Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, 12, 21, and 23-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung; Minkyu et al. (US 20200157682 A1) in view of Belen; Rodolfo P. et al. (US 20090218317 A1). Sung teaches a substrate processing system, comprising: a processing chamber (110; Figure 1), comprising a lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1), one or more chamber sidewalls (sidewalls of 110; Figure 1), and a chamber base (base of 110; Figure 1) that collectively define a processing volume (110; Figure 1); an annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) coupled to the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1), the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) comprising: a first outer surface (top of 156; Figure 1,2) and a second outer surface (bottom of 156; Figure 1,2) opposite the first outer surface (top of 156; Figure 1,2); a central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment); an inner channel (inner “groove “in 156 fed by 51; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 206; Figure 1,2B) disposed outwardly of the central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment); a plurality of intermediate channels (“grooves” at 53,55; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 208a,b; Figure 2B) disposed outwardly of the inner channel (inner “groove “in 156 fed by 51; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 206; Figure 1,2B); an outer channel (“groove” at 57; Figure 1,2) disposed outwardly of the plurality of intermediate channels (“grooves” at 53,55; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 208a,b; Figure 2B); and one or more openings (conduits between 156 and 154; Figure 1,2) formed within the outer channel (“groove” at 57; Figure 1,2); an edge manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for edge-Applicant’s 103; Figure 1) fluidly coupled to the processing chamber (110; Figure 1) through the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) and the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1); and a center manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for center pipe 190; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 107; Figure 1) coupled to the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1), and a blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1) coupled to the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) on a side opposing the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) - claim 1
Sung further teaches:
The substrate processing system of claim 1, wherein the inner channel (inner “groove “in 156 fed by 51; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 206; Figure 1,2B), the plurality of intermediate channels (“grooves” at 53,55; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 208a,b; Figure 2B), and the outer channel (“groove” at 57; Figure 1,2) are in fluid communication with the edge manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for edge-Applicant’s 103; Figure 1) and an edge gas hole (edge gas hole in 154; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 204; Figure 1) disposed through the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 3
The substrate processing system of claim 3, wherein the edge gas hole (edge gas hole in 154; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 204; Figure 1) of the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) is fluidly coupled to an edge region of the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1), the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1) further comprising a center region fluidly isolated (fluidly isolated starting at 156) from the edge region , as claimed by claim 4
The substrate processing system of claim 4, further comprising a valve assembly (154,190; Figure 1) capable of switching a gas flow provided to the edge region of the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1) and the center region of the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 5
The substrate processing system of claim 1, wherein the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) comprises a channel (“groove” at 57; Figure 1,2) disposed around the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1), wherein the channel (“groove” at 57; Figure 1,2) is fluidly coupled to edge gas holes (edge gas holes in 156,154; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 204; Figure 1) in a lid interfacing surface (156/154; Figure 1,2) of the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 6
A gas delivery system comprising: a lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) having a first major surface (top of 154; Figure 1,2) and a second major surface (bottom of 154; Figure 2) opposing the first major surface (top of 154; Figure 1,2);an annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) coupled to the first major surface (top of 154; Figure 1,2) of the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1), the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) comprising: a first outer surface (top of 156; Figure 1,2) and a second outer surface (bottom of 156; Figure 1,2) opposite the first outer surface (top of 156; Figure 1,2); a central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment); an inner channel (inner “groove “in 156 fed by 51; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 206; Figure 1,2B) disposed outwardly of the central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment); a plurality of intermediate channels (“grooves” at 53,55; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 208a,b; Figure 2B) disposed outwardly of the inner channel (inner “groove “in 156 fed by 51; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 206; Figure 1,2B); an outer channel (“groove” at 57; Figure 1,2) disposed outwardly of the plurality of intermediate channels (“grooves” at 53,55; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 208a,b; Figure 2B); and one or more openings (conduits between 156 and 154; Figure 1,2) formed within the outer channel (“groove” at 57; Figure 1,2);a blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1) coupled to the second major surface (bottom of 154; Figure 2) of the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1);a center manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for center pipe 190; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 107; Figure 1) fluidly coupled to an opening of the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1); and an edge manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for edge-Applicant’s 103; Figure 1) fluidly coupled to the center manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for center pipe 190; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 107; Figure 1) and the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) - claim 7
The gas delivery system of claim 7, wherein the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) comprises a plurality of edge gas holes (edge gas holes in 156,154; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 204; Figure 1) extending from the first major surface (top of 154; Figure 1,2) to the second major surface (bottom of 154; Figure 2) of the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 9
The gas delivery system of claim 7, wherein the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1) comprises an edge region defined between an outer circumferential edge of the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1) and an inner circumferential partition (26a: Figure 2) of the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 12
A processing chamber (110; Figure 1), comprising: a base (base of 110; Figure 1): one or more sidewalls (sidewalls of 110; Figure 1) coupled to the base (base of 110; Figure 1); a lid assembly (154; Figure 1) coupled to the one or more sidewalls (sidewalls of 110; Figure 1) disposed opposite to the base (base of 110; Figure 1), the lid assembly (154; Figure 1) comprising: a lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1); an annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) coupled to the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1), the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) comprising: a first outer surface (top of 156; Figure 1,2) and a second outer surface (bottom of 156; Figure 1,2) opposite the first outer surface (top of 156; Figure 1,2); a central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment); an inner channel (inner “groove “in 156 fed by 51; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 206; Figure 1,2B) disposed outwardly of the central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment); a plurality of intermediate channels (“grooves” at 53,55; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 208a,b; Figure 2B) disposed outwardly of the inner channel (inner “groove “in 156 fed by 51; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 206; Figure 1,2B): an outer channel (outer “groove” in 156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 212; Figure 2B) disposed outwardly of the plurality of intermediate channels (“grooves” at 53,55; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 208a,b; Figure 2B); and one or more openings (conduits between 156 and 154; Figure 1,2) formed within the outer channel (outer “groove” in 156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 212; Figure 2B); an edge manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for edge-Applicant’s 103; Figure 1) fluidly coupled to the processing chamber (110; Figure 1) through the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) and the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1); and a center manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for center pipe 190; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 107; Figure 1) fluidly coupled to a center gas inlet (FL1; Figure 2) disposed in the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) , and a blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1) coupled to the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) on a side opposing the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) - claim 21
The processing chamber (110; Figure 1) of claim 21, wherein the edge manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for edge-Applicant’s 103; Figure 1) is fluidly coupled to the one or more openings (conduits between 156 and 154; Figure 1,2) , as claimed by claim 23
The processing chamber (110; Figure 1) of claim 23, wherein an edge gas hole (edge gas hole of 154; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 204; Figure 1) of the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) is fluidly coupled to an edge region of the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1), the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1) further comprising a center region fluidly isolated (fluidly isolated starting at 156) from the edge region , as claimed by claim 24
The processing chamber (110; Figure 1) of claim 24, further comprising a valve assembly (154,190; Figure 1) capable of switching a gas flow provided to the edge region of the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1) and the center region of the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 25
The processing chamber (110; Figure 1) of claim 25, wherein the one or more openings (conduits between 156 and 154; Figure 1,2) formed within the outer channel (“groove” at 57; Figure 1,2) are fluidly coupled to the edge gas holes (edge gas holes in 156,154; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 204; Figure 1) of the lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1), as claimed byclaim 26
Sung does not teach an additional hole in Sung’s annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) that is coaxial with Sung’s central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment). As a result, Sung does not teach Sung’s annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) comprising: Sung’s central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment) extending from the first outer surface (top of 156; Figure 1,2) to the second outer surface (bottom of 156; Figure 1,2), wherein Sung’s central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment) is coaxial to Sung’s center gas inlet (Applicant’s 123; Figure 1). Likewise, Sung does not teach Sung’s lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) comprising a center gas inlet (Applicant’s 123; Figure 1) extending through the Sung’s lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) – claims 1, 7, 21. Further, Sung’s drawings, in contrast to Applicant’s amended drawings and specification, do not appear to teach wherein Sung’s center manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for center pipe 190; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 107; Figure 1) extends through the central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment) of Sung’s annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) – claims 1, 7, 21.
Belen also teaches a wafer processing system (Figure 2) with similar, unmixed, gas zones (232, 231, 230; Figure 2) as also taught by Sung. Belen further teaches an annular plate (208A; Figure 2) including a coaxial gas distribution opening (230/208A interface; Figure 2) comprising Belen’s central opening (central opening accommodating pipe feeding 230; Figure 2-Applicant’s 131; Figure 1) extending from the first outer surface (top of 208A; Figure 2) to the second outer surface (bottom of 208A; Figure 2). Belen also teaches Belen’s center manifold (piping feeding 230; Figure 2-Applicant’s 107; Figure 1) extends through (note vertical pipe lines in 208A cross-hatching) the central opening (central opening accommodating pipe feeding 230; Figure 2) of Belen’s annular plate (208A; Figure 2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1). As a result, Belen further teaches wherein Belen’s central opening (central opening in 208 accommodating pipe feeding 230; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment) is coaxial to Belen’s center gas inlet (inlet hole feeding 230; Figure 2-Applicant’s 123; Figure 1). Likewise, Belen’s teaches Belen’s lid plate (208; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) comprising a center gas inlet (inlet hole feeding 230; Figure 2-Applicant’s 123; Figure 1) extending through (coaxial holes top to bottom in center of 208) the Belen’s lid plate (208; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Sung to add an additional, coaxial, gas hole in Sung’s annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) as taught by Belen and to extend Sung’s center manifold through Sung’s central opening of Sung’s annular plate.
Motivation for Sung to add an additional, coaxial, gas hole in Sung’s annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) as taught by Belen is for “improving process uniformity across a substrate” as taught by Belen ([0037]).
Motivation to extend Sung’s center manifold through Sung’s central opening of Sung’s annular plate is for improving hermeticity and/or eliminating fittings.
Claims 8, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sung; Minkyu et al. (US 20200157682 A1) and Belen; Rodolfo P. et al. (US 20090218317 A1) in view of Okayama; Nobuyuki et al. (US 20140291286 A1). Sung and Belen are discussed above. Sung and Belen do not teach:
The gas delivery system of claim 7, further comprising a showerhead (16; Figure 2) coupled to the blocker plate (152; Figures 1,2-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 8
The gas delivery system of claim 9, wherein the plurality of edge gas holes (edge gas holes in 156,154; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 204; Figure 1) are angled radially inward from the first major surface (top of 154; Figure 1,2) to the second major surface (bottom of 154; Figure 2), as claimed by claim 10
The gas delivery system of claim 9, wherein each inlet of each edge gas hole (edge gas hole in 156,154,152; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 204; Figure 1) is in fluid communication with the inner channel (inner “groove “in 156 fed by 51; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 206; Figure 1,2B), the plurality of intermediate channels (“grooves” at 53,55; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 208a,b; Figure 2B), and the outer channel (“groove” at 57; Figure 1,2) of the annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 11
The gas delivery system of claim 12, wherein the edge region comprises a plurality of segments separated by dividers (Figure 7), as claimed by claim 13
Okayama was discussed in prior actions. Okayama teaches
The gas delivery system of claim 7, further comprising a showerhead (16b; Figure 2) coupled to the blocker plate (26; Figures 1-5-Applicant’s 125; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 8
The gas delivery system of claim 9, wherein the plurality of edge gas holes (L22,L32; Figure 2-Applicant’s 204; Figure 1) are angled radially inward from the first major surface (top of 24; Figure 2) to the second major surface (bottom of 24; Figure 2), as claimed by claim 10
The gas delivery system of claim 9, wherein each inlet of each edge gas hole (L22,L32; Figure 2-Applicant’s 204; Figure 1) is in fluid communication with the inner channel (22d; Figure 2-Applicant’s 206; Figure 1,2B), the plurality of intermediate channels (D21(22d); Figure 2-Applicant’s 208a,b; Figure 2B), and the outer channel (D21(22d); Figure 2) of the annular plate (22; Figure 1-5-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1), as claimed by claim 11
The gas delivery system of claim 12, wherein the edge region (D23 (26f), D22(26b); D32(26c); Figure 2,5) comprises a plurality of segments separated by dividers (Figure 7), as claimed by claim 13
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for Sung to add Okayama’s showerhead and gas distribution features as claimed.
Motivation for Sung to add Okayama’s showerhead and gas distribution features as claimed is for at least for reducing differences in flow rates for injected gases as taught by Okayama ([0009]) to reduce “non-uniformity” in object processing as taught by Okayama ([0005]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 11, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states:
“
Sung does not disclose "a lid plate comprising a center gas inlet extending through the lid plate... a central opening extending from the first outer surface to the second outer surface, wherein the central opening is coaxial to the center gas inlet" as recited in the independent claims. Instead Sung teaches that "the lower passages 40 may have the shape of concentric circles. The lower passages 40 may include lower grooves 46 and lower holes 48 open to the lower grooves 46 at the bottom of the lower grooves 46. The lower holes 48 may be aligned with the injection holes 30. The lower grooves 46 may be disposed directly on the injection holes 30" (Sung para. [0030]). Therefore, Sung fails to teach, show, suggest, or otherwise render obvious claims 1, 7, 21, and claims dependent thereon.
“
In response, the Examiner disagrees. Applicant references to Sung’s elements 40, 46, and 48. None of these elements are cited by the Examiner in his grounds of rejection. See above. However, the Examiner does agree that Sung does not teach the amended, and existing, claimed features of an additional hole in Sung’s annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) that is coaxial with Sung’s central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment). As a result, Sung does not teach Sung’s annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) comprising: Sung’s central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment) extending from the first outer surface (top of 156; Figure 1,2) to the second outer surface (bottom of 156; Figure 1,2), wherein Sung’s central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment) is coaxial to Sung’s center gas inlet (Applicant’s 123; Figure 1). Likewise, Sung does not teach Sung’s lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) comprising a center gas inlet (Applicant’s 123; Figure 1) extending through the Sung’s lid plate (154; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) – claims 1, 7, 21. Further, Sung’s drawings, in contrast to Applicant’s amended drawings and specification, do not appear to teach wherein Sung’s center manifold (160,140,144; Figure 1; valve logic for center pipe 190; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 107; Figure 1) extends through the central opening (51; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment) of Sung’s annular plate (156; Figure 1,2-Applicant’s 129; Figure 1) – claims 1, 7, 21.
Applicant states:
“
Belen fails to cure the deficiencies of Sung. Belen teaches that "a showerhead 208 is disposed in the processing volume 218 through the chamber lid 229" (Belen para. [0028]). Belen further explains that "the showerhead 208 may have multiple zones arranged in a concentric manner" including "an inner zone 230 corresponding to a central region of the substrate support 206, a middle zone 231 radially outwards from the inner zone 230, and an edge zone 232 corresponding to an edge region of the substrate support 206" (Belen para. [0030]).
Belen does not disclose "a lid plate comprising a center gas inlet extending through the lid plate... a central opening extending from the first outer surface to the second outer surface, wherein the central opening is coaxial to the center gas inlet" as recited in the independent claims. Belen instead teaches that "the holes 209 are distributed in the inner zone 230, the middle zone 231, and the edge zone 232" (Belen para. [0035]). The zoned arrangement of holes disclosed in Belen does not correspond to the claimed central opening coaxial to a center gas inlet. Therefore, Sung and Belen, alone or in combination, fail to teach, show, suggest, or otherwise render obvious claims 1, 7, 21, and claims dependent thereon. Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.
“
In response, the Examiner has fully reconsidered Belen as teaching Belen’s central opening (central opening in 208 accommodating pipe feeding 230; Figure 2-Applicant’s 133; Figure 1; October 23, 2025 amendment) is coaxial to Belen’s center gas inlet (inlet hole feeding 230; Figure 2-Applicant’s 123; Figure 1). Likewise, Belen teaches Belen’s lid plate (208; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1) comprising a center gas inlet (inlet hole feeding 230; Figure 2-Applicant’s 123; Figure 1) extending through (coaxial holes top to bottom in center of 208) the Belen’s lid plate (208; Figure 1-Applicant’s 116; Figure 1).
Applicant states:
“
Claim 7 is an independent claim from which claims 8, 10, 11, and 13 depend. Independent claim 7 recites "a lid plate comprising a center gas inlet extending through the lid plate... a central opening extending from the first outer surface to the second outer surface, wherein the central opening is coaxial to the center gas inlet... a blocker plate."
The deficiencies of Sung and Belen are described herein. Okayama fails to cure the deficiencies of Sung and Belen. Okayama teaches that a "shower head includes a gas injection plate and a gas supply unit" (Okayama, Abstract). Okayama does not disclose "a lid plate comprising a center gas inlet extending through the lid plate... a central opening extending from the first outer surface to the second outer surface, wherein the central opening is coaxial to the center gas inlet" as recited in the independent claims. Therefore, Sung, Belen, and Okayama, alone or in combination, fail to teach, show, suggest, or otherwise render obvious claim 7 and claims dependent thereon. Withdrawal of the rejection is respectfully requested.
“
In response, the Examiner applies the above rationale by the Examiner in response to similar arguments made herein.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art dividing gas injection in a spatial control include US 20050173569 A1; US 20070256785 A1; US 11598004 B2
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Examiner Rudy Zervigon whose telephone number is (571) 272- 1442. The examiner can normally be reached on a Monday through Thursday schedule from 8am through 6pm EST. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Any Inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the Chemical and Materials Engineering art unit receptionist at (571) 272-1700. If the examiner cannot be reached please contact the examiner's supervisor, Parviz Hassanzadeh, at (571) 272- 1435.
/Rudy Zervigon/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716