DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the applicant's amendment entered with the RCE filed October 6th, 2025. In virtue of this communication, claims 1-19 are currently presented in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2024/0206270 A1; hereinafter Wang).
With respect to claim 1, Wang teaches a display device in Figs. 1-3 comprising:
a first pixel circuit unit (second driving unit) and a second pixel circuit unit 200 spaced apart from each other (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 46, 60, 61, 65; note second driving unit is display region 13);
a first pixel electrode (where 136 connects to source/drain electrode 135 of second driving unit) on the first pixel circuit unit (second driving unit) (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 63, 64; note reference number 135 not show in drawing);
a second pixel electrode (where 300 connects to 203) on the second pixel circuit unit 200 (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 49, 54, 55, 69);
a first single light-emitting element (second light-emitting device unit) electrically connected to the first pixel electrode (where 136 connects to source/drain electrode 135 of second driving unit), and for emitting first light (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 60, 63, 64, 70);
a second single light-emitting element 100 electrically connected to the second pixel electrode (where 300 connects to 203), and for emitting second light 200 (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 46, 47, 49, 51, 68);
a first pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole) between the first pixel electrode (where 136 connects to source/drain electrode 135 of second driving unit) and the first light-emitting element (second light-emitting device unit) (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 63, 64); and
a second pixel connecting electrode 300 between the second pixel electrode (where 300 connects to 203) and the second light-emitting element 100 (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 49, 54, 55, 69),
wherein the first pixel electrode (where 136 connects to source/drain electrode 135 of second driving unit) overlaps with the first light-emitting element (second light-emitting device unit) (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 63, 64),
wherein the second pixel electrode (where 300 connects to 203) does not overlap with the second light-emitting element 100 (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 49, 54, 55, 69),
wherein the first pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole) and the second pixel connecting electrode 300 are in contact with an upper surface of a first insulating film 500 (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 56, 57, 62-64), and
wherein the first pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole) is connected to the first pixel electrode (where 136 connects to source/drain electrode 135 of second driving unit) via a first contact hole (third via hole) penetrating the first insulating film 500 (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 56, 57, 62-64; note reference number 135 not show in drawing).
With respect to claim 2, Wang teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a length of the second pixel connecting electrode 300 is greater than a length of the first pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole) (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 49, 54, 55, 63, 64, 69).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2024/0206270 A1; hereinafter Wang) in view of Bibl et al. (US 2014/0267683 A1; hereinafter Bibl).
With respect to claim 3, Wang discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole) comprises: a first sub-pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole at layer 500) in the first contact hole (third via hole), and connected to the first pixel electrode (where 136 connects to source/drain electrode 135 of second driving unit); and a second sub-pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole at layer 600) on the first sub-pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole at layer 500), and in a second contact hole penetrating a second film 600 on the first insulating film 500 (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 56, 57, 62-64).
Wang does not explicitly disclose where the second film 600 is an insulating film. It is noted that 600 is a planarization layer (see paragraph 62).
Bibl discloses a display device in Figs. 3A-3D and 5F-6C comprising an insulating planarization layer 122 (see Figs. 3A-3D and 6C and paragraph 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the second film of Wang would be an insulating film as taught by Bibl because it is well known in the art that planarization layers are insulating layers and it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill (see MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 4, the combination of Wang and Bibl discloses the display device of claim 3, wherein the first sub-pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole at layer 500) and the second sub-pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole at layer 600) overlap with the first light-emitting element (second driving unit) (see Wang: Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 56, 57, 62-64; note overlap in Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 5, Wang discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the second pixel connecting electrode 300 comprises: a first sub-pixel connecting electrode (part of 300 in first via hole at layer 500) in the first contact hole (third via hole), and connected to the second pixel electrode (where 300 connects to 203); and a second sub-pixel connecting electrode (part of 300 in second via hole at layer 600) on the first sub-pixel connecting electrode (part of 300 in first via hole at layer 500), and in a second contact hole penetrating a second film 600 on the first insulating film 500 (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 49, 55-57, 68, 69).
Wang does not explicitly disclose where the second film 600 is an insulating film. It is noted that 600 is a planarization layer (see paragraph 62).
Bibl discloses a display device in Figs. 3A-3D and 5F-6C comprising an insulating planarization layer 122 (see Figs. 3A-3D and 6C and paragraph 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the second film of Wang would be an insulating film as taught by Bibl because it is well known in the art that planarization layers are insulating layers and it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill (see MPEP 2144.07).
With respect to claim 6, the combination of Wang and Bibl discloses the display device of claim 5, wherein a portion of the first sub-pixel connecting electrode (part of 300 in first via hole at layer 500) does not overlap with the second light-emitting element 100, and wherein a portion of the second sub-pixel connecting electrode (part of 300 in second via hole at layer 600) overlaps with the second light-emitting element 100 (see Wang: Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 49, 55-57, 68, 69.
With respect to claim 11, Wang discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a common electrode 138 on the first (second light-emitting device unit) and second 100 light-emitting elements (see Figs. 2, 3, and paragraphs 63, 68, 70; note 138 commonly connected).
Wang does not explicitly disclose a common voltage electrode on at least one of the first and second pixel circuit units, and configured to receive a common voltage; or a common connecting electrode between the common voltage electrode and the common electrode, wherein the common voltage electrode is on at least one of the first pixel circuit unit or the second pixel circuit unit.
Bibl discloses a display device 100 in Figs. 3A-3D and 5F-6C, further comprising: a common voltage electrode 144 on at least one of a first and second pixel circuit units, and configured to receive a common voltage (see Figs. 3A-3D, 6A-6C, and paragraphs 6, 58, 60, 62, 66, 82, 88, 90; note 144 connected to ground ring 116 to transfer ground signal to array of pixels); and a common connecting electrode 145 between the common voltage electrode 144 and the common electrode 118 (see Figs. 3D, 6C, and paragraphs 6, 58, 62, 66; note element 145 enabling electrical contact of top electrode to 144 through opening 149), wherein the common voltage electrode 145 is on at least one of the first pixel circuit unit or the second pixel circuit unit (see Figs. 3D, 6C, and paragraphs 6, 58, 62, 66; note element 145 is on and part of each pixel).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the display device of Wang would further comprise a common voltage electrode on at least one of the first and second pixel circuit units, and configured to receive a common voltage; and a common connecting electrode between the common voltage electrode and the common electrode, wherein the common voltage electrode is on at least one of the first pixel circuit unit or the second pixel circuit unit as taught by Bibl because with such a configuration the ground signal may be more uniformly applied to the matrix of subpixels, resulting in more uniform brightness across the display panel 100 (see paragraph 66).
With respect to claim 12, the combination of Wang and Bibl discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the common connecting electrode 145 comprises: a first sub-common connecting electrode (part of 145 in 122) in a first contact hole (opening in 122) penetrating a first insulating film 122, and connected to the common voltage electrode 144; and a second sub-common connecting electrode (part of 145 in 126) on the first sub-common connecting electrode (part of 145 in 122), and in a second contact hole (opening in 126) penetrating a second insulating film 126 on the first insulating film 122 (see Bibl: Fig. 3D and paragraphs 8, 54-57, 62).
With respect to claim 13, the combination of Wang and Bibl discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the common connecting electrode 145 does not overlap with the first light-emitting element or the second light-emitting element (see Bibl: Figs. 3D and 6C and 6C annotated above and paragraph 62; note 145 is outside and away from 128 where LEDs are located).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 and 17-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With respect to claim 7, the known prior art does not teach the claim as a whole, in particular: a step compensation layer on the second insulating film, and comprising a same material as the second sub-pixel connecting electrode in combination with the remaining limitations called for in claim 7.
None of the prior art on record contains such a limitation, nor given the prior art on record is it obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to add said limitations as recited in claim 7. Therefore, claim 7 is allowed as it is not anticipated by or obvious over the teachings of the prior art on record. Claims 8-10 are also allowed as they depend from an allowed base claim.
With respect to claim 17, the known prior art does not teach the claim as a whole, in particular: a common voltage electrode on at least one of the first pixel circuit unit or the second pixel circuit unit units, overlapping the second light emitting element, and configured to receive a common voltage; and a common connecting electrode between the common voltage electrode and the common electrode in combination with the remaining limitations called for in claim 17.
None of the prior art on record contains such a limitation, nor given the prior art on record is it obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to add said limitations as recited in claim 17. Therefore, claim 17 is allowed as it is not anticipated by or obvious over the teachings of the prior art on record. Claims 18 and 19 are also allowed as they depend from an allowed base claim.
Additionally, claims 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art does not disclose or fairly suggest: a partition wall on the second sub-common connecting electrode, and at least partially defining a first emission area in which the first light-emitting element is located, and a second emission area in which the second light-emitting element is located; and a connecting metal layer between the partition wall and the second sub-common connecting electrode, as called for in claim 14 (claims 15 and 16 depend from claim 14).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 5th, 2025 with respect to claims 1-6 and 11-13 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues on page 11 of the response that “the cited references do not appear to disclose or suggest that the alleged first pixel electrode PXE1 and the alleged first pixel connecting electrode PCE1 are located on different layers respective.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the first pixel electrode and the first pixel connecting electrode being located on different levels) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Additionally, as shown in Fig. 3 of Wang, the first pixel electrode (where 136 connects to source/drain electrode 135 of second driving unit) is located below the first pixel connecting electrode (part of 136 in third via hole above where 136 connects to source/drain electrode 135 of second driving unit). Therefore, the first pixel electrode and the first pixel connecting electrode are located on different layers and claims 1-6 and 11-13 remain rejected.
Inquiry
/J.M.K/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/SUE A PURVIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893