Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims/Amendments
This Office Action Correspondence is in response to Applicant’s amendments 26 September 2025.
Claims 1-21 are pending. Claims 1,6, 10, 11, 13, 15, 17, 19, 21 are amended.
Drawings
Drawing objections discussed in the final rejection of 28 May 2025 is/are withdrawn in light of amendments to the claims filed 26 September 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 (and depending claim 7), 11, 13 (and depending claim 14), 19, 21 rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement is withdrawn in light of amendments to the claims filed 26 September 2025.
Claim 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9 and 16, limitation “wherein the gas is exhausted through holes formed in the top plate” is unclear whether the holes claimed in claim 9 and 16 are the same as the “plurality of holes” claimed in claim 1 and 10 respectively.
For the purpose of examination, the above discussed limitation shall be interpreted as “wherein the gas is exhausted through the plurality of holes formed in the top plate” in light of para. [0048].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 10, 12, 15, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohashi et al. (US 2006/0207725 A1 hereinafter “Oohashi”) in view of Gaff et al. (US 2013/0068750 A1 hereinafter “Gaff”), Parkhe et al. (US 2008/0089001 A1 hereinafter “Parkhe”), Yendler et al. (US 2004/0226515 A1 hereinafter “Yendler”), Tavassoli et al. (US 2012/0091104 A1 hereinafter “Tavassoli”), Hayashi (US 2019/0348316 A1) and Kamitani et al. (US 2008/0037194 A1 hereinafter “Kamitani”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Oohashi teaches a pedestal (comprising electrostatic chuck 18 and substrate mounting table 17, Fig. 1,5, para. [0034]-[0035]), comprising:
a top plate (comprising electrostatic chuck 18, Fig. 1 and 5) comprising a plurality of holes (comprising holes of the gas path way 32, Fig. 1 and 5) formed in the top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1) (para. [0038]); and
a base plate (comprising third susceptor plate 15, Fig. 1 and 5, para. [0034]) coupled to the top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1 and 5), wherein the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1 and 5) comprises a thermal break (comprising gap 30, Fig. 1 and 5) wherein the thermal break comprises an intermediate groove (as understood from Fig. 1) positioned/formed in the bottom surface of the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1 and 5)(para. [0037],[0038], [0061]).
Oohashi does not explicitly teach: wherein a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate, wherein the base plate comprises a plurality of grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls; a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate; the top plate comprises: a multi-zone heater; a plurality of circular grooves; and a plurality of linear grooves intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves, wherein a portion of the linear grooves intersect with a depression formed in a center of the top plate; the thermal break being the intermediate groove has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves.
However, Gaff teaches a pedestal (comprising substrate support assembly, Fig. 1 and 2, abstract, para. [0020]-[0021]) including a top plate (comprising electrically insulating layer 103, Fig. 1, para. [0020]) comprising a four-zone heater (comprising planar heater zones 101, Fig. 2, para. [0003],[0013], claim 1). Gaff teaches that such a configuration enables tuning a spatial temperature profile on a semiconductor substrate (para. [0003], [0016]-[0017]).
Additionally, Oohashi teaches that the pedestal (comprising 18 and 17, Fig. 1, 5) is configured to support a substrate (W, Fig. 1, 3, 5) for processing (abstract, para. [0035]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a multi-zone heater to the top plate (Oohashi: comprising 18, Fig. 1) because Gaff teaches that such a configuration enables tuning a spatial temperature profile on a substrate using the heater (Gaff: para. [0003],[0016]-[0017]) for temperature control during substrate processing.
Oohashi in view of Gaff as applied above does not explicitly teach wherein a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate, wherein the base plate comprises a plurality of grooves formed in a bottom surface of the base plate; wherein the base plate comprises a plurality of grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls; a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate; and the top plate comprises a plurality of circular grooves; and a plurality of linear grooves intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves, wherein a portion of the linear grooves intersect with a depression formed in a center of the top plate; wherein a portion of the linear grooves intersect with a depression formed in a center of the top plate; the thermal break being the intermediate groove has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves.
However, Parkhe teaches a pedestal (comprising substrate support 20, Fig. 1 and 5) comprising a top plate (comprising puck 27, Fig. 1 and 5, para. [0014]); and wherein the top plate (comprising puck 27, Fig. 1, 2, 5) comprises a plurality of circular grooves (comprising circular ones of grooves 37, Fig. 1, para. [0016]); and a plurality of linear grooves (comprising radial/straight ones of grooves 37, Fig. 1, para. [0016]) intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves (comprising circular ones of grooves 37, Fig. 1), wherein a portion of the linear grooves intersect with a depression (comprising inner circular groove 39a, Fig. 1) formed in a center of the top plate (comprising 27, Fig. 1). Parkhe teaches that the plurality of grooves are configured to hold heat transfer gas such as helium or argon (para. [0016]).
Further, Oohashi teaches providing thermally conductive gas/heat transfer gas such as helium to the top surface of the top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1 and 5)(para. [0038]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the top plate to include a plurality of circular grooves; and a plurality of linear grooves intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves, wherein a portion of the linear grooves intersect with a depression formed in a center of the top plate, because Parkhe teaches that such a configuration enables holding or guiding the heat transfer gas/thermally conductive gas (Parkhe: para. [0016]) for temperature control during substrate processing.
Oohashi in view of Gaff and Parkhe as applied above does not explicitly teach wherein a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate, wherein the base plate comprises a plurality of grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls; a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate; wherein a portion of the linear grooves intersect with a depression formed in a center of the top plate; the thermal break being the intermediate groove has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves.
However, Yendler teaches a pedestal (comprising support pedestal 116 including substrate support plate 160, Fig. 1 and 2) comprising a base plate (comprising heat transfer assembly 164 including plate 258, Fig. 2 and 2, para. [0031], [0046]) coupled to the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the base plate (comprising 164 including plate 258, Fig. 2) comprises a plurality of grooves (comprising 231, Fig. 2, para. [0048]) respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls (para. [0040]-[0048]). Yendler teaches that such a configuration enables controlling the flux of heat or thermal conductivity in specific regions of the base plate to improve temperature uniformity across the pedestal (comprising 160, Fig. 1) and the substrate (114, Fig. 1) (para. [0045],[0047]).
As noted above, Oohashi teaches that the pedestal (comprising 18 and 17, Fig. 1, 5) is configured to support a substrate (W, Fig. 1, 3, 5) for processing (abstract, para. [0035]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the base plate (Oohashi: comprising 15, Fig. 1 and 5) to include a plurality of grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls because Yendler teaches that such a configuration enables controlling the flux of heat or thermal conductivity in specific regions of the base plate to improve temperature uniformity across the pedestal and the substrate supported on the pedestal during substrate processing (Yendler: para. [0045],[0047]).
Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler as applied above do not explicitly teach a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate; wherein a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate, and the intermediate groove of the thermal break has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves.
However, Yendler further teaches that the base plate (comprising heat transfer assembly 164, Fig. 1) can comprise multiple plates or an alternative construction as a single composite plate (para. [0040]) and teaches that the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) has a top surface in contact with the bottom surface of the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1). Examiner further explains that Yendler teaches an embodiment wherein the heater (comprising 132, Fig. 1) is embedded in the top plate (comprising substrate support plate 160, Fig. 1) (para. [0030]) and in that embodiment one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the top surface of base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) would be in contact with the bottom surface of the top plate (comprising 164 including contact surface 256A, Fig. 1, para. [0042]). Yendler teaches that such a configuration enables controlling the flux of heat in specific regions of the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) to improve temperature uniformity across the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1)(para. [0045]).
Examiner further notes that Oohashi teaches that base plate (15, Fig. 1, 3, 5) is coupled to top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1, 3, 5) via plate 16 (Fig. 1, 3, 5).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the base plate (Oohashi: comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5) such that the base plate is contact with the bottom surface of the top plate (i.e. making integral the plates 15 and 16 such as a composite plate construction) because Yendler teaches/suggests that this is a known suitable alternative construction configuration of a base plate which would enable controlling the flux of heat in specific regions of the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) to improve temperature uniformity across the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1)(para. [0045]).
Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler as applied above do not explicitly teach that the intermediate groove of the thermal break has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves.
However, Tavassoli teaches a pedestal (comprising chuck assembly 142, Fig. 5). including a thermal break comprising an intermediate groove (comprising 270, Fig. 5) with a narrower width (W1) than a plurality of grooves (comprising conduits 140B and 141B, Fig. 5) formed in the base (comprising 144, Fig. 5)(para. [0022], [0026]). Tavassoli specifically teaches that the width W1 of the thermal break (comprising 270, Fig. 5) is 0.030 to 0.1 inches (para. [0026]). Tavassoli teaches that such a configuration enables providing significant reduction in cross-talk (i.e. thermal transfer) between the portions 202 and 204 (para. [0026]).
Additionally, Yendler teaches that the grooves (comprising 231, Fig. 2, para. [0048]) have a width of 4 mm (i.e. 0.15748 inches) (para. [0048]).
Thus, the thermal break 270 taught by Tavassoli having a width of 0.030 to 0.1 inches (i.e. 0.762 mm to 2.54 mm) is narrower than the grooves 231 of Yendler having a width of 0.15748 inches (i.e. 4 mm).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the intermediate groove (Oohashi: comprising 30, Fig. 1 and 5) of the thermal break to have a narrower width than the plurality of grooves (Yendler: comprising 231, Fig. 2) formed in the base plate because Tavassoli teaches such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration/size of a thermal break suitable for reducing cross-talk (i.e. thermal transfer) between two parts of the pedestal (Tavassoli: para. [0026]).
Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler, and Tavassoli as applied above do not explicitly teach a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate.
However, Oohashi already teaches/suggests a plurality of holes (comprising holes of gas pathway 32, Fig. 1) formed in the top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1) to deliver a thermally conductive gas to the bottom surface/backside of the substrate (comprising wafer W, Fig. 1) (para. [0038]).
Further, Hayashi teaches a pedestal (comprising stage 11, Fig. 3 and 4, para. [0024]) including a top plate (comprising electrostatic chuck placement portion 12a, Fig. 4) and a base plate (comprising base portion 12b, Fig. 4) wherein the base plate includes a plurality of grooves (comprising gas flow path 14f, Fig. 3 and 4) wherein each groove is respectively defined by a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls. The grooves (comprising gas flow path 14f, Fig. 4) are configured to supply a cold heat transfer gas/backside gas to the rear/bottom surface of the substrate (comprising W, Fig. 3 and 4) (para. [0029]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that at least one opening would necessarily extend between the recessed surface of the respective groove and a hole in the top surface of the top plate (comprising 12a, Fig. 3 and 4) in order to deliver the gas to the rear/bottom surface of the substrate. In other words, the openings would be disposed in the intervening space between the recessed surface of the groove and a hole in the top surface of the top plate 12a.
Additionally, Kamitani teaches a pedestal comprising a top plate (comprising 1, Fig. 2b) comprising a plurality of holes (comprising 5, Fig. 2b), a base plate (comprising heat exchanger 9, Fig. 2b, para. [0042]) comprising a channel/groove with openings connected to the plurality of holes (comprising 5, Fig. 2b) wherein such a configuration enables delivery of backside gas to the back surface of the substrate (para.[0045], [0060]) and wherein providing a plurality of holes (comprising 5, Fig. 2b) at the top plate with a plurality of openings between the gas channels/grooves and the plurality of holes in the top plate enables supplying a thermal control gas to the space between the backside/rear surface of the substrate (comprising wafer W, Fig. 2b) in a shorter period of time and decreases the time taken for the substrate (comprising W, Fig. 2b) to reach a desired temperature.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface of the plurality of grooves (Yendler: comprising 231, Fig. 2) and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate because Oohashi already teaches/suggest a plurality of holes formed in the top plate to deliver a thermally conductive gas to the bottom surface/back side of the substrate (Oohashi: para. [0038]) and because Hayashi teaches/suggests grooves respectively defined by a plurality of sidewalls and recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls are configured to deliver a heat transfer gas/backside gas to the rear/bottom surface of the substrate which would necessarily require openings connected between the grooves and at least one hole at the top plate(Hayashi: para. [0029]) and because Kamitani teaches/suggests providing a plurality of holes at the top plate with a plurality of openings between gas channels/grooves and the plurality of holes in the top plate enables supplying a thermal control gas to the space between the backside/rear surface of the substrate in a shorter period of time and decreases the time taken for the substrate to reach a desired temperature (Kamitani: para. [0060]), wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the configuration of a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate would be a suitable alternative configuration of delivering thermal control/thermally conductive back side gas to the rear/back/bottom surface of the substrate for controlling the temperature of the substrate.
Regarding claim 2, Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler, Tavassoli, Hayashi and Kamitani {hereinafter “Modified Oohashi”} teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 and Oohashi further teaches a cooling base (comprising second susceptor plate 14 including inner coolant passageway 28 and outer coolant passageway 29, Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. [0037]) coupled to the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5), the cooling base (comprising 14, Fig. 1, 3, 5) including a plurality of cooling channels (comprising inner coolant passageway 28 and outer coolant passageway 29, Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. [0037]) and a top surface contacting a bottom surface of the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Oohashi teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 including grooves (Yendler: comprising 231, Fig. 2) in the base plate (Yendler: comprising 164 including plate 258, Fig. 2; Oohashi: comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5 modified in claim 1 to include the grooves of Yendler) and Yendler further teaches a plurality of ridges (comprising embossed surface 258B, Fig. 2) formed on the surface of the base plate (comprising 258, Fig. 2), wherein one of the plurality of ridges separates adjacent grooves (comprising 231, Fig. 2) of the plurality of grooves formed in the base plate (para. [0042]-[0043], [0048]-[0049]). Examiner further explains, in claim 1 rejection when modifying Oohashi with the teachings of Yendler to include the grooves, the ridges would also be included in the modifications since the ridges define the regions between different grooves. Thus, modified Oohashi meet claim 5 limitations.
Regarding claim 8, modified Oohashi teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1 as applied above and modified Oohashi further teaches wherein the plurality of grooves formed in the base plate are adapted for flowing a gas therein. Examiner explains that Oohashi was modified in independent claim 1 to include a plurality of grooves as taught by Yendler which was further modified by teachings of Hayashi and Kamitani to provide a pathway to deliver backside/thermal control gas to the rear/bottom/backside surface of the substrate for substrate temperature control as explained in detail in claim 1 rejection above.
Regarding claim 9, modified Oohashi teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 1, 8 as applied above and modified Oohashi further teaches wherein the gas is exhausted through the plurality of holes formed in the top plate. Examiner explains that Oohashi was modified in independent claim 1 to include a plurality of grooves as taught by Yendler which was further modified by teachings of Hayashi and Kamitani to provide a pathway to deliver backside/thermal control gas to the rear/bottom/backside surface of the substrate via the holes/openings (Oohashi: comprising openings of 32, Fig. 1) already formed in the top plate 18 of Oohashi for substrate temperature control as explained in detail in claim 1 rejection above. Thus, the combination meets claim 9 limitations.
Regarding independent claim 10, Oohashi teaches a pedestal (comprising electrostatic chuck 18 and substrate mounting table 17, Fig. 1,5, para. [0034]-[0035]), comprising:
a top plate (comprising electrostatic chuck 18, Fig. 1 and 5) comprising a plurality of holes (comprising holes of the gas path way 32, Fig. 1 and 5) (para. [0038]);
a base plate (comprising third susceptor plate 15, Fig. 1 and 5, para. [0034]) coupled to the top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1 and 5), the pedestal further comprising:
a cooling base (comprising second susceptor plate 14 including inner coolant passageway 28 and outer coolant passageway 29, Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. [0037]) coupled to the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5), wherein the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5) comprises: a thermal break (comprising gap 30, Fig. 1 and 5) formed in the surface of the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1 and 5), the thermal break comprising an intermediate groove (para. [0037], [0061]).
Oohashi does not explicitly teach that the top plate comprises a four zone heater and the top plate includes a plurality of circular grooves and a plurality of linear grooves intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves; the base plate comprises a plurality of grooves formed in a surface that is in contact with the cooling base, the plurality of grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls, a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate, the intermediate groove has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves, wherein a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate.
However, Gaff teaches a pedestal (comprising substrate support assembly, Fig. 1 and 2, abstract, para. [0020]-[0021]) including a top plate (comprising electrically insulating layer 103, Fig. 1, para. [0020]) comprising a four zone heater (comprising planar heater zones 101, Fig. 2, para. [0003],[0013], claim 1) wherein the zones can be arranged in concentric rings (para. [0018]). Gaff teaches that such a configuration enables tuning a spatial temperature profile on a semiconductor substrate (para. [0003], [0016]-[0017]).
Additionally, Oohashi teaches that the pedestal (comprising 18 and 17, Fig. 1, 5) is configured to support a substrate (W, Fig. 1, 3, 5) for processing (abstract, para. [0035]) and the pedestal has two temperature-controlled regions (i.e. central area and peripheral area) arranged concentrically (as understood from Fig. 4)(para. [0059]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have 4 temperature-controlled regions by adding a heater having four zones to the top plate (Ohashi: comprising 18, Fig. 1, 3, 5) and adding two additional independent temperature control regions/zones to the pedestal separated by additional thermal breaks in Ohashi because Gaff teaches that having a four zone heater enables tuning a spatial temperature profile on a substrate supported on the pedestal (i.e. temperature control via heating of 4 regions of the pedestal) (Gaff: para. [0003],[0016]-[0017]) wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that having additional independent temperature control zones and a 4 zone heater would enable improved temperature control (i.e. heating) across the pedestal.
Oohashi in view of Gaff as applied above does not explicitly teach that the top plate includes a plurality of circular grooves and a plurality of linear grooves intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves; and the base plate comprises a plurality of grooves formed in a surface that is in contact with the cooling base; wherein a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate.
However, Parkhe teaches a pedestal (comprising substrate support 20, Fig. 1 and 5) comprising a top plate (comprising puck 27, Fig. 1 and 5, para. [0014]); and wherein the top plate (comprising puck 27, Fig. 1, 2, 5) comprises a plurality of circular grooves (comprising circular ones of grooves 37, Fig. 1, para. [0016]); and a plurality of linear grooves (comprising radial/straight ones of grooves 37, Fig. 1, para. [0016]) intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves (comprising circular ones of grooves 37, Fig. 1). Parkhe teaches that the plurality of grooves are configured to hold heat transfer gas such as helium or argon (para. [0016]).
Further, Oohashi teaches providing thermally conductive gas/heat transfer gas such as helium to the top surface of the top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1 and 5)(para. [0038]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the top plate to include a plurality of circular grooves; and a plurality of linear grooves intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves because Parkhe teaches such a configuration enables holding or guiding the heat transfer gas/thermally conductive gas (Parkhe: para. [0016]) for temperature control during substrate processing.
Oohashi in view of Gaff and Parkhe as applied above does not explicitly teach that the base plate comprises a plurality of grooves formed in a surface of the base plate that is in contact with the cooling base, the plurality of grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls, a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate, ; wherein a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate.
However, Yendler teaches a pedestal (comprising support pedestal 116 including substrate support plate 160, Fig. 1 and 2) comprising a base plate (comprising heat transfer assembly 164 including plate 258, Fig. 2 and 2, para. [0031], [0046]) coupled to the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the base plate (comprising 164 including plate 258, Fig. 2) comprises a plurality of grooves (comprising 231, Fig. 2, para. [0048]) formed in a bottom surface (comprising embossed second contact surface 256B, Fig. 2) of the base plate (para. [0040]-[0048]) which is in contact with a cooling base (comprising 166, Fig. 1, 2A) the plurality grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls. Yendler teaches that such a configuration enables controlling the flux of heat or thermal conductivity in specific regions of the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) to improve temperature uniformity across the pedestal (comprising 160, Fig. 1) and the substrate (114, Fig. 1) (para. [0045],[0047]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add grooves to the base plate (Oohashi: comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5) such that the grooves are formed in a surface (i.e. bottom surface) of the base plate that is in contact with the cooling base (Oohashi: comprising 14, Fig. 1, 3, 5) wherein the plurality grooves respectively define a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls because Yendler teaches that such a configuration enables controlling the flux of heat or thermal conductivity in specific regions of the base plate to improve temperature uniformity across the pedestal and the substrate during substrate processing(Yendler: para. [0045],[0047]).
Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler as applied above do not explicitly teach that a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate, the intermediate groove of the thermal break has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves; wherein a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate.
However, Yendler further teaches that the base plate (comprising heat transfer assembly 164, Fig. 1) can comprise multiple plates or an alternative construction as a single composite plate (para. [0040]) and teaches that the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) has a top surface in contact with the bottom surface of the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1). Examiner further explains that Yendler teaches an embodiment wherein the heater (comprising 132, Fig. 1) is embedded in the top plate (comprising substrate support plate 160, Fig. 1) (para. [0030]) and in that embodiment one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the top surface of base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) would be in contact with the bottom surface of the top plate (comprising 164 including contact surface 256A, Fig. 1, para. [0042]). Yendler teaches that such a configuration enables controlling the flux of heat in specific regions of the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) to improve temperature uniformity across the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1)(para. [0045]).
Examiner further notes that Oohashi teaches that base plate (15, Fig. 1, 3, 5) is coupled to top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1, 3, 5) via plate 16 (Fig. 1, 3, 5).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the base plate (Oohashi: comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5) such that the base plate is contact with the bottom surface of the top plate (i.e. making integral the plates 15 and 16 such as a composite plate construction) because Yendler teaches this is a known suitable alternative construction configuration of a base plate which would enable controlling the flux of heat in specific regions of the base plate (Yendler: comprising 164, Fig. 1) to improve temperature uniformity across the top plate (Yendler: comprising 160, Fig. 1)(Yendler: para. [0045]).
Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler as applied above do not explicitly teach that a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate, the intermediate groove of the thermal break has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves.
However, Tavassoli teaches a pedestal (comprising chuck assembly 142, Fig. 5) including a thermal break comprising an intermediate groove (comprising 270, Fig. 5) with a narrower width (W1) than a plurality of grooves (comprising conduits 140B and 141B, Fig. 5) formed in the base (comprising 144, Fig. 5)(para. [0022], [0026]). Tavassoli specifically teaches that the width W1 of the thermal break (comprising 270, Fig. 5) is 0.030 to 0.1 inches (para. [0026]). Tavassoli teaches that such a configuration enables providing significant reduction in cross-talk (i.e. thermal transfer) between the portions 202 and 204 (para. [0026]).
Additionally, Yendler teaches that the grooves (comprising 231, Fig. 2, para. [0048]) have a width of 4 mm (i.e. 0.15748 inches) (para. [0048]).
Thus, the thermal break 270 taught by Tavassoli having a width of 0.030 to 0.1 inches (i.e. 0.762 mm to 2.54 mm) is narrower than the grooves 231 of Yendler having a width of 0.15748 inches (i.e. 4 mm).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the intermediate groove (Oohashi: comprising 30, Fig. 1 and 5) of the thermal break to have a narrower width than the plurality of grooves (Yendler: comprising 231, Fig. 2) formed in the base plate because Tavassoli teaches such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration/size of a thermal break suitable for reducing cross-talk (i.e. thermal transfer) between two parts of the pedestal (Tavassoli: para. [0026]).
Oohashi in view of Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler and Tavassoli as applied above do not explicitly teach a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate.
However, Oohashi already teaches/suggests a plurality of holes formed in the top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1) to deliver a thermally conductive gas to the bottom surface/backside of the substrate (comprising wafer W, Fig. 1) (para. [0038]).
Further, Hayashi teaches a pedestal (comprising stage 11, Fig. 3 and 4, para. [0024]) including a top plate (comprising electrostatic chuck placement portion 12a, Fig. 4) and a base plate (comprising base portion 12b, Fig. 4) wherein the base plate includes a plurality of grooves (comprising gas flow path 14f, Fig. 3 and 4) wherein each groove is respectively defined by a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls. The grooves (comprising 14f, Fig. 4) is configured to supply a cold heat transfer gas/backside gas to the rear/bottom surface of the substrate (comprising W, Fig. 3 and 4) (para. [0029]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that at least one opening would necessarily extend between the recessed surface of the groove and a hole in the top surface of the top plate (comprising 12a, Fig. 3 and 4) in order to deliver the gas to the rear/bottom surface of the substrate. In other words, the openings would be disposed in the intervening space between the recessed surface of the groove and a hole in the top surface of the top plate 12a.
Additionally, Kamitani teaches a pedestal comprising a top plate (comprising 1, Fig. 2b) comprising a plurality of holes (comprising 5, Fig. 2b), a base plate (comprising heat exchanger 9, Fig. 2b, para. [0042]) comprising a channel/groove with openings connected to the plurality of holes (comprising 5, Fig. 2b) wherein such a configuration enables delivery of backside gas to the back surface of the substrate (para.[0045], [0060]) and wherein providing a plurality of holes (comprising 5, Fig. 2b) at the top plate with a plurality of openings between the gas channels/grooves and the plurality of holes in the top plate enables supplying a thermal control gas to the space between the backside/rear surface of the substrate (comprising wafer W, Fig. 2b) in a shorter period of time and decreases the time taken for the substrate (comprising W, Fig. 2b) to reach a desired temperature.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface of the plurality of grooves (Yendler: comprising 231, Fig. 2) and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate because Oohashi already teaches/suggest a plurality of holes formed in the top plate to deliver a thermally conductive gas to the bottom surface/back side of the substrate (Oohashi: para. [0038]) and because Hayashi teaches/suggests a base plate comprising grooves wherein the grooves are respectively defined by a plurality of sidewalls and recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls and the grooves are configured to deliver a heat transfer gas/backside gas to the rear/bottom surface of the substrate which would necessarily require openings connected between the grooves and at least one hole at the top plate (Hayashi: para. [0029]) and because Kamitani teaches/suggests providing a plurality of holes at the top plate with a plurality of openings between gas channels/grooves and the plurality of holes in the top plate enables supplying a thermal control gas to the space between the backside/rear surface of the substrate in a shorter period of time and decreases the time taken for the substrate to reach a desired temperature (Kamitani: para. [0060]), wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the configuration of a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate would be a suitable alternative configuration of delivering thermal control/thermally conductive back side gas to the rear/back/bottom surface of the substrate for controlling the temperature of the substrate.
Regarding claim 12, Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler, Tavassoli, Hayashi and Kamitani {hereinafter “Modified Oohashi”} as applied above teaches all of the limitations of claim 10 above and Yendler further teaches a plurality of ridges (comprising embossed surface 258B, Fig. 2) formed on the surface of the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1, 3, 5, para. [0040]), wherein the surface is a bottom surface of the base plate (comprising 258, Fig. 2, para. [0040]-[0042]), wherein at least one of the plurality of ridges separates adjacent grooves (comprising 231, Fig. 2) (para. [0042]-[0043], [0048]-[0049]) wherein a top surface of the cooling base (comprising 166, Fig. 2) contacts the bottom surface of the base plate (comprising 258B, Fig. 2). Examiner further explains, in claim 10 rejection when modifying Oohashi with the teachings of Yendler to include the grooves, the ridges would also be included in the modifications since the ridges define the regions between grooves. Examiner notes that the top surface of the cooling plate of Oohashi (comprising 14, Fig. 1, 3, 5) is in contact with a bottom surface of the base plate of Oohashi (comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5). Additionally, modified Oohashi
Regarding claim 15, modified Oohashi teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 10 as applied above and already teaches a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate, as explained in claim 10 rejection above. Further, regarding claim 15, Yendler further teaches wherein the grooves (comprising 231, Fig. 2) are at least partially bounded by a surface of the cooling plate (comprising 166, Fig. 2)(para. [0042]). Additionally, modified Oohashi teaches the grooves are adapted for flowing a gas therein. Examiner explains that Oohashi was modified in independent claim 10 to include a plurality of grooves as taught by Yendler which was further modified by teachings of Hayashi and Kamitani to provide a pathway to deliver backside/thermal control gas to the rear/bottom/backside surface of the substrate for substrate temperature control as explained in detail in claim 10 rejection above.
Regarding claim 16, modified Oohashi teaches all of the limitations of claim(s) 10, 15 as applied above and modified Oohashi further teaches wherein the gas is exhausted through the plurality of holes formed in the top plate. Examiner explains that Oohashi was modified in independent claim 10 to include a plurality of grooves as taught by Yendler which was further modified by teachings of Hayashi and Kamitani to provide a pathway to deliver backside/thermal control gas to the rear/bottom/backside surface of the substrate via the holes/openings (Oohashi: comprising openings of 32, Fig. 1) already formed in the top plate 18 of Oohashi for substrate temperature control as explained in detail in claim 10 rejection above. Thus, the combination meets claim 16 limitations.
Regarding independent claim 17, Oohashi teaches a pedestal (comprising electrostatic chuck 18 and substrate mounting table 17, Fig. 1,5, para. [0034]-[0035]), comprising:
a top plate (comprising electrostatic chuck 18, Fig. 1 and 5) comprising a plurality of holes (comprising holes of the gas path way 32, Fig. 1 and 5) (para. [0038]); and
a base plate (comprising third susceptor plate 15, Fig. 1 and 5, para. [0034]) coupled to the top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1 and 5),
a cooling base (comprising second susceptor plate 14 including inner coolant passageway 28 and outer coolant passageway 29, Fig. 1, 3, 5; para. [0037]) coupled to the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5), wherein the bottom surface of the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5) is in contact with the cooling base (comprising 14, Fig. 1, 3, 5),
a thermal break (comprising gap 30, Fig. 1 and 5) comprises an intermediate groove positioned in the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1 and 5)(para. [0037], [0061]) and between adjacent heating zones/temperature control zones (i.e. thermally independent areas comprising a central and a peripheral area, para. [0059]-[0061]).
Oohashi does not explicitly teach: wherein the base plate comprises a plurality of grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls; a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate; the top plate comprises: a multi-zone heater forming a plurality of heating zones; a plurality of circular grooves; and a plurality of linear grooves intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves, the intermediate groove having a narrower width than the plurality of grooves; a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate.
However, Gaff teaches a pedestal (comprising substrate support assembly, Fig. 1 and 2, abstract, para. [0020]-[0021]) including a top plate (comprising electrically insulating layer 103, Fig. 1, para. [0020]) comprising a four zone heater (comprising planar heater zones 101, Fig. 2, para. [0003],[0013], claim 1) wherein the zones can be arranged in concentric rings (para. [0018]). Gaff teaches that such a configuration enables tuning a spatial temperature profile on a semiconductor substrate (para. [0003], [0016]-[0017]).
Additionally, Oohashi teaches that the pedestal (comprising 18 and 17, Fig. 1, 5) is configured to support a substrate (W, Fig. 1, 3, 5) for processing (abstract, para. [0035]) and the pedestal has two thermally independent heating zones/temperature-controlled regions (i.e. central area and peripheral area) arranged concentrically (as understood from Fig. 4)(para. [0059]) having the thermal break (comprising 30, Fig. 1 and 4) positioned between the regions/zones (para. [0061]). Oohashi teaches that such a configuration enables improved independent control of the heating zones (i.e. “central and peripheral areas”) of the pedestal (comprising 17, Fig. 1)(para. [0059]-[0061]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a multi-zone heater to the top plate (Oohashi: comprising 18, Fig. 1) to form a plurality of heating zones and to correspond the heating zones of the heater to be the same as the thermally independent zones (i.e. central and peripheral) of Oohashi such that the thermal break (Oohashi: comprising 30, Fig. 1) is placed between the heating zones at least when viewed from a top view of the pedestal because Gaff teaches that adding a multi-zone heater enables tuning (for example tuning via heating) a spatial temperature profile on a substrate (Gaff: para. [0003],[0016]-[0017]) for suitable substrate processing and Oohashi teaches that the thermal break enables improved independent temperature control of each heating zone (Oohashi: para. [0061]).
Oohashi in view of Gaff as applied above does not explicitly teach that the base plate comprises a plurality of grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls; a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate; the top plate includes a plurality of circular grooves and a plurality of linear grooves intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves; and the base plate comprises a plurality of grooves formed in a surface that is in contact with the cooling base; a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate, the intermediate groove of the thermal break has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves.
However, Parkhe teaches a pedestal (comprising substrate support 20, Fig. 1 and 5) comprising a top plate (comprising puck 27, Fig. 1 and 5, para. [0014]); and wherein the top plate (comprising puck 27, Fig. 1, 2, 5) comprises a plurality of circular grooves (comprising circular ones of grooves 37, Fig. 1, para. [0016]); and a plurality of linear grooves (comprising radial/straight ones of grooves 37, Fig. 1, para. [0016]) intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves (comprising circular ones of grooves 37, Fig. 1). Parkhe teaches that the plurality of grooves are configured to hold heat transfer gas such as helium or argon (para. [0016]).
Further, Oohashi teaches providing thermally conductive gas/heat transfer gas such as helium to the top surface of the top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1 and 5)(para. [0038]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to configure the top plate to include a plurality of circular grooves; and a plurality of linear grooves intersecting with a portion of the circular grooves because Parkhe teaches such a configuration enables holding or guiding the heat transfer gas/thermally conductive gas (Parkhe: para. [0016]) for temperature control during substrate processing.
Oohashi in view of Gaff and Parkhe as applied above does not explicitly teach that the base plate comprises plurality of grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls; a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate; a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate, the intermediate groove of the thermal break has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves.
However, Yendler teaches a pedestal (comprising support pedestal 116 including substrate support plate 160, Fig. 1 and 2) comprising a base plate (comprising heat transfer assembly 164 including plate 258, Fig. 2 and 2, para. [0031], [0046]) coupled to the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1 and 2); wherein the base plate (comprising 164 including plate 258, Fig. 2) comprises a plurality of grooves (comprising 231, Fig. 2, para. [0048]) formed in a bottom surface (comprising embossed second contact surface 256B, Fig. 2) of the base plate (para. [0040]-[0048]) which is in contact with a cooling base (comprising 166, Fig. 1, 2A), the plurality of grooves respectively defining a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls. Yendler teaches that such a configuration enables controlling the flux of heat or thermal conductivity in specific regions of the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) to improve temperature uniformity across the pedestal (comprising 160, Fig. 1) and the substrate (114, Fig. 1) (para. [0045],[0047]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a plurality of grooves to the base plate (Oohashi: comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5) such that the grooves are formed in a bottom surface of the base plate wherein the plurality of grooves respectively define a pluraltiy of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls because Yendler teaches that such a configuration enables controlling the flux of heat or thermal conductivity in specific regions of the base plate to improve temperature uniformity across the pedestal and the substrate during substrate processing (Yendler: para. [0045],[0047]).
Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler as applied above do not explicitly teach that the intermediate groove of the thermal break has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves; a top surface of the base plate contacts a bottom surface of the top plate.
However, Yendler further teaches that the base plate (comprising heat transfer assembly 164, Fig. 1) can comprise multiple plates or an alternative construction as a single composite plate (para. [0040]) and teaches that the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) has a top surface in contact with the bottom surface of the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1). Examiner further explains that Yendler teaches an embodiment wherein the heater (comprising 132, Fig. 1) is embedded in the top plate (comprising substrate support plate 160, Fig. 1) (para. [0030]) and in that embodiment one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the top surface of base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) would be in contact with the bottom surface of the top plate (comprising 164 including contact surface 256A, Fig. 1, para. [0042]). Yendler teaches that such a configuration enables controlling the flux of heat in specific regions of the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) to improve temperature uniformity across the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1)(para. [0045]).
Examiner further notes that Oohashi teaches that base plate (15, Fig. 1, 3, 5) is coupled to top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1, 3, 5) via plate 16 (Fig. 1, 3, 5).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the base plate (Oohashi: comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5) such that the base plate is contact with the bottom surface of the top plate (i.e. making integral the plates 15 and 16 such as a composite plate construction) because Yendler teaches this is a known suitable alternative construction configuration of a base plate which would enable controlling the flux of heat in specific regions of the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) to improve temperature uniformity across the top plate (comprising 160, Fig. 1)(para. [0045]).
Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler as applied above do not explicitly teach that the intermediate groove of the thermal break has a narrower width than the plurality of grooves.
However, Tavassoli teaches a pedestal (comprising chuck assembly 142, Fig. 5) including a thermal break comprising an intermediate groove (comprising 270, Fig. 5) with a narrower width (W1) than a plurality of grooves (comprising conduits 140B and 141B, Fig. 5) formed in the base (comprising 144, Fig. 5)(para. [0022], [0026]). Tavassoli specifically teaches that the width W1 of the thermal break (comprising 270, Fig. 5) is 0.030 to 0.1 inches (para. [0026]). Tavassoli teaches that such a configuration enables providing significant reduction in cross-talk (i.e. thermal transfer) between the portions 202 and 204 (para. [0026]).
Additionally, Yendler teaches that the grooves (comprising 231, Fig. 2, para. [0048]) have a width of 4 mm (i.e. 0.15748 inches) (para. [0048]).
Thus, the thermal break 270 taught by Tavassoli having a width of 0.030 to 0.1 inches (i.e. 0.762 mm to 2.54 mm) is narrower than the grooves 231 of Yendler having a width of 0.15748 inches (i.e. 4 mm).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the intermediate groove (Oohashi: comprising 30, Fig. 1 and 5) of the thermal break to have a narrower width than the plurality of grooves (Yendler: comprising 231, Fig. 2) formed in the base plate because Tavassoli teaches such a configuration is a known suitable alternative configuration/size of a thermal break suitable for reducing cross-talk (i.e. thermal transfer) between two parts of the pedestal (Tavassoli: para. [0026]).
Oohashi in view of Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler and Tavassoli as applied above do not explicitly teach a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate.
However, Oohashi already teaches/suggests a plurality of holes formed in the top plate (comprising 18, Fig. 1) to deliver a thermally conductive gas to the bottom surface/backside of the substrate (comprising wafer W, Fig. 1) (para. [0038]).
Further, Hayashi teaches a pedestal (comprising stage 11, Fig. 3 and 4, para. [0024]) including a top plate (comprising electrostatic chuck placement portion 12a, Fig. 4) and a base plate (comprising base portion 12b, Fig. 4) wherein the base plate includes a plurality of grooves (comprising gas flow path 14f, Fig. 3 and 4) wherein each groove is respectively defined by a plurality of sidewalls and a recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls. The grooves (comprising 14f, Fig. 4) is configured to supply a cold heat transfer gas/backside gas to the rear/bottom surface of the substrate (comprising W, Fig. 3 and 4) (para. [0029]).
One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that at least one opening would necessarily extend between the recessed surface of the groove and a hole in the top surface of the top plate (comprising 12a, Fig. 3 and 4) in order to deliver the gas to the rear/bottom surface of the substrate. In other words, the openings would be disposed in the intervening space between the recessed surface of the groove and a hole in the top surface of the top plate 12a.
Additionally, Kamitani teaches a pedestal comprising a top plate (comprising 1, Fig. 2b) comprising a plurality of holes (comprising 5, Fig. 2b), a base plate (comprising heat exchanger 9, Fig. 2b, para. [0042]) comprising a channel/groove with openings connected to the plurality of holes (comprising 5, Fig. 2b) wherein such a configuration enables delivery of backside gas to the back surface of the substrate (para.[0045], [0060]) and wherein providing a plurality of holes (comprising 5, Fig. 2b) at the top plate with a plurality of openings between the gas channels/grooves and the plurality of holes in the top plate enables supplying a thermal control gas to the space between the backside/rear surface of the substrate (comprising wafer W, Fig. 2b) in a shorter period of time and decreases the time taken for the substrate (comprising W, Fig. 2b) to reach a desired temperature.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface of the plurality of grooves (Yendler: comprising 231, Fig. 2) and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate because Oohashi already teaches/suggest a plurality of holes formed in the top plate to deliver a thermally conductive gas to the bottom surface/back side of the substrate (Oohashi: para. [0038]) and because Hayashi teaches/suggests a base plate comprising grooves wherein the grooves are respectively defined by a plurality of sidewalls and recessed surface extending between the plurality of sidewalls and the grooves are configured to deliver a heat transfer gas/backside gas to the rear/bottom surface of the substrate which would necessarily require openings connected between the grooves and at least one hole at the top plate(Hayashi: para. [0029]) and because Kamitani teaches/suggests providing a plurality of holes at the top plate with a plurality of openings between gas channels/grooves and the plurality of holes in the top plate enables supplying a thermal control gas to the space between the backside/rear surface of the substrate in a shorter period of time and decreases the time taken for the substrate to reach a desired temperature (Kamitani: para. [0060]), wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the configuration of a plurality of openings extending between the recessed surface and the plurality of holes formed in the top plate would be a suitable alternative configuration of delivering thermal control/thermally conductive back side gas to the rear/back/bottom surface of the substrate for controlling the temperature of the substrate.
Regarding claim 18, Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler, Tavassoli, Hayashi and Kamitani {hereinafter “Modified Oohashi”} teaches all of the limitations of claim 17 including grooves (Yendler: comprising 231, Fig. 2) in the base plate (Yendler: comprising 164 including plate 258, Fig. 2; Oohashi: comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5 modified in claim 1 to include the grooves of Yendler) and Yendler further teaches a plurality of ridges (comprising embossed surface 258B, Fig. 2) formed on the bottom surface of the base plate (comprising 258, Fig. 2), wherein at least one of the plurality of ridges separates adjacent grooves (comprising 231, Fig. 2) (para. [0042]-[0043], [0048]-[0049]). Examiner further explains, in claim 17 rejection when modifying Oohashi with the teachings of Yendler to include the grooves, the ridges would also be included in the modifications since the ridges define the regions between grooves. Thus, Modified Oohashi meet claim 18 limitations.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohashi et al. (US 2006/0207725 A1 hereinafter “Oohashi”) in view of Gaff et al. (US 2013/0068750 A1 hereinafter “Gaff”), Parkhe et al. (US 2008/0089001 A1 hereinafter “Parkhe”), and Yendler et al. (US 2004/0226515 A1 hereinafter “Yendler”), Tavassoli et al. (US 2012/0091104 A1 hereinafter “Tavassoli”), Hayashi (US 2019/0348316 A1) and Kamitani et al. (US 2008/0037194 A1 hereinafter “Kamitani”) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 10, 12, 15, 17, 18 above and further in view of Kholodenko et al. (US 6,490,145 B1 hereinafter “Kholodenko”).
Regarding claim 3, Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler, Tavassoli, Hayashi and Kamitani {hereinafter “Modified Oohashi”} as applied above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 2 as applied above including a cooling base (Oohashi: comprising 14, Fig. 1, 3, 5). Oohashi further teaches the thermal break (comprising gap 30, Fig. 1 and 5) is formed in the bottom surface of the base plate (comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5).
Modified Oohashi does not explicitly teach a shaft coupled to the cooling base.
However, Kholodenko teaches a pedestal (comprising 116, Fig. 1 and 2) comprising a shaft (comprising 202, Fig. 2; shaft is not labeled in Fig. 1) coupled to a cooling base (comprising temperature control plate 104, Fig. 2, col 5 line 16-20), wherein the shaft is configured to isolate various conduits and electrical leads disposed therein form the process environment within the chamber (col 5 line 9-15).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the cooling base (Oohashi: comprising 14, Fig. 1 and 2) to be coupled to a shaft, in view of teachings of Kholodenko, in the apparatus of Modified Oohashi as a known suitable alternative support/construction configuration of a pedestal for supporting the cooling base and enabling isolating various conduits and electrical leads (Kholodenko: col 5 line 9-15).
Claim(s) 4, 6, 7, 11, 13, 14, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohashi et al. (US 2006/0207725 A1 hereinafter “Oohashi”) in view of Gaff et al. (US 2013/0068750 A1 hereinafter “Gaff”), Parkhe et al. (US 2008/0089001 A1 hereinafter “Parkhe”), and Yendler et al. (US 2004/0226515 A1 hereinafter “Yendler”) and Tavassoli et al. (US 2012/0091104 A1 hereinafter “Tavassoli”), Hayashi (US 2019/0348316 A1) and Kamitani et al. (US 2008/0037194 A1 hereinafter “Kamitani”) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 10, 12, 15, 17, 18 above and further substantiated by Madsen et al. (US 2016/0358808 A1 hereinafter “Madsen”) and Schaschke (2014) Dictionary of Chemical Engineering. Oxford University Press. Pp. 178.
Regarding claim 4 and 6, claim 11 and 13, and claim 19: Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler, Tavassoli, Hayashi and Kamitani {hereinafter “Modified Oohashi”} teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 and 5, respectively; claims 10 and 12, respectively; and claim 18, as applied above including grooves (Yendler: comprising 231, Fig. 2) in the base plate (Yendler: comprising 164 including plate 258, Fig. 2; Oohashi: comprising 15, Fig. 1, 3, 5 modified in claims 1, 10, and 17, respectively, to include the grooves of Yendler).
Regarding claim 4, 6, 11, 13, 19, Modified Oohashi as applied above does not explicitly teach wherein the grooves/plurality of grooves have a collective surface area of about 70 square inches to about 80 square inches. {Examiner notes that “collective surface area” is interpreted mean the total surface area within the grooves.}
However, Yendler teaches an embodiment of the base plate having dimensions of the groove (comprising 231, Fig. 2) and the ridge (i.e. a wall thickness of about 3 mm), the groove having a width of 4 mm and a depth 3mm (i.e. a height), and wherein the plurality of grooves are arranged concentrically with respect to the pedestal (comprising substrate support 116, Fig. 1) (para. [0048]). Examiner notes that the labeling of the reference numerals in Yendler Fig. 2 appears to be incorrect and provides corrected notion of the dimensions of the groove and ridge based on what is disclosed in para. [0048] of Yendler. See annotated Fig. 2 of Yendler below.
Further, Yendler teaches that the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) has substantially the same diameter as the substrate/wafer (comprising 114, Fig. 1), wherein the substrate is a semiconductor substrate (para. [0014], claim 1).
Furthermore, Madsen further substantiates that a standard sized semiconductor wafer has a diameter of 200 mm or 300 mm (para. [0003]).
With the above information, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to calculate or approximate the collective (i.e. total) surface area of the plurality of grooves taught in Yendler.
For example, for a standard semiconductor wafer having a diameter of 300 mm the approximate diameter of the base plate of Yendler would be about 300 mm. Thus, the radius R of the whole base plate would be 150 mm.
Since Yendler teaches in para. [0048] that the plurality of grooves having a width of 4mm are concentric with the substrate support and ridge/wall between each groove, wherein the ridge/wall has a thickness of 3 mm (see annotated Fig. 2 of Yendler above), one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that for a 150 mm radius base plate the base plate can be arranged to have 21 ring shaped grooves, each with a width of 4 mm, and 21 ring-shaped ridges, each with a ridge thickness of 3 mm, and a center circular ridge having a radius of 3 mm. See annotated explanation diagram. Note: explanatory drawing is not to scale. Orange rings represent grooves and blue rings represent ridges. The center circular ridge is in white.
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the surface area inside each groove is the sum of a ring-shaped area of the top wall of the groove, the area of an outer radial sidewall of the groove, and the area of the inner radial sidewall of the groove.
The area of the top wall of the groove = area of a ring = (area of a first circle at outer radius Ro) – (area of second circle at inner radius Ri)
The area of a circle A:
A
=
π
r
2
, where r is the radius.
The area of a sidewall of the groove is:
2
π
rh, where r is the radius and h is the height of the groove (disclosed as 3 mm in para. [0048] of Yendler).
Examiner explains example calculation for the surface area of the outermost groove:
To calculate the top ring area of the outermost groove you must first calculate the area of the circle at radius R = 147 mm of the base plate. (Recall the ridge has a thickness of 3 mm, see above annotated explanatory diagram, thus the outer radius of the outermost groove would be at 147 mm).
The area of the circle with R = 147 mm is equal to about 67886.67565 mm2.
Next, you calculate the area of a circle having radius R = 143 mm (recall the groove has a width of 4 mm, thus the inner radius of the outermost groove would be at radius of 143 mm), wherein the area of the circle having radius R = 143 mm is equal to about 64242.42817 mm2.
Next you calculate the area of the ring of the outermost groove by subtracting the area of the circle having radius R = 143 mm from the area of the circle having R = 147.
Top ring area of the outermost groove = 67886.67565 mm2 - 64242.42817 mm2= 3644.2475 mm2.
Next, you calculate the area of the sidewall of the outer radial sidewall of the outermost groove by using equation
2
π
r
h
where r = 147 mm and h is 3 mm, which equals to an area of about 2770.88472 mm2.
Then, you calculate the area of the sidewall of the inner radial sidewall of the outermost groove by computing
2
π
r
h
with r = 143 and h= 3 mm, which equals to an area of about 2695.486497 mm2.
Thus, the surface area of the outermost groove would be the sum of the above calculated areas of the top wall, the outer radial sidewall, and the inner radial sidewall, which equals to approximately 9,110.618695 mm2.
The above process is then iterated to calculate the areas of each of the remaining 20 grooves in the base plate. Then you sum the calculated areas to result in the collective area of the grooves respectively. The results in units of mm2 can then be converted to square inches by using the conversion factor of 645.2 mm2/in2 (i.e. dividing the results in units of mm2 by 645.2 to get a result in units of in2 (square inches).
See below summary table of calculations that examiner has done in Excel.
part
groove #
radius R (in units of mm)
area of the circle (in units of sq. mm)
area of the ring forming the top surface of the groove or ridge (in units of sq. mm)
area of a side wall of the groove (in units of sq mm)
first ridge
150
70685.835
2799.159054
first groove
1
147
67886.676
3644.247478
2770.88472
second ridge
143
64242.428
2667.212163
2695.486497
second groove
2
140
61575.216
3468.31829
2638.937829
third ridge
136
58106.898
2535.265271
2563.539605
third groove
3
133
55571.632
3292.389101
2506.990938
fourth ridge
129
52279.243
2403.31838
2431.592714
fourth groove
4
126
49875.925
3116.459912
2375.044046
fifth ridge
122
46759.465
2271.371489
2299.645822
fifth groove
5
119
44488.094
2940.530724
2243.097155
sixth ridge
115
41547.563
2139.424597
2167.698931
sixth groove
6
112
39408.138
2764.601535
2111.150263
seventh ridge
108
36643.537
2007.477706
2035.75204
seventh groove
7
105
34636.059
2588.672347
1979.203372
eighth ridge
101
32047.387
1875.530814
1903.805148
eighth groove
8
98
30171.856
2412.743158
1847.25648
ninth ridge
94
27759.113
1743.583923
1771.858257
ninth groove
9
91
26015.529
2236.813969
1715.309589
tenth ridge
87
23778.715
1611.637031
1639.911365
tenth groove
10
84
22167.078
2060.884781
1583.362697
eleventh ridge
80
20106.193
1479.69014
1507.964474
eleventh groove
11
77
18626.503
1884.955592
1451.415806
twelfth ridge
73
16741.547
1347.743248
1376.017582
twelfth groove
12
70
15393.804
1709.026404
1319.468915
thirteenth ridge
66
13684.778
1215.796357
1244.070691
thirteenth groove
13
63
12468.981
1533.097215
1187.522023
fourteenth ridge
59
10935.884
1083.849465
1112.123799
fourteenth groove
14
56
9852.0346
1357.168026
1055.575132
fifteenth ridge
52
8494.8665
951.902574
980.1769079
fifteenth groove
15
49
7542.964
1181.238838
923.6282402
sixteenth ridge
45
6361.7251
819.9556826
848.2300165
sixteenth groove
16
42
5541.7694
1005.309649
791.6813487
seventeenth ridge
38
4536.4598
688.0087911
716.283125
seventeenth groove
17
35
3848.451
829.3804605
659.7344573
eighteenth ridge
31
3019.0705
556.0618997
584.3362336
eighteenth groove
18
28
2463.0086
653.4512719
527.7875658
nineteenth ridge
24
1809.5574
424.1150082
452.3893421
nineteenth groove
19
21
1385.4424
477.5220833
395.8406744
twentieth ridge
17
907.92028
292.1681168
320.4424507
twentieth groove
20
14
615.75216
301.5928947
263.8937829
twenty-first ridge
10
314.15927
160.2212253
188.4955592
twenty-first groove
21
7
153.93804
125.6637061
131.9468915
center circle
3
28.274334
28.27433388
56.54866776
total area of the grooves (in units of sq. mm)
98903.62
total surface area of grooves (in units of sq. in)
153.2914
Thus, Yendler teaches (and as further substantiated by Madsen teaching the standard semiconductor wafer diameter) as applied above that the collective/total surface area of the grooves is approximately 153.29 square inches for a 300 mm diameter base plate configured to support a 300 mm diameter standard semiconductor wafer for at least one disclosed embodiment of Yendler.
The examiner further calculated the collective/total surface area of a base plate having 200 mm diameter configured to support a 200 mm diameter standard semiconductor wafer. Such a configuration would have 14 ring-shaped grooves and 14 ring-shaped ridges with a center circular ridge of radius r = 2 mm. See summarized calculation table below.
part
groove #
radius R (in units of mm)
area of the circle (in units of sq. mm)
area of the ring forming the top surface of the groove or ridge (in units of sq. mm)
area of a side wall of the groove (in units of sq mm)
first ridge
100
31415.927
1856.681258
first groove
1
97
29559.245
2387.610417
1828.406924
second ridge
93
27171.635
1724.734367
1753.008701
second groove
2
90
25446.9
2211.681228
1696.460033
third ridge
86
23235.219
1592.787475
1621.061809
third groove
3
83
21642.432
2035.75204
1564.513141
fourth ridge
79
19606.68
1460.840584
1489.114918
fourth groove
4
76
18145.839
1859.822851
1432.56625
fifth ridge
72
16286.016
1328.893692
1357.168026
fifth groove
5
69
14957.123
1683.893662
1300.619359
sixth ridge
65
13273.229
1196.946801
1225.221135
sixth groove
6
62
12076.282
1507.964474
1168.672467
seventh ridge
58
10568.318
1064.99991
1093.274243
seventh groove
7
55
9503.3178
1332.035285
1036.725576
eight ridge
51
8171.2825
933.0530181
961.327352
eighth groove
8
48
7238.2295
1156.106097
904.7786842
ninth ridge
44
6082.1234
801.1061267
829.3804605
ninth groove
9
41
5281.0173
980.1769079
772.8317928
tenth ridge
37
4300.8403
669.1592352
697.4335691
tenth groove
10
34
3631.6811
804.2477193
640.8849013
eleventh ridge
30
2827.4334
537.2123438
565.4866776
eleventh groove
11
27
2290.221
628.3185307
508.9380099
twelfth ridge
23
1661.9025
405.2654523
433.5397862
twelfth groove
12
20
1256.6371
452.3893421
376.9911184
thirteenth ridge
16
804.24772
273.3185609
301.5928947
thirteenth groove
13
13
530.92916
276.4601535
245.044227
fourteenth ridge
9
254.469
141.3716694
169.6460033
fourteenth groove
14
6
113.09734
100.5309649
113.0973355
fifteenth ridge (circular center)
2
12.566371
12.56637061
37.69911184
total area of the grooves (in units of sq. mm)
43542.47
total surface area of grooves (in units of sq. in)
67.48679
Thus, Yendler teaches (and as further substantiated by Madsen teaching the standard semiconductor wafer diameter) as applied above that the collective/total surface area of the grooves is approximately 67.78679 square inches for a 200 mm diameter base plate configured to support a 200 mm diameter standard semiconductor wafer for at least one disclosed embodiment of Yendler.
Additionally, Yendler further teaches that the surface area of the contact surface (256B, Fig. 2) affects the heat conductivity and heat flux in the base plate (comprising heat transfer assembly 164, Fig. 1 and 2) (para. [0043]-[0045]), wherein one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that adjusting the contact area 256B would have a similar effect as adjusting the collective surface area of the grooves 231. Yendler additionally teaches that the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) is used to selectively optimize over a broad ranges of temperature and process parameters, the thermal properties of the pedestal (comprising substrate support 116, Fig. 1) (para. [0032]).
Furthermore, NPL art Schaschke substantiates that the heat flux is the transfer of heat energy from one place to another per unit time per unit cross-sectional area over which heat transfer takes place, wherein heat transfer calculations are based on the area of heating surface (page 178).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the collective surface area of the grooves is a result-effective variable which affects the heat flux (i.e. transfer of heat energy) via the grooves in the pedestal. Without showing unexpected results, the collective surface area of the grooves cannot be considered critical.
Accordingly, regarding claim 4, 6, 11, 13, 19, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize by routine experimentation, the collective surface area of the plurality of grooves formed in the base plate, in view of teachings of Yendler and substantiated by Madsen and Schaschke, in the apparatus Modified Oohashi to obtain the desired or optimized heat flux or heat conductivity in the pedestal for optimized substrate processing and temperature control (Yendler: para. [0043]-[0045]) because Yendler teaches the base plate is used to selectively optimize over a broad range of temperatures and process parameter the thermal properties of the pedestal (para. [0032]).
Furthermore, the courts have ruled where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP § 2144.05 II. A.
Regarding claim 7, 14, 20, Modified Oohashi (and further substantiated by Madsen and Schaschke) as applied above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, 5, 6; claim 10, 12, 13; claim 18; respectively, as applied above including a plurality of ridges (Yendler: comprising embossed surface 258B, Fig. 2) formed on the surface of the base plate (Yendler: comprising 258, Fig. 2), but does not explicitly teach wherein the ridges have a collective surface area of about 40 square inches to about 50 square inches.
However, Yendler teaches the surface area of the ridges (i.e. the embossed surface area) is 5% to 50% to total area of the surface area of the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1, including the contact surface 258B, Fig. 2) (para. [0044]).
Further, Yendler teaches that the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) has substantially the same diameter as the substrate/wafer (comprising 114, Fig. 1), wherein the substrate is a semiconductor substrate (para. [0014], claim 1).
Furthermore, Madsen further substantiates that a standard sized semiconductor wafer has a diameter of 200 mm or 300 mm (para. [0003]).
With the above information one of ordinary skill in the art can approximate/calculate the collective surface area of the ridges taught in Yendler.
Thus, for a pedestal configured to support a standard wafer of 300 mm diameter, the total surface area of the ridges would be equal to 5% to 50% of the total surface area for a 300 mm diameter (i.e. radius of 150 mm) base plate, wherein the surface area of a circle of radius R = 150 mm would be approximately 70,685.83471 mm2 which converts to about 109.5565 square inches.
Accordingly, 5% to 50% of the total surface area would represent the total contact surface area of the ridges which calculates to approximately a range of 5.477824 to 54.77824 square inches, for a base plate having a diameter of 300 mm and configured to support a 300 mm diameter wafer. Examiner notes that the calculated range overlaps with the claimed range of “about 40 square inches to about 50 square inches.”
Further, for a pedestal configured to support a standard wafer of 200 mm diameter, the total surface area of the ridges would be equal to 5% to 50% of the total surface area for a 200 mm diameter (i.e. radius of 100 mm) base plate, wherein the surface area of a circle of radius R = 100 mm would be approximately 31,415.92654 mm2 which converts to about 48.69176 square inches.
Accordingly, 5% to 50% of the total surface area would represent the total contact surface area of the ridges which calculates to approximately to a range of 2.434588 to 24.34588 square inches, for a base plate having a diameter of 200 mm and configured to support a 200 mm diameter wafer.
Furthermore, Yendler further teaches that the surface area of the ridges (comprising 256B, Fig. 2) affects the heat conductivity and heat flux in the base plate (comprising heat transfer assembly 164, Fig. 1 and 2) (para. [0043]-[0045]). Yendler additionally teaches that the base plate (comprising 164, Fig. 1) is used to selectively optimize over a broad ranges of temperature and process parameters, the thermal properties of the pedestal (comprising substrate support 116, Fig. 1) (para. [0032]).
Furthermore, NPL art Schaschke substantiates that the heat flux is the transfer of heat energy from one place to another per unit time per unit cross-sectional area over which heat transfer takes place, wherein heat transfer calculations are based on the area of heating surface (page 178).
Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that the collective surface area of the ridges formed in the base plate is a result-effective variable which affects the heat flux (i.e. transfer of heat energy) via the ridges in the pedestal. Without showing unexpected results, the collective surface area of the ridges cannot be considered critical.
Accordingly, regarding claim 7, 14, 20, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize by routine experimentation, the collective surface area of the ridges formed in the base plate, in view of teaches of Yendler and substantiated by Madsen and Schaschke, in the apparatus of Modified Oohashi to obtain the desired or optimized heat flux or heat conductivity in the pedestal for optimized substrate processing (Yendler: para. [0043]-[0045]) because Yendler teaches the base plate is used to selectively optimize over a broad range of temperatures and process parameter the thermal properties of the pedestal (para. [0032]). See relevant case law cited above.
Additionally, regarding claim 7, 14, 20, Examiner further notes that ranges (5.477824 to 54.77824 square inches) calculated from the prior art for a substrate having 300 mm diameter overlaps with the claimed range of “about 40 square inches to about 50 square inches.”
Furthermore, the courts have held that the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)(See MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohashi et al. (US 2006/0207725 A1 hereinafter “Oohashi”) in view of Gaff et al. (US 2013/0068750 A1 hereinafter “Gaff”), Parkhe et al. (US 2008/0089001 A1 hereinafter “Parkhe”), Yendler et al. (US 2004/0226515 A1 hereinafter “Yendler”), Tavassoli et al. (US 2012/0091104 A1 hereinafter “Tavassoli”), Hayashi (US 2019/0348316 A1) and Kamitani et al. (US 2008/0037194 A1 hereinafter “Kamitani”) as applied to claims 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, 10, 12, 15, 17, 18 above and further in view of (JP2001110833A IDS art hereinafter “Ono” and referring to Applicant provided English Machine Translation) or alternatively Moroz et al. (US 2005/0068736 A1 hereinafter “Moroz”).
Regarding claim 21, Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler, Tavassoli, Hayashi, and Kamitani {hereinafter “Modified Oohashi”} as applied above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 and 5.
Modified Oohashi as applied above does not explicitly teach a plurality of radial grooves separating at least a portion of the ridges.
Recall that Oohashi was modified in independent claim 1 to include a plurality of grooves as taught by Yendler which was further modified by teachings of Hayashi and Kamitani to provide a pathway to deliver backside/thermal control gas to the rear/bottom/backside surface of the substrate for substrate temperature control as explained in detail in claim 1 rejection above.
However, Yendler teaches that the grooves and ridges formed on the base plate can have various different configurations (para. [0049]), wherein the arrangements/patterns can be adjusted/selected to adjust heat flux in specific regions of the pedestal (para. [0045], [0047]).
Additionally, Ono teaches a plurality of grooves include radial grooves (comprising 14a, Fig. 2) separating at least a portion of the ridges (i.e. the hatched regions shown in Fig. 2). Ono teaches that such a configuration enables efficient supply of heat transfer gas from center/inside to edge/outside (para. [0024]).
Alternatively, Moroz teaches a plurality of grooves include radial grooves (comprising radial ones of grooves 115, Fig. 6 and 7) separating at least a portion of the ridges (comprising the weight spaces shown in Fig. 6 and 7) (para. [0032]-[0033]). Moroz teaches that such a configuration enables distributing a fluid for temperature/thermal control across the plate (para. [0033]-[0036]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a plurality of radial grooves separating at least a portion of the ridges in view of teachings of Ono or alternatively Moroz in the apparatus of Modified Oohashi because Ono teaches that providing radial grooves separating at least a portion of the ridges is a known suitable alternative configuration of grooves in a pedestal for enabling efficient supply of heat transfer gas from center to edge of the pedestal (Ono: para. [0024]) for temperature/thermal control of the pedestal and/or substrate; or alternatively because Moroz teaches that providing radial grooves separating at least a portion of the ridges is a known suitable alternative configuration of grooves in a pedestal for enabling distributing a fluid for temperature/thermal control across the pedestal/plate (Moroz: para. [0033]-[0036]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 26 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, due to new grounds of rejection/combination of prior art of record necessitated by Applicant's amendments as further discussed below.
Applicant argues (remarks page 9-10) regarding U.S.C. 103 rejection of independent claims 1, 10, 17, the prior art of record alone or in combination fail to teach or suggest at least the amended claim limitation "a plurality of openings extending from a recessed surface of the plurality of grooves to a plurality of holes formed in the top plate" as currently claimed in amended claims. Additionally, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to form additional openings in the heat spreader plate of Yendler because Yendler para. [0045] teaches the heat spreader plate reduces temperature non-uniformities caused by features formed in the substrate support ..(e.g.guide holes 188, gas conduit 149, …and the like) wherein adding additional openings/features would increase the temperature non-uniformities.
Examiner responds independent claim 1, 10, 17 rejections have been modified as necessitated by Applicant’s amendments to the claims. Currently claim 1, 10, 17 is rejected under U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oohashi in view of Gaff, Parkhe, Yendler, Tavassoli, Hayashi, and Kamitani as discussed in detail in claims rejections above wherein teachings/suggestions of Hayashi and Kamitani were cited to address amended claim limitations "a plurality of openings extending from a recessed surface of the plurality of grooves to a plurality of holes formed in the top plate" as explained in detail in claims rejections above. Regarding applicant’s arguments that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to form additional openings in the heat spreader plate of Yendler because Yendler para. [0045] teaches the heat spreader plate reduces temperature non-uniformities caused by features formed in the substrate support...(e.g.guide holes 188, gas conduit 149, …and the like) wherein adding additional openings/features would increase the temperature non-uniformities, examiner respectfully disagrees and explains that Yendler does not explicitly teach away from adding additional features or openings. Yendler teaches that the addition of the grooves enables optimizing temperature non-uniformities (para. [0045]) wherein one of ordinary skill in the art, in light of teachings of Yendler, would configure the grooves to be in a desired configuration/design/placement to address any temperature non-uniformities caused by openings in the grooves.
Further, in view of Examiner’s remarks regarding independent claims 1, 10, 17, the dependent claims 2-9, 11-16, and 18-21 are also rejected, as detailed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Matyushkin et al. (US 2012/0285619 A1) teaches a pedestal (comprising 20, Fig. 1 and 6) comprising ridges/mesas 30 with gaps 32 formed on a bottom surface of a plate (comprising ceramic puck 24, Fig. 1 and 2) wherein the gas are filled with a gas to regulate heat transfer rates from the backside surface 28 of the plate 24 to other underlying surfaces of other structures (para. [0022], [0035]).
/LAUREEN CHAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1716 /RAM N KACKAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716