DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment with respect to claim 1 (see Amendment document filed on 11/19/2025) has been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The previously presented claim 2 and 3 have been considered. New independent claim 4 has been fully considered for examination based on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 5-8, filed 11/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of ORIMO.
Regarding Claim 1. The Applicant argues (see Remarks, page 5) that the cited references, alone or in combination, fail to disclose or suggest the amendments to Claim 1, recites a cutting method comprising: “the annular projection… and extends below the holding surface…horizontal gap… and a vertical gap…holding surface of the chuck table…adhesive tape”. The Examiner considers the amended limitations to claim 1 to be persuasive and, therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of ORIMO.
The Applicant’s further arguments (see Remarks, pages 6-7) with respect to SUZUKI, and SATO fails to disclose creating a horizontal and vertical gap between the annular project part and the chuck table. The Examiner respectfully disagreed and provided the responses for the aforementioned related arguments in the Advisory Office Action filed on 10/30/2025. In this Office Action, the SATO reference is replaced with ORIMO to teach the amended limitations to claim 1, with respect to “a holding step” for the method of cutting wafer.
Regarding Claims 2-3. The claims 2–3 depend on claim 1. Therefore, claims 2–3 are subject to similar responses as in claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 4. The Applicant added a new independent claim 4 and has been considered for further examination based on their merits. The Applicant argues that none of the cited references teach or suggest limiting the cutting area of the cutting step to a region of the wafer that overlaps with the holding surface. The Examiner considers the amended limitations to claim 1 to be persuasive and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of ORIMO.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Karl Priewasser et al, (hereinafter PRIEWASSER), DE 102011078726 A1, in view of Katsuhiko Suzuki et al, (hereinafter SUZUKI), US 20190006185 A1, and further in view of Yoko Orimo et al, (hereinafter ORIMO), JP 2009206417 A.
Regarding Claim 1, PRIEWASSER teaches, a cutting method of a wafer (processing method for a wafer, [0006]) for cutting the wafer (Fig. 7, 3-cutting device, W-Wafer) that includes a front surface (Figs. 1/6, Wa) and a circular recess part (Fig. 7, W3-circular recess portion) at a central part on a bottom surface (having on a rear surface thereof, a circular recess portion corresponding to the device region and an annual reinforcement portion surrounding the circular recess portion, [0006]) of the wafer (Figs. 7, W-wafer) and includes an annular projection part (Fig. 7, W4-annular reinforcement portion) surrounding the recess part at an outer circumferential part (Fig. 1, W2-outer peripheral excess area), the cutting method ([0006], processing method for a wafer) for cutting the wafer (Fig. 7, 3-cutting device) comprising:
a tape sticking step ([0043, 0044], step of re-adhering the diving band and division step) of sticking an adhesive tape (Fig. 13, T2- dicing tape) directly on the recess part (Fig. 13, W3-circular recess portion) and the annular projection part (Fig. 7, W4-annular reinforcement portion) from the bottom surface (rear surface, [0006], [0042-0044]) of the wafer (Fig. 13, W′);
a tape sticking step ([0033], frame holding step) of sticking an adhesive tape (Fig. 7, T1- dicing tape) directly on the recess part (Fig. 7, W3-circular recess portion) and the annular projection part (Fig. 7, W4-annular reinforcement portion) from the bottom surface (rear surface, [0006], [0042]) of the wafer (Figures 6 and 7; dicing tape, T1 on the front surface, Wa of the wafer, W and the frame, F1, so that the opening, F10 is closed with the dicing tape, T1 to bring the wafer, W in to a state where the wafer, W is held on the frame F1 by the dicing tape. In this state, the back surface, Wb of the wafer, W is exposed, [0033]. Note that F10 comprises the circular recess portion, W3 and the annular reinforcement portion, W4);
a holding step ([0034], frame holding step) of sucking (Fig. 6, 300-vacuum region; 301-recess groove; 302-frame holding portion) the adhesive tape (Fig. 7, T1-dicing tape) stuck to the recess part (Fig. 7, W3-circular recess portion) on the bottom surface of the wafer (having on a rear surface thereof, a circular recess portion corresponding to the device region and an annual reinforcement portion surrounding the circular recess portion, [0006]) by a holding surface of a chuck table (Fig. 7, 30-fixing table) having the holding surface with a smaller diameter than the recess part (Fig. 7, W3-circular recess portion) to hold the wafer by the chuck table (Fig. 7, 30-fixing table) with interposition of the adhesive tape (Fig. 7, T1-dicing tape); and
a cutting step (Fig. 7, [0035], step to separate the annular reinforcement section) of separating the recess part (Fig. 7, W3-circular recess portion) and the annular projection part (Fig. 7, W4- annular reinforcement portion) by making a cutting blade (Fig. 7, 341) that rotates cut into the wafer from the front surface of the wafer in such a manner that the cutting blade reaches the adhesive tape (Fig. 7, T1-dicing tape) stuck to the recess part on the bottom surface of the wafer (having on a rear surface thereof, a circular recess portion corresponding to the device region and an annual reinforcement portion surrounding the circular recess portion, [0006]) and rotating (Fig. 7, 31-spindle) the chuck table (Fig. 7, 30-fixing table) in a state in which the annular projection part is not fixed ([0041-0042], step of removing the annular reinforcing section, Fig. 7, W4-annular reinforcement portion).
PRIEWASSER does not explicitly disclose a cutting step of separating the recess part and the annular projection part by making a cutting blade that rotates and cuts into the wafer from the front surface of the wafer, opposite the circular recess part on the bottom surface, towards the bottom surface in such a manner that the cutting blade reaches the adhesive tape stuck to the recess part on the bottom surface of the wafer and rotating the chuck table in a state in which the projection annular part is not fixed.
SUZUKI teaches a cutting step (Fig. 6B, dividing step, [0022]) of separating the recess part (Fig. 6A, 17) and the annular projection part (Fig. 6A, 21, annular frame) by making a cutting blade (Fig. 6B, 32) that rotates and cuts into the wafer ([0040]) from the front surface (Figs. 6A/6B, 1a, front side) of the wafer (Figs. 6A/6B, 1), opposite (annotated Figure 6B) the circular recess part (Fig. 6A, 17) on the bottom surface (Fig. 17a, bottom surface of the recess), towards the bottom surface (Fig. 6B, lowered to cut the wafer, 1, [0040]) in such a manner that the cutting blade (Fig. 6B, 32) reaches the adhesive tape (Figs. 6A/6B, 19, dicing tape, [0042]) stuck to the recess part on the bottom surface (Figs. 6A/6B, 17/17a, [0042]) of the wafer (Figs. 6A/6B, 1) and rotating the chuck table (as moving the chuck table in a feeding direction, [0040-0042]) in a state in which the annular projection part (Fig. 6A, 21, annular frame) is not fixed ([0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified PRIEWASSER to incorporate the teachings of SUZUKI, such that a cutting step of separating the recess part and the annular projection part by making a cutting blade that rotates and cuts into the wafer from the front surface of the wafer, opposite the circular recess part on the bottom surface, towards the bottom surface in such a manner that the cutting blade reaches the adhesive tape stuck to the recess part on the bottom surface of the wafer and rotating the chuck table in a state in which the annular projection part is not fixed. In this arrangement and condition, the cutting blade is rotated and lowered to cut the wafer along the division lines from the front side, thereby dividing the wafer into the device chips (SUZUKI, [0004], [0008], [0041]).
PRIEWASSER as modified by SUZUKI does not explicitly disclose a cutting method of a wafer, the cutting method comprising: a holding step of sucking the adhesive tape stuck to the recess part on the bottom surface of the wafer by a holding surface of a chuck table having the holding surface with a smaller diameter than the recess part so that the annular projection part overlaps and extends below the holding surface, and creates a horizontal gap between an outer side surface of the chuck table and the annular projection part and a vertical gap between a bottom surface of the annular projection part and the holding surface of the chuck table to hold the wafer by the chuck table with interposition of the adhesive tape.
ORIMO teaches a cutting method of a wafer (Fig. 15, S5, cutting the wafer, a flowchart illustrating the method of manufacturing the semiconductor device, [0065]) the cutting method comprising: a holding step (Fig. 15, S1-S4, [0022], [0033], [0036-0037]) of sucking (Fig. 15, S2, pasting device or bonding step, [0021]) the adhesive tape stuck (Fig. 23, 33, dicing tape), to the recess part on the bottom surface ([0023]) of the wafer (Fig. 23, 30, rib wafer) by a holding surface of a chuck table (Figs. 17/23, 1, base part/10, first stage/20, second stage/60, stage) having the holding surface with a smaller diameter than ([0038]) the recess part (Figs. 17/23, 10, first stage/20, second stage/60, stage, the number of stages 10/20 placed on the base, 60 can be changed according to the diameter or height of the recessed portion of the wafer placed on the dicing stage, [0038], [0062]) so that the annular projection part (Fig. 23, 32, ribs) overlaps and extends below the holding surface (annotated Figure 23), and creates a horizontal gap (Fig. 23, A, gap, [0009]) between an outer side surface of the chuck table and the annular projection part (Fig. 23, 32, ribs) and a vertical gap between a bottom surface of the annular projection part and the holding surface of the chuck table (annotated Figure 23) to hold the wafer (Fig. 23, 30, rib wafer) by the chuck table (Figs. 17/23, 1, base part/10, first stage/20, second stage/60, stage) with interposition of the adhesive tape (Fig. 23, 33, dicing tape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have PRIEWASSER as modified by SUZUKI to incorporate the teachings of ORIMO, such that a cutting method of a wafer, the cutting method comprising: a holding step of sucking the adhesive tape stuck to the recess part on the bottom surface of the wafer by a holding surface of a chuck table having the holding surface with a smaller diameter than the recess part so that the annular projection part overlaps and extends below the holding surface, and creates a horizontal gap between an outer side surface of the chuck table and the annular projection part and a vertical gap between a bottom surface of the annular projection part and the holding surface of the chuck table to hold the wafer by the chuck table with interposition of the adhesive tape. Though the gap formation depends on the dimension of the stage with respect to the recess portion, but if there is a gap between the rib wafer, 30 and the dicing tape, the chips formed on the portions where the dicing tape, 33 is not attached scattering during dicing and subsequent cleaning (ORIMO, [0009]).
Regarding Claim 2, PRIEWASSER as modified by SUZUKI and ORIMO teaches the cutting method of a wafer according claim 1.
PRIEWASSER further teaches the cutting method (processing method for a wafer, [0006]) of a wafer (Fig. 7, 3-cutting device, W-Wafer, wherein the wafer (Fig. 17, W-wafer) is supported by an annular frame (Fig. 7, F1) through the adhesive tape (Fig. 7, T1-dicing tape) in the tape sticking step ([0033], frame holding step) and the cutting blade (Fig. 7, 341-, cutting blade) is made to cut into the wafer (Fig. 7, 3-cutting device, W-Wafer) in a state ([0035-0037]), in which the annular projection part and the frame are not fixed in the cutting step ([0041-0042], step of removing the annular reinforcing section, Fig. 7, W4-annular reinforcement portion).
Regarding Claim 3, PRIEWASSER as modified by SUZUKI and ORIMO teaches the cutting method of a wafer according claim 1.
ORIMO further teaches in Figure 23, the cutting method of a wafer (Fig. 15, S5, cutting the wafer, a flowchart illustrating the method of manufacturing the semiconductor device, [0065]), wherein the adhesive tape (Fig. 23, 33, dicing tape) extends uninterrupted from a bottom surface of the recess part ([0023]) to the annular projection part (Fig. 23, 32, ribs) such that a gap is formed (Fig. 23, A, gap, [0009]) between the uninterrupted adhesive tape (Fig. 23, 33, dicing tape), the bottom surface (annotated Figure 8), and an inner side surface of the annular projection part (Fig. 23, 32, ribs).
Regarding Claim 4, PRIEWASSER teaches, a cutting method of a wafer (processing method for a wafer, [0006]) for cutting the wafer (Fig. 7, 3-cutting device, W-Wafer) that includes an annular projection part (Fig. 7, W4-annular reinforcement portion) surrounding the recess part at an outer circumferential part (Fig. 1, W2-outer peripheral excess area), the cutting method ([0006], processing method for a wafer) for cutting the wafer (Fig. 7, 3-cutting device) comprising:
a tape sticking step (frame holding step, [0033]; step of re-adhering the diving band and division step, [0043, 0044]) of sticking an adhesive tape (Fig. 13, T2- dicing tape) along the recess part (Fig. 13, W3-circular recess portion) and the projection part (Fig. 7, W4-annular reinforcement portion) and supporting the wafer (Fig. 7, W-Wafer) by an annular frame through the adhesive tape (Fig. 13, T2- dicing tape; frame holding step, [0033]);
a holding step ([0034], frame holding step) of supporting the adhesive tape (Fig. 7, T1-dicing tape) stuck to the recess part (Fig. 7, W3-circular recess portion) by a holding surface (Fig. 7, 30-fixing table) of a chuck table having the holding surface with a smaller diameter than the recess part (Fig. 7, W3-circular recess portion) to hold the wafer by the chuck table (Fig. 7, 30-fixing table) with interposition of the adhesive tape (Fig. 7, T1-dicing tape); and
a cutting step (Fig. 7, [0035], step to separate the annular reinforcement section) of separating the recess part (Fig. 7, W3-circular recess portion) and the projection part (Fig. 7, W4- annular reinforcement portion) by making a cutting blade (Fig. 7, 341) that rotates (Fig. 7, 31-spindle) and cuts into a region of the wafer (Fig. 7, W-Wafer) that overlaps with the holding surface (Fig. 7, 30-fixing table) in such a manner that the cutting blade (Fig. 7, 341) reaches the adhesive tape (Fig. 7, T1-dicing tape) stuck to the recess part (Fig. 7, W3-circular recess portion) and rotating (Fig. 7, 31-spindle) the chuck table (Fig. 7, 30-fixing table) in a state in which the projection part (Fig. 7, W4- annular reinforcement portion) and the frame are not fixed ([0041-0042], step of removing the annular reinforcing section, Fig. 7, W4-annular reinforcement portion).
PRIEWASSER does not explicitly disclose a cutting step of separating the recess part and the projection part by making a cutting blade that rotates and cuts into a region of the wafer that overlaps with the holding surface in such a manner that the cutting blade reaches the adhesive tape stuck to the recess part and rotating the chuck table in a state in which the projection part and the frame are not fixed.
SUZUKI teaches a cutting step (Fig. 6B, dividing step, [0022]) of separating the recess part (Fig. 6A, 17) and the projection part (Fig. 6A, 21, annular frame) by making a cutting blade (Fig. 6B, 32) that rotates and cuts into a region of the wafer (Fig. 6a, 1, [0040]) that overlaps with the holding surface (Fig. 3B, 10, chuck table, [0031]) in such a manner that the cutting blade (Fig. 6B, 32) reaches the adhesive tape (Figs. 6A/6B, 19, dicing tape, [0042]) stuck to the recess part and rotating the chuck table (as moving the chuck table in a feeding direction, [0040-0042]) in a state in which the projection part (Fig. 6A, 21, annular frame) is not fixed ([0042]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified PRIEWASSER to incorporate the teachings of SUZUKI, such that a cutting step of separating the recess part and the projection part by making a cutting blade that rotates and cuts into a region of the wafer that overlaps with the holding surface in such a manner that the cutting blade reaches the adhesive tape stuck to the recess part and rotating the chuck table in a state in which the projection part and the frame are not fixed. In this arrangement and condition, the cutting blade is rotated and lowered to cut the wafer along the division lines from the front side, thereby dividing the wafer into the device chips (SUZUKI, [0004], [0008], [0041]).
PRIEWASSER as modified by SUZUKI does not explicitly disclose a cutting method of a wafer, the cutting method comprising: a holding step of supporting the adhesive tape stuck to the recess part by a holding surface of a chuck table having the holding surface with a smaller diameter than the recess part to hold the wafer by the chuck table with interposition of the adhesive tape.
ORIMO teaches a cutting method of a wafer (Fig. 15, S5, cutting the wafer, a flowchart illustrating the method of manufacturing the semiconductor device, [0065]) the cutting method comprising: a holding step (Fig. 15, S1-S4, [0022], [0033], [0036-0037]) of supporting (Fig. 15, S2, pasting device or bonding step, [0021]) the adhesive tape stuck (Fig. 23, 33, dicing tape), to the recess part by a holding surface of a chuck table (Figs. 17/23, 1, base part/10, first stage/20, second stage/60, stage) having the holding surface with a smaller diameter than ([0038]) the recess part (Figs. 17/23, 10, first stage/20, second stage/60, stage, the number of stages 10/20 placed on the base, 60 can be changed according to the diameter or height of the recessed portion of the wafer placed on the dicing stage, [0038], [0062]) to hold the wafer (Fig. 23, 30, rib wafer) by the chuck table (Figs. 17/23, 1, base part/10, first stage/20, second stage/60, stage) with interposition of the adhesive tape (Fig. 23, 33, dicing tape).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have PRIEWASSER as modified by SUZUKI to incorporate the teachings of ORIMO, such that a cutting method of a wafer, the cutting method comprising: a holding step of supporting the adhesive tape stuck to the recess part by a holding surface of a chuck table having the holding surface with a smaller diameter than the recess part to hold the wafer by the chuck table with interposition of the adhesive tape. Though the gap formation depends on the dimension of the stage with respect to the recess portion, but if there is a gap between the rib wafer, 30 and the dicing tape, the chips formed on the portions where the dicing tape, 33 is not attached scattering during dicing and subsequent cleaning (ORIMO, [0009]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200075311 A1 – Figure 8
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Gap formation between the annual projection part, X1, recess and the holding surface, Tb1.
US 20210043469 A1 – Figure 9A
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – Gap formation between the annular projection part, adhesive tape and the top surface side of the wafer.
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812
/CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812