DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wherein a distance between top surfaces of the plurality of dielectric layers and the substrate is greater than a distance between the top surfaces of the plurality of bit-line contacts and the substrate along a Z direction in claim 1 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required:
Regarding claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein a distance between top surfaces of the plurality of dielectric layers and the substrate is greater than a distance between the top surfaces of the plurality of bit-line contacts and the substrate along a Z direction” in the last paragraph of the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3-6,8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein a distance between top surfaces of the plurality of dielectric layers and the substrate is greater than a distance between the top surfaces of the plurality of bit-line contacts and the substrate along a Z direction, and the Z direction is perpendicular to the X direction and the Y direction” in the last paragraph of the claim language.
Applicant does not have support in the originally filed specifications for the limitations recited above.
Furthermore, applicant does not disclose any references to any Z direction, nor does applicant disclose a Z direction.
Claims 3-6, 8 and 9 are rejected for dependence upon a 112(a) rejected instance claim.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein a distance between top surfaces of the plurality of dielectric layers and the substrate is greater than a distance between the top surfaces of the plurality of bit-line contacts and the substrate along a Z direction, and the Z direction is perpendicular to the X direction and the Y direction ” in the last paragraph of the claim language.
It is unclear to the examiner how the distance between top surfaces of the plurality of dielectric layers and the substrate is greater than a distance between the top surfaces of the plurality of bit-line contacts and the substrate along a Z direction when applicant does not disclose in the specifications nor drawings of any measurements in the Z direction nor does applicant disclose that the drawing are to scale.
It is unclear to the examiner as to what applicant is attempting to claim here.
Claims 3-6, 8 and 9 are rejected for dependence upon a 112(b) rejected instance claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (U.S. 2021/0296237), and further in view of Nakahata et al (U.S. 2001/0019142) .
Regarding claim 1. Kim et al discloses a memory device (FIG. 23A; [0022]), comprising:
a substrate (FIG. 23A, item 301) having a plurality (FIG. 1A; [0007], i.e. a substrate to define a plurality of active regions) of active areas (FIG. 23A, item ACT; [0044], i.e. [0046], i.e. A first impurity region 312a may be disposed in a portion of each of the cell active portions ACT);
a plurality of bit-line structures (FIG. 1A and 23A, item BL; [0050], i.e. The bit lines BL may include a bit-line polysilicon pattern 330 and a bit-line metal-containing pattern 332, which are sequentially stacked), disposed on the substrate (FIG. 23A, item 301) in parallel along a X direction (FIG. 1A, item D3; FIG. 23A, item A-A’);
a plurality of bit-line contacts (FIG. 1A and 23A, item DC), respectively disposed at overlaps ([0052], i.e. Bit-line contacts DC may be disposed in the first recess region R1 crossing the bit lines BL) of the plurality of bit-line structures (FIG. 1A and 23A, item BL) and the plurality of active areas (FIG. 23A, item ACT), and electrically connecting ([0052], i.e. The bit-line contact DC may electrically connect the first impurity region 312a to the bit line BL) the plurality of bit-line structures (FIG. 1A and 23A, item BL) and the plurality of active areas (FIG. 23A, item ACT); and
a plurality of protective structures (FIG. 1A and 23A, item 22), disposed at least on a first sidewall (FIG. 1A and 23A, left side item DC, item R1) and a second sidewall (FIG. 1A and 23A, right side item DC, item R1; [0053], i.e. the protection spacer 22 may have an ‘L’-shaped section. An upper portion (e.g., provided with the first impurity region 312a) of the substrate 301, which is provided near the bottom of the first recess region R1 and is in contact with the bit-line contact DC) of the plurality of bit-line contacts (FIG. 1A and 23A, item DC) wherein top surfaces (FIG. 1A and 23A, top surfaces of item 22) of the plurality of protective structures (FIG. 1A and 23A, item 22) and top surfaces (FIG. 1A and 23A, top surfaces of item DC) of the plurality of bit-line contacts (FIG. 1A and 23A, item DC) are flush (FIG. 23A shows top surfaces of items DC and top surfaces of items 22 are flushed) wherein the plurality of bit-line contacts (FIG. 23A, item DC; [0052], i.e. The bit-line contacts DC may be formed as portions of the bit-line polysilicon pattern 330) comprise doped polysilicon ([0050], i.e. The bit-line polysilicon pattern 330 may be formed of or include doped polysilicon); and
a plurality of buried word lines (FIG. 23A, item WL) disposed in the substrate (FIG. 23A, item 301) in parallel along a Y direction ([0045], i.e. The word lines WL may be parallel to each other and extend in a second direction D2; FIG. 23A, item B-B’), wherein each bit- line contact (FIG. 23A, item DC) is disposed between two adjacent buried word lines (FIG. 23A, item WL; [0047], i.e. A word-line capping pattern 310 may be disposed on each of the word lines WL),
wherein each protective structure (FIG. 1A, item 22) is disposed at exceeding half of a width (annotated FIG. 1A, shows item 22 exceeding half width of WL) of the two adjacent buried word lines (FIG. 1A, item WL); and
a plurality of dielectric layers (FIG. 23A, items 341 and AG; [0052], i.e. The lower gap-fill insulating pattern 341 may be formed of or include silicon nitride or silicon oxynitride; [0058], i.e. he air gap region AG may be filled with a gaseous material (e.g., the air) or vacuum, whose dielectric constant is lower than that of silicon oxide) respectively disposed on a third sidewall (FIG. 23A, item third sidewall) and a fourth sidewall (FIG. 23A, item fourth sidewall) of the plurality (FIG. 23A, item DC; [0052], i.e. A lower gap-fill insulating pattern 341 may be disposed in a portion of the first recess region R1, in which the bit-line contact).
wherein a distance between top surfaces (FIG. 23A, items AG) of the plurality of dielectric layers (FIG. 23A, items 341 and AG; [0052], [0058]) and the substrate (FIG. 23A, item 301) is greater than a distance between (annotated FIG. 23A shows a distance between top surfaces of the plurality of dielectric layers and the substrate is greater than a distance between the top surfaces of the plurality of bit-line contacts and the substrate) the top surfaces (FIG. 23A, top surfaces of item DC) of the plurality of bit-line contacts (FIG. 23A, item DC) and the substrate (FIG. 23A, item 301) along a Z direction (FIG. 23A, Z direction), and the Z direction (FIG. 23A, Z direction) is perpendicular (FIG. 23A shows Z direction is perpendicular to A-A’ and B-B’) to the X direction (FIG. 23A, item A-A’) and the Y direction (FIG. 23A, item B-B’).
Kim et al fails to explicitly disclose the bit line contacts comprises N-type doped polysilicon or silicon germanium.
However, Nakahata et al teaches the bit line contacts comprises silicon germanium ([0213], i.e. silicon-germanium in place of polysilicon films)
Since Kim et al and Nakahata et al teach polysilicon bit line contacts, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of semiconductors before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the memory device as disclosed to modify Kim et al with the teachings of the bit line contacts comprises silicon germanium as disclosed by Nakahata et al. The use of silicon-germanium in place of polysilicon films in Nakahata et al provides for similar effect (Nakahata et al, [0213]).
Regarding claim 3. Kim et al and Nakahata et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device according to claim 1 above.
Kim et al further discloses wherein each protective structure (FIG. 1A and 23A, item 22) extends from ([0022], [0052]-[0053]) the first sidewall (FIG. 1A and 23A, left side item DC, item R1) or the second sidewall (FIG. 1A and 23A, left side item DC, item R1) of a corresponding bit-line contact (FIG. 1A and 23A, item DC) into a corresponding buried word line (FIG. 23A, item 310; [0054] i.e. word line capping pattern).
Regarding claim 4. Kim et al and Nakahata et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device according to claim 1 above.
Kim et al further discloses wherein each active area (FIG. 1A, item ACT) is across (FIG.1A shows wherein each active area is across two buried word lines and one bit-line structure) two buried word lines (FIG. 1A, item WL) and one bit-line structure (FIG. 1A, item BL).
Regarding claim 5. Kim et al and Nakahata et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device according to claim 1 above.
Kim et al further discloses further comprising a plurality of capacitor contacts (FIG. 1A, item BC) respectively disposed on two terminals of a long side of the plurality of active areas (FIG. 1A, item ACT), and respectively disposed in a space surrounded by the plurality of buried wordlines (FIG. 1A, item WL) and the plurality of bit-line contacts (FIG. 1A, item DC).
Regarding claim 6. Kim et al and Nakahata et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device according to claim 1 above.
Kim et al further discloses wherein a width (FIG. 1A, width of item 22)of the plurality of protective structures (FIG. 1A, item 22) in the Y direction (FIG. 1A, item D2) is less than or equal (FIG. 1A, shows a width of item 22 is less than or equal to a width of item DC) to a width (FIG. 1A, width of item DC) of the plurality of bit-line contacts (FIG. 1A, width of item DC) in the Y direction (FIG. 1A, item D2).
Regarding claim 8. Kim et al and Nakahata et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device according to claim 1 above.
Kim et al further discloses wherein each protective structure (FIG. 23A, item 22) surrounds ([0053]) the first sidewall (FIG. 23A, item first sidewall), the second sidewall (FIG. 23A, item second sidewall), the third sidewall (FIG. 23A, item third sidewall), and the fourth sidewall (FIG. 23A, item fourth sidewall) of a corresponding bit-line contact (FIG. 23A, item DC) in a form of an enclosed path ([0053], i.e. he protection spacer 22 may have a hollow closed-curve shape (e.g., circular or elliptical shape), when viewed in a plan view).
Regarding claim 9. Kim et al and Nakahata et al discloses all the limitations of the memory device according to claim 1 above.
Kim et al further discloses wherein the plurality of protective structures (FIG. 23A, item 22) comprise a dielectric material ([0022]), and the dielectric material comprises silicon oxide, silicon nitride, silicon oxynitride, or a combination thereof ([0082], i.e. the protection spacer 22 may be formed of or include at least one of silicon oxide, silicon oxynitride, or silicon nitride).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 21, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding 102 rejection with Kim et al (U.S. 2021/0296237).
On page 9 of Applicant’s remarks, applicant appears to be arguing that Kim et al FIG. 1B fails to disclose applicant’s amended claim 1.
Examiner respectfully points out that FIG. 23A of Kim et al was used and not FIG. 1B and that Kim et al and Nakahata et al discloses applicant’s amended claim 1.
On page 10 of Applicant’s remarks, applicant appears to be arguing that Kim et al FIG. 23B fails to disclose applicant’s amended claim 1.
Examiner respectfully points out that FIG. 23A of Kim et al was used and not FIG. 23B and that Kim et al and Nakahata et al discloses applicant’s amended claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Park et al (U.S. 10,734,390) discloses method of manufacturing memory device.
Yang et al (U.S. 2022/0223599) discloses semiconductor memory structure and method for forming the same.
Ke et al (U.S. 2021/0350834) discloses DYNAMIC RANDOM ACCESS MEMORY AND METHOD FOR MANUFACTURING THE SAME.
/S.E.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2815 /JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815