DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 20-25, 49, 50 and 70-76 have been considered but are moot on grounds of new rejection and interpretation of prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20-25, 49, 50 and 70-76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (US 2004/0235266 A1) in view of Chen et al. (Chen) (US 2018/0366437 A1).
In regards to claim 20, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) discloses a bonded structure (Fig. 13) comprising: a carrier (items 130 plus 131) comprising a first nonconductive bonding layer (item 131), the carrier (items 130 plus 131) having a first region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) and a second region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) laterally spaced from the first region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130); an element (items 133 plus 134, 135 plus 136 or 137 plus 138) comprising a second nonconductive bonding layer (items 134, 136 or 138), the element (items 133 plus 134, 135 plus 136 or 137 plus 138) directly bonded to a bonding surface (top surface of item 131) of the first region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) without an intervening adhesive, wherein the bonding surface (top surface of item 131) of the first region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) comprises at least a portion of the first nonconductive bonding laver (item 131) of the carrier (item 130), and wherein the second nonconductive bonding laver (items 134, 136 or 138) of the element (items 133 plus 134, 135 plus 136 or 137 plus 138) is directly bonded to the first nonconductive bonding laver (item 131) of the carrier (items 130 plus 131) at the bonding surface (top surface of item 131) of the first region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130); and an (integrated buildup) structure (items 133 plus 134, 135 plus 136 or 137 plus 138), the (integrated buildup) structure (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) extending vertically above the bonding surface (top surface of item 131) of the second region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) in a direction non-parallel to the bonding surface (top surface of item 131) of the second region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130), the (integrated buildup) structure (items 133 plus 134, 135 plus 136 or 137 plus 138) comprising one or more layers on the carrier (item 130 plus 131), but does not specifically disclose an integrated buildup structure deposited directly on to and contacting the second region.
In regards to claim 20, Chen (Figs. 1B, 12 and associated text) discloses an integrated buildup structure (item 20B) can be deposited directly onto and contacting a non-conductive bonding layer (item 14, fusion bonded, dielectric-to-dielectric, paragraph 26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate teachings of Chen for the purpose of adhering/bonding a device die (paragraph 27).
Therefore Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1B, 12 and associated text) discloses an integrated buildup structure (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or plus 22B plus 24B plus 28B [item 20B], Chen) deposited directly onto and contacting the second region (where items 133, 135 or 137 reside, Tong, where item 20B resides, Chen) extending vertically above the bonding surface (top surface of item 131, Tong, top surface of item 14, Chen) of the second region (where items 133, 135 or 137 reside, Tong, where item 20B resides, Chen) in a direction non-parallel to the bonding surface (top surface of item 131, Tong, top surface of item 14, Chen) of the second region (where items 133, 135 or 137 reside, Tong, where item 20B resides, Chen), the integrated buildup structure (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or plus 22B plus 24B plus 28B [item 20B], Chen) comprising one or more layers (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or plus 22B plus 24B plus 28B, Chen) with insulating and conductive materials on the carrier (items 130 plus 131, Tong, items 12 plus 14, Chen).
In regards to claims 21 and 74, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1B, 12 and associated text) discloses wherein the one or more layers (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or 22B plus 24B plus 28B) are deposited onto the carrier (items 130 plus 131, Tong, items 12 plus 14, Chen).
The method of forming a device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
In regards to claims 22 and 75, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1B, 12 and associated text) discloses wherein the one or more layers (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or 22B plus 24B plus 28B) are transferred onto the carrier (items 130 plus 131, Tong, items 12 plus 14, Chen).
The method of forming a device is not germane to the issue of patentability of the device itself. Therefore, this limitation has not been given patentable weight.
In regards to claim 23, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1B, 12 and associated text) discloses further comprising a second element (items 24B, 28B, or 24B plus 28B) directly bonded to a second bonding surface (top surfaces of item 22B or 22B plus 24B) of the integrated buildup structure (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or plus 22B plus 24B plus 28B [item 20B], Chen) without an intervening adhesive. Examiner would like to remind the Applicant that the integrated buildup structure comprises one or more layers. Examiner would also like to point out that while the it has been defined in paragraph [0048] as to what the second element could possibly be, it has not been claimed. The Examiner notes that it is improper to read limitations contained in the specification into the claims.
In regards to claim 24, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1B, 12 and associated text) discloses wherein the one or more layers (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 36B plus 22B, 22B plus 24B or 22B plus 24B plus 28B, Chen) comprise an integrated device (paragraph 19, Chen).
In regards to claim 70, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) discloses wherein the first nonconductive bonding layer (item 131) of the carrier (item 130) comprises a dielectric material (oxide or fluorinated oxide).
In regards to claim 71, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) discloses wherein the second nonconductive bonding layer (items 134, 136 or 138) of the element (items 133, 135 or 137) comprises a dielectric material (oxide or fluorinated oxide).
In regards to claims 72 and 73, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1B, 12 and associated text) discloses wherein the integrated buildup structure (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or 22B plus 24B plus 28B) comprises multiple layers (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or 22B plus 24B plus 28B).
In regards to claim 49, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) discloses a bonded structure (Fig. 13) comprising: a carrier (items 130 plus 131) comprising a bonding layer (item 131), the carrier (items 130 plus 131) having a first nonconductive bonding region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) and a second nonconductive bonding region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130), the first nonconductive bonding region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) formed of a first nonconductive material (items 131, 134, 136 or 138) and the second nonconductive bonding region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) formed of a second nonconductive material (items 131, 134, 136 or 138 oxide or fluorinated oxide) that has a different composition from the first nonconductive material (items 131, 134, 136 or 138, oxide or fluorinated oxide), the first nonconductive bonding region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) comprising at least a portion of the bonding laver (item 131); a first device (items 133 plus 134, 135 plus 136 or 137 plus 138) having a first bonding layer (items 134, 136 or 138) directly bonded to the first nonconductive bonding region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) of the carrier (items 130 plus 131) without an intervening adhesive, wherein the first bonding laver (items 134, 136 or 138) of the first device (items 133 plus 134, 135 plus 136 or 137 plus 138) is directly bonded to the bonding laver (item 131) of the carrier (items 130 plus 131) at the first nonconductive bonding region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130); and a second device (items 133 plus 134, 135 plus 136 or 137 plus 138) having a second bonding layer (items 134, 136 or 138) directly bonded to the second nonconductive bonding region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130) of the carrier (items 130 plus 131) without an intervening adhesive, but does not specifically the second nonconductive bonding region comprising an integrated buildup structure deposited directly onto and contacting the second nonconductive bonding region, the integrated buildup structure comprised of on or more layers on the carrier.
Chen (Figs. 1B, 12 and associated text) discloses a nonconductive bonding region (where item 20B resides on item 14) comprising an integrated buildup structure (item 20B) can be deposited directly onto and contacting a nonconductive bonding region (item 14, fusion bonded, dielectric-to-dielectric, paragraph 26 where item 20B resides).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate teachings of Chen for the purpose of adhering/bonding a device die (paragraph 27).
Therefore Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1B, 12 and associated text) discloses the second nonconductive bonding region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130 or 130 plus 131, Tong, where item 20B is bonded to item 12 or 12 plus 14, Chen) comprising an integrated buildup structure (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or plus 22B plus 24B plus 28B [item 20B], Chen) deposited directly onto and contacting the second nonconductive bonding region (where items 133, 135 or 137 are bonded to item 130 or 130 plus 131, Tong, where item 20B is bonded to item 12 or 12 plus 14, Chen), the integrated buildup structure (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or plus 22B plus 24B plus 28B [item 20B], Chen) comprised of one or more layers (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or plus 22B plus 24B plus 28B [item 20B], Chen) on the carrier (items 130 plus 131, Tong, items 12 plus 14).
In regards to claim 50, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1B, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the integrated buildup structure (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or 36B plus 22B plus 24B plus 28B) in the second nonconductive boning region (where item 20B resides) extends vertically above the second nonconductive bonding region (where item 20B resides) in a direction non-parallel to the second non-conductive bonding region (where item 20B resides), wherein the second device is directly bonded to a bonding surface of the integrated buildup structure (items 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or 36B plus 22B plus 24B plus 28B) without an intervening adhesive (item 12), such that the first and second devices (items 20A, 20B) are bonded to the carrier (item 12 plus 14) at different elevations (paragraph [0019]…“Also, although package components 20A and 20B are illustrated as having the same structure, they may have different circuits, different sizes, different thicknesses, and/or may include different number of device dies therein”). Therefore, the Examiner takes the position that the two devices can be bonded to the carrier at different elevations.
In regards to claim 76, Tong (Fig. 13 and associated text) as modified by Chen (Figs. 1B, 2 and associated text) discloses wherein the one or more layers are comprised of insulating and conductive materials (items 26B, 30B, 32B, 22B, 24B, 28B, 22B plus 24B or 22B plus 24B plus 28B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TELLY D. GREEN
Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/TELLY D GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898 December 4, 2025