The response of the applicant has been read and given careful consideration. Rejections of the previous office action, not repeated below are withdrawn. Responses to the arguments are presented after the first rejection to which they are directed.
Claims 1,8,9,12,15-16 and 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The specification describes reflective multilayered mirrors which are reflective (prepub at [0038]), but does not describe multilayered light transmitting materials. The specification does not support embodiments where the first component is a multilayered structure which is light transmitting/transmissive. The applicant is invited to point out where in the specification/application “as-filed” there is a basis for the added language.
Claims 1,8,9,12,15-16 and 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being fully anticipated by Koeda et al. JP 06-174907.
Koeda et al. JP 06-174907 teaches the sinusoidal pattern being transferred from the resist to the metal layer [0003]. In example 1, a quartz glass substrate (1) is coated gold metal layer (2) and the resist (3) is exposed holographically (see figure 2a) and developed to form a half sine pattern (figures 2b,3b), which is then transferred to the gold layer by etching (figure 3c).
In example 2. A silicon wafer is provided with a ZnS/MgF2 antireflective layer on both sides to yield a composite having a transmittance of 98% or more at 3 microns. This is coated with a 2 nm NiCr layer and a 70 nm Au layer, the resist is coated, exposed interferometrically and developed to form, a half wave sinusoidal pattern. This was then transferred into the Au and NiCr layers by Ar/CCl2F2 plasma etching, the resist is removed by oxygen plasma ashing and the result is washed to form a lattice with a pitch of ~360 lines/mm with a width/pitch (duty cycle) of 0.6 [0009-0011].
The sinusoidal language is held to be met by the half sinewave (figure B) of the resist (3) on the gold/NiCr bilayer (2), which as a metal is reflective. The resist absorbs at least the wavelength.
The sinusoidal language is also held to be met by the half sinewave (figure C) of the gold/NiCr layer (2) on the ZnS/MgF2 antireflective layer coated silicon wafer (having a transmittance of more than 98%). The examiner notes that NiCr and gold inherently have both absorption and phase shift optical characteristics and therefore form attenuated phase shift masks.
Gold and the NiCr alloy absorb and shift the phase of EUV light and is the patterning material for EUV masks, while the glass substrate reflects some EUV light. The difference in the EUV light reflected by the gold and glass areas allow it to function as an EUV mask.
The amended claims are met by example 2 of the reference. In the intermediate product the half-wave sinusoidal patterned resist (second component) is on a NiCr/Au reflective bilayer (reflective multilayered first component). In the finished grating the half-wave sinusoidal patterned NiCr/Au bilayer (partially absorbing second component) on the ZnS/MgF2 antireflective layer coated silicon wafer (transmissive multilayered first component).
Claims 1,8,9,12,15-16 and 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Kaplan 5254202.
Kaplan 5254202 (cited in final action as of interest) teaches a quartz plate which is coated with a alternating layers of silicon oxide and tantalum oxide and a 100 nm or chromium and then a resist, which is exposed and etched using the resist as an etch mask, the resist is removed, diced and then etched using potassium hydroxide (5/30-48). The alternating layers are reflective and yield a reflective mask (abstract). In figure 7, the quartz substrate (11) has patterned reflective multilayer (15) capped by a rounded chromium layer which serves as a further reflective layer (7/1-11).
The claims do not require the first component to be unpatterned. The silicon oxide/ tantalum oxide multilayer in figure 7 meets the limitations of the reflective first component and a transmissive first component and the hemispherical chromium cap (71) illustrated in figure 7 meets the second component limitation as it partially absorbs light which is transmitted or reflected by the reflective multilayer. (The mask is used with a laser in an arrangement where the light is incident from the substrate side in column 7 and the Cr layer is described as reflecting a portion of the light transmitted by the multilayer)
Claims 1,8,9,12,15-16 and 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Huber et al. DE 10216208987.
Huber et al. DE 102016208987 (machine translation attached) illustrates in figure 2a, a substrate (2) a reflective multilayer (5), a partially semi-sinusoidal nanopillars/nanorods (6,12) which are made of different materials, for example of metallic materials such as Co, Cu, W, Mg, or Ru, or of oxides, for example TiO .sub.2 , or of borides, for example LaB .sub.6 , NdB .sub.6 , CeB .sub.6 , SmB .sub.6 [0064]. In general, the columnar nanostructures exhibit 12 which the structured top layer 6 form, distances A from each other, which are in a range of values between 10 nm and 10 microns, preferably between about 50 nm and about 1 micron. The heights H of the columnar nanostructures 12 are typically between about 2 nm and about 1000 nm, the diameter D of the nanostructures 12 between about 2 nm and about 150 nm or between about 5 nm and about 100 nm [0065-0066].
The examiner holds that the structure illustrated in figure 2a meets the structure as the reflective multilayer as the first component and the structures (12) meets the structural limitations and the disclosed materials Co, Cu, W, Mg, or Ru, or oxides, for example TiO .sub.2 , or borides, for example LaB .sub.6 , NdB .sub.6 , CeB .sub.6 , SmB .sub.6 all partially absorb radiation and one reading the reference would immediately envision the structure illustrated in figure 2a using them thereby anticipating the claimed invention.
If this position is not upheld, the examiner holds that it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to form an optical element having the structure illustrated in figure 2a where the partially semi-sinusoidal nanopillars/nanorods (6,12) are formed of Co, Cu, W or Mg which absorb some in the EUV with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful reflector.
Claims 1,8,9,12,15-16 and 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mangat et al. 20020039923, in view of Trogish et al. 20090097004, Shih et al. 20150138524, Kirchauer et al. 6479195, Kuroda et al. 20060110693 and Pomplun et al. “Rigorous FEM-simulation of EUV-masks: influence of shape and material parameters”, Proc SPIE Vol. 6349 article 63493D 8 pages (2006)
Mangat et al. 20020039923 teaches with respect to figure 7, an EUV mask with a substrate (10), an reflective multilayer (20) and a patterned attenuating phase shift layer [0023]. Other materials than those described above may be used for the layers on the attenuated phase shifting mask 100. For example, the reflective layer 20 may include a multi-layer stack of beryllium and molybdenum or any other layer or layers with suitable reflective. The attenuated phase shifting layer 30 can include ruthenium and germanium or can include multiple layers. For example, the phase shifting layer 30 can be a chrome oxide or chromium oxide layer over a chrome or chromium layer. Any refractory metal-containing material, such as tantalum silicon oxide, tantalum nitride, tungsten, titanium nitride or the like, can be used for the repairable layer 50 [0026].
Trogish et al. 20090097004 teaches EUV masks with sloped sidewalls as in figure 3A. Figure 3B describes masks with sidewall angles of 84, 81 and 78 degree. These are used in exposure systems where the illumination is non-telecentric (includes non-telecentric aberrations) [0002,0004]. Non-telecentric illumination is illustrated in figure 1A [0025-0029].
Other figures show symmetric and asymmetric structures including:
Kirchauer et al. 6479195 teaches that the prior art EUV masks with upper corners which are sharp with respect to figures | and 6 (col 2/lines 3-5 & 18-20). Figure 2 illustrates the embodiment where the substrate (210), is coated with a reflective multilayer (235,225), a capping layer (240), a buffer layer (250) and an absorber layer (260). The corners of the absorber (260) are rounded or smooth (angled), which reduces/relaxes the phase correlation between the light reflected off the reflective multilayer and that reflected off the upper surface of the absorber as illustrated in figure 7 (2/45-4/15).
Kuroda et al. 20060110693 illustrates in figure 7, a mask with a transparent substrate (503) and a light blocking film (706) with rounded edges (no sharp edges) which reduces diffraction [0075].
Pomplun et al. “Rigorous FEM-simulation of EUV-masks: influence of shape and material parameters”, Proc SPIE Vol. 6349 article 63493D 8 pages (2006) describes the use of finite element method (FEM) for numerical simulations of EUV photomasks which allows the evaluation of parameters such as absorber stack sidewall angle and absorber edge radius (see text associated with figures 4 and 6). Figure 2 includes SEM picture of EUV masks.
The edge radius does not have a great effect, but has a minimum at 6.2 nm (see 6C and page 7) with vertical sidewalls preferred (a= 90).
Shih et al. 20150138524 teaches with respect to figure 7 periodic phase sensitive grating blocks (PhSGBs) with a triangular profile [0032]. The light reflected off the mask is diffracted into different orders including 0,+1,-1 [0017].
Mangat et al. 20020039923 does not teach the sloped sidewalls or curved phase shifting features.
With respect to claims 1-5,8,9,12,15,16 and 18-31, it would have been obvious to modify the mask illustrated in figure 7 of Mangat et al. 20020039923 by forming the attenuating phase shifting elements (35) of symmetric cross-sections with sloped sidewalls to account for different incident angles across the exposure field as taught by Trogish et al. 20090097004 including some with features which are narrow at the top as in figures 5B and 5C of Trogish et al. 20090097004 with a reasonable expectation of these forming useful EUV phases shifting features based upon the use of tapered features in figure 7 of Shih et al. 20150138524 and rounding the top surface and the transition from the peak/top surface to the sidewalls reduce the phase correlation between the light reflected off the reflective multilayer and that reflected off the upper surface of the absorber as illustrated in figure 7 as taught in Kirchauer et al. 6479195 at (2/45-4/15) and the leftmost cross section in figure 2 of Pomplun et al. “Rigorous FEM-simulation of EUV-masks: influence of shape and material parameters”, Proc SPIE Vol. 6349 article 63493D 8 pages (2006) which will inherently reduce diffraction at the edges in the same manner taught in Kuroda et al. 20060110693.
The examiner holds that rounding the tops of the symmetric EUV patterning features of Trogish et al. 20090097004 to reduce the diffraction at these edges taught by the combination of references Kirchauer et al. 6479195 at (2/45-4/15) and Kuroda et al. 20060110693forms the symmetric structures with the rounded distal end.
In the response of 5/11/2026, the applicant argues that that the combination of the references does not meet the limitations of the claims. The claims require that the second component (the absorber pattern) have sidewall which surround/define the pattern, the distal end of the sidewalls has a curved (rounded) shape which is half or less of a sinusoidal curve. The position of the examiner is that the triangular cross section (“A” shape) of Shih et al. 20150138524 modified to round the point of/at the apex of the triangle (the distal end) to reduce diffraction as taught by Kuroda et al. 20060110693, noting the rounding observed in Pomplun et al. “Rigorous FEM-simulation of EUV-masks: influence of shape and material parameters”, Proc SPIE Vol. 6349 article 63493D 8 pages (2006) and discussed in Kirchauer et al. 6479195 at (abstract and 2/39-41). The arguments that the tip would be ground flat would only apply to extremely precise vertical milling which is not used in the formation of the triangular pattern of Shih et al. 20150138524, which is clearly formed to have a triangular shape, not one with a flat top. The applicant could provide data evidencing improved results for patterns bounded by the claims, over those having a triangular profile. The rejection as modified stands.
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
July 23, 2026