DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 1/22/26. Currently, claims 1, 3-5, 8-12, 15, 23, and 29-42 are pending. Claims 33-42 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, 9, 12, 15, 32-37 and 40-42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US PGPub 2017/0011936, hereinafter referred to as “Lin”).
Lin discloses the semiconductor method as claimed. See figures 1-12 and corresponding text, where Lin teaches, in claim 1, a method for forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming a metallization layer (226, 228) on an exterior surface of a wafer (170); (figure 6a; [0055-0058])
singulating the wafer (170) into a plurality of singulated die (220); (figure 9d; [0076]) and
attaching a first of the singulated the die (220) to a chip carrier (242) using the metallization layer (figure 9e; [0077-0079]).
Lin teaches, in claim 4, further comprising forming a diffusion barrier (228) on the exterior surface of the die (figure 9a; [0071-0072]).
Lin teaches, in claim 5, wherein forming the metallization layer comprises forming a metallization layer from one of gold (Au), silver (Ag), copper (Cu), indium (In), bismuth (Bi), tin (Sn), lead tin (PbSn), or tin silver (SnAg) (figure 9a; [0071-0072]).
Lin teaches, in claim 9, wherein attaching the first of the singulated die comprises thermocompression bonding the first of the singulated die to the chip carrier ([0081])
Lin teaches, in claim 12, wherein attaching the first of the singulated die comprises transient liquid phase bonding the first of the singulated die to the chip carrier ([0081], heating above melting point to reflow to form balls).
Lin teaches, in claim 15, a method for forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming a metallization layer (226, 228) on an exterior surface of a wafer via chemical vapor deposition (CVD) ([0071]);
singulating the wafer (170) into a plurality of singulated die (220): (figures 6b, 6c and 9d; [0059-0063], [0076]) and
attaching a first of the singulated the die (220) to a chip carrier (242) using the metallization layer (226, 228), wherein the chip carrier (242) is a lead frame or a direct bonded copper substrate (figure 9e; [0077-0081]).
Lin teaches, in claim 32, wherein attaching the first of the singulated die comprises transient liquid phase bonding the first of the singulated die to the chip carrier ([0081], heating above melting point to reflow to form balls).
Lin teaches, in claim 33, wherein the chip carrier is a leadframe or a direct bonded copper substrate and the singulated first of the singulated die is a singulated silicon carbide die ([0055], [0074]).
Lin teaches, in claim 34, wherein the first of the singulated die includes an active layer, and the exterior surface of the wafer is opposite the active layer (figure 9a; [0070-0074]).
Lin teaches, in claim 35, wherein the metallization layer is formed on the exterior surface of the wafer via electroplating ([0073]).
Lin teaches, in claim 36, wherein the metallization layer is formed on the exterior surface of the wafer via electroless plating ([0073]).
Lin teaches, in claim 37, wherein the first of the singulated die includes an active layer, and the exterior surface of the wafer is opposite the active layer (figure 9a; [0070-0074]).
Lin teaches, in claim 40, a method for forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming a diffusion barrier (228) on an exterior surface of a singulated semiconductor die (220); (figure 9a; [0070-0074])
forming a metallization layer (226, 228) on the diffusion barrier opposite the exterior surface of the singulated semiconductor die (220); (figure 9d; [0076]) and
attaching the singulated die (220) to a chip carrier (242) using transient liquid phase bonding process, where the transient liquid phase bonding process converts the metallization layer into an intermetallic compound layer (figure 9e; [0077-0081], heating above melting point to reflow to form balls).
Lin teaches, in claim 41, wherein the intermetallic compound layer comprises metal from the metallization layer and material from the diffusion barrier ([0074],[0081]).
Lin teaches, in claim 42, wherein the intermetallic compound layer comprises metal from the metallization layer and material from the chip carrier ([0074], [0081]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23, 38 and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US PGPub 2017/0011936, hereinafter referred to as “Lin”) in view of Chuang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0336407, hereinafter referred to as “Chuang”).
Lin discloses the semiconductor method substantially as claimed. See figures 1-12 and corresponding text, where Lin teaches, in claim 23, a method for forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
forming a diffusion barrier (228) on an exterior surface of a wafer (170), where the wafer includes a plurality of die (220), a first of the die includes an active layer, and the exterior surface of the wafer is opposite the active layer; (figure 6a; [0055-0058])
forming a metallization layer (226, 228) on the diffusion barrier opposite the exterior surface of the wafer via electroplating or electroless plating (figure 9a; [0070-0074]);
singulating the wafer into a plurality of die (220); (figure 9d; [0076]) and
then attaching a first of the singulated die (220) to a chip carrier (242) using the metallization layer (226, 228), wherein attaching the die comprises diffusion bonding the die to the chip carrier or thermocompression bonding the die to the chip carrier (([0055], [0074], [0081]).
However, Lin fails to teach, in claim 23, the metallization layer comprising a gold-free bond layer having a thickness less than approximately 5 microns (µm), but more than 0.01 µm.
Chuang teaches, in claim 23, wherein forming the metallization layer comprises forming a metallization layer having a thickness less than approximately 5 microns (µm) but more than 0.01 µm ([0033]). In addition, Chuang provides the advantages of providing and adhesive layer (implied metallization) between the chip and the bonding layer prevents peeling this results in better bonding ([0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate wherein forming the metallization layer comprises forming a metallization layer having a thickness less than approximately 5 microns (µm) but more than 0.01 µm, in the method of Lin, according to the teachings of Chuang, with the motivation of preventing peeling between the bonding layer and the chip.
Lin teaches, in claim 38, wherein the chip carrier is a leadframe or a direct bonded copper substrate and the first of the singulated die is a silicon carbide die ([0055], [0081]).
Lin teaches, in claim 39, wherein the first of the singulated die includes an active layer, and the exterior surface of the wafer is opposite the active layer (figure 9a; [0070-0074]).
Claim(s) 3, 8, 10, and 29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US PGPub 2017/0011936, hereinafter referred to as “Lin”) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Chuang et al. (US PGPub 2022/0336407, hereinafter referred to as “Chuang”).
Lin discloses the semiconductor method substantially as claimed. See the rejection above.
Lin fails to explicitly teach, in claim 3, wherein forming the metallization layer comprises forming a metallization layer having a thickness less than approximately 5 microns (µm) but more than 0.01 µm.
Chuang teaches, in claim 3, wherein forming the metallization layer comprises forming a metallization layer having a thickness less than approximately 5 microns (µm) but more than 0.01 µm ([0033]). In addition, Chuang provides the advantages of providing and adhesive layer (implied metallization) between the chip and the bonding layer prevents peeling this results in better bonding ([0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate wherein forming the metallization layer comprises forming a metallization layer having a thickness less than approximately 5 microns (µm) but more than 0.01 µm, in the method of Lin, according to the teachings of Chuang, with the motivation of preventing peeling between the bonding layer and the chip.
Lin fails to teach, in claim 8, wherein attaching the first of the singulated die comprises diffusion bonding the first of the singulated die to the chip carrier.
Chuang teaches, in claim 8, wherein attaching the die comprises diffusion bonding the die to the chip carrier (figure 2; [0042-0044]). In addition, Chuang provides the advantages of providing and adhesive layer (implied metallization) between the chip and the bonding layer prevents peeling this results in better bonding ([0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate wherein attaching the die comprises diffusion bonding the die to the chip carrier, in the method of Lin, according to the teachings of Chuang, with the motivation of preventing peeling between the bonding layer and the chip.
Lin fails to teach, in claim 10, wherein attaching the first of the singulated die comprises reducing atmospheric pressure during attaching.
Chuang teaches, in claim 10, wherein attaching the die comprises reducing atmospheric pressure during attaching ([0047]). In addition, Chuang provides the advantages of providing and adhesive layer (implied metallization) between the chip and the bonding layer prevents peeling this results in better bonding ([0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate wherein attaching the die comprises reducing atmospheric pressure during attaching, in the method of Lin, according to the teachings of Chuang, with the motivation of preventing peeling between the bonding layer and the chip.
Lin fails to explicitly teach, in claim 29, wherein forming the metallization layer comprises forming a metallization layer having a thickness less than approximately 5 microns (pm) but more than 0.01 pm.
Chuang teaches, in claim 29, wherein forming the metallization layer comprises forming a metallization layer having a thickness less than approximately 5 microns (µm) but more than 0.01 µm ([0033]). In addition, Chuang provides the advantages of providing and adhesive layer (implied metallization) between the chip and the bonding layer prevents peeling this results in better bonding ([0067]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate wherein forming the metallization layer comprises forming a metallization layer having a thickness less than approximately 5 microns (µm) but more than 0.01 µm, in the method of Lin, according to the teachings of Chuang, with the motivation of preventing peeling between the bonding layer and the chip.
Lin in view of Chuang teaches, in claim 30, further comprising forming a diffusion barrier on the exterior surface of the die (figure 9a; [0070-0074], Lin).
Lin in view of Chuang teaches, in claim 31, wherein attaching the first of the singulated die comprises thermocompression bonding the first of the singulated die to the chip carrier ([0081], Lin).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US PGPub 2017/0011936, hereinafter referred to as “Lin”) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (US PGPub 2009/0224371, hereinafter referred to as “Yu”).
Lin discloses the semiconductor method substantially as claimed. See the rejection above.
However,Lin fails to show, in claim 11, wherein the diffusion bonding comprises diffusion bonding at less than approximately 250 oC.
Yu teaches, in claim 11, uses a similar method that includes a diffusion bonding step starting at 250 degrees ([0045]). In addition, Yu provides the advantages of creating and oxidation/corrosion protective layer, thus improving reliability of the bonding process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate wherein the diffusion bonding comprises diffusion bonding at less than approximately 250 oC, in the method of Lin, according to the teachings of Yu, with the motivation of improving reliability of the bonding process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-12, 15, 23, and 29-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant’s amendment has necessitated new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 May 14, 2026
/Leonard Chang/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898