DETAILED ACTION
In response to an Office action mailed on 10/16/2025 (“10/16/2025 OA”), the Applicant amended independent claims 1, 11 and 13 in a reply filed on 01/16/2026.
Claim 22 is withdrawn.
Currently, claims 1-21 are examined as below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 17 have overcome the 112(b) rejections as set forth under line item number 1 in the 10/16/2025 OA.
Applicant’s amendments to independent claims 1, 11 and 13 have overcome the prior-art rejections as set forth under line item numbers 2-5 in the 10/16/2025 OA. However, previously-cited prior art Hatanpaa still reads on the claims. Details please see below.
New reference is introduced. New grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are provided as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 03/23/2026. The IDS has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-16 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0249300 A1 to Hatanpaa et al. (“Hatanpaa”) in view of US 2018/0151345 A1 to Haukka et al. (“Haukka”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Hatanpaa in Figs. 1-2 and 4 teaches a method of selectively depositing a transition metal-containing material 210 (Fig. 2 & ¶ 106, capping layer 210 is a transition metal containing film) on a substrate 202/204/206/208 or 406 (Figs. 2, 4, ¶ 106 & ¶ 113, substrate 202, dielectric material 204, barrier material 206 and metal interconnect material 208, and on the substrate 202/204/206/208, the capping layer 210, which is a transistor metal containing film, is formed by a vapor deposition apparatus (abstract & ¶ 2), which would be vapor deposition apparatus 400 (Fig. 4 & ¶ 113-¶ 123), such that substrate 406 serves as the equivalence of the substrate 202/204/206/208) by a cyclic deposition process (Figs. 1-2, 4, abstract, ¶ 2, ¶ 99, ¶ 105-¶ 106 & ¶ 113, capping layer 210 is a transition metal containing film deposited by a cyclical deposition 100 carried out by a vapor deposition apparatus 400, and the capping layer 210 is deposited on a selective surface (Fig. 2) i.e., selectively deposition), the method comprising:
providing the substrate 202/204/206/208 or 406 in a reaction chamber 402 (Figs. 2, 4, ¶ 32, ¶ 39, ¶ 106 & ¶ 113, reaction chamber 402), wherein the substrate 202/204/206/208 or 406 comprises a first surface 206/208 (Fig. 2) comprising a first material 206/208 (¶ 106, barrier material 206 and metal interconnect material 208), and a second surface 204 (Fig. 2) comprising a second material 204 (¶ 106, dielectric material 204);
providing a transition metal precursor (Figs. 1, 4, ¶ 92, ¶ 95, ¶ 114 & claim 1 disclose first vapor phase reactant, which is a transition metal precursor including a transition metal halide compound, is stored in a precursor source vessel 410A) comprising a transition metal halide compound (¶ 95 & ¶ 114) in the reaction chamber 402 in vapor phase (¶ 116 & ¶ 118 disclose the transition metal halide compound of the transition metal precursor has a vapor pressure and is transported via a vapor passageway 418. That is, the transition metal precursor is in vapor phase); and
providing a second precursor (Figs. 1, 4 & ¶ 120, second vapor phase reactant is transported to the reaction chamber 402) in the reaction chamber 402 in vapor phase (¶ 120) to deposit the transition metal-containing material 210 on the first surface 206/208 relative to the second surface 204 (Figs. 1-2, ¶ 92 & ¶ 105-¶ 106, the capping layer 210 comprised of the transition metal containing film deposited by the cyclical deposition process utilizing the first and second vapor phase reactants is formed on the surface 206/208).
However, Hatanpaa does not explicitly disclose the first material comprises a conductive metal oxide selected from one or more of RuOx, NiOx, or NbOx, a carbide selected from one or more of WNCx or NbCx, niobium boride, combination thereof, or a doped metal surface.
Haukka recognizes a need for providing a surface of certain material on which a selective deposition process can be implemented and such selective deposition process is useful to differentiate amounts of deposition on different surfaces, in order to form uniform layers of material including transition metal (¶ 4-¶ 5, ¶ 28 & ¶ 89). Haukka satisfies the need by providing a first surface of a substrate for selective deposition process (¶ 28), and the first surface comprises one or more of RuOx, NiOx, NbOx, WNCx, NbCx, or NbBx (i.e., niobium boride) (¶ 29).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use one or more of RuOx, NiOx, NbOx, WNCx, NbCx, or NbBx taught by Haukka for the first material of the first surface taught by Hatanpaa, so as to provide a surface of certain material on which a selective deposition process can be implemented and such selective deposition process is useful to differentiate amounts of deposition on different surfaces, in order to form uniform layers of material including transition metal (Haukka: ¶ 4-¶ 5, ¶ 28 & ¶ 89).
Regarding claim 2, Hatanpaa in Figs. 1-2 and 4 further teaches the transition metal halide compound comprises a bidentate nitrogen-containing ligand (¶ 43, ¶ 107 & ¶ 114).
Regarding claim 3, Hatanpaa in Figs. 1-2 and 4 further teaches the transition metal halide compound comprises a transition metal chloride or a transition metal iodide or a transition metal fluoride (¶ 43 & claim 18).
Regarding claim 4, Hatanpaa in Figs. 1-2 and 4 further teaches a transition metal in the transition metal halide compound is selected from a group consisting of manganese, iron, cobalt, nickel and copper (¶ 43, ¶ 117, claims 4 & 12).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hatanppa and Haukka further teaches the first surface 206/208 (Hatanpaa) comprises one or more of RuOx or NiOx (Haukka: ¶ 29; see the rejection of claim 1 as noted above).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hatanppa and Haukka further teaches the first surface 206/208 (Hatanpaa) comprises one or more of RuOx or NbOx (Haukka: ¶ 29; see the rejection of claim 1 as noted above).
Regarding claim 9, Hatanpaa in Figs. 1-2 and 4 further teaches the second precursor comprises an oxygen precursor (¶ 55, second vapor phase reactant comprises oxygen precursor).
Regarding claim 10, Hatanpaa in Figs. 1-2 and 4 further teaches the second precursor comprises a nitrogen precursor (¶ 55, second vapor phase reactant comprises nitrogen precursor).
Regarding independent claim 11, Hatanpaa in Figs. 1-2 and 4 teaches a method of selectively depositing a transition metal-containing material 210 (Fig. 2 & ¶ 106, capping layer 210 is a transition metal containing film) on a substrate 202/204/206/208 or 406 (Figs. 2, 4, ¶ 106 & ¶ 113, substrate 202, dielectric material 204, barrier material 206 and metal interconnect material 208, and on the substrate 202/204/206/208, the capping layer 210, which is a transistor metal containing film, is formed by a vapor deposition apparatus (abstract & ¶ 2), which would be vapor deposition apparatus 400 (Fig. 4 & ¶ 113-¶ 123), such that substrate 406 serves as the equivalence of the substrate 202/204/206/208) by a cyclic deposition process (Figs. 1-2, 4, abstract, ¶ 2, ¶ 99, ¶ 105-¶ 106 & ¶ 113, capping layer 210 is a transition metal containing film deposited by a cyclical deposition 100 carried out by a vapor deposition apparatus 400, and the capping layer 210 is deposited on a selective surface (Fig. 2) i.e., selectively deposition), the method comprising:
providing the substrate 202/204/206/208 or 406 in a reaction chamber 402 (Figs. 2, 4, ¶ 32, ¶ 39, ¶ 106 & ¶ 113, reaction chamber 402, wherein the substrate 202/204/206/208 or 406 comprises a first surface 206/208 (Fig. 2) comprising a first material 206/208 (¶ 106, barrier material 206 and metal interconnect material 208), and a second surface 204 (Fig. 2) comprising a second material 204 (¶ 106, dielectric material 204);
providing a transition metal precursor (Figs. 1, 4, ¶ 92, ¶ 95, ¶ 114 & claim 1 disclose first vapor phase reactant, which is a transition metal precursor including a transition metal halide compound, is stored in a precursor source vessel 410A) comprising a transition metal compound (¶ 95 & ¶ 114) in the reaction chamber 402 in vapor phase (¶ 116 & ¶ 118 disclose the transition metal halide compound of the transition metal precursor has a vapor pressure and is transported via a vapor passageway 418. That is, the transition metal precursor is in vapor phase); and
providing a second precursor (Figs. 1, 4 & ¶ 120, second vapor phase reactant is transported to the reaction chamber 402) in the reaction chamber 402 in vapor phase (¶ 120) to deposit the transition metal-containing material 210 on the first surface 206/208 relative to the second surface 204 (Figs. 1-2, ¶ 92 & ¶ 105-¶ 106, the capping layer 210 comprised of the transition metal containing film deposited by the cyclical deposition process utilizing the first and second vapor phase reactants is formed on the surface 206/208),
wherein the transition metal compound 206/208 comprises an adduct-forming ligand (¶ 43, first vapor phase reactant comprises a transition metal compound with an adduct forming ligand).
However, Hatanpaa does not explicitly disclose the first material comprises a conductive metal oxide selected from one or more of RuOx or NiOx, a conductive metal carbide, a conductive metal boride, combination thereof, or a doped metal surface comprising a semimetal.
Haukka recognizes a need for providing a surface of certain material on which a selective deposition process can be implemented and such selective deposition process is useful to differentiate amounts of deposition on different surfaces, in order to form uniform layers of material including transition metal (¶ 4-¶ 5, ¶ 28 & ¶ 89). Haukka satisfies the need by providing a first surface of a substrate for selective deposition process (¶ 28), and the first surface comprises one or more of RuOx or NiOx, a conductive metal carbide (¶ 29, metallic carbide, NbCx, WNCx), a conductive metal boride (¶ 29, metallic boride, NbBx), combination thereof (¶ 29).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use one or more of RuOx or NiOx, a conductive metal carbide, a conductive metal boride, combination thereof taught by Haukka for the first material of the first surface taught by Hatanpaa, so as to provide a surface of certain material on which a selective deposition process can be implemented and such selective deposition process is useful to differentiate amounts of deposition on different surfaces, in order to form uniform layers of material including transition metal (Haukka: ¶ 4-¶ 5, ¶ 28 & ¶ 89).
Regarding claim 12, Hatanpaa in Figs. 2 and 4 teaches the transition metal compound comprises at least one of CoCl2(TMEDA), CoBr2(TMEDA), CoI2(TMEDA), CoCl2(TMPDA), or NiCl2(TMPDA) (¶ 52, claims 16 & 20).
Regarding independent claim 13, Hatanpaa in Figs. 1-2 and 4 teaches a method of selectively depositing a transition metal layer Fig. 2 & ¶ 106, capping layer 210 is a transition metal containing film and comprises cobalt) on a substrate 202/204/206/208, the capping layer 210, which is a transistor metal containing film, is formed by a vapor deposition apparatus (abstract & ¶ 2), which would be vapor deposition apparatus 400 (Fig. 4 & ¶ 113-¶ 123), such that substrate 406 serves as the equivalence of the substrate 202/204/206/208) by a cyclic deposition process (Figs. 1-2, 4, abstract, ¶ 2, ¶ 99, ¶ 105-¶ 106 & ¶ 113, capping layer 210 is a transition metal film (i.e., cobalt, which is the same transition metal as the Applicant purported in paragraphs 10 and 41 in the specification of the present application) deposited by a cyclical deposition 100 carried out by a vapor deposition apparatus 400, and the capping layer 210 is deposited on a selective surface (Fig. 2) i.e., selectively deposition), the method comprising:
providing the substrate 202/204/206/208 or 406 in a reaction chamber 402 (Figs. 2, 4, ¶ 32, ¶ 39, ¶ 106 & ¶ 113, reaction chamber 402), wherein the substrate 202/204/206/208 or 406 comprises a first surface 206/208 (Fig. 2) comprising a first material 206/208 (¶ 106, barrier material 206 and metal interconnect material 208), and a second surface 204 (Fig. 2) comprising a second material 204 (¶ 106, dielectric material 204);
providing a transition metal precursor (Figs. 1, 4, ¶ 92, ¶ 95, ¶ 114 & claim 1 disclose first vapor phase reactant, which is a transition metal precursor including a transition metal halide compound, is stored in a precursor source vessel 410A) comprising a transition metal halide compound (¶ 95 & ¶ 114) in the reaction chamber 402 in vapor phase (¶ 116 & ¶ 118 disclose the transition metal halide compound of the transition metal precursor has a vapor pressure and is transported via a vapor passageway 418. That is, the transition metal precursor is in vapor phase); and
providing a second precursor (Figs. 1, 4 & ¶ 120, second vapor phase reactant is transported to the reaction chamber 402; ¶ 42, ¶ 55, ¶ 66, ¶ 92 & ¶ 106, second vapor phase reactant comprises an organic precursor, which is a reducing agent, for depositing a transition metal-containing material i.e., capping layer 210) in the reaction chamber 402 in vapor phase (¶ 120), wherein the second precursor comprises a nitrogen free compound (¶ 66, second vapor phase reactant comprises an organic precursor that is nitrogen free, i.e., carboxylic acids, to deposit the transition metal layer 210 on the first surface 206/208 relative to the second surface 204 (Figs. 1-2, ¶ 92 & ¶ 105-¶ 106, the capping layer 210 comprised of the transition metal containing film deposited by the cyclical deposition process utilizing the first and second vapor phase reactants is formed on the surface 206/208).
However, Hatanpaa does not explicitly disclose wherein the first material comprises, a conductive metal carbide, a conductive metal boride, a combination thereof, or a doped metal surface comprising a semimetal.
Haukka recognizes a need for providing a surface of certain material on which a selective deposition process can be implemented and such selective deposition process is useful to differentiate amounts of deposition on different surfaces, in order to form uniform layers of material including transition metal (¶ 4-¶ 5, ¶ 28 & ¶ 89). Haukka satisfies the need by providing a first surface of a substrate for selective deposition process (¶ 28), and the first surface comprises, a conductive metal carbide (¶ 29, metallic carbide, NbCx, WNCx), a conductive metal boride (¶ 29, metallic boride, NbBx), a combination thereof (¶ 29).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a conductive metal carbide, a conductive metal boride, a combination thereof taught by Haukka for the first material of the first surface taught by Hatanpaa, so as to provide a surface of certain material on which a selective deposition process can be implemented and such selective deposition process is useful to differentiate amounts of deposition on different surfaces, in order to form uniform layers of material including transition metal (Haukka: ¶ 4-¶ 5, ¶ 28 & ¶ 89).
Regarding claim 14, Hatanpaa in Figs. 1-2 and 4 further teaches the second precursor comprises a carboxylic acid (¶ 66; see the rejection of claim 13 as noted above).
Regarding claim 15, Hatanpaa in Figs. 2 and 4 further teaches the carboxylic acid is selected from a group consisting of formic acid, acetic acid and propanoic acid (¶ 82-¶ 83).
Regarding claim 16, Hatanpaa in Fig. 2 further teaches a substantially continuous transition metal layer 210 (¶ 106, the capping layer 201 is a transition metal film i.e., cobalt) having a thickness from 20 nm to 100 nm (¶ 101), which anticipates the claimed range of at least 20 nm, is deposited on the first surface 206/208 (Fig. 2) with substantially no deposition on the second surface 204 (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Hatanpaa further teaches the method is a thermal deposition method (¶ 92 & ¶ 104, the cyclical deposition process, the deposition temperature is controlled at 275° C, which is a high temperature that makes the method a thermal deposition method).
Regarding claim 20, Hatanpaa in Fig. 2 further teaches the transition metal layer 210 is formed at a temperature at 275° C (¶ 92 & ¶ 104), which anticipates the claimed range from about 175°C to about 350°C.
Regarding claim 21, Hatanpaa in Fig. 4 further teaches the reaction chamber 402 is purged after providing the transition metal precursor and/or providing the second precursor in the reaction chamber 402 (¶ 96 & ¶ 98).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanpaa and Haukka, and further in view of US 2013/0270703 A1 to Zierath et al. (“Zierath”).
Regarding claim 8, Hatanpaa in Fig. 2 teaches the second surface 204 comprises a low-k dielectric material (¶ 106). Hatanpaa further teaches the second surface 204 is a dielectric material (¶ 106).
However, the combination of Hatanpaa and Haukka does not explicitly disclose the second surface/dielectric material comprises a high-k dielectric material. Zierath teaches that a dielectric layer including a dielectric material in which an interconnect is formed, can be low-k or high-k (Fig. 3G, ¶ 19 & ¶ 21). In other words, Zierath recognizes that low-k dielectric and high-k dielectric are functional equivalent as being able to function as such dielectric materials.
According to Section 2144.06.II, "In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art" In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). The Section 2144.06.II further states that "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute low-k dielectric taught by Hatanpaa and Haukka with another functionally-equivalent high-k dielectric taught by Zierath.
Regarding claim 18, Hatanpaa in Fig. 2 teaches the second surface 204 comprises a low-k dielectric material (¶ 106). Hatanpaa further teaches the second surface 204 is a dielectric material (¶ 106).
However, the combination of Hatanpaa and Haukka does not explicitly disclose the second surface/dielectric material comprises a high-k dielectric material. Zierath teaches that a dielectric layer including a dielectric material in which an interconnect is formed, can be low-k or high-k (Fig. 3G, ¶ 19 & ¶ 21). In other words, Zierath recognizes that low-k dielectric and high-k dielectric are functional equivalent as being able to function as such dielectric materials.
According to Section 2144.06.II, "In order to rely on equivalence as a rationale supporting an obviousness rejection, the equivalency must be recognized in the prior art" In re Ruff, 256 F.2d 590, 118 USPQ 340 (CCPA 1958). The Section 2144.06.II further states that "An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute low-k dielectric taught by Hatanpaa and Haukka with another functionally-equivalent high-k dielectric taught by Zierath.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 7 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if (i) rewritten in independent form to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or (ii) the objected claim and any intervening claims are fully incorporated into the base claim.
Claim 7 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 7, wherein the first surface comprises the doped metal surface doped with a semimetal.
Claim 17 would be allowable, because the prior art of record, singularly or in combination, fails to disclose or suggest, in combination with the other claimed elements in claim 17, wherein the first material comprises the doped metal surface comprising the semimetal.
Conclusion
/M.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/ELISEO RAMOS FELICIANO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817