DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Office acknowledges receipt on 12 May 2026 of Applicants’ amendments in which claims 1 and 16 are amended. The Office withdraws the indefiniteness rejections identified in the Office Communication dated 16 March 2026 in view of the amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments submitted on 12 May 2026 with respect to amended independent claim(s) 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7-10, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye (US20220019305A1) in view of Gong et al. (US20220209206A1) and Heo (US20190103450A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ye teaches in Figs. 2 and 6 a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (200) {[0047]};
a 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) and a 1-2 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 2nd R/G/B) over the substrate (200) and each comprising a first emission layer (2022) {[0050]} {the 1-1 and 1-2 LEDS are different LEDS of same color};
a second light-emitting device (G/B/R) adjacent to the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) and comprising a second emission layer (2022) comprising a material that emits light of a color (G/B/R) different from that of the first emission layer (2022 of R/G/B) {[0051]} {the 2nd LED is of a different color than 1-1 and 1-2 LEDS}; and
a pixel-defining layer (2019) comprising an opening (2019a) exposing a center portion of a pixel electrode (2021) of each of the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B), the 1-2 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 2nd R/G/B), and the second light-emitting device (G/B/R) {[0049, 0051]},
wherein the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) and the 1-2 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 2nd R/G/B) are configured to emit light of a same color {Fig. 6, two LEDS of same color},
wherein the pixel-defining layer (2019) between the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) and the 1-2 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 2nd R/G/B) comprises a first groove (50) having a concave shape toward the substrate (200), the concave shape and a bottom portion of the first groove (50) being defined within the pixel-defining layer (2019), the bottom portion being a portion of the first groove (50) closest to the substrate (2019) and facing the substrate (200) {[0061, 0062]},
wherein the first groove (50) has an inverted tapered shape in a cross-sectional view {[0063]}, and
wherein the first groove (50) has a portion that widens in a direction toward the substrate (200) {[0062]}.
Ye does not teach:
each of the 1-1 light-emitting device and the 1-2 light-emitting device comprising a first charge generation layer;
the second light-emitting device comprising a second charge generation layer;
wherein the first charge generation layer is cut off at the first groove;
wherein the second charge generation layer is spaced apart from the first charge generation layer of the 1-1 light-emitting device in a plan view.
In an analogous art, Gong teaches in Figs. 4 and 6 and paragraph [0052] each of a 1-1 light-emitting device (1st P1) and a 1-2 light-emitting device (2nd P1) comprising a first charge generation layer (422 of 1st P1, 422 of 2nd P1); a second light-emitting device (P2) comprising a second charge generation layer (422 of P2); wherein the first charge generation layer ([422 of 1st P1]/[422 of 2nd P1]) is cut off at a first groove (T); wherein the second charge generation layer (422 of P2) is spaced apart from the first charge generation layer ([422 of 1st P1]) of the 1-1 light-emitting device (1st P1) in a plan view. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus based on the teachings of Gong – such that each of the 1-1 light-emitting device and the 1-2 light-emitting device comprising a first charge generation layer; the second light-emitting device comprising a second charge generation layer; wherein the first charge generation layer is cut off at the first groove; wherein the second charge generation layer is spaced apart from the first charge generation layer of the 1-1 light-emitting device in a plan view – for: (1) supplying electrons to the first stack … [and] supplying holes to the second stack {Jin [0053]} and (2) preventing a leakage current between the adjacent subpixels {Gong [0054]}. Moreover, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Gong) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Ye does not teach a gap between the second charge generation layer and the first charge generation layer of the 1-1 light-emitting device overlaps the pixel-defining layer between the 1-1 light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device in the plan view.
In an analogous art, Heo teaches in Figs. 2(b) and 10(b) and paragraphs [0067, 0072] a gap (BG) between a second charge generation layer (e.g., rightmost CGL of OL) [of a second light-emitting device (e.g., G)] and a first charge generation layer (e.g., leftmost CGL of OL) of a 1-1 light-emitting device (e.g., R of Figs. 1, 8 through which A-A’/II-II’ passes) overlaps the pixel-defining layer (BN) between the 1-1 light-emitting device (e.g., R of Figs. 1, 8 through which A-A’/II-II’ passes) and a second light-emitting device (e.g., G of Figs. 1, 8 through which A-A’/II-II’ passes) in a plan view. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong based on the teachings of Heo, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to: (1) effectively block the leakage current by including the groove formed in the bank, (2) prevent a problem that the color reproduction rate is remarkably lowered as light is emitted from the pixel for which the light emission is not required, and (3) provide the organic light emitting diode display device with remarkably improved display quality. Heo [0104].
Regarding claim 2, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, and Ye further teaches wherein the first groove (50) has a closed shape in a plan view {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 7, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, and Ye further teaches further comprising an opposite electrode (2023) arranged over the pixel-defining layer (2019), wherein the opposite electrode (2023) comprises a portion surrounding the first groove (50) {Fig. 2; [0052]}.
Regarding claim 8, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, and Ye further teaches further comprising wherein the pixel-defining layer (2019) between the second light-emitting device (G/B/R) and the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) comprises a second groove (50) having a concave shape toward the substrate (200) {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 9, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 8, and Ye further teaches further comprising an opposite electrode (2023) arranged over the pixel-defining layer (2019), wherein the opposite electrode (2023) comprises a portion surrounding each of the first groove (50 between 1-1 and 1-2 light-emitting devices) and the second groove (50 between second and 1-1 light-emitting devices) {Fig. 2; [0052]}.
Regarding claim 10, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, and Ye further teaches wherein an upper surface of the pixel-defining layer (2019) between the second light-emitting device (G/B/R) and the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) is flat {Fig. 2}.
Regarding claim 16, Ye teaches in Figs. 2 and 6 a display apparatus comprising:
a substrate (200) {[0047]};
a 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) and a 1-2 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 2nd R/G/B) over the substrate (200) and each comprising a first emission layer (2022) {[0050]} {the 1-1 and 1-2 LEDS are different LEDS of same color};
a second light-emitting device (G/B/R) adjacent to the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) and comprising a second emission layer (2022) comprising a material that emits light of a color different from that of the first emission layer (2022 of G) {[0051]} {the 2nd LED is of a different color than 1-1 and 1-2 LEDS}; and
a pixel-defining layer (2019) comprising an opening (2019a) exposing a center portion of a pixel electrode (2021) of each of the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B), the 1-2 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 2nd R/G/B), and the second light-emitting device (G/B/R not illustrated in Fig. 2, but similar to 2021-2023 illustrated in Fig. 2) {[0049, 0051]},
wherein the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) and the 1-2 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 2nd R/G/B) are configured to emit light of a same color {Fig. 6, two LEDS of same color},
wherein an upper surface of the pixel-defining layer (2019) between the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) and the 1-2 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 2nd R/G/B) comprises a first groove (50) having a concave shape toward the substrate (200), the concave shape and a bottom portion of the first groove (50) being defined within the pixel-defining layer (2019), the bottom portion being a portion of the first groove (50) closest to the substrate (200) and facing the substrate (200) {[0061, 0062]},
wherein the first groove (50) has an inverted tapered shape in a cross-sectional view {[0063]}, and
wherein the first groove (50) has a portion that widens in a direction toward the substrate (200) {[0062]}.
Ye does not teach:
the 1-1 light-emitting device and the 1-2 light-emitting device comprising a first intermediate layer including a first functional layer;
the second light-emitting device comprising a second intermediate layer including a second functional layer;
wherein the first functional layer is cut off at the first groove,
wherein the second intermediate layer is spaced apart from the first intermediate layer of the 1-1 light-emitting device in a plan view.
Gong teaches in Figs. 4 and 6 and paragraph [0052] a 1-1 light-emitting device (1st P1) and a 1-2 light-emitting device (2nd P1) comprising a first intermediate layer (421 and/or 422 of 1st P1 and/or 2nd P1) including a first functional layer (e.g., [HTL/EML/ETL of 421]/[422] of 1st P1 and/or 2nd P1); a second light-emitting device (P2) comprising a second intermediate layer (421 and/or 422 of P2) including a second functional layer (e.g., [HTL/EML/ETL of 421]/[422] of P2); wherein the first functional layer (e.g., [HTL/EML/ETL of 421]/[422] of 1st P1 and/or 2nd P1) is cut off at a first groove (T), wherein the second intermediate layer (e.g., [HTL/EML/ETL of 421]/[422] of P2) is spaced apart from the first intermediate layer (e.g., [HTL/EML/ETL of 421]/[422] of 1st P1) of the 1-1 light-emitting device (1st P1) in a plan view. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus based on the teachings of Gong – such that the 1-1 light-emitting device and the 1-2 light-emitting device comprise a first intermediate layer including a first functional layer; the second light-emitting device comprise a second intermediate layer including a second functional layer; wherein the first functional layer is cut off at the first groove, wherein the second intermediate layer is spaced apart from the first intermediate layer of the 1-1 light-emitting device in a plan view – for: (1) supplying electrons to the first stack and/or emitting light based on such received electrons {Jin [0053]} and (2) preventing a leakage current between the adjacent subpixels {Gong [0054]}. Moreover, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Gong) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Furthermore, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Ye does not teach a gap between the second intermediate layer and the first intermediate layer of the 1-1 light-emitting device overlaps the pixel-defining layer between the 1-1 light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device in the plan view.
In an analogous art, Heo teaches in Figs. 2(b) and 10(b) and paragraphs [0067, 0072] a gap (BG) between a second intermediate layer (e.g., rightmost CGL/HIL/HTL/RTL/EIL of OL) [of a second light-emitting device (e.g., G)] and a first intermediate layer (e.g., leftmost CGL/HIL/HTL/RTL/EIL of OL) of a 1-1 light-emitting device (e.g., R of Figs. 1, 8 through which A-A’/II-II’ passes) overlaps the pixel-defining layer (BN) between the 1-1 light-emitting device (e.g., R of Figs. 1, 8 through which A-A’/II-II’ passes) and a second light-emitting device (e.g., G of Figs. 1, 8 through which A-A’/II-II’ passes) in a plan view. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong based on the teachings of Heo, to achieve the above-identified subject matter, to: (1) effectively block the leakage current by including the groove formed in the bank, (2) prevent a problem that the color reproduction rate is remarkably lowered as light is emitted from the pixel for which the light emission is not required, and (3) provide the organic light emitting diode display device with remarkably improved display quality. Heo [0104].
Regarding claim 18, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 16, and Ye further teaches wherein the pixel-defining layer (2019) is between the second light-emitting device (G/B/R) and the 1-1 light-emitting device (2021-2023 of a 1st R/G/B) and comprises a second groove (50) having a concave shape toward the substrate (200) {Fig. 2}.
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye in view of Gong and Heo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bing (US20230131455A1).
Regarding claim 4, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but Ye does not teach further comprising
a third light- emitting device adjacent to the 1-1 light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device and configured to emit light of a color different from those of the 1-1 light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device,
wherein a distance between a center portion of the 1-1 light-emitting device and a center portion of the 1-2 light-emitting device is greater than a distance between a center portion of the second light-emitting device and a center portion of the third light-emitting device.
In an analogous art pertaining to a display apparatus having multiple light emitting devices (Fig. 2; ¶0056; 101-103) and pixel defining layers (Fig. 2; ¶0053; 21, 22), Bing teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 further comprising a third light-emitting device (102) adjacent to a 1-1 light-emitting device (103) and a second light-emitting device (101) and configured to emit light of a color different from those of the 1-1 light-emitting device (103) and the second light-emitting device (101) {¶0046, The first sub-pixels 101, the second sub-pixels 102 and the third sub-pixels 103 are one of red sub-pixels, green sub-pixels, and blue sub-pixels, respectively}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong and Heo based on the teachings of Bing – to include a third light-emitting device adjacent to the 1-1 light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device and configured to emit light of a color different from those of the 1-1 light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device – for the purpose of effectively increasing the number of the PPI. Bing ¶0028 and Abstract.
Bing further teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 wherein a distance between a center portion of the 1-1 light-emitting device (upper 103) and a center portion of the 1-2 light-emitting device (lower 103) is greater than a distance between a center portion of the second light-emitting device (101) and a center portion of the third light-emitting device (102) {¶0043}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong, Heo, and Bing based on the further teachings of Bing – such that a distance between a center portion of the 1-1 light-emitting device and a center portion of the 1-2 light-emitting device is greater than a distance between a center portion of the second light-emitting device and a center portion of the third light-emitting device – for the purpose of effectively increasing the number of the PPI. Bing ¶0028 and Abstract.
Regarding claim 5, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but Ye does not teach wherein an area of an emission area of each of the 1-1 light-emitting device and the 1-2 light-emitting device is greater than an area of an emission area of the second light-emitting device.
Bing teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 wherein an area of an emission area of each of a 1-1 light-emitting device (upper 103) and a 1-2 light-emitting device (lower 103) is greater than an area of an emission area of a second light-emitting device (101) {¶0045, an area of each of the third sub-pixels 103 is twice the area of each of the first sub-pixels 101}. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong and Heo based on the teachings of Bing – such that an area of an emission area of each of the 1-1 light-emitting device and the 1-2 light-emitting device is greater than an area of an emission area of the second light-emitting device –because a lifetime and luminous intensity of a light-emitting material of the blue sub-pixels are [sic] weaker, and an area of each of the blue sub-pixels can be designed to be larger. In the embodiment, the third sub-pixels … may be the blue sub-pixels. Bing ¶0046.
Regarding claim 6, Ye as modified by Gong, Heo, and Bing teaches the display apparatus of claim 5, but Ye does not teach wherein the 1-1 light-emitting device and the 1-2 light-emitting device each comprise a material that emits light of a wavelength between 450 nm and 500 nm.
Bing teaches wherein a 1-1 light-emitting device (103) and a 1-2 light-emitting device (103) each comprises a material that emits light of a wavelength between 450 nm and 500 nm. The instant specification discloses in paragraph [0092] that “light of a wavelength between 450 nm and 500 nm” is blue light. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong, Heo, and Bing based on the further teachings of Bing – such that the 1-1 light-emitting device and the 1-2 light-emitting device each comprises a material that emits light of a wavelength between 450 nm and 500 nm – because a lifetime and luminous intensity of a light-emitting material of the blue sub-pixels are [sic] weaker, and an area of each of the blue sub-pixels can be designed to be larger. In the embodiment, the third sub-pixels … may be the blue sub-pixels. Bing ¶0046.
Claim(s) 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye in view of Gong and Heo as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ohsawa et al. (US20240065024A1).
Regarding claim 11, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but Ye does not teach wherein the first emission layer comprises a first sub-emission layer and a second sub-emission layer stacked on each other.
In an analogous art, Ohsawa teaches in Figs. 2B and 2D and paragraph [0072] a first emission layer (103a, 106, 103b) comprises a first sub-emission layer (103a) and a second sub-emission layer (103b) stacked on each other. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong and Heo based on the teachings of Ohsawa – such that the first emission layer comprises a first sub-emission layer and a second sub-emission layer stacked on each other – to achieve higher reliability than a single-layer structure. Ohsawa [0075].
Regarding claim 12, Ye as modified by Gong, Heo, and Ohsawa teaches the display apparatus of claim 11, but Ye does not teach wherein the first sub-emission layer and the second sub-emission layer comprise materials that emit light of a same color.
Ohsawa teaches in Figs. 2B and 2D and paragraph [0075] a first sub-emission layer (103a) and a second sub-emission layer (103b) comprise materials that emit light of a same color. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong, Heo, and Ohsawa based on the further teachings of Ohsawa – such that the first sub-emission layer and the second sub-emission layer comprise materials that emit light of a same color – to achieve higher reliability than a single-layer structure. Ohsawa [0075].
Claim(s) 13, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye in view of Gong and Heo as applied to claim 1 (for claims 13 and 14) and claim 16 (for claim 20) above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US20220131104A1).
Regarding claim 13, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but Ye does not teach further comprising an auxiliary layer surrounding at least a portion of the first groove, wherein at least a portion of the auxiliary layer protrudes toward a center portion of the first groove.
Kim teaches in Figs. 8D and 8G and paragraph [0100] an auxiliary layer (105) surrounding at least a portion of a first groove (103a), wherein at least a portion of the auxiliary layer (105) protrudes toward a center portion of the first groove (103a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong and Heo based on the teachings of Kim – such that an auxiliary layer surrounds at least a portion of the first groove, wherein at least a portion of the auxiliary layer protrudes toward a center portion of the first groove – to prevent the undercut structure from being planarized. Kim [0202]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., auxiliary layer, groove) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Kim) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Regarding claim 14, Ye as modified by Gong, Heo, and Kim teaches the display apparatus of claim 13, but Ye does not teach wherein the auxiliary layer comprises at least one of silicon oxynitride, silicon oxide, or silicon nitride.
Kim teaches in Fig. 6 and paragraph [0159] an auxiliary layer (105) comprises silicon oxide. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong, Heo, and Kim based on the further teachings of Kim – such that the auxiliary layer comprises at least one of silicon oxynitride, silicon oxide, or silicon nitride – to prevent the undercut structure from being planarized. Kim [0202]. Moreover, [t]he selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 20, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 16, but Ye does not teach further comprising an auxiliary layer surrounding at least a portion of the first groove, wherein at least a portion of the auxiliary layer protrudes toward a center portion of the first groove.
Kim teaches in Figs. 8D and 8G and paragraph [0100] an auxiliary layer (105) surrounding at least a portion of a first groove (103a), wherein at least a portion of the auxiliary layer (105) protrudes toward a center portion of the first groove (103a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong and Heo based on the teachings of Kim – such that an auxiliary layer surrounding at least a portion of the first groove, wherein at least a portion of the auxiliary layer protrudes toward a center portion of the first groove – to prevent the undercut structure from being planarized. Kim [0202]. Moreover, all the claimed elements (e.g., auxiliary layer, groove) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Kim) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A).
Claim(s) 15 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ye in view of Gong and Heo as applied respectively to claim 1 (for claim 15) and claim 16 (for claim 19) above, and further in view of Im et al. (US20230165087A1).
Regarding claim 15, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 1, but Ye does not teach further comprising a first functional layer overlapping the first charge generation layer and cut off at the first groove and a second functional layer overlapping the second charge generation layer and spaced apart from the first functional layer.
In an analogous art, Im teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 and paragraph [0099] and [0100] a first functional layer (e.g., HTL of 63) overlapping a first charge generation layer (N-type portion of 62) and cut off at a first groove (T1) and a second functional layer (e.g., ETL of 63) overlapping a second charge generation layer (P-type portion of 62) and spaced apart from the first functional layer (e.g., HTL of 63). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong and Heo based on the teachings of Im – such that a first functional layer overlaps the first charge generation layer and is cut off at the first groove and a second functional layer overlaps the second charge generation layer and is spaced apart from the first functional layer – because all the claimed elements (e.g., ETL, HTL, CGL, groove) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Im) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results (e.g., sub-pixel) to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Regarding claim 19, Ye as modified by Gong and Heo teaches the display apparatus of claim 18, but Ye does not teach further comprising a first charge generation layer overlapping the first functional layer and cut off at the first groove and a second charge generation layer overlapping the second functional layer and spaced apart from the first charge generation layer.
Im teaches in Figs. 1 and 2 and paragraph [0099] and [0100] a first charge generation layer (N-type portion of 62) overlapping a first functional layer (e.g., HTL/EML/ETL of 61) and cut off at a first groove (T1) and a second charge generation layer (P-type portion of 62) overlapping a second functional layer (e.g., ETL/HTL/EML of 61) and spaced apart from the first charge generation layer (N-type portion of 62). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ye’s display apparatus as modified by Gong and Heo based on the teachings of Im – such that a first charge generation layer overlaps the first functional layer and is cut off at the first groove and a second charge generation layer overlaps the second functional layer and is spaced apart from the first charge generation layer – because all the claimed elements (e.g., ETL, EML, HTL, CGL, groove) were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods (e.g., as taught by Im) with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results (e.g., sub-pixel) to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP §2143(I)(A). Moreover, [t]he selection of a known … [structure] based on its suitability for its intended use [is] … prima facie obviousness. MPEP §2144.07.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yang (US20180301521A1) teaches an OLED display panel including a TFT array substrate and a plurality of anodes array arranged on the TFT array substrate, a pixel defining layer is covered on the TFT array substrate, the pixel defining layer includes an opening for exposing the anode and a spacer for spacing two adjacent ones of the anodes, a groove having an upper opening is arranged in the spacer, each of the openings corresponds to a sub-pixel area; wherein, a first common layer, a second common layer and a cathode layer are sequentially arranged on the pixel defining layer, the first common layer, the second common layer and the cathode layer are arranged with a light emitting material unit corresponding to each sub-pixel area. The present disclosure also discloses a method of manufacturing an OLED display panel as described above and a display device including the OLED display panel.
Conclusion
/D.W.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2891
/MATTHEW C LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2891