DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed 4/3/2026 have been entered and considered. The amendments to claims 1, 5, 12, and 13 are acknowledged.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzaic et al. US 20130088671 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Drzaic), in view of Stierman et al. US 20010033020 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Stierman), in view of Templier et al US 20190131343 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Templier), in view of Zhong et al. US 10340246 B1 (hereinafter referred to as Zhong), in view of Nishimura US 20090057891 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Nishimura).
Regarding claim 1, Drzaic teaches
A display device (“device 10” para. 0050 FIG. 5) comprising:
a display panel (“display 14” para. 0049 FIG. 5) comprising a first panel pad (“bond pad 54A” para. 0046 FIG. 5);
a first circuit board (rightmost portion of “printed circuit 58” para. 0048 as dawn in annotated FIG. 5) comprising a first pad (“bond pad 54B” para. 0046 FIG. 5), the first circuit board being on a same base substrate (portion of “printed circuit 58” under “display 14”) as the display panel and spaced from the first panel pad (see annotated FIG. 5); and
a wire (“wire bond 56” para. 0050 FIG. 5) connecting the first panel pad and the first pad to each other (“wire bond 56” connects “bond pads 54A and 54B”, para. 0046 FIG. 5),
wherein the wire (“wire bond 56”) comprises:
a first bonding portion bonded to the first panel pad (portion of “wire bond 56” on “bond pad 54A”, Drzaic FIG. 5);
a second bonding portion bonded to the first pad (portion of “wire bond 56” on “bond pad 54B”, Drzaic FIG. 5); and
a connection part connecting the first bonding portion and the second bonding portion to each other (portion of “bond wire 56” not in contact with “first and second bond pads 54A and 54B”),
However, Drzaic fails to teach a coating member on the first pad, wherein the coating member comprises a same material as the wire and is integrally connected to the wire, wherein the coating member further comprises a first coating member covering one side of the first pad and a second coating member covering an other side of the first pad, and wherein the wire is located between the first coating member and the second coating member, and is in electrical contact with the first pad, and wherein the display panel comprises a contact electrode between a pixel electrode and a light emitting element, and wherein the first panel pad and the contact electrode comprises a same material, wherein the wire comprises: a first bonding portion bonded to the first panel pad; a second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion and bonded to the first pad; and a connection part connecting the first bonding portion and the second bonding portion to each other, and wherein a thickness of the first coating member and a thickness of the second coating member are smaller than a diameter of the connection part.
Nevertheless, Stierman teaches
a coating member (“layer 206” para. 0048 FIG. 2A-2B) on the first pad,
wherein the coating member comprises a same material as the wire and is integrally connected to the wire (“layer 206” and “wire 110” comprise gold and form a bond, such that they are considered integrally connected, para. 0042 and 0048),
wherein the coating member further comprises a first coating member covering one side of the first pad (left side of “layer 206” drawn in annotated FIG. 2B) and a second coating member covering an other side of the first pad (right side of “layer 206” drawn in annotated FIG. 2B), and
wherein the wire is located between the first coating member and the second coating member (“wire bond 111” of “wire 110” is above and substantially between the left and right portions of “layer 206”), and is in electrical contact with the first pad (“wire 110” is electrically connected with “bond pad 203”, para. 0046, through “layer 206” and “layer 205” since they are metals in contact),
wherein a thickness of the first coating member and a thickness of the second coating member are smaller than a diameter of the connection part (“layer 206” is the outermost layer and the outermost layer is taught as having a thickness of 1.5µ, para. 0048. Meanwhile, “wire 110” has a diameter between 18-33µm, para. 0042).
Drzaic and Stierman teach interconnections using wires and bonding pads. The “layer 206” is gold, platinum, palladium, or silver so that it can readily bond with “wire 110”, which comprises gold (para. 0048). The gold material of “layer 206” has a small diffusion coefficient with the material of “barrier 205”, which may be nickel so that copper diffusion from “bond pad 203” is prevented (para. 0047). The thickness of “layer 206” achieves a reduced diffusion of nickel from “barrier 205” into “layer 206” so that the nickel does not impede wirebonding (para. 0019 0048). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that a reliable bond can be achieved with a gold “layer 206” on a barrier layer of the pad and comprising the same gold material as the “wire 110”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught in Drzaic with the coating member taught in Stierman. The coating member provides a bondable surface for the wire of the same material, such as gold, while also preventing diffusion from material below.
However, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, fail to wherein the display panel comprises a contact electrode between a pixel electrode and a light emitting element, and wherein the first panel pad and the contact electrode comprises a same material, the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion.
Nevertheless, Templier teaches
wherein the display panel (“display device” para. 0044 FIG. 1A-1I) comprises a contact electrode (“metal layer 116” para. 0035 FIG. 1I) between a pixel electrode (“metal connection pad 113” para. 0035) and a light emittinq element (“N-type doped gallium nitride layer 153”, “emissive layer 155”, and “gallium nitride layer 157” make up the “active gallium nitride LED stack”, para. 0034).
Drzaic, modified by Stierman and Templier, teach display devices. “Semiconductor substrate 111” containing “integrated control circuit 110” for manipulation of the LEDs in Templier is analogous to the “TFT layer 14B” with “display circuitry 53” in Drzaic (Templier para. 0033). The “display layer 14A” in Drzaic may be an organic LED or any other display technology (para. 0033). From this, the examiner understands that LED technology is a suitable for “display layer 14A”. “Metal connection pads 113” are connected to circuitry similarly to how “display circuitry 53” contains display electrodes with display circuitry (Drzaic para. 0040 and Templier para. 0033). “Metal layer 116” is formed between and electrically connects “metal layer 116” and ““active gallium nitride LED stack”. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the “display layer 14A” in Drzaic can be made of LEDs as in Templier and connected to “TFT layer 14B” through “metal layer 116”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught between Drzaic and Stierman with the display panel and contact electrodes as taught in Templier. The display panel can be made of LED technology and each LED can be connected to circuitry through a contact electrode.
However, Drzaic, Stierman, and Templier fail to teach wherein the first panel pad and the contact electrode comprises a same material, the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion.
Nevertheless, Zhong teaches “contact pads 414” of a “semiconductor chip 406” comprising at least an aluminum or aluminum alloy (col 6 lines 23-24 FIG. 5). The “semiconductor chip 406” is wire bonded to a “substrate 404” (col 6 lines 32-49) analogous to how “display 14” is bonded to “printed circuit substrate 58” in Drzaic. Templier teaches the “metal layer 116” comprises aluminum (Templier para. 0051). One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that aluminum is well known material suitable for use as the “contact pad 54B” in Drzaic.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught between Drzaic, Stierman, and Templier with the aluminum first panel pad taught in Zhong. Aluminum is a well known material used for pads.
However, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, and Zhong, fails to teach the second bonding portion having a smaller size than the first bonding portion.
Nevertheless, Nishimura teaches
the second bonding portion (“electrode terminal 107” para. 0145 FIG. 3B) having a smaller size than the first bonding portion (“external connection electrode terminal 104e” para. 0141 FIG. 3B. The ball portion of the “bonding wire 109” is connected to “external connection electrode terminal 104e” while the trail end is connected to the “electrode terminal 107”, para. 0141-0145 FIG. 3A-3D),
Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, and Zhong, and Nishimura teach packages comprising a semiconductor chip wire bonded to a circuit board. Nishimura teaches “the leading end of the bonding wire 109, i.e. the ball portion, is connected to the external connection electrode terminal 104e of the second semiconductor element 104” when “the portion of the external connection electrode terminal 104e of the second semiconductor element 104 subjected to wire bonding is mechanically supported with the bumps 111” (para. 0142 FIG. 3B). The support prevents the “second semiconductor element 104” from being bent (para. 0142). Drzaic teaches ball bonding as a suitable process for forming the “wire bond 56” (Drzaic para. 0045). The “adhesive 68” that attaches “printed circuit substrate 58 to the underside of TFT layer 14B” may “increase the robustness of the display” (para. 0052), analogous to how “bumps 111” mechanically support the “second semiconductor element 104” in Nishimura. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the ball portion of the wire, the portion of larger size, is bonded to the first panel pad because there is more physical support to withstand the force applied during ball bonding.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught between Drzaic, Stierman, Templier, and Zhong, with the wire bonding taught in Nishimura. The display panel has the mechanical support to tolerate the force with which the second bonding portion of the wire, the ball end, is bonded to the first panel pad.
Regarding claim 4, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura, further teaches
wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are connected to each other by the wire (As seen above in annotated FIG. 2 of Stierman, first and second coating member connect where the “wire bond 111” is bonded.).
Regarding claim 5, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura, teaches the display device of claim 4 and further teaches
wherein the first coating member and the second coating member are integrally connected to the second bonding portion (left and right sides of “layer 206” and the “wire 110” comprise gold and form a bond, such that they are considered integrally connected, para. 0042 and 0048).
Regarding claim 6, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Hishimura, teaches the display device of claim 5 and further teaches
wherein a portion of the first coating member and a portion of the second coating member protrude toward the second bonding portion in a plan view (the left and right portions of “layer 206” extend under “wire bond 111”. These smaller portions that are immediately below “wire bond 111” can be considered to protrude inward from the portions of left and right “layer 206” not directly under “wire bond 111”.).
Regarding claim 14, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura, teaches the display device of claim 1 and further teaches
wherein the coating member is interposed between the first pad and the wire (left and right sides of “layer 206” lie between “wire bond 111” and “bond pad 203” as seen in FIG. 2B of Stierman).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzaic, Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bessho et al, US 20150077966 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Bessho).
Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura, teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the display panel further comprises: a semiconductor circuit substrate (“semiconductor substrate 111” Templier para. 0033) comprising a plurality of pixel circuit units (“control circuit further comprises, for each LED, connected to the metal pad 113 dedicated to the LED, an elementary control cell comprising one or a plurality of transistors” Templier para. 0033); a light emitting element layer (layer comprising “active gallium nitride LED stacks”, “insulating material 176”, and “insulating layer 180”, Templier para. 0042, 0044) on the semiconductor circuit substrate and comprising a plurality of light emitting elements (“active gallium nitride LED stacks”).
However, Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura, fail to teach a wavelength conversion substrate on the light emitting element layer.
Nevertheless, Bessho teaches
a wavelength conversion substrate (“light-scattering body film 73, the red phosphor film 74, the green phosphor film 75, and the light absorption layer 76”, para. 0434 FIG. 16) on the light emitting element layer (layer with “organic EL elements 212”, comprising “a hole injection layer 216, a hole transport layer 217, a light-emitting layer 218, a hole blocking layer 219, an electron transport layer 220, an electron injection layer 221, and second electrode 215” and a corresponding “first electrode 213” for each “organic EL elements 212”, para. 0291 and 0433, FIG. 13 and 16).
Drzaic, modified by Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura, and Bessho teach display panels. Bessho teaches the use of “red phosphor film 74” and “green phosphor film 75” to convert blue light into red and green light while “light-scattering body film 73” scatters the blue light (para. 0214). This enables multicolor light emission. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the wavelength conversion layer comprising “light-scattering body film 73”, “red phosphor film 74”, and “green phosphor film 75” allows for a multicolor display panel.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display device taught between Drzaic, Stierman, Templier, Zhong, and Nishimura, with the wavelength conversion layer taught in Bessho. The display panel with a wavelength conversion layer can emit multiple colors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 7, the most relevant prior art Stierman teaches wherein the wire is located between the first coating member and the second coating member. However, Stierman fails to teach or render obvious wherein a recessed portion recessed toward the first pad is defined over the second bonding portion, the portion of the first coating member, and the portion of the second coating member. Therefore, claim 7 is considered to contain allowable subject matter.
Claim 8 is considered allowable based on their dependency on claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, the most relevant prior art Stierman teaches wherein the wire is located between the first coating member and the second coating member. However, Stierman fails to teach or render obvious wherein a first recessed portion and a second recessed portion having different depths are defined over the second bonding portion, the first coating member, and the second coating member. Therefore, claim 9 is considered to contain allowable subject matter.
Claims 10-13 are considered allowable based on their dependency on claim 9.
Conclusion
/ERIC MANUEL MULERO FLORES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898