DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1, 2 and 4-22 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2 and 4-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Manna et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2021/0028055).
Regarding claims 1, 2 and 4, Manna teaches a process for filling a recess on a surface of a substrate (abstract and Figures 1 and 3A) comprising: providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (0040); flowing a flowable precursor into the reaction chamber (0034); and exposing the precursor to a plasma (0037) at a temperature range of 150-550 ºC to form a solid deposited material including a void (0031 and Figure 3C) without using a cyclical process (0037); after depositing the material to fill the recess performing a post-deposition ion implantation process to cause the deposited material to reflow within the recess and fill the void (0045). Manna teaches that the deposited material can comprise carbon or silicon oxide (0043). Manna teaches all the critical limitations of claims 1, 2 and 4; therefore, Manna anticipates the claims.
II. Regarding claim 22, Manna teaches a structured formed according to the method (see Figures 3C and 5B). Manna teaches all the critical limitations of claim 22; therefore, Manna anticipates the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manna.
Regarding claim 8, Manna teaches all the limitations of claim 4 (see above), and the post-deposition treatment conducted at a temperature of less than 500 ºC (0047). Manna fails to explicitly teach a temperature range of 50-800 ºC. However, Manna teaches a range overlapping the claimed range as noted above. Furthermore, overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness.
3. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manna in view of Cheung (“Plasma immersion ion implantation for semiconductor processing”).
Regarding claim 5, Manna teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but fails to teach the post-deposition process is a plasma treatment. However, Manna does teach the process being an ion implantation process. Further, Cheung teaches that ion implantation can be practiced using a plasma immersion ion implantation process (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manna’s post-deposition process by having the ion implantation process being a plasma immersion ion implantation process as disclosed by Cheung. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Cheung teaches that plasma immersion ion implantation has a simpler machine design and allows for high throughput processing for both high-dose and large area applications (see Cheung at Summary section).
4. Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Manna in view of Kalutarage et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2019/0333760).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Manna teaches all the limitations of claim 4 (see above) and the precursor compound delivered to the reaction chamber using a carrier gas (0024). Additionally, Manna teaches that nitrogen can be incorporated into the deposited film as a dopant (0035). However, Manna fails to teach the plasma treatment conducted by including a nitrogen-containing gas.
However, Kalutarage teaches a similar process for depositing a flowable carbon containing film into a recess on a substrate (abstract) using plasma (abstract). Kalutarage teaches the use of a nitrogen-containing gas, such as nitrogen or ammonia (0063), to be used in generating the plasma for depositing the flowable carbon film, such that nitrogen can be incorporated into the film (0063). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Manna’s process by substituting Kalutarage’s process for incorporating nitrogen into the film by including nitrogen gas in the plasma for the undisclosed nitrogen incorporation process of Manna. One would have been motivated to make this modification as one could have substituted Kalutarage’s process for Manna’s process with a reasonable expectation of success (particularly given that both are directed at generating filled recesses including nitrogen doping), and the predictable result of providing a nitrogen-doped recess filled with a coating without gaps or seams.
5. Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10, 12, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0013612) in view of Manna.
I. Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 10, 12 and 22, Blanquart teaches a structure (Blanquart at claim 19) and a process for preparing the structure (Blanquart at claim 1), wherein the process comprises: providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (claim 1 and Figure 1A); and depositing a material on a surface of the substrate by flowing a flowable precursor (Blanquart at claim 1), such as mesitylene (0069), which includes a benzene cyclic structure (0069), and exposing the precursor to a plasma to form deposited material which fills the recess (Blanquart at claim 1) and note that the plasma is not shut down immediately upon filling and is continued for at least some amount of time after filling the recess (consistent with a post-deposition plasma treatment step), the depositing and post-deposition yielding a flowable film that flows within the recess (Blanquart at claim 1). Blanquart teaches the deposited material comprises carbon (0117), the depositing temperature being 85 ºC (Table 5, 0117) and a pressure being 1100 Pa (Table 5, 0117). Blanquart teaches that the step of depositing can be a continuous process and not cyclical (0081). Blanquart fails to teach the post-deposition treatment performed after the deposited material solidifies and the post-deposition treatment causing the deposited material to reflow such that it reduces an amount of voids in the deposited material.
However, Manna teaches a process for filling a recess on a surface of a substrate (abstract and Figures 1 and 3A) comprising: providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (0040); flowing a flowable precursor into the reaction chamber (0034); and exposing the precursor to a plasma (0037) at a temperature range of 150-550 ºC to form a solid deposited material including a void (0031 and Figure 3C) without using a cyclical process (0037); after depositing the material to fill the recess performing a post-deposition ion implantation process to cause the deposited material to reflow within the recess and fill the void (0045). Manna teaches that the deposited material can comprise carbon or silicon oxide (0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blanquart’s process by additionally performing an ion implantation process after Blanquart’s deposited material solidifies to cause the material to reflow and reduce the amount of any voids or seams as disclosed by Manna. One would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure that any seams or voids are closed thereby providing an improved final product.
II. Regarding claim 21, Blanquart also teaches a system for performing the process noted above (Blanquart at claim 18) comprising: a reaction chamber (abstract and Figure 1A); and a controller for performing the depositing, exposing, and post-deposition (0116). Therefore, Blanquart in view of Manna also make obvious claim 21.
6. Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart in view of Manna as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cheung.
Regarding claims 5 and 9, Blanquart in view of Manna teach all the limitations of claim 1 including the pressure being 1100 Pa (see Blanquart at Table 5, 0117), but fails to teach the post-deposition process is a plasma treatment. However, Blanquart in view of Manna do teach the process being an ion implantation process. Further, Cheung teaches that ion implantation can be practiced using a plasma immersion ion implantation process (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blanquart in view of Manna’s post-deposition process by having the ion implantation process being a plasma immersion ion implantation process as disclosed by Cheung. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Cheung teaches that plasma immersion ion implantation has a simpler machine design and allows for high throughput processing for both high-dose and large area applications (see Cheung at Summary section).
7. Claim(s) 11, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart in view of Manna as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kalutarage.
Regarding claims 11, 13 and 14, Blanquart in view of Manna teach all the limitations of claim 1 (see above), but fail to teach the use of a precursor including a carbonyl group and an additional group as claimed in claims 11, 13 and 14.
However, Kalutarage teaches a similar process for depositing a flowable carbon containing film into a recess on a substrate (abstract) using plasma (abstract). Kalutarage teaches the use of a precursor including a propyl group or butyl group (see Figure 4B, where n is 1 or 2) and wherein R can be an ester group (Figure 4B and 0047). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blanquart in view of Manna’s process by substituting Kalutarage’s precursor for Blanquart in view of Manna’s precursor. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Kalutarage teaches the inclusion of different R functional groups allows for tuning the reactivity of the plasma polymerization process (0047).
8. Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blanquart in view of Mallick et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2014/0045342) and Manna.
Regarding claims 15-20, Blanquart teaches a process for filling a recess on a substrate (Blanquart at claim 1) wherein the process comprises: providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (claim 1 and Figure 1A); and depositing a flowable material on a surface of the substrate by flowing a precursor (Blanquart at claim 1), such as mesitylene (0069), which includes a benzene cyclic structure (0069), and exposing the precursor to a helium plasma (Table 5, 0117) while flowing the precursor (0073) to form deposited material which fills the recess (Blanquart at claim 1) and note that the plasma is not shut down immediately upon filling and is continued for at least some amount of time after filling the recess (consistent with a post-deposition helium plasma treatment step that provides excited species to the deposited material), the depositing and post-deposition yielding a flowable film that flows within the recess (Blanquart at claim 1). Blanquart teaches the deposited material comprises carbon (0117), the depositing temperature being 85 ºC (Table 5, 0117) and a pressure being 1100 Pa (Table 5, 0117). Blanquart fails to teach the precursor comprising a cyclic structure and at least one carbonyl functionality as claimed in claims 15-18. Blanquart further fails to teach the post-deposition treatment performed after the deposited material solidifies and the post-deposition treatment causing the deposited material to reflow.
First, Mallick teaches a similar process for depositing a flowable carbon containing layer (abstract) utilizing plasma (abstract) with a precursor, such as ethane (0019), mesitylene (0019, having a benzene cyclic structure) and/or ketones (0019). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blanquart’s process by including and/or substituting Mallick’s precursor for Blanquart’s precursor. One would have been motivated to make this substitution as one could have substituted one known precursor for another with a reasonable expectation of success (note that Mallick and Blanquart’s similar use of the precursor for depositing a flowable plasma deposited carbon layer), and the predictable result of providing a method for filling a recess without leaving any voids or gaps.
Second, Manna teaches a process for filling a recess on a surface of a substrate (abstract and Figures 1 and 3A) comprising: providing a substrate in a reaction chamber (0040); flowing a flowable precursor into the reaction chamber (0034); and exposing the precursor to a plasma (0037) at a temperature range of 150-550 ºC to form a solid deposited material including a void (0031 and Figure 3C) without using a cyclical process (0037); after depositing the material to fill the recess performing a post-deposition ion implantation process to cause the deposited material to reflow within the recess and fill the void (0045). Manna teaches that the deposited material can comprise carbon or silicon oxide (0043). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Blanquart’s process by additionally performing an ion implantation process after Blanquart’s deposited material solidifies to cause the material to reflow and reduce the amount of any voids or seams as disclosed by Manna. One would have been motivated to make this modification to ensure that any seams or voids are closed thereby providing an improved final product.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 2 and 4-22 are pending.
Claims 1, 2 and 4-22 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
September 23, 2025Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717