The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejection of the previous action not repeated below are withdrawn. Responses to the arguments of the applicant are presented after the first rejection they are directed to.
Claim 33 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 33 is dependent upon cancelled claim 30.
Claims 1,6-8,18,20,23-26,34-36,40,42,43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414, in view of Suwa JP 2001-123136
Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 in example 1 forms an adhesive of 100 parts of a copolymer of isobutyl acrylate/butylacrylate/acrylic acid/hydroxyethyl acrylate (MW 1.3 million) with 0.5 part of (1,3-bis (N, N-diglycidylaminomethyl) cyclohexane) which is coated upon a pellicle frame, and cured in two stages (100 degrees C and 180 degrees C) to form an adhesive layer with a thickness of 0.3 mm. A pellicle film was attached to this [0099]. The reduction/suppression of adhesive residue is disclosed as desirable [0053]. The acrylic polymer (B) is preferably a (meth) acrylic acid ester polymer or copolymer from the viewpoint that it can also serve as a softening agent [0053]. The (meth) acrylic acid ester-based polymer or copolymer makes it possible to apply a thick adhesive to the pellicle frame and to further reduce mask distortion when the pellicle is attached to the mask. From the viewpoint of becoming, a block copolymer such as diblock or triblock may be used. 1 type or 2 or more types of C1-C14 (meth) acrylic acid alkyl ester is polymerized, or 1 type, or 2 or more types of C1-C14 (meth) acrylic acid alkyl ester and (meta ) A (meth) acrylic ester polymer or copolymer can be obtained by polymerizing with other monomer components other than the alkyl acrylate ester. The (meth) acrylic acid ester polymer or copolymer may be used alone or in combination of two or more. Specific examples of the (meth) acrylic acid alkyl ester having 1 to 14 carbon atoms include (meth) acrylic acid esters of linear aliphatic alcohols and (meth) acrylic acid alkyl esters of branched aliphatic alcohols. , For example, methyl (meth) acrylate, ethyl (meth) acrylate, n-propyl (meth) acrylate, isopropyl (meth) acrylate, n-butyl (meth) acrylate, isobutyl (meth) acrylate, ( Sec-butyl (meth) acrylate, t-butyl (meth) acrylate, n-hexyl (meth) acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl (meth) acrylate, octyl (meth) acrylate, decyl (meth) acrylate, ( Isooctyl (meth) acrylate, cyclohexyl (meth) acrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate Le, (meth) acrylic acid hydroxypropyl, (meth) glycidyl acrylate include 2-methoxyethyl acrylate and the like. Among them, compatible with the acrylic base polymer (A) which is an adhesive, methyl (meth) acrylate, ethyl (meth) acrylate, n-butyl (meth) acrylate, isobutyl (meth) acrylate, ( Carbon number 1 such as sec-butyl (meth) acrylate, t-butyl (meth) acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl (meth) acrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate, 2-methoxyethyl (meth) acrylate, etc. 1-8 carbon number (meth) acrylic acid alkyl esters are preferred [0055-0056]. The curing agent is not particularly limited as long as it is a curing material used as a normal pressure-sensitive adhesive. For example, metal salts, metal alkoxides, aldehyde compounds, non-amino resin amino compounds, urea compounds, isocyanate compounds, Examples include polyfunctional epoxy compounds, metal chelate compounds, melamine compounds, and aziridine compounds. Among these, from the viewpoint of reactivity with the functional group component of the (meth) acrylic acid alkyl ester copolymer, the curing agent is preferably an isocyanate compound or a polyfunctional epoxy compound, and more preferably a polyfunctional epoxy compound. Specific examples of the isocyanate compound include tolylene diisocyanate. Specific examples of the polyfunctional epoxy compound include neopentyl glycol diglycidyl ether, polyethylene glycol diglycidyl ether, bisphenol A diglycidyl ether, bisphenol F diglycidyl ether, phthalic acid diglycidyl ester, dimer acid diglycidyl ester, Triglycidyl isocyanurate, diglycerol triglycidyl ether, sorbitol tetraglycidyl ether, N, N, N ′, N′-tetraglycidyl m-xylenediamine, 1,3-bis (N, N-diglycidylaminomethyl) cyclohexane, N, N, N ′, N′-tetraglycidyldiaminodiphenylmethane and the like can be mentioned [0075-0076].
Suwa JP 2001-123136 (machine translation attached) in example 1, reacts 50 parts by weight of butyl acrylate, 45 parts by weight of methoxyethyl acrylate, 5 parts by weight of acrylic acid in the presence of azobisisobutyronitrile. An epoxy crosslinking agents is then added to obtain an adhesive which is then coated onto a PET film. [0054-0056]. Example 2 reacts. In table 1, the polymer of example 1 is 45 wt% butyl acrylate (BA), 50 wt% methoxyethylacrylate (MEA) and 5 wt% acrylic acid (AA). Example 2 teaches a composition of 20 wt% butyl acrylate, 75 wt% methoxyethyl acrylate and 5 wt% acrylic acid. Example 4 teaches a composition of 20 wt% butyl acrylate, 75 wt% methoxyethyl acrylate, 5 wt% acrylic acid and 5 wt% N-isopropylacrylamide (NIPAM) [0064-0066)
Examples of the (A) alkoxyalkyl (meth) acrylate forming the moisture-resistant adhesive sheet of the present invention include: 2-methoxyethyl (meth) acrylate, 2-ethoxyethyl (meth) acrylate, 2-methoxypropyl (meth) acrylate, 3-methoxypropyl (meth) acrylate. Examples thereof include 2-methoxybutyl (meth) acrylate and 4-methoxybutyl (meth) acrylate, and also include an alkoxy group-containing (meth) acrylate having a cycloalkyl group such as methoxycyclohexyl (meth) acrylate. it can. Such alkoxyalkyl (meth) acrylates can be used alone or in combination [0019]. An acrylic monomer having reactivity to an epoxy group, which forms the moisture-resistant adhesive sheet of the present invention, include 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate, 2- hydroxypropyl acrylate [0021] and can be used in amounts of 1-10 wt%, preferably 2-7 wt%. Examples of (C) an acrylic monomer having reactivity to an epoxy group, which forms the moisture-resistant adhesive sheet of the present invention, include 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate, 2-hydroxypropyl acrylate, Hydroxyl group-containing vinyl compounds such as monoesters of (meth) acrylic acid and polypropylene glycol or polyethylene glycol, and adducts of lactones and 2-hydroxyethyl (meth) acrylate; methacrylamide, N-methylol Amide group- containing vinyl monomers such as methacrylamide, N-methoxyethyl methacrylamide, N- butoxymethyl methacrylamide; acrylic acid and methacrylic acid and alkali metal salts of these (meth) acrylic acids, itaconic acid, crotonic acid, Unsaturated salts such as maleic acid and fumaric acid Phosphate, their salts, these (partial) ester compound, and can include an acid anhydride. The weight average molecular weight of the acrylic copolymer having such a viscosity is usually in the range of 200,000 to 2,000,000, preferably in the range of 500,000 to 1,000,000, and the number average molecular weight is usually Is in the range of 20,000 to 700,000, preferably in the range of 100,000 to 300,000. The dispersion index of the acrylic copolymer determined from the above values is usually in the range of 2 to 15, and preferably in the range of 3 to 10 [0032]
Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 does not exemplify a pellicle with an adhesive including an acrylic polymer with 35-98 wt% of repeating unit which is a (meth)acrylic acid ester having an ether bond.
With respect to claims 1,6-8,34,35,40,42,43 and 45, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify example 1 Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 where an pressure sensitive adhesive formed by the reaction of an acrylic polymer with an epoxy crosslinker is applied to the pellicle frame by using other known useful acrylic polymers know the be useful adhesive compositions such as a 45 parts by weight of butyl acrylate, 50 parts by weight of methoxyethyl acrylate, 5 parts by weight of acrylic acid in the presence of azobisisobutyronitrile of Suwa JP 2001-123136 using monomers of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful mask adhesive based upon the disclosure of this monomer at [0056].
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,6-8,34,35,40,42,43 and 45, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify example 2 Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 where an pressure sensitive adhesive formed by the reaction of an acrylic polymer with an epoxy crosslinker is applied to the pellicle frame by using other known useful acrylic polymers know the be useful adhesive compositions such as a 20 parts by weight of butyl acrylate, 75 parts by weight of methoxyethyl acrylate, 5 parts by weight of acrylic acid in the presence of azobisisobutyronitrile of Suwa JP 2001-123136 using monomers of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful mask adhesive based upon the disclosure of this monomer at [0056].
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,6-8,34-36,40,42,43 and 45, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify example 1 Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 where an pressure sensitive adhesive formed by the reaction of an acrylic polymer with an epoxy crosslinker is applied to the pellicle frame by using other known useful acrylic polymers know the be useful adhesive compositions such as a 45 parts by weight of butyl acrylate, 50 parts by weight of methoxyethyl acrylate, 5 parts by weight of acrylic acid in the presence of azobisisobutyronitrile of Suwa JP 2001-123136 using monomers of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 and crosslinking agents selected from metal salts, metal alkoxides, aldehyde compounds, non-amino resin amino compounds, urea compounds, isocyanate compounds such as tolylene diisocyanate taught by Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful mask adhesive based upon the disclosure of this monomer at [0056].
Alternatively with respect to claims 1,6-8,34-36,40,42,43 and 45, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify example 2 Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 where an pressure sensitive adhesive formed by the reaction of an acrylic polymer with an epoxy crosslinker is applied to the pellicle frame by using other known useful acrylic polymers know the be useful adhesive compositions such as a 20 parts by weight of butyl acrylate, 75 parts by weight of methoxyethyl acrylate, 5 parts by weight of acrylic acid in the presence of azobisisobutyronitrile of Suwa JP 2001-123136 using monomers of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 and crosslinking agents selected from metal salts, metal alkoxides, aldehyde compounds, non-amino resin amino compounds, urea compounds, isocyanate compounds such as tolylene diisocyanate taught by Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful mask adhesive based upon the disclosure of this monomer at [0056].
With respect to claims 1,6-8,18,20,23-26,34-36,40,42,43 and 45, it further would have been obvious to attach the pellicle bearing the adhesives rendered obvious by the combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136 discussed above , to a (photo)mask and use it in a stepper with exposure sources emitting at 436, 356, 248 (KrF), 193 (ArF) or 153 nm as taught at [0002-0003] of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414.
In the response of 1/20/2026, the applicant argues that Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 does not teach all the limitations of the claims, specifically the acrylic polymer with 35-98 wt% (or in the case of claims 43, the 40- 95 wt% ) of the ether containing (meth)acrylate. To address this limitation, the examiner has added Suwa JP 2001-123136, which teaches/exemplifies a pressure sensitive adhesive crosslinked with an epoxide with examples 1-3 including 50 and 75% of the ether containing (meth)acrylate.
Claims 1,6-8,18-26,31-36,40,42,43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136, in view of Tanaka et al. 20030036293 or Iwai JP 05-107745.
Tanaka et al. 20030036293 teaches with respect to figure 4f, the direct attachment of a pellicle to the quartz glass substrate of a phase shift mask.
Iwai JP 05-107745 (machine translation attached) teaches with respect to figures 2a and 2b, the direct attachment of a pellicle (5-) to the quartz glass substrate on a light shielding mask having a patterned light shielding chromium layer (2) via an adhesive layer (7) [0017]. The adhesive is disclosed as easier to remove from the quartz glass than the chromium film.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the pellicle and processes of using them rendered obvious by the combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136by bonding the pellicle directly to the substrate of a mask having a phase shifting patterns as illustrated in figure 4f of Tanaka et al. 20030036293 or directly to the quartz substrate of a binary/light shielding mask as illustrated in figures 2a and 2b of Iwai JP 05-107745 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful mask/pellicle assembly.
Claims 1,6-9,18,20,23-26,34-36,40,42,43 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136, in view of Shinohara JP 11-295879.
Shinohara JP 11-295879 (machine translation attached) teaches adhesives for pellicles formed of vinyl chloride copolymers, polyvinyl ethers, acrylics, modified polyolefins, and curable pressure-sensitive adhesives with a curing agent such as isocyanate added thereto, a polyurethane resin solution and a polyisocyanate resin solution, synthetic rubber adhesives, epoxy adhesives and the like [0016].
Yano et al. KR 20170055432 does not teach adhesives with vinylether compounds
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the pellicles with adhesives rendered obvious by the combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136 by adding other components, such as the polyvinyl ethers taught by Shinohara JP 11-295879 as useful in pellicle adhesives with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful pellicle or pellicle/mask composite.
Claims 1,6-8,18,20,23-26,31-36,40,42,43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136, in view of Yano et al. KR 20110055430.
Yano et al. KR 20110055430 (machine translation attached) teaches in example 1, a isobutylacerylate/butylacrylate/acrylic acid/2-hydroxyethyl acrylate copolymer with a MW or 1.3 million, which is combined with 0.3 parts of 1,3-bis(N,N-diglycidylaminomethyl cyclohexane (a crosslinker having 4 glycidyl/epoxy groups). This was coated to a thickness of 0.2 mm on a pellicle frame and heated at 100 degrees C and 180 degrees C, a pellicle film applied to the opposite face of the frame and attached to a 6025 mask substrate by applying a force of 30 Kgf for 60 seconds and then left for 2 hours at room temperature. [0088-0092] The pellicle frame was then peeled off form one edge at a rate of 5 mm/min (perpendicular to the mask). The amount of adherent/adhesive left on the mask in examples 1-7 was 0 to 5% of the area of the applied adhesive (double circle in table 1) [0110-0114]. Example 6 is similar, but uses 2 parts of the 1,3-bis(N,N-diglycidylaminomethyl cyclohexane (see table 1) [0140-0141]. There is also a test where the combination is exposed to 5000 J/cm2 using an ArF laser (193 nm) [0105-0109].
As such a hardening | curing material, hardening | curing materials used for normal adhesives, such as a metal salt, a metal alkoxide, an aldehyde type compound, a non-amino resin type amino compound, a urea type compound, an isocyanate type compound, a metal chelate type compound, a melamine type compound, an aziridine type compound, etc. Although it is mentioned, At least 1 hardening | curing material selected from the group which consists of an isocyanate type compound and a polyfunctional epoxy compound is preferable from a viewpoint of the reactivity with the functional group component which a (meth) acrylic-acid alkylester copolymer has, and a polyfunctional epoxy compound This is more preferable. Specifically, tolylene diisocyanate is an isocyanate compound and neopentyl glycol diglycidyl ether, polyethylene glycol diglycidyl ether, bisphenol A diglycidyl ether, bisphenol F diglycis is a polyfunctional epoxy compound. Dil ether, diglycidyl ester of phthalic acid, diglycidyl ester of dimer, triglycidyl isocyanurate, diglycerol triglycidyl ether, sorbitol tetraglycidyl ether, N, N, N ', N'-tetra Glycidyl m-xylenediamine, 1,3-bis (N, N-diglycidylaminomethyl) cyclohexane, N, N, N ', N'-tetraglycidyldiaminodiphenylmethane and the like Can be. Among these, the nitrogen containing epoxy compound which has 2-4 epoxy groups is preferable, and the nitrogen containing epoxy compound which has four epoxy groups is used preferably from a reactive viewpoint. If the reactivity is good, the crosslinking reaction is terminated quickly after application with the pressure-sensitive adhesive, so that the properties are stable in a short time and are excellent in terms of productivity [0057-0059]. When content of a hardening | curing material is 0.05-3 weight part with respect to 100 weight part of said (meth) acrylic-acid alkylester copolymers, the weight swelling degree by toluene or ethyl acetate will become 5 times or more, and it becomes a preferable adhesive for a pellicle. Especially, when content of a hardening | curing material is 0.05 weight part-0.20 weight part, the weight swelling degree by toluene or ethyl acetate becomes large further, and it is more preferable as an adhesive for pellicles. Although content of hardener/curing agent should just be a range to yield 300% modulus value will be 50-350 mN / mm <2>, Especially it is preferable that it is 0.05-3 weight part with respect to 100 weight part of said (meth) acrylic-acid alkylester copolymers, It is 0.1-2.5 weight part It is more preferable. Furthermore, 0.15-2.0 weight part is more preferable. When content of a hardening | curing material is the said range, a crosslinking density will be an appropriate density, it will be hard to remain a residue of a pool, and it will become an adhesive which has sufficient adhesive force and load resistance [0062,0068]. As a method of reducing and controlling the photoinitiator which remain | survives in an adhesive layer, the method of thermal decomposition, drying, and evaporation by heating, the method of irradiating an ultraviolet-ray to decompose a photoinitiator, and the light which is easy to decompose | disassemble by the said method The method of using a polymerization initiator, etc. are considered. As a photoinitiator which is easy to decompose | disassemble by the said method, an alkyl phenone type polymerization initiator, an acyl phosphine oxide type polymerization initiator, etc. are mentioned. Specifically as an alkylphenone type polymerization initiator, 2, 2- dimethoxy- 1, 2- diphenyl ethane- 1-one, 1-hydroxy cyclohexyl phenyl- ketone, 2-hydroxy-2- methyl -1-phenyl-propan-1-one, 1- [4- (2-hydroxyethoxy) -phenyl] -2-hydroxy-2-methyl-1-propan-1-one, 2-hydroxy- 1- {4- [4- (2-hydroxy-2-methyl-propionyl) -benzyl] phenyl} -2-methyl-propane-1-one, 2-methyl-1- (4-methylthiophenyl) 2-morpholinopropane-1-one, 2-benzyl-2-dimethylamino-1- (4-morpholinophenyl) -butanone-1,2- (dimethylamino) -2-[(4- Methylphenyl) methyl] -1- [4- (4-morpholinyl) phenyl] -1-butanone and the like. Examples of the acylphosphine oxide-based polymerization initiators include 2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl-diphenyl-phosphine oxide and bis (2,4,6-trimethylbenzoyl) -phenylphosphine oxide [0076].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments
Rendered obvious by the combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136by adding other curing agents, such as tolylene diisocyanate(an isocyanate), a metal salt, a metal alkoxide, an aldehyde, a non-amino resin, an urea, a metal chelate, a melamine or an aziridine compound disclosed at [0057-0059] of Yano et al. KR 20110055430 so that the curing agent is up to 3 mass% to eliminate residue on the mask upon peeling based upon the direction at [0062,0068] so that 0.5 mg or less of the residue is left on the mask upon peeling after exposure to 10 J/cm2 of 193 nm (ArF laser) radiation under some peeling conditions (temperature, rate of peeling and mode of peeling).
Claims 1,6-9,18,20,23-26,31-36,40 and 42-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136, in view of Choi et al. 20120305028.
Choi et al. 20120305028 teaches an apparatus for cleaning photomasks The first processing part 2000 and the second processing part 3000 are disposed on different floors. A dry and functional water cleaning process is performed on a photomask in the second processing part 3000. The second processing part 3000 includes: a second conveyor passage 3100 including a second transfer robot 3200 for transferring a photomask; and a plurality of the heat process modules (HPU) 3300 and functional water process modules (SCU) 3400, which are arrayed along the second conveyor passage 3100. The heat process modules 3300 may use ultraviolet rays to heat a photomask. The number of the heat process modules 3300 may be two, and the number of the functional water process modules 3400 may be two [0052].
The combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136 does not teach the cleaning of photomasks (exposure original plate) using functional water to remove the adhesive/agglutinant
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136 by using known cleaning processes for removing residue/debris from photomasks such as the processes disclosed in Choi et al. 20120305028 which include treatment with functional water with a reasonable expectation of cleaning the mask surface.
Claims 1,6-8,18,20,23-26,31-36,40-43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136, in view of Ukei et al. 20080311395
Ukei et al. 20080311395 teaches releasable pressure sensitive adhesives which can be used for various applications including manufacturing of semiconductors, pellicle fixing tapes and the like [0003]. Acrylic polymer A was formed by adding 199.4 parts by weight of 2- ethylhexyl acrylate, 0.6 parts by weight of a (meth)acrylic acid alkylene oxide adduct (Blemmer PME- 1000 with an average oxyalkylene unit addition mole number of 23 manufactured by Nippon Oil & Fats Co., Ltd.), 8 parts by weight of 2-hydroxyethyl acrylate, 0.4 parts by weight of 2,2'-azobisisobutyronitrile as a polymerization initiator, and 386.3 parts by weight of ethyl acetate. Nitrogen gas was introduced to the mixture, while the mixture was gently stirred, and a polymerization reaction was performed for 5 hours, while the temperature of the liquid in the flask was kept at about 60.degree. C., so that a solution of an acrylic polymer (named Acrylic Polymer (A)) (35% by weight) was prepared. Acrylic Polymer (A) had a weight average molecular weight of 490,000, a glass transition temperature (Tg) of -55.degree. C. and an acid value of 0.0 [0154]. Pressure sensitive adhesive solution includes an acrylic polymer A, an antistatic solution, isocyanurate of hexamethylene diisocyanate (crosslinker), dibutyltin dilaurate, which were mixed to form the adhesive. [0169-0171]. Therefore, it has been demonstrated that the pressure sensitive adhesive composition of the present invention can have good antistatic properties when peeled from adherends, low staining of adherends, and a high level of adhesion reliability [0211]. The pressure sensitive adhesive composition of the present invention includes: a (meth) acrylic polymer containing, as a monomer component, 0.1 to 4.9% by weight of an alkylene oxide group-containing reactive monomer having an average number of moles of an oxyalkylene unit added to the reactive monomer of 3 to 40; and an alkali metal salt [0026]. The oxyalkylene unit of the alkylene oxide group-containing reactive monomer may have an alkylene group of | to 6 carbon atoms, and examples of such an oxyalkylene unit include oxymethylene, oxyethylene, oxypropylene, and oxybutylene. The hydrocarbon group of the oxyalkylene chain may be straight or branched [0028]. Examples of the (meth)acrylic acid alkylene oxide adduct for use in the present invention include polyethylene glycol(meth)acrylate, polypropylene glycol(meth)acrylate, polyethylene glycol-polypropylene glycol(meth)acrylate, polyethylene glycol-polybutylene glycol(meth)acrylate, polypropylene glycol-polybutylene glycol(meth)acrylate, methoxypolyethylene glycol(meth)acrylate, ethoxypolyethylene glycol(meth)acrylate, butoxypolyethylene glycol(meth)acrylate, octoxypolyethylene glycol(meth)acrylate, lauroxypolyethylene glycol(meth)acrylate, stearoxypolyethylene glycol(meth)acrylate, phenoxypolyethylene glycol(meth)acrylate, methoxypolypropylene glycol(meth)acrylate, and octoxypolyethylene glycol-polypropylene glycol(meth)acrylate [0032]. The total content of the alkylene oxide-containing reactive monomer unit or units in the (meth)acrylic polymer is preferably from 0.1 to 4.9% by weight, more preferably from 0.15 to 4% by weight, still more preferably from 0.2 to 3% by weight, particularly preferably from 0.2 to 1% by weight. If the content of the alkylene oxide-containing reactive monomer unit is less than 0.1% by weight, the interaction with the alkali metal salt can be insufficient so that the effect of suppressing bleeding of the alkali metal salt or the effect of reducing staining of materials to be protected can tend to be insufficiently achieved [0056]. The (meth)acrylic polymer that may be used in the present invention is preferably a (meth)acrylic polymer mainly composed of one or more (meth)acrylate units having an alkyl group of | to 14 carbon atoms, because such a (meth)acrylic polymer can have well-balanced compatibility with the alkali metal salt and can produce favorable adhesive property. The (meth)acrylic polymer mainly composed of one or more (meth)acrylate units having an alkyl group of | to 14 carbon atoms preferably includes 50 to 99.9% by weight, more preferably 60 to 95% by weight of one or more (meth)acrylate units having an alkyl group of 1 to 14 carbon atoms. In the present invention, examples of the (meth)acrylate having an alkyl group of 1 to 14 carbon atoms include methyl(meth)acrylate, ethyl(meth)acrylate, n-butyl(meth)acrylate, sec-butyl(meth)acrylate, tert-butyl(meth)acrylate, isobutyl(meth)acrylate, hexyl(meth)acrylate, 2-ethylhexyl(meth)acrylate, n-octyl(meth)acrylate, isooctyl(meth)acrylate, n-nonyl(meth)acrylate, isononyl(meth)acrylate, n-decyl(meth)acrylate, isodecyl(meth)acrylate, n-dodecyl(meth)acrylate, n-tridecyl(meth)acrylate, and n- tetradecyl(meth)acrylate [0058-0060]. Examples of other polymerizable monomers that may be used as appropriate for the (meth)acrylic polymer also include cohesive strength or heat resistance enhancing components such as sulfonic acid group-containing monomers, phosphoric acid group-containing monomers, cyano group-containing monomers, vinyl esters, and aromatic vinyl compounds; and adhesive strength enhancing components or components with a functional group serving as a crosslinking point, such as carboxyl group-containing monomers, acid anhydride group-containing monomers, hydroxyl group-containing monomers, amide group- containing monomers, amino group-containing monomers, imide group-containing monomers, epoxy group-containing monomers, (meth)acryloyl morpholine, and vinyl ethers. Any one of these monomer compounds may be used alone, or two or more of these monomer compounds may be used in any combination [0063]. Examples of the carboxyl-group-containing monomer include acrylic acid, methacrylic acid, carboxyethyl(meth)acrylate, carboxypentyl(meth)acrylate, itaconic acid, maleic acid, fumaric acid, and crotonic acid. In particular, acrylic acid and methacrylic acid are preferably used [0071]. The acrylic polymer for use in the present invention preferably has a weight average molecular weight of 100,000 to 5,000,000, more preferably of 200,000 to 4,000,000, still more preferably of 300,000 to 3,000,000. If the weight average molecular weight is less than 100,000, the cohesive strength of the pressure sensitive adhesive composition can be so low that pressure sensitive adhesive deposition can tend to occur. If the weight average molecular weight is more than 5,000,000, the flowability of the polymer can be reduced so that wetting of polarizing plates can be insufficient, which can tend to cause peeling. The weight-average molecular weight is a molecular weight obtained by measurement by GPC (gel permeation chromatography) [0081]. In the pressure sensitive adhesive composition of the present invention, the (meth)acrylic polymer may be crosslinked as appropriate so that a pressure sensitive adhesive sheet with higher heat resistance can be produced. A specific crosslinking method includes adding a compound having a group capable of reacting with a carboxy], hydroxyl, amino, or amide group appropriately contained as a crosslinking point in the (meth)acrylic polymer and allowing the compound to react. In this method, the compound serves as a so-called crosslinking agent and may be an isocyanate compound, an epoxy compound, a melamine resin, an aziridine derivative, or the like. Principally in order to obtain moderate cohesive strength, the isocyanate compound or the epoxy compound is particularly preferably used. One or more of these compounds may be used singly or in combination [0085]. Examples of epoxy compounds include N,N,N',N'-tetraglycidyl-m-xylenediamine (trade name: Tetrad-X, manufactured by Mitsubishi Gas Chemical Company, Inc.) and 1,3-bis(N,N- diglycidylaminomethyl)cyclohexane (trade name: Tetrad-C, manufactured by Mitsubishi Gas Chemical Company, Inc.). One or more of these compounds may be used singly or in combination [0088].
The combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136 does not exemplify or fairly teach a pellicle with an adhesive including an alkylene oxide (meth)acrylate/alkyl (meth)acrylate polymer as the acrylic polymer.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136 by adding 0.1 to 4.9% of a polyethylene glycol(meth)acrylate monomers taught at [0032] of Ukei et al. 20080311395 to be incorporated as a repeating unit in the isobuty] acrylate/butyl acrylate/acrylic acid/2-hydroxyethyl acrylate copolymer to form a copolymer with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful mask adhesive based upon the disclosure of these monomers in adhesives useful with pellicles in Ukei et al. 20080311395 at [0003,0026] as repeating units in polymers with MW in the 100,000 to 5,000,000 at [0081] of Ukei et al. 20080311395. Further it would have been obvious to attach the pellicle to a (photo)mask and use it in a stepper with exposure sources emitting at 436, 356, 248 (KrF) , 193 (ArF) or 153 nm as taught at [0002-0003] of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016-173414.
As discussed above, Suwa et al. has been added to address the amount of the ether containing (meth) acrylate
Claims 1,6-8,18,20,23-26,34-36,39-43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136, in view of
Yano et al. JP 2013-134481, Suzuki JP 06-148871 and Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414,
Yano et al. JP 2013-134481 (machine translation attached to previous action) teaches in example 1 a butylacrylate/methyl methacrylate/acrylic acid copolymer which was combined with a polyfunctional epoxy compound (1,3-bis (N, N-diglycidylaminomethyl) cyclohexane). This composition was applied to an Al alloy pellicle frame, dried and then heated at 100 degrees C for 8 minutes and then 180 degrees C for 8 minutes, contacted with a release sheet and then allowed to stabilize at room temperature for 3 days. One of the tests removed the release film and affixed the pellicle frame to a Cr mask blank and placed under a load of 1 kg and exposed to DUV. Another test evaluated the effects of exposure to 40 J/cm2 at an irradiance of 15 mW/cm2 and the peeling force evaluated [0046-0054]. The other examples were similar.
The crosslinking is facilitated using the disclosed curing agents [0030-0035]. The peel strength of the adhesive after DUV exposures is 0.45-4 kgf, most preferably 0.75-3.0 kgf, so that it is easy to peel after exposure [0036-0037]. The use of photoinitiators or thermal initiators for forming the copolymer in amounts of 0.01-2 parts based upon 100 parts of the monomers is disclosed [0025-0028]. As such a curing material, metal salts, metal alkoxides, aldehyde compounds, non-amino resin amino compounds, urea compounds, isocyanate compounds, metal chelate compounds, melamine compounds, aziridine compounds, etc. The cured material to be used can be mentioned. In view of reactivity with the functional group component of the (meth) acrylic acid alkyl ester copolymer, at least one curing material selected from the group consisting of isocyanate compounds and polyfunctional epoxy compounds is preferred, and polyfunctional epoxy. Compounds are more preferred. Specifically, tolylene diisocyanate is mentioned as an isocyanate compound. As polyfunctional epoxy compounds, neopentyl glycol diglycidyl ether, polyethylene glycol diglycidyl ether, bisphenol A diglycidyl ether, bisphenol F diglycidyl ether, phthalic acid diglycidyl ester, dimer acid diglycidyl ester, triglycidyl isocyanurate, Diglycerol triglycidyl ether, sorbitol tetraglycidyl ether, N, N, N ′, N′-tetraglycidyl m-xylenediamine, 1,3-bis (N, N-diglycidylaminomethyl) cyclohexane, N, N, N Examples include ', N'-tetraglycidyldiaminodiphenylmethane.[0030-0033]. The crosslinker can be added in amounts of 0.01 to 3 wt% based upon the polymer [0030].
Suzuki JP 06-148871 (machine translation attached) in example 1 uses an acrylic photocurable resin as the adhesive applied to the pellicle frame which has a nitrocellulose pellicle film bonded via an epoxy adhesive and then attached to a quartz plate (mask substrate). After exposure with 1700 mJ/cm2 (1.7 J/cm2), the pellicle weas peeled form the quartz substrate leaving no adhesive attached to the mask [0045-0046]. Examples 2,3 and 5 used different photocurable resins and exhibited the same result (no adhesive left on the mask) [0047-0050,0053-0054]. The mask is generally made of glass/quartz ([0010] and examples). These masks are used for forming semiconductor devices using exposure [0001-0002]. The UV curable resin is a pressure sensitive adhesive which is UV curable The UV curable resin can include a monomer, a polymer and the combination of these. Useful monomers include Acrylic acid, acrylic acid derivative monomer [methyl acrylate, ethyl acrylate, butyl acrylate, 2-Ethylhexyl acrylate, isooctyl acrylate, glycidyl methacrylate, 2-hydroxyethyl acrylate, tetrafurfuryl acrylate, 2-(N-methylcarbamyloxy) ethyl acrylate, etc.], methacrylic acid, methacrylic acid derivative monomer (methyl methacrylate, ethyl methacrylate, butyl methacrylate, 2-ethylhexyl methacrylate, etc.). Useful polymers include homopolymers and two or more copolymers of the above monomers, one or more of the above monomers and vinyl acetate, N-vinyl-2-pyrrolidone, styrene, acrylonitrile, etc. [0023]. Base polymers can be copolymers, polyvinyl ethers such as polyvinyl methyl ether and polyvinyl ethyl ether, polyethylene oxide, polypropylene oxide, polybutylene oxide and polyethers such as copolymers thereof, polyurethane acrylates, polyesters, synthetic rubbers such as acrylic rubber Examples of the polymer (or oligomer) alone include polyene /polythiol mixed system. [0023]. A photoreaction initiator (eg, benzophenone, benzoin ethyl ether, 2,2-diethoxyacetophene) is added to adjust the liquid ultraviolet curable resin in the present invention [0024]. In addition to the above ultraviolet curable resins, polyfunctional acrylates (for example, ethylene glycol diacrylate, butanediol diacrylate, neopentyl glycol) may be added to improve hardness and creep resistance, if necessary. Diacrylate, diethylene glycol diacrylate, tetraethylene glycol diacrylate, hexanediol diacrylate, tripropylene glycol diacrylate, triethylene glycol diacrylate, trimethylolpropane triacrylate, pentaerythritol triacrylate, penta Erythritol tetraacrylate, etc.), tackifiers, softeners, fillers, antioxidants, waxes, thickeners and other auxiliary materials may be added [0025].
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the embodiments rendered obvious by the combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 and Suwa JP 2001-123136
by adding a photoinitiator and acrylate monomer as taught in Suzuki JP 06-148871 to increase the sensitivity of the adhesive to full curing DUV exposure and reduce the adhesion to near 0.45 kgf or 0.75 kgf after DUV exposure as taught in Yano et al. JP 2013-134481 so that no adhesive remains on the mask surface when exposed to the DUV as taught by Suzuki JP 06-148871 and Yano et al. JP 2013-134481.
Further, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the composition and processes of using them rendered obvious by the combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414, Suwa JP 2001-123136, Yano et al. JP 2013-134481, Suzuki JP 06-148871 and Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414 as discussed above by replacing at least a portion of the polyfunctional epoxy crosslinking agent with metal salts, metal alkoxides, aldehyde compounds, non-amino resin amino compounds, urea compounds, isocyanate compounds (such as tolylene diisocyanate), metal chelate compounds, melamine compounds, aziridine compounds based upon the disclosure of Yano et al. JP 2013-134481 at [0030-0033].
Claims 1,6-8,18-27,31-36,39-43 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414, Suwa JP 2001-123136,Yano et al. JP 2013-134481, Suzuki JP 06-148871 and Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414, further in view of Tanaka et al. 20030036293 or Iwai JP 05-107745
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the pellicle and processes of using them rendered obvious by the combination of Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414, Suwa JP 2001-123136,Yano et al. JP 2013-134481, Suzuki JP 06-148871 and Yamaguchi et al. JP 2016173414, who bond the pellicle to a quartz substrate in the tests by bonding the pellicle directly to the substrate of a mask having a phase shifting patterns as illustrated in figure 4f of Tanaka et al. 20030036293 or directly to the quartz substrate of a binary/light shielding mask as illustrated in figures 2a and 2b of Iwai JP 05-107745 with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful mask/pellicle assembly.
No arguments beyond those addressed above were directed at this rejection, so no further response is warranted.
Claims 1,6-8,18-27,31-36,40-43 and 45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2,3,5,7-14,30,31,34-49 of copending Application No. 17/603932 (20220214612).
Claims 2,3,5 recite the acrylic bonder with alkyleneoxide/ether groups in the side chains, the bonding the of the adhesive directly to the quartz substrate is recited in claims 19-21 and 27-29, the mask the pellicle is bonded to is a phase shift mask or a light blocking/negative mask is recited in claims 16-17,and 24-26. The reduction residual adhesive in the peeling of pellicle is recited in claims 31-32.
Claims 1,6-8,18-27,31-36,40-43 and 45 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2,3,5,7-14,30,31,34-49 of copending Application No. 17/603932 (20220214612), in view of Suzuki JP 06-148871.
It would have been obvious to use a UV curable adhesive having the composition and points of attachment recited in the claims to achieve the low peeling residue using exposures of less than 10 J/cm2 based upon this being known in the art as evidenced by Suzuki JP 06-148871. Further it would have been obvious to use the components recited in the claims and the attachment to the pellicle directly to the quartz mask substrate as recited in the claims.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 March 24, 2026