DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 09/17/2025, addressing claims 1 and 4-8 rejection from the final office action (07/30/2025), by amending claims 1 and 8 and cancelling claim 7 is entered and will be addressed below.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 9 remains withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretations
The newly added limitation “wherein the deviation detection sensor is arranged on a straight line in the X direction or the Y direction that passes through the center position of the two-row and two-column layout“ of claims 1 and 8, however, Applicants’ Specification states that “he stage 22 is configured to be rotatable with the rotation of the support member 23” (Fig. 7, [0038], 6th sentence), the rotating position of the stage 22 is not defined. Therefore, by rotating the stage to certain angle, a sensor would be “arranged on a straight line in the X direction or the Y direction that passes through the center position of the two-row and two-column layout“ from the top view. Claims 1 and 8 will be examined accordingly. Note the line could also be extending to outside of the four stages.
The “wherein each of the four stages is configured to finely move in at least an XY plane” of claim 4, Applicants’ Specification discloses “The term “finely” used herein refers to about 5 mm or less” [0035] and will be examined inclusive this interpretation. Note the wafer size is 300 mm ([0017]).
The “wherein two wafers placed on two stages located in a same column among the four stages are loaded into or unloaded from the process module” of claims 5-7, the action of placing two wafers on two stages is an intended use of the apparatus. Claims 5-7 includes simultaneously placing two wafers onto two stages, or sequentially placing one wafer on one stage and then placing another wafer on another stage, or using two of the multi wafer robot arms to transfer two wafers on two stages.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis et al. (US 4687542, same as newly submitted IDS JP H06-029369, hereafter ‘542), in view of Todaka (US 20070034479, hereafter ‘479), Topping et al. (US 20220172967, hereafter ‘967), and Rice et al. (US 20190131167, hereafter ‘167).
‘542 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: FIG. 5 shows a sample further alternative embodiment wherein two load locks, each containing a wafer carrier 10, are both connected to a process module 102 which contains four process stations 104 (col. 14, lines 64-67, includes the claimed “A process module comprising”):
The process station 104 can now be sealed off from the main process module 102, and separate single-wafer processing of the wafer can begin (col. 16, lines 22-24, therefore, each station 104 is a stage, includes the claimed “a plurality of stages, wherein the plurality of stages consists of four stages arranged in a two-row and two-column layout inside the process module, and wherein a row interval and a column interval that constitute the two-row and two-column layout have different dimensions” and as shown in Fig. 5).
Claim 8: FIG. 5 shows a sample further alternative embodiment wherein two load locks, each containing a wafer carrier 10, are both connected to a process module 102 which contains four process stations 104. When the transfer arm 28 reaches through the port 30 from a load lock 12 into the process module 102 … (col. 14, line 64 to col. 15, line 1, includes the claimed “A substrate processing system comprising”):
The process station 104 can now be sealed off from the main process module 102, and separate single-wafer processing of the wafer can begin (col. 16, lines 22-24, therefore, each station 104 is a stage), a vacuum load lock chamber 12 (col. 7, line 53, includes the claimed “a plurality of process modules connected to a vacuum transfer chamber including a wafer transfer mechanism, wherein each of the plurality of process modules includes a plurality of stages, wherein the plurality of stages consists of four stages arranged in a two-row and two-column layout, and a Y-direction pitch between two stages of the four stages arranged in the two-row and two-column layout in a direction along a surface facing the vacuum transfer chamber is same between a first process module and a second module among the plurality of process modules, and an X-direction pitch between two stages of the four stages arranged in the two-row and two-column layout in a direction perpendicular to the surface facing the vacuum transfer chamber differs between the first process module and the second process module” and as shown in Fig. 5).
‘542 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) a rotation arm including four end effectors, each of which is configured to hold a wafer to be placed on each of the four stages, and a base member including a rotation shaft located at a center position of the two-row and two-column layout, wherein the four end effectors are connected to the base member to form an X shape and, in the X shape, a dimension in a Y direction, which corresponds to the row interval, and a dimension in an X direction, which corresponds to the column interval, are different from each other, and
(1B) a deviation detection sensor configured to detect a deviation of the wafer each of rotationally symmetric positions within the row interval or within the column interval on a rotation trajectory of the wafer held by the rotation arm,
(1C) wherein the deviation detection sensor is arranged on a straight line in the X direction or the Y direction that passes through the center position of the two-row and two-column layout.
Claim 8: (8A) a rotation arm including four end effectors, each of which is configured to hold a wafer to be placed on each of the four stages, and a base member including a rotation shaft located at a center position of the two-row and two-column layout, wherein the four end effectors are connected to the base member to form an X shape and, in the X shape, a dimension in a Ydirection, which corresponds to the Y-direction pitch, and a dimension in an X direction, which corresponds to the X-direction pitch are different from each other; and
(8B) a deviation detection sensor configured to detect a deviation of the wafer at each of rotationally symmetric positions within the Y-direction pitch or within the X-direction pitch on a rotation trajectory of the wafer held by the rotation arm,
(8C) wherein the deviation detection sensor is arranged on a straight line in the X direction or the Y direction that passes through the center position of the two-row and two-column layout.
Claim 4: wherein each of the four stages is configured to finely move in at least an XY plane according to a position of the wafer detected by the deviation detection sensor.
‘479 is an analogous art in the field of Multi-station Workpiece Processors, Methods Of Processing Semiconductor Workpieces Within Multi-station Workpiece Processors, And Methods Of Moving Semiconductor Workpieces Within Multi-station Workpiece Processors (title). ‘479 teaches that Referring to FIGS. 1-3, engagement arms 25 are mounted for rotation about an axis of rotation 26. In the depicted preferred embodiment, rotation axis 26 is defined in part by an exemplary preferred central plate 28 to which engagement arms 25 are mounted. Exemplary engagement arms 25 are depicted as comprising a respective first portion 30 extending generally radially relative to axis of rotation 26 and a second portion 32 extending generally perpendicular to axis of rotation 26 … An indexing motor or mechanism 36 (FIG. 3) advantageously includes a drive shaft 38 to which central plate 28 is ideally removably secured and defining of axis 26 ([0033], the four second portions 32 corresponds to the four end effectors), surfaces 42 (i.e., FIGS. 3 and 4) of upwardly projecting workpiece engaging portions 40 constitute an exemplary such portion for engaging an exemplary workpiece 5 (FIG. 4) ([0037]), for the purpose of precise positioning ([0004]).
In case Applicants argue that the transfer arm assembly 106 of ‘542 is in the center of the four process stations 104 and is incompatible with a rotary arm with four end effectors, this is further rejection by ‘967. Note ‘479 does not show the robot arm location ([0053]).
‘967 is an analogous art in the field of WAFER PLACEMENT CORRECTION IN INDEXED MULTI-STATION PROCESSING CHAMBERS (title), Semiconductor processing tools typically have one or more chambers, each including one or more stations. Each station may have a pedestal for supporting a wafer thereupon during semiconductor processing operations. In some semiconductor processing tools, a single chamber may include a plurality of stations/pedestals. Such multi-station chambers may include, in some instances, a rotational indexer which can be used to transfer wafers from station/pedestal to station/pedestal within the chamber in between various semiconductor processing operations ([0002]). ‘967 teaches that a wafer handling robot 746 ([0087], Fig. 7 shows the robot is outside the multi-station chamber 702, particularly outside of the four stations 704-1 to 704-4).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have re-arranged the robot assembly 106 from the center of the four stations of ‘542 to the outside of the four stations, as taught by ‘967, for its suitability of transferring wafers with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. Furthermore, to have added engagement arms 25 with a center shaft 38 of ‘479 to each of the vacuum process station 104 of ‘542 (the limitations of 1A and 8A), for the purpose of precise positioning, as taught by ‘479 ([0004]). Note the arms 25 arrangement has to match the layout of in the process module 102 of Fig. 5 of ‘542 to function for wafer engagement, i.e. different X and Y dimension/size/interval.
‘967 further teaches that the wafer handling robot knows, via position sensors, the location of the end effector associated with a centered placement of a wafer on the pedestal ([0063], 4th sentence), The chamber 702 is also equipped with an AWC system 742 which has, in this example, two optical sensors 744 that are configured to register when edges of a wafer, such as wafer 736 supported by an end effector 750 and robot arm 748 of a wafer handling robot 746, intersect with an optical beam emitted by either optical sensor 744 to allow for determinations to be made as to the center of the wafer 736 relative to the AWC system 742 (Fig. 7, [0087]), If, however, an end effector offset of ~2 mm in the X direction and +3 mm in the Y direction is determined to be needed, coupled with a pedestal offset of +1 mm in the X direction and ?2 mm in the Y direction, then the wafer handling robot could potentially perform three discrete (X,Y) translation operations, e.g., (0 mm, 400 mm), followed by (~2 mm, 3 mm), followed by (1 mm, ~2 mm) (although any order of such translations may be pursued—the end result is the same) ([0118], 3rd sentence, i.e. “finely move”), for the purpose of precise handling ([0118], 1st sentence).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added position sensor and fine adjustment capability of ‘967, to the engagement arms 25 of ‘479 and then combined with ‘452 (the limitations of 1B, 8B and 4), for the purpose of precise handling, as taught by ‘967 ([0118], 1st sentence).
‘167 is an analogous art in the field of Apparatus and methods to process one or more wafers are described. A plurality of process stations are arranged in a circular configuration around a rotational axis (abstract), for ALD or CVD ([0003]), rotatable structure can rotate to move the wafers on the heaters to the next environment (90° rotation for four stations, 120° rotation if three stations) for processing ([0038], last sentence, similar to index of ‘479, and ‘967, which is discrete steps in rotation). ‘167 teaches that a the connection to the power source allows continuous rotation of the support assembly 200 without tangling or breaking the wires 253a, 253b (Fig. 20, [0065]).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the indexing rotation of the combination of ‘542, ‘479, and ‘967 with a continuous rotation capability of ‘167, for the purpose of finer control and to avoid wire breaking, as taught by ‘167. As a result, depending on the angle of rotation, the optical sensors 744 would have been on “a straight line in the X direction or the Y direction that passes through the center position of the two-row and two-column layout” (the limitations of 1C and 8C), see claim interpretation above.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘452, ‘479, ‘967, and ‘167, as being applied to claims 1 and 4 rejection above, further in view of BABAYAN et al. (US 20170088949, previously cited, hereafter ‘949).
The combination of ‘452, ‘479, ‘967, and ‘167 does not teach the limitations of:
Claims 5-6: wherein two wafers placed on two stages located in a same column among the four stages are loaded into or unloaded from the process module.
‘949 is an analogous art in the field of a semiconductor processing apparatus (abstract). ‘949 teaches that The processing system 500 includes a processing platform 502 having a plurality of processing chambers 506. The processing platform 502 is coupled to a transfer chamber 504. The transfer chamber 504 includes a dual blade robot 505 disposed therein, configured to transfer two substrates (not shown) in and out of the processing platform 502 (Fig. 5, [0036], 2nd-4th sentences).
Before the effective filing dates of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the single blade robot of ‘542 with a dual blade robot of ‘949 that transfer two substrates in and out, for the purpose of faster wafer transfer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/17/2025 have been fully considered but they are not convincing in light of the new grounds of rejection above.
In regarding to objections of claim 7, and 35 USC 112(a) and 112(b) rejections, see the middle of page 5 to the top of page 8, Applicants’ amendment overcomes the objection and rejections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20200335369 is cited for the sensors arranged on a straight line passing through a center of two-row and two-column layout of wafer opening 310 (Fig. 3).
US 20070051312 is cited for dual end-effector robot 1356 (Fig. 13) and four stations chamber and robot outside the chamber (Fig. 11).
US 20130269609 is cited for four stations 14-1 to 14-4 with different X and Y interval and robot outside the process chamber 10 (Fig. 1).
US 20240093358 is cited for stages/turntable 171 arrangement (Fig. 2).
/KEATH T CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716