Detailed Action
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 15, Paragraph 1 of applicant’s arguments, filed 12/31/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 and dependent claims under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) under Im et al.(US 20190326348 A1, hereafter Im) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims has been withdrawn. The amendment successfully overcomes the prior art of Im.
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 18, Paragraphs 1-3 of applicant’s arguments, filed 12/31/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) under Im have been fully considered. However, they do not place the application into the conditions for allowance under Im due to the fact that the amended limitations still fall within the scope of Im’s disclosure with respect to an alternative feature mapping. See the new rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Im.
Regarding Claim 14, Im discloses:
A display device(Fig. 22/23) comprising:
an emission area(Fig. 23 [L]) and a sub-region(Fig. 22 See below) at one side of the emission area(Fig. 23 [L]) in a first direction;
First(Fig. 23 [341]) and second(Fig. 23 [342]) electrodes on a surface of a substrate(Fig. 23 [301]) and extending in the first direction and spaced from each other in a second direction, the first(Fig. 23 [341]) and second electrodes(Fig. 23 [342]) being in the emission area(Fig. 23 [L]) and the sub-region(Fig. 22 See below);
a first insulating layer(Fig. 23 [306]) on the first electrode(Fig. 23 [341]) and the second electrode(Fig. 23 [342]) in the emission area(Fig. 23 [L]);
a plurality of light emitting elements(Fig. 23 [LED]) on the first electrode(Fig. 23 [341]) and the second electrode(Fig. 23 [342]) in the emission area(Fig. 23 [L])
a second insulating layer(Fig. 23 [307]) on the plurality of light emitting elements(Fig. 23 [LED]), the second insulating layer(Fig. 23 [307]) extending in the first direction between the first and second electrodes(Fig. 23 [341/342]),
a first connection electrode(Fig. 23 [371]) on the first electrode(Fig. 23 [341]) in the emission area(Fig. 23 [L]) and the sub-region(Fig. 22 See below) and in contact with a light emitting element(Fig. 23 [LED]) from among the plurality of light emitting elements(Fig. 23 [LED]); and
a second connection electrode(Fig. 23 [372]) on the second electrode(Fig. 23 [342]) in the emission area(Fig. 23 [L]) and the sub-region(Fig. 22 See below) and in contact with the light emitting element(Fig. 23 [LED]),
wherein the first connection electrode(Fig. 23 [371]) and the second connection electrode(Fig. 23 [372]) are entirely spaced from each other in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate(Fig. 23 [301]) and do not overlap each other in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate(Fig. 23 [301]),
wherein the first connection electrode(Fig. 23 [371]) comprises a first contact portion on a first contact hole(Fig. 23 [60]) exposed in a first opening of the first insulating layer(Fig. 23 [306]), and
wherein the second connection electrode(Fig. 23 [372]) comprises a second contact portion on a second contact hole(Fig. 23 [70]) exposed in a second opening of the first insulating layer(Fig. 23 [306]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-11, 15-18 are in the conditions for allowance.
Regarding Claim 1, the closest prior art of Im discloses:
A display device(Fig. 4) comprising:
A conductive layer(Fig. 4 [VSL/322]) comprising a voltage line(Fig. 4 [VSL]) and a conductive pattern(Fig. 4 [322]) on a surface of a substrate(Fig. 4 [301]);
A via layer(Fig. 4 [305]) on the conductive layer(Fig. 4 [VSL/322]) and including a plurality of contact holes(Fig. 4 [60/70]) exposing a portion of the conductive layer(Fig. 4 [VSL/322]);
A first electrode(Fig. 4 [341]) and a second electrode(Fig. 4 [342]) spaced from each other on the via layer(Fig. 4 [304]),
A first insulating layer(Fig. 4 [366]) on the first electrode(Fig. 4 [341]) and the second electrode(Fig. 4 [342]) and including a plurality of openings(Fig. 4 [60/70]) exposing the plurality of contact holes(Fig. 4 [60/70]);
Light emitting elements(Fig. 4 [LED]) on the first electrode(Fig. 4 [341]) and the second electrode(Fig. 4 [342]), and on the first insulating layer(Fig. 4 [366]); and
A first connection electrode(Fig. 4 [371]) on the first electrode(Fig. 4 [341]) and in contact with a light-emitting element(Fig. 4 [LED]) among the light emitting elements(Fig. 4 [LED]), and a second connection electrode(Fig. 4 [372]) on the second electrode(Fig. 4 [342]) and in contact with the light emitting element(Fig. 4 [LED]),
Wherein the first connection electrode(Fig. 4 [371]) and the second connection electrode(Fig. 4 [372]) are entirely spaced from each other in a direction parallel to the surface of the substrate(Fig. 4 [301]) and do not overlap to each other in a direction perpendicular to the surface of the substrate(Fig. 4 [301]),
Wherein the first connection electrode(Fig. 4 [371]) is in direct contact with the conductive pattern(Fig. 4 [322]) through a first opening exposing a first contact hole(Fig. 4 [60]) of the plurality of contact holes(Fig. 4 [60/70]), and
Wherein the second connection electrode(Fig. 4 [372]) is in direct contact with the voltage line(Fig. 4 [VSL]) through a second opening exposing the second contact hole(Fig. 4 [70]) of the plurality of contact holes(Fig. 4 [60/70]).
However, the prior art of record does not teach or disclose the voltage line and the conductive pattern are made of same material.
Claims 2-11 are also in the conditions for allowance due to their dependence on Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 15, the closest prior art of Im discloses:
A display device(Fig. 22/23) comprising:
An emission area(Fig. 23 [L]) and a sub-region(Fig. 22 See below) at one side of the emission area in a first direction(facing the viewer);
First(Fig. 23 [341]) and second(Fig. 23 [342]) electrodes extending in the first direction and spaced from each other in a second direction(horizontal), the first and second electrodes(Fig. 23 [341/342]) being in the emission area(fig. 23 [L]) and the sub-region(Fig. 22 See below);
A first insulating layer(Fig. 23 [306]) on the first electrode(fig. 23 [341]) and the second electrode(Fig. 23 [342]) and including a plurality of openings(fig. 23 [60/70]) in the sub-region(Fig. 22 See below);
A plurality of light emitting elements(fig. 23 [LED]) on the first electrode(Fig. 23 [341]) and the second electrode(Fig. 23 [342]) in the emission area(Fig. 23 [L]);
A first connection electrode(Fig. 23 [371]) on the first electrode(Fig. 23 [341]) in the emission area(Fig. 23 [L]) and the sub-region(Fig. 22 See below) and in contact with a light-emitting element(Fig. 23 [LED]) among the plurality of light-emitting elements(Fig. 23 [LED]); and
A second connection electrode(Fig. 23 [372]) on the second electrode(Fig. 23 [342]) in the emission area(Fig. 23 [L]) and the sub-region(Fig. 22 See below) and in contact with the light emitting element(Fig. 23 [LED]).
The prior art of record does not appear to disclose the first and second dunny patterns or the respective limitations therein.
Claims 16-18 are also in the conditions for allowance due to their dependence on Claim 15.
Above: Fig. 23 of Im with sub-region and emission area denoted by examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Koh et al.(US 20210202670 A1) disclose a display device with a pixel element with a connection electrode of a specific shape. Hong et al.(US 20210181554 A1) discloses a display device with connection electrodes in a similar fashion as the application at hand. Lee et al.(US 20200026134 A1) discloses a pixel array with a connection electrode. Lee et al.(US 20190088731 A1) discloses a display device with a plurality of connection electrodes connecting a conductive pattern and a light emitting element. Beak et al.(US 20180166015 A1) discloses a display device with a connection electrode and a plurality of light emitting elements. Kim et al.(US 20180062109 A1) discloses a light-emitting device with a bank layer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARSHALL MU-NUO HATFIELD/Examiner, Art Unit 2897 /FERNANDO L TOLEDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897