DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Application
2. Acknowledgement is made of the amendment received on 10/24/25. Claims 1-14 & 21-26 are pending in this application. Claim 15-20 are canceled.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “an interfacial layer” (claims 1 & 21) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2020/0343135).
Re claim 1, Huang teaches, under BRI, Figs. 12-14, [0015, 0030-0033, 0035, 0038, 0040], a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
-depositing an etch stop layer (90) over a first hard mask material (82) over a substrate (20), the first hard mask material (82) over a gate stack (68, 72), the gate stack comprising a gate dielectric layer (68), wherein the first hard mask material (82) extends over and between spacers (consider barrier layer 74) adjacent to the gate stack (adjacent to 76, 78, 80), the first hard mask material (82) being in physical contact with a surface of the spacers (upper surface of 74) facing away from the gate stack (68, 72), the spacers (74) being different from the gate dielectric (68), the gate dielectric being over an interfacial layer (66), the first hard mask material (82) extending (e.g., vertically) further from the substrate (20) than the surface of the spacers (74) facing away from the gate stack (68, 72);
-depositing an interlayer dielectric (92) over the etch stop layer (90);
-forming a first opening (96) through the interlayer dielectric (92), the etch stop layer (90), and the first hard mask material (82), the first opening (96) exposing a conductive portion (80) of the gate stack (72); and
-treating (plasma treatment 98) sidewalls of the first opening (96) with a first dopant to form a first treated region (region of 104) within the interlayer dielectric (92), a second treated region (region of 104) within the etch stop layer (90), a third treated region (region of 104) within the first hard mask material (82), and a fourth treated region (at surface of 80) within the conductive portion (80), wherein after the treating the fourth treated region (at surface of 80) has a higher concentration of the first dopant than the first treated region (region of 104 at 92).
Re claim 6, Huang teaches depositing a conductive material (110) within the first opening, the conductive material in physical contact with the first treated region (at surface of 92) without an intervening liner (Fig. 16, [0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 2-5, 8-11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Ngo et al. (US 2002/0162736).
The teachings of Huang have been discussed above.
Re claim 2, Huang does not explicitly teach the first dopant comprises nitrogen.
Ngo teaches “sequentially treating the opening and the upper surface of the lower metal feature with an NH3 plasma and then with a N2/H2 plasma” (abstract).
As taught by Ngo, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Huang to obtain the first dopant comprising nitrogen as claimed, because it aids in achieving high density & multi-level semiconductor device with sub-micron dimension having lower resistance vias. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ngo in combination with Huang due to above reason.
Re claim 3, Huang teaches the treating the sidewalls comprises at least in part a plasma process (e.g., plasma treatment, [0038]).
Re claim 4, in combination cited above, Ngo teaches the plasma process utilizes ammonia as a precursor (abstract).
Re claim 5, Huang/Ngo does not explicitly each the fourth treated region has a first (nitrogen) concertation of the first dopant of between about 3%-atomic and about 30%-atomic.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular concentration(s) because applicant has not disclosed that, in view of the applied prior art, the concentration(s) are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. For that matter, applicant has not disclosed that the concentration(s) are for any purpose or produce any result. Moreover, it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another concentration. Indeed, it has been held that mere concentration(s) are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to try the particular claimed concentration(s) because a change in concentration would have been a known option within the technical grasp of a person of ordinary skill in the art and, "a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). See also, Pfizer Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1852 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Re claim 8, Huang teaches, under BRI, Figs. 10, 12-16 & 20, [0020, 0031-0034, 0035, 0038, 0040, 0042, 0044, 0059], a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
-forming a first opening (96) through a dielectric layer (92), a contact etch stop layer (90), and a first hard mask material (82) to expose a conductive portion of a gate stack (68, 72), the first hard mask material (left or right 82) being a single material having a width greater than the gate stack (compared with 74, 76, 78 of 72) (Fig. 12), the gate stack comprises a gate dielectric (68) in physical contact with an interfacial layer (66) and extending from being in physical contact with a first spacer (left 46) to being in physical contact with a second spacer (right 46) different from the first spacer (left 46), the second spacer (right 46) being on an opposite side of the gate stack than the first spacer (left 46) (Figs. 12-13);
-treating sidewalls of the first opening (96) with a first plasma from a nitrogen- containing precursor (*) to form a treated portion of the conductive portion (at surface of 80);
-filling the first opening (96) with a first conductive material (110) without removing the treated portion of the conductive portion (at surface of 80) (Fig. 20);
-forming a second opening (94) through the dielectric layer (92) and the contact etch stop layer (90) to expose a first source/drain contact (84);
-treating sidewalls of the second opening (94) with a second plasma; and
-filling the second opening (94) with a second conductive material (108).
Huang does not explicitly teach (*) treating with the first plasma from a nitrogen containing precursor.
Ngo teaches “sequentially treating the opening and the upper surface of the lower metal feature with an NH3 plasma and then with a N2/H2 plasma” (abstract).
As taught by Ngo, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Huang to treat with the first plasma from a nitrogen containing precursor as claimed, because it aids in achieving high density & multi-level semiconductor device with sub-micron dimension having lower resistance vias. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ngo in combination with Huang due to above reason.
Re claim 9, Huang teaches the forming the second opening (94) forms a recess (under 94A) within the first source/drain contact (84) (Fig. 13).
Re claim 10, Huang teaches the forming the second opening does not form a recess within the first source/drain contact (84) (Fig. 17).
Re claim 11, Huang teaches the treating the sidewalls of the first opening (96) and the treating the sidewalls of the second opening (94) are performed simultaneously (first treatment 98) (Fig. 14, [0038].
Re claim 14, in combination cited above, Ngo teaches the nitrogen-containing precursor is ammonia (abstract).
6. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of Ho et al. (US 2017/0288031).
The teachings of Huang have been discussed above.
Re claim 7, Huang teaches, Figs. 15-16, [0034, 0040, 0044], forming a second opening (94) through the interlayer dielectric (92) and the etch stop layer (90) to expose a source/drain contact (84); and depositing a conductive material (108) into the second opening (94) without treating the second opening (*).
Huang does not explicitly teach (*) without treating the second opening.
Ho teaches, Figs. 12-14, [0043, 0045], without treating the second opening (58B) in the depositing step.
As taught by Ho, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Huang to deposit a conductive material into the second opening without treating the second opening as claimed, because it aids in reducing cost and process steps during manufacturing a semiconductor device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ho in combination with Huang due to above reason.
7. Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Ngo as applied to claim 8 above, and in view of You et al. (US 2020/0144105).
The teachings of Huang/Ngo have been discussed above.
Re claim 12, Huang teaches forming the second opening (Fig. 13).
Huang/Ngo does not explicitly teach forming the second opening through a second hard mask material overlying the first source/drain contact.
You teaches forming the second opening (283) through a second hard mask material (274) overlying the first source/drain contact (272) (Fig. 21, [0039].
As taught by You, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to form the second opening through a second hard mask material overlying the first source/drain contact as claimed, because utilizing hard mask material is known and widely used in the art during an etching process.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by You in combination with Huang/Ngo due to above reason.
Re claim 13, in combination cited above, Huang teaches the forming the second opening forms a recess (under 94A) within the first source/drain contact (84) (Fig. 13).
8. Claims 1 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (US 2020/0343135) in view of Lin et al. (US 2015/0118835).
Re claim 1, Huang teaches, under BRI, Figs. 12-14, [0015, 0030-0033, 0035, 0038, 0040], a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
-depositing an etch stop layer (90) over a first hard mask material (82) over a substrate (20), the first hard mask material (82) over a gate stack (68, 72), the gate stack comprising a gate dielectric layer (68), wherein the first hard mask material (82) extends over and between spacers (46) adjacent to the gate stack, the first hard mask material (82) being in physical contact with a surface of the spacers (46) facing away from the gate stack (68, 72), the spacers (46) being different from the gate dielectric (68), the gate dielectric (68) being over an interfacial layer (66);
-depositing an interlayer dielectric (92) over the etch stop layer (90);
-forming a first opening (96) through the interlayer dielectric (92), the etch stop layer (90), and the first hard mask material (82), the first opening (96) exposing a conductive portion (80) of the gate stack (72); and
-treating (plasma treatment 98) sidewalls of the first opening (96) with a first dopant to form a first treated region (region of 104) within the interlayer dielectric (92), a second treated region (region of 104) within the etch stop layer (90), a third treated region (region of 104) within the first hard mask material (82), and a fourth treated region (at surface of 80) within the conductive portion (80), wherein after the treating the fourth treated region (at surface of 80) has a higher concentration of the first dopant than the first treated region (region of 104 at 92).
Huang does not teach the first hard mask material extending further from the substrate than the surface of the spacers facing away from the gate stack.
Lin teaches, Fig. 6, [0021, 0022, 0023, 0029], the first hard mask material (180) extending further from the substrate (100) than the surface of the spacers (130) facing away from the gate stack (124, 126, 128).
As taught by Lin, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the first hard mask material as claimed, because it aids in enhancing protection to the gate structure & achieving device that is able to prevent device failure due to contact plug shift issue.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Lin in combination with Huang due to above reason.
Re claim 21, Huang teaches, under BRI, Figs. 10, 11B & 12-16, [0015, 0020, 0030-0033, 0035, 0038, 0040], a method of manufacturing a semiconductor device, the method comprising:
-forming a gate stack (68, 72) over a semiconductor fin (36), the gate stack comprises a gate dielectric (68) located between a gate electrode (72) and an interfacial layer (66);
-forming a first hard mask material (82) overlying the gate stack, the first hard mask material comprising a first treated region (at surface of 82), wherein at least a portion of the first treated region extends between spacers (46) adjacent to the gate stack (68, 72) and wherein a portion of the first hard mask material (82) is aligned with a sidewall of the spacers (46) facing away from the gate stack (68, 72), the spacers (46) being different from the gate dielectric (68), wherein a single material (Figs. 10, 11B, 12) extends throughout the first hard mask material (82);
-forming an etch stop layer (90) overlying the first hard mask material (82), the etch stop layer (90) comprising a second treated region (at side surface of 90);
-forming a dielectric layer (92) overlying the etch stop layer (90), the dielectric layer comprising a third treated region (at surface of 92); and
-forming a conductive material (110) extending through and in physical contact with the first treated region (at surface of 92), the second treated region (at surface of 90), and the third treated region (at surface of 92), wherein the conductive material (110) is also in physical contact with a fourth treated region (at surface of 80) located within the gate stack (68, 72).
Huang does not explicitly teach the single material extending further from the semiconductor fin than a top surface of the spacers.
Lin teaches, Fig. 6, [0021, 0022, 0023, 0029], the single material (180) extending further from the semiconductor fin (defined under gate 120) (see also Huang’s teaching) than a top surface of the spacers (130).
As taught by Lin, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain the single material as claimed, because it aids in enhancing protection to the gate structure & achieving device that is able to prevent device failure due to contact plug shift issue.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Lin in combination with Huang due to above reason.
9. Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Lin as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Ngo et al. (US 2002/0162736).
The teachings of Huang/Lin have been discussed above.
Re claim 22, Huang/Lin does not explicitly teach each of the first treated region, the second treated region, the third treated region, and the fourth treated region each comprise nitrogen.
Ngo teaches “sequentially treating the opening and the upper surface of the lower metal feature with an NH3 plasma and then with a N2/H2 plasma” (abstract).
As taught by Ngo, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching into Huang to obtain each of the first treated region, the second treated region, the third treated region, and the fourth treated region each comprise nitrogen as claimed, because it aids in achieving high density & multi-level semiconductor device with sub-micron dimension having lower resistance vias. Further, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended used a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ngo in combination with Huang/Lin due to above reason.
Re claim 23 & 24, Huang/Ngo does not explicitly the first treated region has a nitrogen concertation of the first dopant of between about 0.3%-atomic and about 3%-atomic; and the fourth treated region has a nitrogen concentration of between about 3%-atomic to 30%-atomic.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice bounded by well-known manufacturing constraints and ascertainable by routine experimentation and optimization to choose these particular concentration(s) because applicant has not disclosed that, in view of the applied prior art, the concentration(s) are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. For that matter, applicant has not disclosed that the concentration(s) are for any purpose or produce any result. Moreover, it appears prima facie that the process would possess utility using another concentration. Indeed, it has been held that mere concentration(s) are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical. See, for example, In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976); Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984); In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to try the particular claimed concentration(s) because a change in concentration would have been a known option within the technical grasp of a person of ordinary skill in the art and, "a person of ordinary skill in the art has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense." KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). See also, Pfizer Inc. v. Apotex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1852 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
10. Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang as modified by Lin as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Ho et al. (US 2017/0288031).
The teachings of Huang/Lin have been discussed above.
Re claim 25, Huang/Lin does not teach forming a second conductive material extending through and in physical contact with an untreated portion of the dielectric layer and an untreated portion of the etch stop layer to make physical contact with a source/drain contact.
Ho teaches, Figs. 2 & 12-14, [0048, 0050], forming a second conductive material (60B) extending through and in physical contact with an untreated portion of the dielectric layer (54) and an untreated portion of the etch stop layer (32) to make physical contact with a source/drain contact (30).
As taught by Ho, one of ordinary skill in the art would utilize & modify the above teaching to obtain second conductive material extending through and in physical contact with an untreated portion of the dielectric layer and an untreated portion of the etch stop layer to make physical contact with a source/drain contact as claimed, because it aids in reducing cost and process steps, and improving electrical connection in the formed device.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the teaching as taught by Ho in combination with Huang/Lin due to above reason.
Re claim 26, Huang teaches the second conductive material (108) extends into the source/drain contact (84) (Fig. 16).
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Response to arguments on newly added limitations are responded to in the above rejection.
The claims 1 & 8 amended with newly added features, hence rejection/interpretation under Huang is changed to meet the newly cited limitations. According to the claim language, spacers do not limit to gate spacers and claim 1 does not exclude spacers from layers of gate stack, hence, under BRI, layer 74 of Huang can be considered as spacer. In claim 10, Huang teaches a first hard mask material (left or right 82) being a single material and having a width greater than the gate stack. As the claim does not limit to entire width of the gate stack, under BRI, width of 82 is greater than width of layers 74, 76, 78 of the gate stack. Also Fig. 10 of Huang teaches hard mask 82 has greater width than gate electrode 72.
Given a broadest reasonable interpretation, Huang teaches the claimed invention. Details included and discussed in the above rejection.
Conclusion
/DUY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 3/24/26