DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
Claim(s) 5-8, 12, 23-24 is/are cancelled.
Claim(s) 1, 9-11, 18, 20-22 is/are amended; claim(s) 25-27 is/are newly added.
Applicant’s arguments regarding amendments with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments based on the amendments do not apply to the current rejection. The amendments in the claims are rejected by Ding, Martinson in addition to previously relied on references below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Gas supplier (first gas supply structure, second gas supply structure, para. [0051]) in claims 1-20.
Plasma generator (resonance coil, para. [0049]) in claims 1-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11, 13-19, 21-22, 25-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150184301 to Saido in view of US 20210366791 to Tanaka and further in view of US 20010054601 to Ding, US 20130337602 to Martinson.
Claims 1, 18: Saido discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a process chamber (202 [process container], Fig. 1) in which a substrate (200 [wafer]) is accommodated (para. [0018]); a substrate support (210 [substrate placement device]) provided in the process chamber (202) and on which the substrate (200) is placed, and configured to be capable of elevating and lowering the substrate (para. [0023]); a gas supplier (230/241 [showerhead]/[gas introduction hole]) through which a process gas is supplied onto the substrate (200); a shower head buffer chamber (232 [buffer chamber], Fig. 1, Saido) to which the process gas is supplied;
a first heater (213 [heater]) provided in the substrate support (210) and configured to heat the substrate (200, para. [0021]); a second heater (234h [dispersion plate heater] of 234c [flange part]) configured to heat an outer periphery of the substrate (200), comprising a first heating element (234h), and:
a plasma generator (231 [lid]) provided in a flat plate shape (231) above the shower head buffer chamber (232) and configured to activate the process gas in the process chamber (202), and a controller (260 [controller]) configured to be capable of controlling the first heater (213), the second heater (234h), the gas supplier (230/241) and the plasma generator (252) to perform: (a) heating the substrate to at least a temperature between a first temperature and a second temperature (para. [0095-0099], where it is interpreted that the temperatures can be same or different).
However Saido does not explicitly disclose (b) supplying the process gas activated by the plasma generator while setting a temperature of the second heater to be higher than that of the second heater at which (a) is performed such that a temperature deviation on a surface of the substrate is within a predetermined temperature deviation range.
Tanaka teaches that the two different heaters have a correspondence relationship between the temperatures produced by the two different heaters which are measured and put into a database and then subsequently changed as necessary and correcting a deviation from a desired temperature (para. [0050-0058]) for the purpose of obtaining a desired temperature distribution on the surface of the wafer (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the concept of using a correspondence relationship between the two different heaters based on feedback controls as taught by Tanaka with motivation to obtain a desired temperature distribution on the surface of the wafer.
However the apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka does not disclose the second heater comprising: a second heating element provided on an inner peripheral surface of an upper container constituting the process chamber;
Ding discloses a second heater (115/210, Fig. 9) comprising: a second heating element (115/110/210 [peripheral heat source]/[cylindrical liner]) provided on an inner peripheral surface of an upper container constituting the process chamber (inner peripheral surface of 150 [cylindrical sidewall]) for the purpose of maintaining the wall at a sufficiently high temperature to prevent polymer condensation thereon (para. [0083]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second heating element and configuration as taught by Ding with motivation to maintain the wall at a sufficiently high temperature to prevent polymer condensation thereon.
However the apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka does not disclose the second heater comprising: a first heating element provided on an inner peripheral surface of the shower head buffer chamber within a gas dispersion structure of the gas supplier.
Martinson teaches a first heating element (860) may be attached to the inner surface of a component (30 [tube]), or be embedded into the wall of the component (30), or it may be located adjacent but not in contact with the wall of the component (30), for the purpose of reducing or preventing material deposition on the end portions.
It is noted that Martinson is teaching the concept of rearrangement or placement of a heater for specified purposes which is an obvious matter of design choice. The courts have held that the mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI (C).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimized placement of the first heating element as taught by Martinson with motivation to reduce or prevent material deposition on the end portions.
Claim 2: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka discloses wherein the gas supplier (230/241, Fig. 1, Saido) is provided so as to face the substrate (200), and the plasma generator (252) surrounds in the gas supplier (230/241, Fig. 1).
Claim 3: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka discloses wherein the second heater (234h, Fig. 1, Saido) is provided at a location at which the second heater (234h) is capable of heating an upper portion of the process chamber (202a [upper container] of 202) above the first heater (213) of the substrate support (210) elevated to a processing position (para. [0024-0025]).
Claim 4: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka discloses wherein the second heater (234h, Fig. 1, Saido) is provided at a location at which the second heater (234h) is capable of heating an upper portion of the process chamber (202a of 202) above the first heater (213) of the substrate support (210) elevated to a processing position (para. [0024-0025]).
Claims 5-8: (Cancelled).
Claim 9: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka discloses wherein the first heating element (234h, Fig. 1, Saido) is provided in the gas supplier (230/241).
Claim 10: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka discloses wherein the first heating element (234h, Fig. 1, Saido) is provided in the gas supplier (230/241).
Claim 11: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka discloses wherein the first heating element (234h, Fig. 1, Saido) is provided in the gas supplier (230/241).
Claim 12: (Cancelled).
Claims 13-15: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka does not disclose (claim 13-15) wherein the second heater is configured as a lamp heater.
Tanaka discloses (claims 13, 15) wherein the second heater (62, Fig. 1, Tanaka) is configured as a lamp heater (para. [0062] where 72 is an IR lamp), for the purpose of emitting light in the visible region to obtain a temperature distribution in which an etching rate is uniform over the entire surface of the wafer (para. [0045]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the IR lamp as taught by Tanaka with motivation to emit light in the visible region to obtain a temperature distribution in which an etching rate is uniform over the entire surface of the wafer.
Claims 16, 17: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka discloses wherein the controller (260, Fig. 1, Saido) is configured to be capable of changing a pre-set value (para. [0125]).
However Saido does not explicitly disclose (claim 16) of the temperature deviation based on substrate data including at least one of a thickness distribution of a film formed on the substrate or a wafer etching rate; (claim 17) wherein, based on substrate data including at least one of a thickness distribution of a film formed on the substrate or a wafer etching rate, the controller is configured to be capable of changing at least one of a pre-set temperature value of the first heater or a pre-set temperature value of the second heater.
Tanaka teaches (claim 16) correcting a desired a deviation from a desired temperature distribution based on the wafer etching rate; (claim 17) wherein, based on substrate data including at least one of a thickness distribution of a film formed on the substrate or a wafer etching rate, the controller is configured to be capable of changing (para. [0047]) at least one of a pre-set temperature value of the first heater or a pre-set temperature value of the second heater (para. [0048-0049]); Tanaka disclose this for the purpose of homogenizing the etching processing to prevent the variation in quality and to improve the throughput (para. [0049]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the deviation correction to change the temperature deviation as taught by Tanaka with motivation to homogenize the etching processing to prevent the variation in quality and to improve the throughput.
Claim 19: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka discloses a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, comprising the substrate processing method of claim 18 (see above).
Claims 21, 22: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka discloses wherein the gas supplier (230/241, Fig. 1, Saido) is provided with a shower head (230) configured to disperse and supply the process gas into the process chamber (202, para. [0019]), and wherein the second heater (234h) is provided below a lower portion of the shower head (lower portion of 230).
Claims 23, 24: (Cancelled).
Claim 25: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka, Ding, Martinson discloses wherein the process chamber (202, Fig. 1, Saido) comprises a processing space (201a [process space]) for processing the substrate (200 [wafer]) on an upper side, and the second heating element (210/215/110, Fig. 9, Ding) is configured to heat the processing space (inside 140 [cylindrical chamber]) from an inner peripheral surface of the process chamber (140, para. [0077-0078]).
Claim 26: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka, Ding, Martinson discloses wherein the gas supplier (230/241, Fig. 1) comprises a gas supply pipe (242 [common gas supply pipe]) configured to supply the process gas (para. [0033]), and a dispersion hole (231a [lid hole]) configured to disperse the process gas is provided at a tip portion of the gas supply pipe (tip of 242).
Claim 27: The apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka, Ding, Martinson discloses wherein the controller (260, Fig. 1, Saido) is configured to be capable of performing feedback control of the second heater (234h, para. [0036, 0095-0109]).
Regarding the limitations, in accordance with a wafer etching rate on an outer peripheral side of the substrate, the claim recites that the controller is capable of performing, thus the limitations are drawn to intended use of the apparatus.
Claim 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150184301 to Saido in view of US 20210366791 to Tanaka and further in view of US 20010054601 to Ding, US 20130337602 to Martinson.
Claim 20: Saido discloses A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing a program related to a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a process chamber (202 [process container], Fig. 1) in which a substrate (200 [wafer]) is accommodated (para. [0018]); a substrate support (210 [substrate placement device]) provided in the process chamber (202) and on which the substrate (200) is placed, and configured to be capable of elevating and lowering the substrate (para. [0023]); a gas supplier (230/241 [showerhead]/[gas introduction hole]) through which a process gas is supplied onto the substrate (200); a shower head buffer chamber (232 [buffer chamber], Fig. 1, Saido) to which the process gas is supplied;
a first heater (213 [heater]) provided in the substrate support (210) and configured to heat the substrate (200, para. [0021]); a second heater (234h [dispersion plate heater] of 234c [flange part]) configured to heat an outer periphery of the substrate (200), comprising a first heating element (234h), and:
a plasma generator (231 [lid]) provided in a flat plate shape (231) above the shower head buffer chamber (232) and configured to activate the process gas in the process chamber (202), and a controller (260 [controller]) configured to be capable of controlling the first heater (213), the second heater (234h), the gas supplier (230/241) and the plasma generator (252) to perform: (a) heating the substrate to at least a temperature between a first temperature and a second temperature (para. [0095-0099], where it is interpreted that the temperatures can be same or different).
However Saido does not explicitly disclose (b) supplying the process gas activated by the plasma generator while setting a temperature of the second heater to be higher than that of the second heater at which (a) is performed such that a temperature deviation on a surface of the substrate is within a predetermined temperature deviation range.
Tanaka teaches that the two different heaters have a correspondence relationship between the temperatures produced by the two different heaters which are measured and put into a database and then subsequently changed as necessary and correcting a deviation from a desired temperature (para. [0050-0058]) for the purpose of obtaining a desired temperature distribution on the surface of the wafer (para. [0050]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the program concept of using a correspondence relationship between the two different heaters based on feedback controls as taught by Tanaka with motivation to obtain a desired temperature distribution on the surface of the wafer.
However the apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka does not disclose the second heater comprising: a second heating element provided on an inner peripheral surface of an upper container constituting the process chamber;
Ding discloses a second heater (115/210, Fig. 9) comprising: a second heating element (115/110/210 [peripheral heat source]/[cylindrical liner]) provided on an inner peripheral surface of an upper container constituting the process chamber (inner peripheral surface of 150 [cylindrical sidewall]) for the purpose of maintaining the wall at a sufficiently high temperature to prevent polymer condensation thereon (para. [0083]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the second heating element and configuration as taught by Ding with motivation to maintain the wall at a sufficiently high temperature to prevent polymer condensation thereon.
However the apparatus of Saido in view of Tanaka does not disclose the second heater comprising: a first heating element provided on an inner peripheral surface of the shower head buffer chamber within a gas dispersion structure of the gas supplier.
Martinson teaches a first heating element (860) may be attached to the inner surface of a component (30 [tube]), or be embedded into the wall of the component (30), or it may be located adjacent but not in contact with the wall of the component (30), for the purpose of reducing or preventing material deposition on the end portions.
It is noted that Martinson is teaching the concept of rearrangement or placement of a heater for specified purposes which is an obvious matter of design choice. The courts have held that the mere rearrangement of parts which does not modify the operation of a device is prima facie obvious. MPEP 2144.04 VI (C).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the optimized placement of the first heating element as taught by Martinson with motivation to reduce or prevent material deposition on the end portions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20220102114 a first heater (213, Fig. 1) and a second heater (271 is heater in gas guide (270)).
/Charlee J. C. Bennett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718