DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 are pending, with claims 8, 10, and 20 currently withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on September 15, 2025 has been placed in the application file and is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims filed October 22, 2205 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims and supporting arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive with regard to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections set forth in the previous Office Action filed September 3, 2025. Specifically, as Applicant notes on page 9, Park does not disclose a second conductive line that is not the opposite electrode 330 of the OLED. Therefore the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections of claims 1, 2, 4, and 12-16 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Song et al., US 2019/0123126 A1 (hereinafter Song), as explained below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 22, 2025 with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 3, 5-7, 9, 11 and 17-19, on pages 11-12, have been fully considered but are moot because they do not apply to the references as applied in the current Office Action.
In response to Applicant’s argument on pages 10 – 11 that the dependent claims are patentably distinct over the prior art, and are also allowable based at least on their dependency from the independent claims 1 and 15, as amended, see the rejections of the claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al., US 2019/0148476 A1 (hereinafter Park) in view of Song et al., US 2019/0123126 A1 (hereinafter Song).
Regarding claim 1, as amended, Park discloses: A display apparatus comprising: a substrate (Park, FIG. 10, substrate 110, [0105]) comprising a first pixel area (Park, FIG. 10, first pixel PX1, [0086]) and a second pixel area adjacent to each other (Park, FIG. 10, second pixel PX2, [0086]) in a first direction (Park, FIGs. 4 and 10 show first pixel PX1 [the first pixel area] and second pixel PX2 [the second pixel area] adjacent to each other along x-axis [the first direction], [0082; 0086]); a first pixel transistor set arranged on the first pixel area (Park, FIG. 10, TFT T1 shown in PX1 [the first pixel area], [0065-0067]); a second pixel transistor set arranged on the second pixel area (Park, FIG. 10, TFT T1 shown in PX2 [the second pixel area], [0065-0067]); a first insulating layer formed of a first material, arranged on the substrate (Park, FIG. 10, insulating layers 111, 112, 113, and 114, inorganic material, “collectively referred to as an inorganic insulating layer,” [0085-0086]), and having a first opening (Park, FIG. 10, groove GR, [0086]), wherein the first opening is positioned between the first pixel transistor set and the second pixel transistor set (Park, see FIG. 10); a first pixel separation layer (Park, FIGs. 4 and 10, organic material layer 161, [0094]) positioned inside the first opening (Park, FIG. 10 shows organic material layer 161 [the first pixel separation layer] positioned inside groove GR [the first opening]) and formed of a second material different from the first material (Park, FIG. 10, organic material, [0093-0094]); a first conductive line arranged on the first insulating layer (Park, FIGs. 4 and 10, first connection wiring 140 [the first conductive line] shown on insulating layers 111, 112, 113, and 114 [the first insulating layer], [0085; 0133; 0188]) and at least partially overlapping the first pixel separation layer (Park, see FIGs. 4 and 10, “the first connection wiring 140 [the first conductive line] connecting adjacent pixels may be disposed on the organic material layer 161 [the first pixel separation layer],” [0188]), the first conductive line having a length extending in the first direction and crossing the first pixel separation layer in the first direction (Park, see FIGs. 4 and 10, “first connection wiring 140 [the first conductive line] extends in a second direction [the first direction] and crosses the organic material layer 161 [the first pixel separation layer],” [0083]); a second insulating layer arranged on the first conductive line (Park, FIG. 10, interlayer insulation layer 115, [0140]); ; and a display element in the first pixel area (Park, FIG. 10, OLED, [0157]), the display element comprising: a pixel electrode (Park, FIG. 10, pixel electrode 310, [0157]); an intermediate layer (Park, FIG. 10, intermediate layer 320, [0157]); and an opposite electrode (Park, FIG. 10, opposite electrode 330, [0157]).
Park is silent regarding: a second conductive line arranged on the second insulating layer and at least partially overlapping each of the first pixel separation layer and the first conductive line, the second conductive line having a length extending in the first direction and crossing the first pixel separation layer in the first direction.
However, Song, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: a second conductive line arranged on the second insulating layer (Song, FIG. 13 shows second conductive line 162 [the second conductive line] arranged on first organic layer 211 [the second insulating layer], “an insulating layer,” [0128]) and at least partially overlapping each of the first pixel separation layer and the first conductive line (Song, FIG. 13 shows second conductive line 162 [the second conductive line] overlapping the third organic layer 213 [analogous to the first pixel separation layer and the organic material layer 161 taught by Park] and first conductive line 161 [the first conductive line], [0161]), the second conductive line having a length extending in the first direction and crossing the first pixel separation layer in the first direction (Park, FIG. 10 shows second conductive line 162 [the second conductive line] having a length extending from left to right [the first direction] and crossing the third organic layer 213 [the first pixel separation layer], [0161]). Song teaches that by including the second conductive line as a backup for the first conductive line, the reliability of the display device is improved because even if one of the conductive lines fails, the remaining conductive line continues to transmit power or signal (Song, [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Song, arriving at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Song, to reduce defects of the display device, thereby improving device performance and reliability.
Regarding claim 2, Park in view of Song teaches: a third insulating layer (Park, FIG. 12, upper-organic material layer 163, [0175-0178]) arranged between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer (Park, FIG. 12, upper-organic material layer 163 [the third insulating layer] shown between insulating layers 114 and 116), wherein the third insulating layer and the first pixel separation layer are directly connected to each other and are formed of a same material (Park, see FIG. 12 and associated text, upper-organic material layer 163 [the third insulating layer] is directly connected to organic material layer 161 [the first pixel separation layer], both formed of same material, [0178].
Regarding claim 3, Park in view of Song teaches: nearly every element of claim 3 but is silent regarding: a first conductive member arranged on the first pixel area and between the first insulating layer and the third insulating layer; a second conductive member arranged on the second pixel area and between the first insulating layer and the third insulating layer; a first contact plug electrically connecting the first conductive line to the first conductive member; and a second contact plug electrically connecting the first conductive line to the second conductive member.
However, Park in view of Song teaches various structural arrangements for a display device (Park, FIGs. 4-12 and associated text; Song, FIGs. 4-13 and associated text; see also Park, [0131-0164) and circuit diagram (Park, FIG. 3) disclosing a circuit virtually identical to that shown in FIG. 3 of Applicant’s disclosure. The teachings of Park in view of Song demonstrate that using conductive members, insulating layers, pixel areas, contact plugs, and conductive lines to provide structural and electrical connections necessary to achieve a functional display device circuit was known in the art. Park also states that various changes in form and detail may be made therein without departing from the spirit and scope of the inventive concept (Park, [0210]). Applicant’s specification provides no indication that the claimed structural arrangement yields any unexpected results. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement of the conductive members, insulating layers, pixel areas, contact plugs, and conductive lines because all the claimed elements were known in the art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Park in view of Song, to produce a functional display device having increased strength and circuit redundancy in order to protect against damage.
Regarding claim 4, Park in view of Song teaches: The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer is formed of an inorganic material (Park, FIG. 10, insulating layers 111, 112, 113, and 114, inorganic material, [0085-0086]), and wherein the first pixel separation layer is formed of an organic material (Park, organic material layer 161, [0093-0094]).
Regarding claim 5, Park in view of Song teaches: The display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a third contact plug (Song, FIG. 13 shows the third contact plug as the leftmost instance of first contact hole CH1) arranged on the first pixel area (Song, FIG. 13, the first pixel area is a component of AREA1; AREA1 includes a plurality of pixels PX, [0085]) and electrically connecting the second conductive line to the first conductive line (Song, FIG. 13, “first conductive line 161 [the first conductive line] and the second conductive line 162 [the second conductive line] are connected to each other at the first area AREA1 [the first pixel area] … through the first contact hole CH1 [the third contact plug],” [0142]); and a fourth contact plug arranged on the second pixel area (Song, FIG. 13 shows the fourth contact plug as the rightmost instance of first contact hole CH1 arranged on AREA1, i.e., on the second pixel area) and electrically connecting the second conductive line to the first conductive line (Song, [0142]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement of contact plugs, pixel areas, and conductive lines because all the claimed elements were known in the art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 6, Park in view of Song teaches: nearly every element of claim 6 but is silent regarding: a third conductive member arranged on the first pixel area, between the substrate and the first conductive line; a fifth contact plug electrically connecting the first conductive line to the third conductive member; a fourth conductive member arranged on the second pixel area and directly on a same layer as the third conductive member; and a sixth contact plug electrically connecting the first conductive line to the fourth conductive member.
However, for the same reasons discussed above regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement of conductive members, pixel areas, conductive lines, contact plugs, and layers because all the claimed elements were known in the art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 7, Park in view of Song teaches: The display apparatus of claim 5, further comprising: a first semiconductor member arranged on the first pixel area (Park, FIG. 5 shows semiconductor layer AS1 of the driving TFT T1 [the first semiconductor member] arranged on PX1 [the first pixel area], [0108]), and between the substrate and the first conductive line (Park, FIG. 10, [0104]); a seventh contact plug electrically connecting the first conductive line to the first semiconductor member (Park, FIG. 10 shows contact plug connecting first connection wiring 140 [the first conductive line] to driving TFT T1 [the first semiconductor member] of PX1 [the first pixel area]); a second semiconductor member arranged on the second pixel area (Park, FIG. 5 shows semiconductor layer AS1 of the driving TFT T1 [the second semiconductor member] arranged on PX2 [the second pixel area], [0108]) and directly on a same layer as the first semiconductor member (Park, see FIGs. 5 and 10, [0110]; and an eighth contact plug electrically connecting the first conductive line to the second semiconductor member (Park, FIG. 10 shows contact plug connecting first connection wiring 140 [the first conductive line] to driving TFT T1 [the first semiconductor member] of PX2 [the second pixel area]), wherein the first pixel separation layer is positioned between the seventh contact plug and the eighth contact plug (Park, FIG. 10 shows organic material layer 161 [the first pixel separation layer] positioned between PX1 [the first pixel area] and PX2 [the second pixel area], [0132]).
Regarding claim 9, Park in view of Song teaches: The display apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first conductive line is electrically connected to the second conductive line (Song, “The first conductive line 161 and the second conductive line 162 are connected to each other,” [0142]), and wherein a same signal is applied to the first conductive line and the second conductive line (Song, “Because the first conductive line 161 and the second conductive line 162 are connected to each other … if either the first conductive line 161 or the second conductive line 162 is disconnected … a power or signal may be transmitted. Accordingly, defects of the display device may be reduced.” i.e., the same signal is applied to the first conductive line and the second conductive line, [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement wherein the first conductive line is electrically connected to the second conductive line, and wherein a same signal is applied to the first conductive line and the second conductive line because all the claimed elements were known in the art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 11, Park in view of Song teaches nearly every element of claim 9 but is silent regarding: a sixth conductive member arranged on the first pixel area; a seventh conductive member arranged on the second pixel area; and a first bridge arranged on the first insulating layer and electrically connecting the sixth conductive member to the seventh conductive member, wherein the first bridge at least partially overlaps the first pixel separation layer.
However, FIG. 4 of Park teaches conductive members arranged on each of PX1 and PX2 [the first and second pixel areas] and a bridge (a connection between adjacent conductive patterns) overlapping organic material layer 161 [the first pixel separation layer]. Therefore, for the same reasons discussed above regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement of conductive members, insulating layers, and bridges because all the claimed elements were known in the art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, Park in view of Song teaches: The display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: a third semiconductor member arranged on the first pixel area (Park, FIG. 5 shows semiconductor layer AS3 of TFT T3 [the third semiconductor member] arranged on PX1 [the first pixel area], [0108]); a fourth semiconductor member arranged on the second pixel area (Park, FIG. 5 shows semiconductor layer AS3 of the TFT T3 [the fourth semiconductor member] arranged on PX2 [the second pixel area], [0108]); and a second bridge arranged on the first insulating layer and electrically connecting the third semiconductor member to the fourth semiconductor member (Park, FIG. 8 shows scan connection line 143 [the second bridge] of first connection wiring 140 connecting TFT T3 [the third semiconductor member] arranged on PX1 [the first pixel area] to TFT T3 [the fourth semiconductor member] arranged on PX2 [the second pixel area], [0136]), wherein the second bridge at least partially overlaps the first pixel separation layer (Park, see FIG. 8, [0132-0138]).
Regarding claim 13, Park in view of Song teaches: The display apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a third pixel transistor set, a fourth pixel transistor set, and a fifth pixel transistor set respectively arranged on a third pixel area, a fourth pixel area, and a fifth pixel area of the substrate, which are adjacent to the first pixel area of the substrate (Park, FIG. 2, “pixels PX are arranged in a matrix,” [0053]), wherein the first insulating layer (Park, insulating layers 111, 112, 113, and 114, inorganic material, “collectively referred to as an inorganic insulating layer,” [0085-0086]) further has a second opening positioned between the first pixel transistor set and the third pixel transistor set, has a third opening positioned between the first pixel transistor set and the fourth pixel transistor set, and has a fourth opening positioned between the first pixel transistor set and the fifth pixel transistor set (Park, groove GR, “the inorganic insulating layer includes the groove GR in a region between the pixels, and the organic material layer 161 fills the groove GR, even when an external impact is applied to the display device, a probability that a crack propagates is low,” [0097]), wherein the first pixel area neighbors the second pixel area in the first direction, wherein the first pixel area neighbors the third pixel area in a second direction different from the first direction, wherein the first pixel area neighbors the fourth pixel area in a third direction opposite to the first direction, and wherein the first pixel area neighbors the fifth pixel area in a fourth direction opposite to the second direction (Park, see FIG. 2, “pixels PX are arranged in a matrix,” [0053]).
Regarding claim 14, Park in view of Song teaches: The display apparatus of claim 13, further comprising: a second pixel separation layer positioned inside the second opening; a third pixel separation layer positioned inside the third opening; and a fourth pixel separation layer positioned inside the fourth opening (Park, FIG. 4, groove GR filled with organic material layer 161 showing positioned inside each opening between adjacent pixels, “groove GR may include a plurality of portions extending in the first and second direction that form a grid adjacent surrounding the pixels and separating the pixels from one another,” [0094]), wherein the first pixel separation layer, the second pixel separation layer, the third pixel separation layer, and the fourth pixel separation layer are connected to each other and are formed of the second material (Park, FIG. 4, organic material layer 161, made of organic material, shown as a grid surrounding the pixels, [0093-0094]).
Regarding claim 15, as amended, Park discloses: A display apparatus comprising: a substrate (Park, FIG. 10, substrate 110, [0105]) comprising pixel areas arranged in a first direction (Park, FIG. 10, first pixel PX1, second pixel PX2, shown arranged along x-axis [the first direction]); pixel transistor sets respectively arranged on the pixel areas (Park, FIG. 10, TFT T1 shown in PX1 [the first pixel area]; TFT T1 shown in PX2 [the second pixel area], [0065-0067]); a first insulating layer formed of an inorganic material, arranged on the substrate (Park, FIG. 10, insulating layers 111, 112, 113, and 114, inorganic material, “collectively referred to as an inorganic insulating layer,” [0085-0086]), and having an opening pattern surrounding each of the pixel transistor sets (Park, FIGs. 4 and 10, groove GR, [0082-0086]; “groove GR may include a plurality of portions extending in the first and second direction that form a grid adjacent surrounding the pixels and separating the pixels from one another,” [0094]); a pixel separation layer formed of an organic material and positioned inside the opening pattern (Park, FIGs. 4 and 10, groove GR [the opening pattern] filled with organic material layer 161 [the pixel separation layer], [0094]); a first conductive line arranged on the first insulating layer (Park, FIG. 10, first connection wiring 140, [0188]), having a length extending in the first direction (Park, FIG. 10, first connection wiring 140 [the first conductive line] shown extending along the x-axis [the first direction]), crossing the pixel separation layer in the first direction (Park, see FIG. 10, first connection wiring 140 [the first conductive line] crosses the organic material layer 161 [the first pixel separation layer] in the first direction, [0083]), and at least partially overlapping the pixel separation layer (Park, see FIG. 10, “ the first connection wiring 140 [the first conductive line] connecting adjacent pixels may be disposed on the organic material layer 161 [the first pixel separation layer],” [0188]); a second insulating layer arranged on the first conductive line (Park, FIG. 10, interlayer insulation layer 115, [0140]); (Park, FIG. 10, OLED, [0157]), each display element comprising: a pixel electrode (Park, FIG. 10, pixel electrode 310, [0157]); an intermediate layer (Park, FIG. 10, intermediate layer 320, [0157]); and an opposite electrode (Park, FIG. 10, opposite electrode 330, [0157]).
Park is silent regarding: and a second conductive line arranged on the second insulating layer, having a length extending in the first direction, crossing the pixel separation layer in the first direction, and at least partially overlapping each of the pixel separation layer and the first conductive line.
However, Song, in the same field of endeavor, teaches: a second conductive line arranged on the second insulating layer (Song, FIG. 13 shows second conductive line 162 [the second conductive line] arranged on first organic layer 211 [the second insulating layer], “an insulating layer,” [0128]), having a length extending in the first direction, crossing the pixel separation layer in the first direction (Park, FIG. 10 shows second conductive line 162 [the second conductive line] having a length extending from left to right [the first direction] and crossing the third organic layer 213 [analogous to the pixel separation layer and the organic material layer 161 taught by Park], [0161]), and at least partially overlapping each of the pixel separation layer and the first conductive line (Song, FIG. 13 shows second conductive line 162 [the second conductive line] overlapping the third organic layer 213 [the first pixel separation layer] and first conductive line 161 [the first conductive line], [0161]). Song teaches that by including the second conductive line as a backup for the first conductive line, the reliability of the display device is improved because even if one of the conductive lines fails, the remaining conductive line continues to transmit power or signal (Song, [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the teachings of Song, arriving at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement with predictable results and without undue experimentation. The motivation for doing so would be, as expressly recognized by Song, to reduce defects of the display device, thereby improving device performance and reliability.
Regarding claim 16, Park in view of Song teaches: The display apparatus of claim 15, wherein the pixel separation layer has a grid structure in a plan view of the display apparatus (Park, see FIG. 4, organic material layer 161 [the pixel separation layer] shown with a grid structure in a plan view, [0082]).
Regarding claim 17, Park in view of Song teaches nearly every element of claim 17 but is silent regarding: first contact plugs respectively arranged on the pixel areas and electrically connecting the second conductive line to the first conductive line; conductive members respectively arranged on the pixel areas and arranged between the substrate and the first conductive line; and second contact plugs respectively arranged on the pixel areas and electrically connecting the first conductive line to the conductive members.
However, as discussed above regarding claim 3, Park in view of Song teaches various structural arrangements for a display device (Park, FIGs. 4-12 and associated text) and also includes a circuit diagram (Park, FIG. 3) showing a circuit virtually identical to that shown in Applicant’s disclosure. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement of the conductive members, insulating layers, pixel areas, contact plugs, and conductive lines because all the claimed elements were known in the art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 18, Park in view of Song teaches: semiconductor members respectively arranged on the pixel areas and between the substrate and the first conductive line (Park, FIG. 5 shows semiconductor layer AS1 of the driving TFT T1 [the first semiconductor member] arranged on each of the pixel areas, [0108]).
Park is silent regarding: third contact plugs respectively arranged on the pixel areas and electrically connecting the second conductive line to the first conductive line; ... and fourth contact plugs respectively arranged on the pixel areas and electrically connecting the first conductive line to the semiconductor members.
However, for the same reasons discussed above regarding claim 17, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement of contact plugs and conductive lines connecting semiconductor members, because all the claimed elements were known in the art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 19, Park in view of Song teaches: The display apparatus of claim 15, wherein the first conductive line is electrically connected to the second conductive line (Song, “The first conductive line 161 and the second conductive line 162 are connected to each other,” [0142]), and wherein a same signal is applied to the first conductive line and the second conductive line (Song, [0150]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to arrive at Applicant’s claimed structural arrangement wherein the first conductive line is electrically connected to the second conductive line, and wherein a same signal is applied to the first conductive line and the second conductive line because all the claimed elements were known in the art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results.
Conclusion
/D.L.N./Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899