DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment received April 20, 2026. The amendment has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0311373) in view of Nade (US 2017/0075444) and Moon et al. (US 2016/0234362).
(Re Claim 1) Lee teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display device comprising a first display region (upper region corresponding to area SA1) and a second display region (lower region corresponding to area NSA2+SA2),
wherein the first display region and the second display region are continuously provided (Figs.1-2),
wherein the first display region comprises a plurality of first light-emitting elements and a plurality of first photodetectors (Fig. 3B, light emitting pixels PXL, detectors PHS1),
wherein the second display region comprises a plurality of second light-emitting elements and a plurality of second photodetectors (Fig. 3C, PXL and PHS2),
wherein a first photodetector in the first photodetectors is configured to receive first light emitted from a first light-emitting element in the first light-emitting elements (¶63),
wherein a second photodetector in the second photodetectors is configured to receive second light emitted from a second light-emitting element in the second light-emitting elements (¶63),
wherein the first light-emitting elements and the first photodetectors are arranged in a matrix in the first display region (Figs. 2-3C),
wherein the second light-emitting elements and the second photodetectors are arranged in a matrix in the second display region (Figs. 2-3C), and
wherein the second photodetectors are arranged in a higher density than the first photodetectors (Figs. 3B-3C);
and wherein the second display region is configured to capture an image of a fingerprint (the region SA including SA1 and SA2 is configured as a fingerprint sensor/imager, see ¶¶51,116,147).
Lee is silent regarding a housing. A PHOSITA would recognize that Lee’s display is conventionally packaged in a housing to provide protection and structural support and that the packaging/housing may also be used to improve aesthetics, look, and feel of the display and would be motivated to look to related art to teach suitable means for packaging displays in housings. Related art from Nade teaches a display is packaged in a housing (see Figs. 1A and 3A) and that the display layers extending to the lateral sides can be curved along lateral sides of the housing. Related art from Moon also similarly teaches packaging a display in a housing (see Figs. 2A-5A) and that the display layers extending to the lateral sides can be curved along lateral sides of the housing. A PHOSITA would find it obvious to package Lee’s display in a curved housing to provide protection and structural support while also improving aesthetics, look, and feel of the display as this is conventional in the art. Then the first display region SA1 will be along a first surface of the housing, e.g. along the top, and the second display region NSA2+SA2 will be along a second surface of the housing, e.g. along the left or right side, then the first surface and the second surface are continuously provided and have different normal directions when packaging the display in the curved housing according to Nade and Moon, the primary/main surface and lateral/curved surfaces have different normal directions. From this, then the second photodetectors provided along the second surface of the housing are arranged in a higher density than the first photodetectors provided along the first surface of the housing. Noting “provided along” does not require these features to be in a particular region or on/in a particular surface, or contact any particular feature, or require any particular proximity to another feature. The photodetectors PHS2 in region SA2 are still “provided along” the right and left sides.
(Re Claim 2) wherein the first light-emitting elements are arranged in a higher density than the second light-emitting elements (Figs. 3B and 3C respectively show the same relative arrangement density as Applicant’s Fig. 1B:11a some of the pixels have detectors and in 1C:11b all of the pixels have detectors thus reducing the effective pixel area density).
(Re Claim 7) wherein the second surface comprises a curving surface (when packaging the display in the curved housing according to Nade and Moon, the second surface is curved).
(Re Claim 13) Lee teaches an electronic device comprising:
a display device comprising a first display region, a second display region, and a third display region, wherein the first display region, the second display region, and the third display region are continuously provided, wherein the first display region comprises a plurality of first light-emitting elements and a plurality of first photodetectors, wherein the second display region comprises a plurality of second light-emitting elements and a plurality of second photodetectors, wherein the third display region comprises a plurality of third light-emitting elements and a plurality of third photodetectors, wherein a first photodetector in the first photodetectors is configured to receive first light emitted from a first light-emitting element in the first light-emitting elements, wherein a second photodetector in the second photodetectors is configured to receive second light emitted from a second light-emitting element in the second light-emitting elements, wherein a third photodetector in the third photodetectors is configured to receive third light emitted from a third light-emitting element in the third light-emitting elements, wherein the first light-emitting elements and the first photodetectors are arranged in a matrix in the first display region, wherein the second light-emitting elements and the second photodetectors are arranged in a matrix in the second display region, wherein the third light-emitting elements and the third photodetectors are arranged in a matrix in the third display region, and wherein the second photodetectors and the third photodetectors are arranged in a higher density than the first photodetectors, and wherein the second display region and the third display region are configured to capture an image of a fingerprint (see claim 1 rejection above, the rejection of claim 13 is analogous to the rejection of claim 1, in Fig. 2 the first display region SA1 will be along a first surface of the housing discussed below, e.g. along the top, and the second display region: left half of NSA2+SA2 will be along a second surface of the housing, e.g. along the left side, the third region: right half of NSA2+SA2, along the right side, the remainder of the claim limitations are the same as in claim 1 and rely on the same elements of Lee, PHS1, PHS2, etc., see Figs. 3B-3C, the region SA including SA1 and SA2 is configured as a fingerprint sensor/imager, see ¶¶51,116,147).
Lee is silent regarding a housing. A PHOSITA would recognize that Lee’s display is conventionally packaged in a housing to provide protection and structural support and that the packaging/housing may also be used to improve aesthetics, look, and feel of the display and would be motivated to look to related art to teach suitable means for packaging displays in housings. Related art from Nade teaches a display is packaged in a housing (see Figs. 1A and 3A) and that the display layers extending to the lateral sides can be curved along lateral sides of the housing. Related art from Moon also similarly teaches packaging a display in a housing (see Figs. 2A-5A) and that the display layers extending to the lateral sides can be curved along lateral sides of the housing. A PHOSITA would find it obvious to package Lee’s display in a curved housing to provide protection and structural support while also improving aesthetics, look, and feel of the display as this is conventional in the art. Then the first display region SA1 will be along a first surface of the housing, e.g. along the top side surface, and the second display region (left half of NSA2+SA2) will be along a second surface of the housing, e.g. along a left side, then the third region (right half of NSA2+SA2) will be along a third surface, e.g. along the right side, and the three surfaces are continuously provided and have different normal directions when packaging the display in the curved housing according to Nade and Moon, the primary/main surface and lateral/curved surfaces have different normal directions. From this, then the second photodetectors provided along the second surface of the housing and the third photodetectors provided along the third surface of the housing are arranged in a higher density than the first photodetectors provided along the first surface of the housing. Noting “provided along” does not require these features to be in a particular region or on/in a particular surface, or contact any particular feature, or require any particular proximity to another feature. The photodetectors PHS2 in region SA2 are still “provided along” the right and left sides.
(Re Claim 14) wherein the first light-emitting elements are arranged in a higher density than the second light-emitting elements (Figs. 3B and 3C respectively show the same relative arrangement density as Applicant’s Fig. 1B:11a some of the pixels have detectors and in 1C:11b all of the pixels have detectors thus reducing the effective pixel area density).
Claims 3-5 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US 2020/0311373), Nade (US 2017/0075444), and Moon et al. (US 2016/0234362) as applied above, and further in view of Bouthinon et al. (US 2021/0233975) and Akiyama (US 2013/0075761).
(Re Claims 3 and 15) wherein the first photodetector and the second photodetector comprise active layers comprising a first organic compound, and wherein the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element comprise light-emitting layers comprising a second organic compound.
(Re Claims 4 and 16) wherein each of the first photodetector and the second photodetector comprises a stacked structure in which a first pixel electrode, an active layer, and a common electrode are stacked, wherein each of the first light-emitting element and the second light-emitting element comprises a stacked structure in which a second pixel electrode, a light-emitting layer, and the common electrode are stacked, wherein the first pixel electrode and the second pixel electrode are provided on a same plane, and wherein the active layer and the light-emitting layer comprise different organic compounds.
(Re Claim 5) according to wherein the common electrode is configured to be supplied with a first potential, wherein the first pixel electrode is configured to be supplied with a second potential lower than the first potential, and wherein the second pixel electrode is configured to be supplied with a third potential higher than the first potential.
Lee is silent regarding the limitations of claims 3-5, 15, and 16 as Lee apparently assembles silicon photodetectors on different layers of the OLED display and does not provide details of the physical cross sections of the OLEDs with respect to their individual layers. A PHOSITA motivated to make, use, and further improve upon Lee’s display would be motivated to look to related art to teach details of OLED and photodetector integrations. Related art from Bouthinon teaches (see Fig. 1 and supporting text) the OLED 16 and the photodetector 18 can both be fabricated from organic materials and on a same layer and share parts of the structure such as the bank layer 20, common electrode 22, etc. A PHOSITA also would find in related art from Akiyama (e.g. see Figs. 3-23 and supporting text) that the OLED 200 and the photodetector 300 can both be fabricated from organic materials and on a same layer and share parts of the structure such as the bank layer 302, common electrode 607, etc. In view of Bouthinon and Akiyama a PHOSITA would recognize numerous advantages of forming the OLEDs and photodetectors both from organics as this simplifies manufacturing, and by forming the emitters and detectors on and in the same layers at the same time and at the same elevation in the display thereby further simplifying fabrication and reducing cost. Other advantages include making thinner and more lightweight displays and the ability to form flexible or bendable displays since the organics allow for flexibility while a single crystal silicon photodetector cannot be made flexible. Thus a PHOSITA would find it obvious to use an OLED with organic photodetector combination as taught by Bouthinon and Akiyama in Lee’s display.
When forming the photodetectors and light emitters according to Bouthinon and Akiyama, it is obvious all of the photodetectors will be formed simultaneously and from the same organic materials and the OLEDs (each individual color, e.g. RGB) will also all be formed simultaneously and from the same material as this is how OLED displays are conventionally manufactured at low cost. Each photodetector having a stacked structure of a pixel electrode, an active layer and a common electrode and each OLED having a pixel electrode, light-emitting layer, and the common electrode, the pixel electrodes on a same layer, and the detector and OLED using different active/emitting layers (Bouthinon: pixel electrodes 14/15 on layer 58, active/emitting layers 42/30 ¶¶90,113-115, common 22; Akiyama: pixel electrodes 201/301 on layer 106, active/emitting layers 305/205 ¶¶78-82, common 307/607).
With respect to the limitations of claim 5, the structural requirements are met by Bouthinon and Akiyama as both teach separately addressable pixel electrodes and a common electrode, and in this configuration, each pixel electrode may be set to a different potential with respect to the common electrode. Akiyama shows (e.g. Fig. 4) the OLED connected to 126/108 while the detector is connected to 115/107. One would conventionally bias the pixel electrode of the OLED with a voltage suitable to make electrons flow into the OLED to cause it to emit light and the required voltage depends on the materials of the OLED. The common electrode is typically at zero volts (e.g. Vss or ground). The detector will create a small current proportional to the intensity of incident light and in order to allow current to flow out of the detector to be sensed, its corresponding pixel electrode must be held at a suitable potential to allow for current to flow in the correct/desired direction. Thus, it would be obvious to set the OLED pixel electrode to a higher potential than the common and the detector pixel electrode to a lower potential than the common because this would cause the current to flow in the correct directions into/out of each device.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but they are not persuasive. The rejections above have been updated to address the amended claims. Applicant argues the mapping used in the rejections with respect to Lee is unreasonable. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claim language is still quite broad with respect to the various “regions” and regions or features “provided along” surfaces. A region or feature may be provided along a curved surface and the region or feature need not be in or on the curved part of the curved surface, and may still be construed as along the surface. As claimed, “the first surface and the second surface are continuously provided and have different normal directions” does not require the entire first surface to have only one direction and the entire second surface to have only one, different direction, a portion of either surface can meet the limitation. The claimed “the second photodetectors provided along the second surface of the housing” does not require the second photodetectors to located in/on the curved portion of the second surface or require any particular proximity with a region, edge, or feature. From Fig. 2, the PHS2 features still run along the left and right sides of the display. A walking path may be provided along a river and not be in the river or on the sloped bank of the river, nor does it need to be a specific distance from the river.
Applicant argues, without evidence, that Lee’s display cannot be modified in view of Moon or Nade to have a curved housing and surfaces because Lee’s housing is not shaped according to Moon’s and Nade’s housings. This argument ignores the fact that the rejection is under §103 and the housing and curved aspects of Moon’s and Nade’s display and housing are the features being incorporated and modified in Lee.
Applicant argues the second display region of Lee is somehow not configured to capture an image of a fingerprint and points to region a region NSA that is not used in the rejections. The claim language does not require the entirety of the second region to be configured as a fingerprint imager. The claim language does not require the photodetectors to be located on the curved portion, only along the second surface. It is suggested Applicant define the regions, surfaces, and corresponding relationships between the regions, surfaces and features thereof more clearly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIK T. K. PETERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898