DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dziura et al, US Patent Application Publication 2017/0167862 in view of Liu et al, US Patent Application Publication 2009/0063077 (newly submitted).
Regarding claim 12, Dziura teaches a system comprising:
an illumination source 110 configured to provide an amount of x-ray illumination light directed to a measurement spot 102 including one or more structures fabricated on a semiconductor wafer (such as aspect ratio hole 320,321,322 in figures 8A-8C);
a detector 116 configured to detect an amount of x-ray light reflected from or transmitted through the semiconductor wafer in response to the amount of x-ray illumination light; and
a computing system 130 with 150 configured to determine values of one or more parameters of interest based on a fitting analysis of the detected amount of x-ray light with a geometrically parameterized response model of the one or more structures [0015, 0078],
wherein the geometrically parameterized response model characterizes an in-plane shape of the one or more structures with a geometric model [0033].
Dziura fails to teach the geometric model for 2D repeating structure having more than two degrees of freedom (T1-T7), each degree parameter necessary to determine if the structure ultimately meets the design requirements.
However, certain structures fabricated in a semiconductor device will require a more complex geometric model (having more than two degrees of freedom) in order to determine if the structures having been fabricated according to the correct specification. Figure 3C of Lee teaches an instance wherein the a geometric model having more than two degrees of freedom.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Dziura because certain structures fabricated in a semiconductor device will require a more complex geometric model in order to determine if the structures having been fabricated according to the correct specification.
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches the geometric model includes a closed curve having a shape defined in a two dimensional plane by three of more independent parameters (figure 2C and [0038])
Regarding claims 14-16, Lee teaches the geometric model includes a closed curve comprising a piecewise assembly of two or more conic sections, wherein the piecewise assembly of two or more conic sections includes a plurality of elliptical sections, each of the plurality of elliptical sections described by independent radial and ellipicity parameters, wherein the piecewise assembly of conic sections includes a plurality of parabolic sections each described by two independent parameters (figure 2C and [0038])
Regarding claim 17, Dziura teaches the one or more structures includes a three-dimensional NAND structure or a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) structure [0032]
Regarding claim 18, Dziura teaches the values of the one or more parameters of interest are determined at a process step of a fabrication process flow of the one or more structures, and wherein an indication of the values of the one or more parameters of interest is communicated to the fabrication tool that causes the fabrication tool to adjust a value of one or more process control parameters of the fabrication tool at the process step [0003-0004]
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches independent values of the geometric model vary as a function of depth into the one or more structures under measurement (figure 2B).
Regarding claim 20, Dziura teaches a system comprising:
an illumination source 110 configured to provide an amount of x-ray illumination light directed to a measurement spot 102 including one or more structures fabricated on a semiconductor wafer (such as aspect ratio hole 320,321,322 in figures 8A-8C);
a detector 116 configured to detect an amount of x-ray light reflected from or transmitted through the semiconductor wafer in response to the amount of x-ray illumination light; and
a non-transient, computer-readable medium storing instructions 130 with 150 that, when executed by one or more processors, causes the one or more processors to determine values of one or more parameters of interest based on a fitting analysis of the detected amount of x-ray light with a geometrically parameterized response model of the one or more structures [0015, 0078], wherein the geometrically parameterized response model characterizes an in-plane shape of the one or more structures with a geometric model [0033]
Dziura fails to teach the geometric model for 2D repeating structure having more than two degrees of freedom (T1-T7), each degree parameter necessary to determine if the structure ultimately meets the design requirements.
However, certain structures fabricated in a semiconductor device will require a more complex geometric model (having more than two degrees of freedom) in order to determine if the structures having been fabricated according to the correct specification. Figure 3C of Lee teaches an instance wherein the a geometric model having more than two degrees of freedom.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Dziura because certain structures fabricated in a semiconductor device will require a more complex geometric model in order to determine if the structures having been fabricated according to the correct specification.
Regarding claims 21 and 22, Dziura teaches the amount of x-ray illumination light is directed to the measurement spot at a plurality of angles of incidence, azimuth angles, or both (figures 7 and 8) and the amount of x-ray illumination light is directed to the measurement spot at a plurality of different energy levels (as shown in figures 8B and 8C, wherein the levels are at a different angle).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 12-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
QVJ
/DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899