DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
The amendment with respect to claim(s) 1, and 3-4 filed on 7/20/2026 have been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The previously presented claim(s) 2 have been considered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 5-8, filed 05/11/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of YOKOYAMA.
Regarding Claim 1. The Applicant argues (see Remarks, page 5) that none of the cited references disclose or suggest the amended features to claim 1, now recites, “a cutting method of a wafer…the annual projection part being positioned…holding surface…while the annular projection part is kept in a suspended state.” The Examiner agrees that the arguments are persuasive and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as mentioned in the above paragraph. For instance, the prior-art of YOKOYAMA teaches a cutting wafer method (Fig. 5, a method for dividing a wafer, [0001]) includes the annular projection part (Fig. 5, 7, annular protrusion, [0018]) being positioned radially outside (annotated Figure 5) the holding surface (Fig. 5, 11, recess holding member), while the annular projection part (Fig. 5, 7, annular protrusion, [0018]) is kept in a suspended state (annotated Figure 5).
Regarding Claims 2-4: The independent Claim(s) 4, and the dependent claims 2-3, follow similar arguments as claim 1, upon further consideration, a new-grounds of rejection is made based on the prior-art mentioned above.
Claim Interpretation
The amended Claim(s) 1 and 4 now recites, “a cutting method of a wafer for cutting the wafer that includes…while the annular projection part is kept in a suspended state.” The Applicant further provided the support evidence of this amended claim feature in drawing (see Remarks, page 5, filed on 05/11/2026), Figures 4 and 6, and in the Specification, paragraphs [0030-0031], and [0035]. The Examiner reviewed the above mentioned paragraphs, and found that in addition to the annular projection part (21) of the wafer (11), the outer circumferential part of the adhesive tape (23), and the frame (25) are not fixed, but kept at the “suspended state”. Therefore, while interpreting the Claim limitation, the Examiner interprets the “suspended state” which is subjected not only to the annular project part, but includes the outer circumferential part of the adhesive tape and the frame support of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Junki Yokoyama, (hereinafter YOKOYAMA), JP 2016157903 A.
Regarding Claim 1, YOKOYAMA teaches a cutting method of a wafer (Fig. 4, a method for dividing a wafer, [0001]) for cutting the wafer (Fig. 4, W, wafer, a wafer splitting method for splitting a wafer, [0009], [0018]) that includes a front surface (annotated Figure 4, front surface facing upward in the chuck table, [0007]) and a circular recess part (Fig. 4, 6) at a central part on a back surface (Fig. 4, central portion of the back surface, Wb, [0018]) of the wafer (Fig. 4, W) and includes an annular projection part surrounding the recess part at an outer circumferential part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion corresponding to the outer peripheral excess region, 1b (shown in Fig. 1), surrounding the circular recess, 6, [0018]) and includes an inner side surface (annotated Figure 4) extending from the back surface (Fig. 4, back surface, Wb, [0018]), the cutting method (Fig. 4, a method for dividing a wafer, [0001]) comprising:
a tape sticking step (Figs. 2/4, workset formation process first, [0019]) of sticking an adhesive tape (Figs. 2/4, 4, [0019]) directly on the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0019]) and the annular projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion, [0018-0019]) from the back surface of the wafer (Figs. 2/4, the back surface , Wb of the wafer, W is attached to the adhesive tape, 4, [0019]);
a holding step (Figs. 3/4, holding process, [0020]) of sucking (Figs. 3/4, work set5 is brought and is held on to the chuck table, 10, [0020]; 110, recess suction surface, [0022]) the adhesive tape (Figs. 2/4, 4, [0019]) stuck to the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0019]) on the back surface (Fig. 4, back surface, Wb, [0018-0019]) of the wafer (Fig. 4, W, [0019]) by a holding surface (Figs. 3/4, 11, recess holding member, [0021]) of a chuck table (Figs. 3/4, 10, [0021]) having the holding surface (Figs. 3/4, 11, recess holding member, [0021]) with a smaller diameter (annotated Figure 4) than the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0019]), the annular projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion, [0018-0019]) being positioned radially outside (annotated Figure 4) the holding surface (Figs. 3/4, 11, recess holding member, [0021]), to hold the wafer (Fig. 4, W) by the chuck table (Figs. 3/4, 10, [0021]) with interposition (annotated Figure 4) of the adhesive tape (Figs. 2/4, 4, [0019]); and
a cutting step (Figs. 4/5, circular divided groove formation process, [0027]) of separating (Figs. 4/5, circular divided grooves are formed on the surface Wa, by cutting along, [0027) the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0027]) and the annular projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion, [0027]) by making a cutting blade (Figs. 4/5, 18/181, cutting means/cutting blade, [0027]) that rotates (Figs. 4/5, 180, rotatable spindle, [0027]) and cuts into the wafer (Figs. 4/5, W, [0028]) from the front surface (Figs. 4/5, Wa, surface, [0028]) of the wafer (Figs. 4/5, W, [0028]), opposite the circular recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0027]) on the back surface (Figs. 4/5, back surface, Wb, [0028]), towards the back surface (Figs. 4/5, back surface, Wb, [0028]) in such a manner that the cutting blade (Figs. 4/5, 18/181, cutting means/cutting blade, [0027]) reaches (Figs. 4/5, cuts through the wafer, W in the thickness direction, [0028]) the adhesive tape (Figs. 4/5, 4, [0028]) stuck to the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0027]) on the back surface (Figs. 4/5, back surface, Wb, [0028]) of the wafer (Figs. 4/5, W, [0028]) and rotating the chuck table (Figs. 4/5, the rotating means, 15 rotates the chuck table, 10, [0029]) while the annular projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion, [0027]) is kept in a suspended state (annotated Figure 4, annular portion is neither supported by the holding member, 11 nor by the chuck table, 10, [see the Claim interpretation section above for the suspended state with relevance to the specification of the instant application]).
Regarding Claim 2, YOKOYAMA teaches the cutting method of a wafer (Fig. 4, a method for dividing a wafer, [0001]) according to claim 1, wherein
the wafer (Fig. 4, W) is supported by an annular frame (Fig. 4, 3, ring frame, [0039]) through the adhesive tape (Fig. 4, 4, [0039]) in the tape sticking step (Figs. 2/4, workset formation process first, [0019]), and
the cutting blade (Figs. 4/5, 18/181, cutting means/cutting blade, [0027]) is made to cut into the wafer (Figs. 4/5, W, [0028]) in a state in which the annular projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion, [0027]) and the frame (Fig. 4, 3, ring frame, [0039]) are not fixed ([0034]) in the cutting step (Figs. 4/5, circular divided groove formation process, [0027]).
Regarding Claim 4, YOKOYAMA teaches a cutting method of a wafer (Fig. 4, a method for dividing a wafer, [0001]) for cutting the wafer (Fig. 4, W, wafer, a wafer splitting method for splitting a wafer, [0009], [0018]) that includes a circular recess part (Fig. 4, 6) at a central part on a back surface (Fig. 4, central portion of the back surface, Wb, [0018]) of the wafer (Fig. 4, W) and includes an annular projection part surrounding the recess part at an outer circumferential part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion corresponding to the outer peripheral excess region, 1b (shown in Fig. 1), surrounding the circular recess, 6, [0018]) and includes an inner side surface (annotated Figure 4) extending from the back surface (Fig. 4, back surface, Wb, [0018]), the cutting method (Fig. 4, a method for dividing a wafer, [0001]) comprising:
a tape sticking step (Figs. 2/4, workset formation process first, [0019]) of sticking an adhesive tape (Figs. 2/4, 4, [0019]) along the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0019]) and the projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion, [0018-0019]) and supporting the wafer (Fig. 4, W) by an annular frame (Fig. 4, 3, ring frame, [0039]) through the adhesive tape (Fig. 4, 4, [0039]);
a holding step (Figs. 3/4, holding process, [0020]) of supporting (Figs. 3/4, work set5 is brought and is held on to the chuck table, 10, [0020]; 110, recess suction surface, [0022]) the adhesive tape (Figs. 2/4, 4, [0019]) stuck to the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0019]) by a holding surface (Figs. 3/4, 11, recess holding member, [0021]) of a chuck table (Figs. 3/4, 10, [0021]) having the holding surface (Figs. 3/4, 11, recess holding member, [0021]) with a smaller diameter (annotated Figure 4) than the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0019]), the annular projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion, [0018-0019]) being positioned radially outside (annotated Figure 4) the holding surface (Figs. 3/4, 11, recess holding member, [0021]), to hold the wafer (Fig. 4, W) by the chuck table (Figs. 3/4, 10, [0021]) with interposition (annotated Figure 4) of the adhesive tape (Figs. 2/4, 4, [0019]); and
a cutting step (Figs. 4/5, circular divided groove formation process, [0027]) of separating (Figs. 4/5, circular divided grooves are formed on the surface Wa, by cutting along, [0027) the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0027]) and the annular projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion, [0027]) by making a cutting blade (Figs. 4/5, 18/181, cutting means/cutting blade, [0027]) that rotates (Figs. 4/5, 180, rotatable spindle, [0027]) and cuts into a region of the wafer (Figs. 4/5, W, [0028]) that overlaps with the holding surface (Figs. 3/4, 11, recess holding member, [0021]) in such a manner that the cutting blade (Figs. 4/5, 18/181, cutting means/cutting blade, [0027]) reaches (Figs. 4/5, cuts through the wafer, W in the thickness direction, [0028]) the adhesive tape (Figs. 4/5, 4, [0028]) stuck to the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess, [0027]) and rotating the chuck table (Figs. 4/5, the rotating means, 15 rotates the chuck table, 10, [0029]) in a state in which the projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion, [0027]) and the frame (Fig. 4, 3, ring frame, [0039]) are not fixed while the annular projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion, [0027]) is kept in a suspended state (annotated Figure 4, annular portion is neither supported by the holding member, 11 nor by the chuck table, 10, [see the Claim interpretation section above for the “suspended state” with relevance to the specification of the instant application]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Junki Yokoyama, (hereinafter YOKOYAMA), JP 2016157903 A, Yoko Orimo et al, (hereinafter ORIMO), JP 2009206417 A.
Regarding Claim 3, YOKOYAMA teaches the cutting method of a wafer (Fig. 4, a method for dividing a wafer, [0001]) according to claim 1, wherein the adhesive tape (Fig. 2, 4) extends uninterrupted from a bottom surface (Fig. 2, Wb, back surface) of the recess part (Fig. 4, 6, circular recess) to the annular projection part (Fig. 4, 7, annular protrusion).
YOKOYAMA does not explicitly disclose the cutting method of a wafer, wherein the adhesive tape extends uninterrupted from a bottom surface of the recess part to the annular projection part such that a gap is formed between the uninterrupted adhesive tape, the bottom surface of the recess part, and the inner side surface of the annular projection part.
ORIMO teaches in Figure 23, the cutting method of a wafer (Fig. 15, S5, cutting the wafer, a flowchart illustrating the method of manufacturing the semiconductor device, [0065]), wherein the adhesive tape (Fig. 23, 33, dicing tape) extends uninterrupted from a bottom surface of the recess part (Fig. 23, 31, central part/recessed portion, [0079]) to the annular projection part (Fig. 23, 32, ribs) such that a gap is formed (Fig. 23, A, gap, [0009-0010]) between the uninterrupted adhesive tape (Fig. 23, 33, dicing tape), the bottom surface of the recess part (Fig. 23, 31, central part/recessed portion, [0079]), and the inner side surface (annotated Figure 23) of the annular projection part (Fig. 23, 32, ribs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified YOKOYAMA to incorporate the teachings of ORIMO, such that the cutting method of a wafer, wherein the adhesive tape extends uninterrupted from a bottom surface of the recess part to the annular projection part such that a gap is formed between the uninterrupted adhesive tape, the bottom surface of the recess part, and the inner side surface of the annular projection part, so that the arrangement may significantly reduce the warping of the ribbed wafer, 30, and greatly improving the strength with which the ribbed wafer is held during subsequent dicing and transport processes, thereby reducing wafer cracking and chipping, (ORIMO, [0008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP 2014170822 A – Figures 3A-3D
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – The annular portion, 105 is radially outside the holding surface, 78.
JP 2019202356 A – Figure 4
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – The dicing tape (21) and the annular frame (23) are kept in suspended state.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817