DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed January 13, 2026.
Any bolded text is new to the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 defines R3 and R4 however the formula having those variables have been canceled.
Correction is necessary.
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 32 recite a Markush list wherein the third compound has been canceled in claim 1, see the claims below:
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-12, 15, and 21, 23, 26, 29-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZAMPINI et al (2002/0037472) further in view of KUROIWA et al (2019/0278178) and MOMOZAWA et al (2021/055655) and THORKELSSON et al (2019/0122890).
The claims now recite the following:
ZAMPINI et al report a method wherein after development the patterned images are etched or there is plating of the substrate, see para. [0123].
With respect to new claim 25, ZAMPINI et al further discloses that a positive or negative photoresist can be used in the method, see claim 22 see below:
.
KUROIWA et al reports a photosensitive composition for making a plated article. The reference reports a thiol compound (C2) which include benzenedithiol isomers as seen in para. [0135] shown below:
Further, KUROIWA et al disclose the use of nitrogen-containing compounds on page 24, para. [0154] which include benzimidazole which meets the claimed sixth compound species in claim 1 and the generic structures for an imidazole ring in claims 11 and 21, see below:
Newly cited reference to MOMOZAWA et al also disclose a composition comprising a compound C12 to a benzotriazole (first compound structure in claim 1) found on page 48, para. [0299] and would inherently form an underlayer of less than 10 nm between the photoresist layer and the metal substrate as it would behave according to it chemical structure and diffuse to the metal layer. the compound is shown here and meets claims 1, 11 and 21:
Examples 12, 27 and 42 in Tables 1 and 3 disclose working examples containing C12 that would inherently forming the additive underlayer upon coating of the photoresist on the copper substrate, see below:
New claims 27 and 28 are met by the art as seen in ZAMPINI et al above wherein the use of negative or positive photoresist is taught in plating or etching methods.
All the art in the current rejection involves plating on a copper substrate and are fully combinable in the obviousness-type rejection.
Applicants are directed to page 45, para. [0257] wherein the MOMOZAWA et al teach equivalent triazole compounds to include 5-methyl benzotriazole and benzotriazole, see the list below:
Thus, the skilled artisan can expect any of the listed triazole compounds to function in the same manner as taught in MOMOZAWA et al.
THORKELSSON et al discloses a method of plating of a metal into features of an electronic device. Para. [0042] include definitions for the feature, photoresist (PR), through-mask features being formed on a conductive seed layer, exposed dielectric layer and connection of the metal layer to additional conductive layers positioned beneath the dielectric. And para. [0046] disclose processes that can be applied to fill through mask features during fabrication of a variety of packages such as redistribution lines (RDL).
The method is conventional for forming RDL using photoresist composition, over a conductive seed metal layer over a dielectric layer and having an additional conductive layer underneath the dielectric layer.
Claim 11 amended to include forming a metal layer… is met by the process reported in THORKELSSON et al on page 3, para. [0042].
Claim 21 amended to include the removing of the exposed regions of the photoresist layer… is also met by THORKELSSON et al on page 3, para. [0042].
New claims 29-34 describe conventional pattern formations such as T-shaped cross -sections after a photolithographic process.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive composition in a plating method of THORKELSSON et al for forming RDL through-mask features and use any of the additive as taught by KUROIWA et al in a photoresist composition by adding a nitrogen-containing compound such as benzimidazole, or duplicating the Examples 12, 27 and 42 of MOMOZAWA et al which contains a benzotriazole and would inherently form an underlayer due to the presence of the benzotriazole or a methyl benzotriazole using either a positive or negative photoresist in the plating method with the reasonable expectation of same or similar results for features with high aspect ratio, vertical side walls and sharp edges.
Further ZAMPINI et al report that the photosensitive composition can be either negative working or positive working photoresists wherein after plating and development, a second upper surface would have formed inherently formed from the presence of benzimidazole additive and a plating step would inherently deposit on the spontaneously formed layer.
Claims 1-7 appear to be allowable over the prior art of record once the 112, 2nd paragraph rejection has been removed.
None of the prior art references of record disclose the additives listed in the photoresist layer, see below:
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 J. Chu
May 2, 2026