Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mehandru et al. (US 2020/0303509).
Regarding claim 21, Mehandru discloses a semiconductor structure, comprising:
a transistor structure (1300/1200) comprising a source/drain (S/D) region (961) [Figs. 12A-13 and paragraphs 0074-0076];
a front side metal line (M1,1333/1320,1075) above the S/D region [Figs. 12A-12B, 13 (annotated below) and paragraphs 0074-0076];
a front side metal via (V1, 1333/1320,1071) in contact with a front surface of the S/D region and with the front side metal line (1333/1320,1075) [Figs. 12A-12B, 13 (annotated below) and paragraphs 0074-0076];
a back side metal line (M2,1334/1321) below the S/D region (961) [Figs. 12A-12B, 13 (annotated below) and paragraphs 0074-0076]; and
a back side metal via (V2,1334/1321,1281) in contact with a back surface of the S/D region and with the back side metal line [Figs. 12A-12B, 13 (annotated below) and paragraphs 0074-0076].
[AltContent: textbox (M4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (M2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (V4)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (V3)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (V2)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (M1)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (V1)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 22, Mehandru discloses another transistor (1300/1200) comprising another S/D region (another region 961); and another back side metal via (V4) in contact with a back surface of the other S/D region [Figs. 12A-12B, 13 (annotated above) and paragraphs 0074-0076].
Regarding claim 23, Mehandru discloses another back side metal line (M4) below and in contact with the other back side metal via (V4), wherein the other back side metal line (M4) is at a same metallization level as the back side metal line (M2) [Figs. 12A-12B, 13 (annotated above) and paragraphs 0074-0076].
Regarding claim 24, Mehandru discloses another front side metal via (V3) electrically connected to the other S/D region (another region 961), wherein the front side metal via (V1) and the other front side metal via (V3) are electrically connected to the front side metal line (M1) [Figs. 12A-12B, 13 (annotated above) and paragraphs 0074-0076].
Regarding claim 25, Mehandru discloses another front side metal via (V3) in contact with the front side metal line (M1), wherein the [an]other front side metal via (V3) is at a same metallization level as the front side metal via (V1) [Figs. 12A-12B, 13 (annotated above) and paragraphs 0074-0076].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/Jose R Diaz/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815