Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Sansoni; Steven V. et al. (US 20100039747 A1) in view of, if necessary, Kawakami; Satoru (US 6558508 B1) in view of McMillin; Brian et al. (US 5835334 A). Sansoni teaches a substrate heating device (150+601; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 100; Figure 1) for heating a substrate within a processing container (100; Figure 1) configured to perform processing of a substrate therein, the substrate heating device (150+601; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 100; Figure 1) comprising: a substrate heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) including a placement surface on which the substrate is placed, the substrate heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) being configured to heat the substrate placed on the placement surface using a heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”);a jacket (601,607,608; Figure 6B; [0077]-Applicant’s 20; Figure 1) provided to cover a bottom portion of the substrate heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) via a cooling space (604+632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1); and a cooling gas supplier (141; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 31; Figure 1) configured to supply a cooling gas to the cooling space (604+632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1), wherein the jacket (601,607,608; Figure 6B; [0077]-Applicant’s 20; Figure 1) includes a coolant flow path (160; Figure 6B; [0041]; Applicant’s 21; Figure 1), through which a liquid coolant (142; Figure 6B) flows, formed in the jacket (601,607,608; Figure 6B; [0077]-Applicant’s 20; Figure 1), wherein the coolant flow path (160; Figure 6B; [0041]; Applicant’s 21; Figure 1) is formed separately from the cooling space (604+632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1), and wherein the cooling space (604+632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1) has a stepped shape (step at 604-632 transition; Figure 6B), and wherein the cooling gas supplier (141; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 31; Figure 1) is connected (fluidically via 604; Figure 6B) to the circumferential portion (632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicants, 30a-c; Figure 1; Applicant’s 2/12/26 remarks) of the cooling space (604+632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1) - claim 1. The above and below italicized claim text is considered intended use recitations for the pending apparatus claims. Further, it has been held that claim language that simply specifies an intended use or field of use for the invention generally will not limit the scope of a claim (Walter , 618 F.2d at 769, 205 USPQ at 409; MPEP 2106). Additionally, in apparatus claims, intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim (In re Casey,152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto , 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); MPEP2115). The term “connection” as claimed is construed by the Examiner as fluid continuity under BRI. Further, Applicant has provided no structural distinction, in the claims, that undermines/redefines the Examiner’s BRI. Applicant’s cooling gas supplier (Applicant’s 31; Figure 1) is clearly shown connected (fluidly) to Applicant’s circumferential portion (Applicants, 30a-c; Figure 1; Applicant’s 2/12/26 remarks) of the cooling space (Applicant’s 30; Figure 1).
Kawakami further teaches:
The substrate heating device (150+601; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 100; Figure 1) of Claim 1, wherein the processing of the substrate in the processing container (100; Figure 1) is plasma processing (Figure 1), as claimed by claim 2
The substrate heating device (150+601; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 100; Figure 1) of Claim 2, wherein the substrate heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) includes: a base material (610; Figure 6B; [0086]-Applicant’s 13; Figure 1); and an electrostatic chuck (150,159; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 14; Figure 1) provided on a top surface of the base material (610; Figure 6B; [0086]-Applicant’s 13; Figure 1), the electrostatic chuck (150,159; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 14; Figure 1) including an electrical insulator (“electrically insulating puck base”; [0037]) and an attraction electrode (150,159; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 16; Figure 1) provided inside the electrical insulator (“electrically insulating puck base”; [0037]), the electrostatic chuck (150,159; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 14; Figure 1) being configured to electrostatically attract the substrate to the placement surface by applying a DC voltage (140; Figure 6B) to the attraction electrode (150,159; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 16; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 3
The substrate heating device (150+601; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 100; Figure 1) of Claim 3, wherein the heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) is provided inside the electrical insulator (“electrically insulating puck base”; [0037]) of the electrostatic chuck (150,159; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 14; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 13
Under anticipation and BRI, Sansoni is believed to further teach a height of a circumferential portion (632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicants, 30a-c; Figure 1; Applicant’s 2/12/26 remarks) of the cooling space (604+632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1) is higher than a center portion (604; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]) of the cooling space (604+632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1). Here, the claimed relative “height” and “higher” is claimed without a reference to a datum. As a result, the Examiner is using a BRI of the claimed invention.
Sansoni does not teach wherein Sansoni’s cooling gas supplier (141; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 31; Figure 1) is connected1 to a bottom surface of Sansoni’s circumferential portion (632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicants, 30a-c; Figure 1; Applicant’s 2/12/26 remarks) of Sansoni’s cooling space (604+632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1), and wherein the cooling gas flows from Sansoni’s circumferential portion (632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicants, 30a-c; Figure 1; Applicant’s 2/12/26 remarks) to Sansoni’s center portion of Sansoni’s cooling space (604+632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1) - claim 1.
McMillin also teaches a wafer support apparatus (100) including a cooling gas supplier (22; Figure 1-Applicant’s 31; Figure 1) is connected2 to a bottom surface of McMillin’s circumferential portion (outer 6a; Figure 1-Applicants, 30a-c; Figure 1; Applicant’s 2/12/26 remarks) of McMillin’s cooling space (6a; Figure 1-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1), and wherein the cooling gas flows from McMillin’s circumferential portion (outer 6a; Figure 1-Applicants, 30a-c; Figure 1; Applicant’s 2/12/26 remarks) to McMillin’s center portion of McMillin’s cooling space (6a; Figure 1-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1).
In the event that the Examiner’s grounds for BRI are not accepted, then Kawakami also teaches a cooling space (62,63,64; Figure 7) for backside cooling of a substrate (W) table (6) including a height of circumferential portions (63; Figure 7) of the cooling space (62+63; Figure 7) is higher than a center portion (62,64; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]) of the cooling space (62-64; Figure 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Sansoni to add Kawakami’s ventilation pipes (63) to Sansoni cooling space as taught by Kawakami and for Sansoni to add/relocate Sansoni’s coolant piping as taught by McMillin.
Motivation for Sansoni to add Kawakami’s ventilation pipes (63) to Sansoni cooling space as taught by Kawakami is for applying an “adjustable thermal resistance” to the cooled components as taught by Kawakami (column 10; lines 40-45).
Motivation for Sansoni to add/relocate Sansoni’s coolant piping as taught by McMillin is for “..improving thermal communication between layers” as taught by McMillin (column 3; lines 45-53).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sansoni; Steven V. et al. (US 20100039747 A1) and, if necessary, Kawakami; Satoru (US 6558508 B1) in view of McMillin; Brian et al. (US 5835334 A) and Watanabe; Toshiya et al. (US 5151845 A). Sansoni, Kawakami and McMillin are discussed above. Sansoni further teaches Sansoni’s heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) is provided inside Sansoni’s electrical insulator (“electrically insulating puck base”; [0037]) of Sansoni’s electrostatic chuck (150,159; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 14; Figure 1) - claim 5.
Sansoni, Kawakami, and McMillin do not teach:
the substrate heating device (150+601; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 100; Figure 1) of Claim 3, wherein the electrical insulator (“electrically insulating puck base”; [0037]) and the attraction electrode (150,159; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 16; Figure 1) of the electrostatic chuck (150,159; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 14; Figure 1) are configured as films, as claimed by claim 4
The substrate heating device (150+601; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 100; Figure 1) of Claim 5, wherein the heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) is configured as a film, as claimed by claim 6
Sansoni’s substrate heating device (150+601; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 100; Figure 1) wherein Sansoni’s base material (610; Figure 6B; [0086]-Applicant’s 13; Figure 1) is made of any of free-cutting ceramics, graphite, aluminum, and copper - claim 7
Watanabe also teaches an electrostatic chuck (all Figures) including wherein the electrical insulator (“insulating films”; column 3; lines 57-63; “ceramic”; column 1; lines 52-55) and the attraction electrode (“electrodes”; column 3; lines 57-63-Applicant’s 16; Figure 1) of the electrostatic chuck (All Figures-Applicant’s 14; Figure 1) are configured as films – “Moreover, the electrodes and insulating films may be fabricated by printing, plasma flame spraying, etching, evaporation, or the like, rather than the green sheet lamination.”. Watanabe further teaches
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Sansoni to use film deposited electrical insulator, electrode, and heater as taught by Watanabe.
Motivation for Sansoni to use film deposited electrical insulator, electrode, and heater as taught by Watanabe is for alternate economic means for fabricating Sansoni’s chuck components as taught by Watanabe (column 3; lines 57-63) and for improving “the electrostatic force” to “sufficiently attract the object” as taught by Watanabe (column 1; lines 26-33).
Claims 8-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sansoni; Steven V. et al. (US 20100039747 A1) and, if necessary, Kawakami; Satoru (US 6558508 B1) and McMillin; Brian et al. (US 5835334 A) in view of Watanabe; Toshiya et al. (US 5151845 A) and further in view of Hirose; Jun et al. (US 20190198298 A1). Sansoni, Kawakami, McMillin and Watanabe are discussed above. Sansoni further teaches:
wherein at an outer peripheral portion of a top surface of Sansoni’s jacket (601,607,608; Figure 6B; [0077]-Applicant’s 20; Figure 1), an outer peripheral protrusion (609; Figure 6B) having an annular shape protruding upward is formed to define Sansoni’s cooling space (604+632; Figure 6B; [0087]-[0088]-Applicant’s 30; Figure 1) – claim 9
wherein Sansoni’s jacket (601,607,608; Figure 6B; [0077]-Applicant’s 20; Figure 1) is fixedly bolted (not claimed; [0042],[0079]) to a central portion of Sansoni’s substrate heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) by a plurality of bolts (not claimed) - claim 10
The substrate heating device (150+601; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 100; Figure 1) of Claim 1, wherein the jacket (601,607,608; Figure 6B; [0077]-Applicant’s 20; Figure 1) includes a shaft (112; Figure 6B) provided to protrude downward from a central portion thereof, and a lower end of the shaft (112; Figure 6B) is installed on a bottom portion (106; Figure 1) of the processing container (100; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 12
Sansoni, Kawakami, McMillin and Watanabe do not teach:
Sansoni’s substrate heating device (150+601; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 100; Figure 1) of Claim 7, wherein Sansoni’s substrate heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) further includes a coating layer provided on a side surface and a bottom surface of Sansoni’s base material (610; Figure 6B; [0086]-Applicant’s 13; Figure 1) and made of a corrosion-resistant material, as claimed by claim 8
a space between Sansoni’s outer peripheral protrusion (609; Figure 6B) and an outer peripheral portion of a bottom surface of Sansoni’s substrate heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) is hermetically sealed by a seal ring - claim 9
Sansoni and Watanabe do not teach using screws to fix components.
Hirose also teaches coating over an ESC (25; Figure 3) heater (52; Figure 3; [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made for Sansoni to coat Sansoni’s heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) as taught by Hirose, for Sansoni to use screws instead of bolts, and for Sansoni to add additional O-rings.
Motivation for Sansoni to coat Sansoni’s heater (150,502; Figure 6B-Applicant’s 10; Figure 1-”substrate heater”) as taught by Hirose is for electrical isolation.
Motivation for Sansoni to use screws instead of bolts is for alternate means for securing components.
Motivation for Sansoni to add additional O-rings to Sansoni’s interface (638; Figure 6B) is for stopping “leakage” as taught by Sansoni ([0093]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-16, filed February 12, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-10 and 12-13 under §102/§103 Sansoni; Steven V. et al. (US 20100039747 A1) in view of, if necessary, Kawakami; Satoru (US 6558508 B1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made under §103 in view of Sansoni; Steven V. et al. (US 20100039747 A1) in view of, if necessary, Kawakami; Satoru (US 6558508 B1) in view of McMillin; Brian et al. (US 5835334 A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20020036881 A1 and US 20080066676 A1 teach standard ESC apparatus with component coatings.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
1 interpreted as structurally per Applicant’s Figure 1.
2 interpreted as structurally per Applicant’s Figure 1.