Notice of AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by WO2020/080603A1. Related U.S. Published Patent Application No. 20210384180 A1 to Choi et al. (referred to hereafter as "Choi") is used as an English-language translation of Choi and is referred to in the discussion below.
Regarding independent claim 1, Choi teaches a method of forming an LED structure on a backplane, the method comprising:
coupling a first transfer substrate {211; Figures 2 and 3} with an LED source substrate {110}, wherein the LED source substrate {110} comprises a plurality of fabricated LEDs {120}, and wherein the coupling of the first transfer substrate is produced with a first coupling material {212} extending between the first transfer substrate {211} and each LED of the plurality of fabricated LEDs {120};
separating the LED source substrate {110; Figure 4} from the plurality of fabricated LEDs {120};
coupling a second transfer substrate {211'; Figures 7 and 8} with the first transfer substrate, wherein the coupling of the second transfer substrate {211'} is produced with a second coupling material {212'} extending between the second transfer substrate {211'} and each LED of the plurality of fabricated LEDs {120};
separating the first transfer substrate {211; Figure 9} from the second transfer substrate {211'}; and
bonding the plurality of fabricated LEDs {120} with a display backplane {300},
wherein the second transfer substrate {211'; "the second transfer film 210' may be the same type of transfer film as the first transfer film 210..." (paragraph [0061])} and a substrate {301} supporting the display backplane are characterized by a coefficient of thermal expansion difference of less than or about 20% {they both can be, for example, glass (paragraphs [0054] and [0090]) and thus would be expected to have similar coefficients}.
Regarding claim 3 (that depends from claim 1), Choi teaches the second transfer substrate {211'} and the substrate {301} supporting the display backplane each
comprise glass, silicon, or a polymeric material {they both can be glass (paragraphs
[0054] and [0090])}.
Regarding claim 4 (that depends from claim 1), Choi teaches separating the LED source substrate {110} from the plurality of fabricated LEDs {120} comprises: directing a laser through a backside of the LED source substrate to decouple the LED source substrate from the plurality of fabricated LEDs {"laser lift off (LLO)" (paragraph [0058])}.
Regarding claim 5 (that depends from claim 1), Choi teaches "the adhesive strength of the material forming the adhesive layer 212 may change as ultraviolet (UV) or heat is applied, so that the adhesive layer 212 may be easily separated from the transfer material" (paragraph [0056]). As heat can be used to separate that transfer materials, the use of some temperature greater than 100° C. will be sufficient to release the layer 212. Thus, Choi teaches the first coupling material {212} is characterized by an onset temperature greater than 100° C.
Regarding claim 6 (that depends from claim 5), Choi teaches "the second transfer film 210' may be the same type of transfer film as the first transfer film 210.. "
(paragraph [0061]) and further that "the adhesive strength of the material forming the
adhesive layer 212 may change as ultraviolet (UV) or heat is applied, SO that the
adhesive layer 212 may be easily separated from the transfer material" (paragraph
[0056]). As heat can be used to separate that transfer materials, the use of some
temperature greater than 150° C. will be sufficient to release the layer 212. Thus, Choi
teaches Choi teaches the second coupling material is characterized by an onset or
release temperature of greater than or about 150° C.
Regarding claim 7 (that depends from claim 6), Choi teaches "the second transfer film 210' may be the same type of transfer film as the first transfer film 210 "
(paragraph [0061]) and further that "the adhesive strength of the material forming the
adhesive layer 212 may change as ultraviolet (UV) or heat is applied, so that the
adhesive layer 212 may be easily separated from the transfer material" (paragraph
[0056]). As heat can be used to separate that transfer materials, the use of some
temperature greater than a melting temperature of contacts on each LED of the plurality
of fabricated LEDs will be sufficient to release the layer 212.
Regarding claim 8 (that depends from claim 1), Choi teaches the first coupling
material {"adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0056])} and the second coupling material {"adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0062])} are each one of an adhesive material
{"adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0056]); "adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0062])}, a
polymeric organosilicon material, or a UV release polymer.
Regarding claim 9 (that depends from claim 8), Choi teaches the first coupling
material {212 that is included in 210} and the second coupling material {212' that is
included in 210} are the same material {"the second transfer film 210' may be the same
type of transfer film as the first transfer film 210..." (paragraph [0061])}.
Regarding claim 10 (that depends from claim 8), Choi teaches at least one of the first coupling material {212} and the second coupling material is an acrylic adhesive
material {" urethane acrylate, epoxy acrylate, polyester acrylate, or the like" (paragraph
[0056]).
Regarding claim 12, Choi teaches a method of forming an LED structure on a
backplane, the method comprising: coupling a first transfer substrate {211; Figures 2
and 3} with a first surface of each LED of a plurality of fabricated LEDs by a first
coupling material, wherein the first surface of each LED of the plurality of fabricated
LEDs comprises a metal contact {"the light emitting element 120 may further include an
electrode layer (not illustrated) formed on the second semiconductor layer 123. The
electrode layer may include metal or a metal oxide. For example, chrome (Cr), titanium
(Ti), aluminum (AI), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), ITO (indium tin oxide), and an oxide or alloy
thereof may be used alone or in combination with each other" (paragraph [0046])}, and
wherein a second surface of each LED {120} of the plurality of fabricated LEDs opposite
the first surface of each LED is coupled with an LED source substrate {110}; separating
the LED source substrate {110} from the second surface of each LED of the plurality of
fabricated LEDs; coupling a second transfer substrate {211'; Figures 7 and 8} with the
second surface of each LED of the plurality of fabricated LEDs by a second coupling
material {211'}; separating the first transfer substrate {211; Figure 9} from the second
transfer substrate {211'}, wherein each LED {120} of the plurality of fabricated LEDs is
retained with the second transfer substrate; and bonding the first surface of each LED of
the plurality of fabricated LEDs with a display backplane {300},
wherein the second transfer substrate {211'; "the second transfer film 210' may be the same type of transfer film as the first transfer film 210..." (paragraph [0061])} and a substrate {301} supporting the display backplane are characterized by a coefficient of thermal expansion difference of less than or about 20% {they both can be, for example, glass (paragraphs [0054] and [0090]) and thus would be expected to have similar coefficients}.
Regarding claim 13 (that depends from claim 12), Choi teaches the first coupling material {"adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0056])} and the second coupling material {"adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0062])} are each one of an adhesive material
{"adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0056]); "adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0062])}, a
polymeric organosilicon material, or a UV release polymer.
Regarding claim 15 (that depends from claim 13), Choi teaches " the adhesive layer 212 may include urethane acrylate, epoxy acrylate, polyester acrylate, or the like. In an embodiment, the adhesive strength of the material forming the adhesive layer 212 may change as ultraviolet (UV) or heat is applied, so that the adhesive layer 212 may be easily separated from the transfer material" (paragraph [0056]). Thus, heat will expand the layer off of the transfer material. Thus, some temperature higher than the melting point of the metal contacts will be sufficient to release the adhesive. Thus, Choi
teaches at least one of the first coupling material and the second coupling material is a
heat-expandable adhesive material characterized by a release temperature above a
melting temperature of the metal contact.
Regarding claim 16 (that depends from claim 12), Choi teaches the second transfer substrate {211'; "the second transfer film 210' may be the same type of transfer film as the first transfer film 210..." (paragraph [0061])} and a substrate {301} supporting the display backplane are characterized by a coefficient of thermal expansion difference of less than or about 20% {they both can be, for example, glass (paragraphs [0054] and
[0090]) and thus would be expected to have similar coefficients}.
Regarding independent claim 17, Choi teaches a method of forming an LED structure on a backplane, the method comprising:
coupling a first transfer substrate {211; Figures 2 and 3} with a first surface of each LED of a plurality of fabricated LEDs {120} by a first coupling material {212},
wherein the first surface of each LED of the plurality of fabricated LEDs comprises a metal contact {"the light emitting element 120 may further include an electrode layer (not illustrated) formed on the second semiconductor layer 123. The electrode layer may include metal or a metal oxide. For example, chrome (Cr), titanium (Ti), aluminum (AI), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), ITO (indium tin oxide), and an oxide or alloy thereof may be used alone or in combination with each other" (paragraph [0046])}, and
wherein a second surface of each LED of the plurality of fabricated LEDs opposite the first surface of each LED is coupled with a sapphire substrate; separating the sapphire substrate from the second surface of each LED of the plurality of fabricated LEDs with a laser lift-off process;
coupling a second transfer substrate {211'; Figures 7 and 8} with the second surface of each LED of the plurality of fabricated LEDs by a second coupling material; separating the first transfer substrate {211; Figure 9} from the second transfer substrate {211'}, wherein each LED {120} of the plurality of fabricated LEDs is retained with the second transfer substrate; bonding the first surface of each LED of the plurality of fabricated LEDs with a display backplane {300}, wherein the second transfer substrate {211'} and a substrate {301} supporting the display backplane are characterized by a coefficient of thermal expansion difference of less than or about 20% {they both can be, for example, glass (paragraphs [0054] and [0090]) and thus have similar coefficients}; and separating {Figure 14} the second transfer substrate {211'} from the substrate {301} supporting the backplane.
Regarding claim 19 (that depends from claim 17), Choi teaches separating the
sapphire substrate {110} from the plurality of fabricated LEDs {120} comprises: directing
a laser through a backside of the sapphire substrate to decouple the sapphire substrate
from the plurality of fabricated LEDs {"laser lift off (LLO)" (paragraph [0058])}.
Regarding claim 20 (that depends from claim 17), Choi teaches the first coupling material {"adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0056])} and the second coupling material {"adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0062])} are each one of an adhesive material
{"adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0056]); "adhesive layer 212" (paragraph [0062])}, a
polymeric organosilicon material, or a UV release polymer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2020/080603A1. Related U.S. Published Patent Application No. 20210384180 A1 to Choi et al. (referred to hereafter as "Choi")
Regarding claim 11 (that depends from claim 1), Choi does not appear to explicitly state that a thickness of the first coupling material and the second coupling material is less than or about 100 µm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a small amount of material as more material will result in a higher cost of material. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose a small thickness, including thicknesses less than 100 µm for the Choi coupling materials 212 and 212'.
Regarding claim 14 (that depends from claim 13), Choi teaches " the adhesive layer 212 may include urethane acrylate, epoxy acrylate, polyester acrylate, or the like. In an embodiment, the adhesive strength of the material forming the adhesive layer 212 may change as ultraviolet (UV) or heat is applied, so that the adhesive layer 212 may be easily separated from the transfer material" (paragraph [0056]). Thus, heat will expand the layer off of the transfer material and Choi teaches at least one of the first coupling material and the second coupling material is a heat-expandable adhesive material.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to release the adhesive at a temperature below a melting point of the metal contacts so as to not destroy the metal contacts.
Regarding claim 18 (that depends from claim 17), Choi does not appear to explicitly state that a thickness of the first coupling material and the second coupling material is less than or about 100 µm. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a small amount of material as more material will result in a higher cost of material. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose a small thickness, including thickness less than 100 µm for the Choi coupling materials 212 and 212.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/05/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that Choi does not teach the limitation “wherein the second transfer substrate and a substrate supporting the display backplane are characterized by a coefficient of thermal expansion difference of less than or about 20%” because the word “same material” in the Choi reference, does not mean that the material have a coefficient of thermal expansion difference of less than or about 20%.
Examiner respectively disagree with Applicant’s arguments because by definition, the word “same” means identical. See e.g., Merriam-Webster;
SAME Definition & Meaning - Merriam-Webster.
Applicant further argue that there is no motivation for the teaching about the material of the first and second transfer films being the same material and the same as the array substrate; Applicant is reminded that in a 102 anticipation rejection, no motivation is required for the teaching, as long as the limitation is included in the reference, as disclosed below:
Choi: “[0061]: Referring to FIG. 7, a second transfer film 210′ may be provided to be spaced apart from the first transfer film 210 that is manufactured in FIG. 4. The second transfer film 210′ may be the same type of transfer film as the first transfer film 210 shown in FIGS. 2 to 6”; [0054] and [0090].
When two materials are the same, it is expected that the coefficient of thermal coefficient for the materials are identical or at least very closed.
therefore, the claimed limitation is deemed taught; the rejection is considered valid.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HERVE-LOUIS Y ASSOUMAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2812