light blocking member [220/230];
the first sub-light blocking member [220/230] is disposed along a boundary of the first light emitting area [Figs. 3A-C, paras 0085-0089 depict 230 along boundaries of light transmission regions T] and the second sub-light blocking member [220/230] disposed along a boundary of the second light emitting in a plan view [Figs. 3A-C, paras 0085-0089 depict 230 along boundaries of light transmission regions T].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hatsumi and Kim before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the light blocking member overlapping a portion of a first electrode as disclosed by Kubota into the display panel device of Hatsumi in order to obtain a display panel with a light blocking member overlapping a portion of a first electrode.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a display panel with a light blocking member overlapping a portion of a first electrode to limit a viewing angle to provide privacy to a user of a display [Kim, para 0039].
In reference to claim 18, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 17.
Hatsumi teaches The display device of claim 17, wherein
the at least one light emitting area [LEA1] further comprises a third light emitting area [para 0090 and 0016 discloses that subpixels may emit a certain color of light; a plurality of colors may be emitted, meaning a third light emitting area; plural light emitting regions is a green, blue, or red light emitting region, hereinafter as “LEA3”, would exist] from which a third light [para 0090 discloses that subpixels may emit a certain color of light] having a wavelength different [para 0090 discloses that subpixels may emit a certain color of light; different colors of light have different wavelengths] from the first and second lights [para 0090 discloses that subpixels may emit a certain color of light] is emitted, and
the light blocking member [LBM1] further comprises a third sub-light blocking member [LMB above LEA3, hereinafter as “LBM3”] disposed in the third light emitting area [LEA3].
In reference to claim 19, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 18.
Hatsumi teaches The display device of claim 18, wherein
the first light is a blue light [para 0090 discloses blue light],
the second light is a green light [para 0090 discloses green light], and
the third light is a red light [para 0090 discloses red light].
In reference to claim 21, An electronic device [6500] comprising:
a display panel [6511/50B] comprising:
at least one light emitting area [193B] from which a light is emitted,
a peripheral area [PA] adjacent to the at least one light emitting area [LEA1],
at least one light emitting element [OLED2], the light emitting element [OLED2] including a first electrode [191], a light emitting layer [193b], and a second electrode [115], and
a pixel definition layer [216] providing at least one light emitting opening [LEO], at least a portion of the first electrode [191] being exposed [191 exposed at LEO] through the light emitting opening [LEO];
a light blocking member [LBM1] disposed on the display panel [6511/50B] to block the light;
a window [protection member 6510; Fig. 12B, para 0155] disposed on the display panel [6511/50B]; and
an external case [housing 6501; Fig. 12B, para 0155] disposed under the display panel [6511/50B],
wherein
at least a portion [a portion of LBM1 is above LEA1] of the light blocking member [LBM1] is disposed in the at least one light emitting area [LEA1],
one side surface [right side of LBM1] of the light blocking member [LBM1] is disposed in the at least one light emitting area [LEA1],
an opposing side surface [left side of LBM1] of the light blocking member [LBM1], which is opposite to the one side surface [left side and right side of LBM1 are opposite each other], is disposed closer to a center [left side of LBM1 closer to center of PA] of the peripheral area [PA] than the one side surface [right side of LBM1] is.
However, Hatsumi does not explicitly teach:
at least a portion of the light blocking member overlaps the portion of the first electrode exposed through the light emitting opening along a thickness direction of the display device such that a portion of light from the light emitting element directed along the thickness direction is blocked by the light blocking member;
the light blocking member is disposed along a boundary of the at least one light emitting area in a plan view.
Kim teaches at least a portion of the light blocking member [reflection patterns 220/light absorption patterns 230; Fig. 4, para 0096-0099] overlaps [portions of 220/230 overlap 111 in a thickness direction] the portion of the first electrode [first electrode 111; Fig. 4, para 0060] exposed through the light emitting opening [opening above light-emitting layer 113; Fig. 4, paras 0096-0098] along a thickness direction of the display device such that a portion of light from the light emitting element [light-emitting diode E; Fig. 4, para 0048] directed along the thickness direction is blocked by the light blocking member [220/230];
the light blocking member [220/230] is disposed along a boundary of the at least one light emitting area in a plan view [Figs. 3A-C, paras 0085-0089 depict 230 along boundaries of light transmission regions T].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hatsumi and Kim before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the light blocking member overlapping a portion of a first electrode as disclosed by Kubota into the display panel device of Hatsumi in order to obtain a display panel with a light blocking member overlapping a portion of a first electrode.
One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to obtain a display panel with a light blocking member overlapping a portion of a first electrode to limit a viewing angle to provide privacy to a user of a display [Kim, para 0039].
In reference to claim 23, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 21.
Hatsumi teaches The electronic device of claim 21, wherein the electronic device comprises a smart watch, a tablet computer, a note book computer, a computer, or a smart television [para 0148 disclose the electronic device may be a computer, laptop, television, etc.].
Claim(s) 8, 20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsumi in view of Kim further in view of Kubota et al. [hereinafter as Kubota] (US 2024/0099038 A1).
In reference to claim 8, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 1.
However, Hatsumi and Kim do not explicitly teach The display device of claim 1, further comprising: an anti-reflective layer.
Kubota teaches The display device of claim 1, further comprising: an anti-reflective layer [para 0228 discloses an anti-reflective layer] disposed on the display panel [display apparatus 10A; Fig. 1A, para 0062].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hatsumi, Kim, and Kubota before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the antireflective layer as disclosed by Kubota into the display panel device of Hatsumi and Kim in order to obtain a display panel with an antireflective layer.
One of ordinary skill in the art wanted would be motivated to obtain a display panel with an antireflective layer to provide the predictable result of reducing the reflection of light, allowing for more efficient light emission.
In reference to claim 20, Hatsumi teaches the invention of claim 17.
However, while Hatsumi discloses a window [para 0004 discloses windows], Hatsumi and Kim do not explicitly teach The display device of claim 17, further comprising:
an anti-reflective layer disposed on the display panel; and
a window disposed on the anti-reflective layer.
Kubota teaches The display device of claim 17, further comprising:
an anti-reflective layer [para 0228 discloses an anti-reflective layer] disposed on the display panel; and
a window [antistatic film; para 0228] disposed on the anti-reflective layer [para 0228 discloses an anti-reflective layer].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hatsumi, Kim, and Kubota before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the antireflective layer and window as disclosed by Kubota and Kim into the display panel device of Hatsumi in order to obtain a display panel with an antireflective layer and window.
One of ordinary skill in the art wanted would be motivated to obtain a display panel with an antireflective layer and window to provide the predictable result of reducing the reflection of light, allowing for more efficient light emission.
In reference to claim 22, Hatsumi and Kim teaches the invention of claim 21.
Hatsumi teaches The electronic device of claim 21, further comprising: an input sensing unit [touch sensor panel 6513; Fig. 12B, para 0155] disposed on the display panel [6511/50B].
However, while Hatsumi teaches an optical member [optical member 6512; Fig. 12B, para 0155] disposed on the input sensing unit [6513], Hatsumi and Kim do not explicitly teach an anti-reflective unit.
Kubota teaches an anti-reflective unit [para 0228 discloses an anti-reflective layer].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hatsumi, Kim, and Kubota before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the antireflective layer and window as disclosed by Kubota into the display panel device of Hatsumi and Kim in order to obtain a display panel with an antireflective layer and window.
One of ordinary skill in the art wanted would be motivated to obtain a display panel with an antireflective layer and window to provide the predictable result of reducing the reflection of light, allowing for more efficient light emission.
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatsumi in view of Kim further in view of Eida et al. [hereinafter as Eida] (US 2008/0036367 A1).
In reference to claim 12, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 1.
However, Hatsumi and Kim do not explicitly teach The display device of claim 1,wherein the light blocking member has a thickness equal to or greater than about 0.5 micrometers and equal to or smaller than about 2 micrometers.
Eida teaches The display device of claim 1,wherein the light blocking member has a thickness equal to or greater than about 0.5 micrometers and equal to or smaller than about 2 micrometers [para 0135 discloses a light blocking layer that has a thickness of 10 nm to 5 micrometers].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hatsumi, Kim, and Eida before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the particular thickness and width of a light-blocking layer as disclosed by Eida into the display device of Hatsumi and Kim in order to obtain a light-blocking layer with a particular thickness and width in a display device.
One of ordinary skill in the art wanted would be motivated to obtain a light-blocking layer with a particular thickness and width in a display device to provide the predictable result of improving a contrast of an organic EL [Eida, para 0134-0135] by using a known thickness sufficient to block light.
In reference to claim 13, Hatsumi and Kim teach the invention of claim 1.
However, Hatsumi and Kim do not explicitly teach The display device of claim 1,wherein the light blocking member has a width equal to or greater than about 0.5 micrometers and equal to or smaller than about 3 micrometers.
Eida teaches The display device of claim 1,wherein the light blocking member has a width equal to or greater than about 0.5 micrometers and equal to or smaller than about 3 micrometers [para 0135 discloses a light blocking layer that has a thickness of 10 nm to 5 micrometers; the width is twice the thickness, therefore, in the range of 20 nm to 10 micrometers].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art, absent unexpected results, having the teachings of Hatsumi, Kim, and Eida before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to include the particular thickness and width of a light-blocking layer as disclosed by Eida into the display device of Hatsumi and Kim in order to obtain a light-blocking layer with a particular thickness and width in a display device.
One of ordinary skill in the art wanted would be motivated to obtain a light-blocking layer with a particular thickness and width in a display device to provide the predictable result of improving a contrast of an organic EL [Eida, para 0134-0135] by using a known thickness sufficient to block light.
Examiner’s Note
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure as follows. Applicant is reminded that in amending in response to a rejection of claims, the patentable novelty must be clearly shown in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited and the objections made. Applicant must also show how the amendments avoid such references and objections. See 37 CFR § 1.111(0).
Kim et al. (US-20240224743-A1) discloses light blocking members situated along a boundary of a light emitting area [Fig. 5].
Lee et al. (US-20190214440-A1) discloses light blocking members situated along a boundary of a light emitting area [Figs. 4, 11].
Lee et al. (US-20210242283-A1) discloses light blocking members situated along a boundary of a light emitting area [Fig. 3].
Moon et al. (US-20120168796-A1) discloses light blocking members situated along a boundary of a light emitting area [Figs. 3, 5].
Conclusion
/ANDREW CHUNG/
Examiner, Art Unit 2898