DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in regard to the application filed on September 21, 2021 and in response to Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments/Remarks filed on March 2, 2026.
Status of Application
The amendment filed March 2, 2026 has been entered. Claims 14 and 16-26 are currently pending in the application. Claims 19-26 are withdrawn; claims 1-13 and 15 are canceled; claim 14 has been amended. Claims 14 and 16-18 are hereby examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cepeda et al. (“Functional Properties of Faba Bean (Vicia faba) Protein Flour Dried by Spray Drying and Freeze Drying,” Journal of Food Engineering, vol. 36 issue 3, pp. 303-310, 1998; cited on IDS dated June 3, 2024) as evidenced by Żmudziński et al. (“Functional and Rheological Properties of Vicia faba L. Protein Isolates.” Biomolecules, 2021; 11, 178; cited on PTO-892 dated Oct. 3, 2025), herein after referred to as Cepeda and Żmudziński, respectively.
Regarding claim 14, Cepeda teaches a faba bean protein isolate (i.e., a field bean protein composition) prepared by spray-drying (p. 305) having:
a whiteish color (i.e., a color that comprises a component L greater than 70 according to the measurement L*a*b, since a white color is L=100) (p. 306 first paragraph), and
a solubility of ~45 to ~25% of the total weight (Fig. 2) at a pH of 7 (p. 305, second paragraph under “Protein isolate preparation”).
The solubility range for pH 7 taught by Cepeda overlaps with the claimed range of less than 25% of the total weight. Where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Cepeda is silent as to that the protein composition has a solubility of less than 25% of the total weight according to test A at pH 8.
However, faba bean protein isolate, as evidenced by Żmudziński, has a solubility of less than 25% of the total weight at a pH of 8 (Table 2). Therefore, Cepeda as evidenced by Żmudziński is considered to teach the instant claim limitation.
Neither Cepeda nor Żmudziński teach that the solubility is measured according to test A, however, the patentability of a product does not depend on a method of measurement, rather the determination of patentability is based on the product itself. Both the instant claim and the products taught by Cepeda and Żmudziński measures solubility of the total weight at a certain pH, and as such, the measurement is the same. The method of measurement is not patentable where the measured value and units are the same.
Regarding claim 16, Cepeda is silent as to that the protein composition has a solubility of less than 25% of the total weight according to the test A at pH 3. However, faba bean protein isolate, as evidenced by Żmudziński, has a solubility of less than 25% of the total weight at a pH of 4, with the solubility increasing as the pH increases (Table 2). It is thereby reasonably expected that a faba bean protein isolate at a pH of 3 would also have a solubility of less than 25%. Therefore, Cepeda as evidenced by Żmudziński is considered to teach the instant claim limitation.
Regarding claim 17, Cepeda teaches that the protein composition has a protein content of ~100 wt.% based on dry matter (p. 306 third paragraph).
Regarding claim 18, Cepeda teaches that the protein composition is a spray-dried powder (p. 306 first paragraph), which necessarily has a dry matter content greater than 80% by weight.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the cited prior art does not teach or suggest the claimed solubility at pHs of both 7 and 8, or for the entire pH range of 7 to 8 (Remarks, p. 5-6).
This argument is not persuasive. Cepeda teaches the claimed solubility at pH 7 and Żmudziński offers evidence for the claimed solubility of faba bean protein isolate at pH 8. As set forth above in the rejection, Cepeda as evidenced by Żmudziński thereby is considered to teach the claim limitations. Furthermore, as the amended claim is written, the solubility need only be present for pHs of both 7 and 8, not for the entire range of 7 to 8.
In the absence of any further arguments with regard to the rejections of the additional dependent claims, the rejections of these dependent claims are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.E.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1791
/Nikki H. Dees/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1791