DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/10/2026 has been entered into the prosecution of the application.
Claim objection to claim 1 is withdrawn in response to the claim amendments.
Claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn for claims 2 and 6 in response to the claim amendments.
Currently, claim(s) 1-10 is/are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim(s) 1 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 1, the term “said rechargeable chemical battery” in line 25 should read as “said chemical rechargeable battery”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1, as amended, recites the term “said transmitting member is connected to an outside of a non-electrode portion of a chemical rechargeable battery”. However, the term is not supported by specification 03/01/2022. For instance, paragraph [0019] of PGPub of the instant application teaches that “said transmitting member 121 is used to connect the outside of said chemical rechargeable battery”.
Claims 2-10 are rejected for depending on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yoshio Kitamura of JP 2002-334723 A (hereinafter referred to as Kitamura) in view of Hangseok Choi of US 2020/0381994 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Choi), James J. Fitzgibbon of US 2019/0020362 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Fitzgibbon), and Hui Du of US 12,272,809 B1 (hereinafter, Du).
As to claim 1, Kitamura teaches to a rechargeable battery endurance enhancing device comprising:
a body provided with a power module (Kitamura, paragraph [0007], Fig. 1, teaches to a power source 3), a frequency adjustment module (Kitamura, paragraph [0007], teaches to a highly efficient circuit is used by the regenerator), and an emission module (Kitamura, paragraph [0007], teaches to a ultra-high frequency oscillator and amplifier);
wherein said power module is provided with a conversion unit (Kitamura, paragraph [0006], teaches to the charger 4),
said conversion unit automatically converts an input voltage and an input current to provide a working voltage and a working current suitable for the operation of said body (Kitamura, paragraph [0006], teaches that the charger 4 … is a device that converts a general power source into DC and provides a voltage and current suitable for charging), and
wherein said emission module is provided with an amplifier (Kitamura, paragraph [0007], teaches to the ultra-high frequency oscillator and amplifier) and a transmitting member (Kitamura, paragraph [0021], Figs. 1-3, teaches to output terminal of regeneration device 5),
said amplifier is used to amplify a power of the electromagnetic wave generated by the electromagnetic wave transmitter of said frequency adjustment module (the term “said amplifier is used to amplify a power of the electromagnetic wave generated by the electromagnetic wave transmitter of said frequency adjustment module” is an intended use but the amplifier of Kitamura is nonetheless capable of amplifying an electromagnetic wave power generated by the electromagnetic wave transmitter of said frequency adjustment module), then transmit the electromagnetic wave amplified by said amplifier through said transmitting member (the term “then transmit the electromagnetic wave amplified by said amplifier through said transmitting member” is an intended use, but the output terminal of regeneration device 5 is nonetheless capable of transmitting the electromagnetic wave amplified by said amplifier through said transmitting member);
said transmitting member is connected to an outside a chemical rechargeable battery (Kitamura, paragraph [0021], Figs. 1-3, teaches that the output terminal of regeneration device 5 is used to connect the outside of a chemical rechargeable battery) and emit electromagnetic waves to chemical substances inside said chemical rechargeable battery from the outside (Kitamura, paragraph [0004], teaches that by applying ultra-short high frequency waves between the positive and negative electrodes, the atoms in the aqueous electrolyte are activated resulting in removal of the lead sulfate on the surface, thereby necessarily emitting electromagnetic waves to chemical substances inside the battery from outside).
Kitamura does not explicitly teach a voltage stabilizing member and a protection circuit, said voltage stabilizing member is used to provide stable voltage and current, said protection circuit is used to protect said body from damage caused by abnormal current or abnormal voltage.
In an analogous art, Choi teaches to a voltage stabilizing member (Choi, paragraph [0052], Fig. 2, teaches to the power adjuster 220 and/or linear regulator; Choi, paragraph [0052], teaches that the power adjuster 220 may adjust the voltage level or the current level of the power supplier or the battery 189 into a different voltage level, wherein the power adjuster may be implemented in the form of a switching regulator) and a protection circuit (Choi, paragraph [0078], teaches to an over-voltage protection circuitry 340 for protection; Choi, [0055], Fig. 3B, also teaches to a protection circuit module 240 for preventing a performance deterioration, or a damage to, a body of the battery 189),
said voltage stabilizing member is used to provide stable voltage and current (the recited term “said voltage stabilizing member is used to provide stable voltage and current” is an intended use but the power adjuster 220 and/or linear regulator of Choi is nonetheless capable of stabilizing voltage and current),
said protection circuit is used to protect said body from damage caused by abnormal current or abnormal voltage (the term “said protection circuit is used to protect said body from damage caused by abnormal current or abnormal voltage” is an intended use, but the over-voltage protection circuitry 340 of Choi is nonetheless capable of protecting a body from damage caused by abnormal current or abnormal voltage).
Both Kitamura and Choi relate to a power module for a rechargeable battery (Choi, paragraph [0043], Fig. 2). Kitamura does not explicitly teach a voltage stabilizing member and a protection circuit. Kitamura does teach a rechargeable battery endurance enhancing device at least comprising a body that is provided with a power module (Kitamura, paragraph [0007], Fig. 1, teaches to a power source 3;). Choi teaches a voltage stabilizing member (Choi, paragraph [0052], Fig. 2, teaches to the power adjuster 220;) and a protection circuit (Choi, paragraph [0078], teaches to an over-voltage protection circuitry 340 for protection).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the apparatus of Kitamura with the protection circuit and the voltage stabilizing member of Choi for managing power supplied to a rechargeable battery.
Kitamura in view of Choi does not explicitly teach wherein said frequency adjustment module is provided with a frequency adjustment member and an electromagnetic wave transmitter, and a command of said frequency adjustment member causes said electromagnetic wave transmitter to generate an electromagnetic wave with designated wavelength and frequency.
In an analogous art, Fitzgibbon teaches to wherein said frequency adjustment module is provided with a frequency adjustment member (Fitzgibbon, paragraph [0026], teaches that the communication circuity 232 may include tuning elements 217) and an electromagnetic wave transmitter (Fitzgibbon, paragraph [0026], teaches to the radiating elements 218), and a command of said frequency adjustment member causes said electromagnetic wave transmitter to generate an electromagnetic wave with designated wavelength and frequency (the term “ a command of said frequency adjustment member causes said electromagnetic wave transmitter to generate an electromagnetic wave with designated wavelength and frequency” is an intended use; nonetheless, the tuning elements 217 of Fitzgibbon is capable of controlling wavelength and frequency of electromagnetic wave because the controller 211 controls the output frequency of the tuning elements 217 and the electrical length of radiating elements 218 is varied so as to allow selection of a transmit frequency; changing frequency necessarily changes wavelength of a wave).
Both Kitamura in view of Choi and Fitzgibbon relate to transmitting an electromagnetic wave (Fitzgibbon, paragraph [0016]). Kitamura in view of Choi does not explicitly teach a frequency adjustment member. Kitamura in view of Choi does teach using a frequency oscillator (Kitamura, paragraph [0007]). Fitzgibbon teaches tuning elements 217 (Fitzgibbon, paragraph [0026]) for controlling the frequency so as to allow selection of a transmit frequency (Fitzgibbon, paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the apparatus of Kitamura in view of Choi with the tuning elements of Fitzgibbon for generating electromagnetic wave with designated wavelength and frequency in transmitting an electromagnetic wave.
Kitamura in view of Choi and Fitzgibbon does not explicitly teach that said transmitting member is connected to an outside of a non-electrode portion of a chemical rechargeable battery and emit electromagnetic waves to chemical substances inside said chemical rechargeable battery from the outside of the non-electrode portion of said rechargeable chemical battery.
In an analogous art, Du teaches to said transmitting member is connected to an outside of a non-electrode portion of a chemical rechargeable battery and emit electromagnetic waves to chemical substances inside said chemical rechargeable battery from the outside of the non-electrode portion of said rechargeable chemical battery (Du, col. 29, ln. 1-9, Fig. 2C, teaches to a planar inductive coil 032 is connected to an outside of the pouch cell packaging material 044 of the chemical rechargeable battery and emit electromagnetic waves to the active components of battery 042 inside the chemical rechargeable battery from outside of the pouch cell packaging material 044 of the chemical rechargeable battery; induction heating via inductive coil 032 emits electromagnetic waves; Du, col. 27, ln. 49, teaches to an external inductive coil that may be used for wireless charging of batteries in conjunction with the induction heating).
Both Kitamura in view of Choi and Fitzgibbon and Du relate to a battery (Du, col. 27, ln. 49). Kitamura in view of Choi and Fitzgibbon does not explicitly teach to an external inductive coil that may be used for wireless charging in conjunction with induction heating. Kitamura in view of Choi and Fitzgibbon does teach regenerating batteries by emitting ultra-high frequency waves, including microwaves. Du teaches to a planar inductive coil 032 is connected to an outside of the pouch cell packaging material 044 of the chemical rechargeable battery and emit electromagnetic waves to the active components of battery 042 inside the chemical rechargeable battery from outside of the pouch cell packaging material 044 of the chemical rechargeable battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the apparatus of Kitamura in view of Choi and Fitzgibbon with the inductive coils of Du for maintain the required ionic conductivity, thereby resulting in optimal battery functioning or increased battery efficiency.
As to claim 2, Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said body is made of a material that is lighter, thinner, and higher temperature resistant relative to at least one different material (Kitamura, paragraphs [0004] and [0013], teaches that ultra-short waves, which are also used in microwave ovens, activate atomic movement and have the effect of normalizing impurities in positive and negative active materials, wherein the activated atoms are in the aqueous electrolyte; applying microwaves on aqueous electrolytes necessarily results in heat generation due to vibration of water molecules; for this reason, the choice of the material of the body would have amounted to an engineering choice; thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a material that is thermally resistant so that the material does not degrade or lose structural integrity).
As to claim 3, Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said body is connected to a positive and a negative electrode of said chemical rechargeable battery, so as to supply power of said body through said chemical rechargeable battery (Kitamura, paragraph [0021], Figs. 1-3, teaches to lead acid battery positive terminal 8, lead acid battery negative terminal 9).
As to claim 4, Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said body obtains required power by connecting an external power supply (Kitamura, paragraphs [0006], [0021], Fig. 1, teaches to a power source 3).
As to claim 5, Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said frequency adjustment module is provided with a switch (Fitzgibbon, paragraph [0026], teaches to the controller 211 outputs enable or disable signals to the switching modules 219A, 219B which causes the switching modules 219A, 219B to selectively add or take out various reactive elements in the tuning circuit 217), and said switch is used to switch wavelength and frequency of electromagnetic waves suitable for different chemical rechargeable batteries (the term “said switch is used to switch wavelength and frequency of electromagnetic waves suitable for different chemical rechargeable batteries” is an intended use; nonetheless, the switching modules 219A, 219B are capable of switching wavelength and frequency of electromagnetic waves tuned for different batteries).
As to claim 6, Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du does not explicitly teach wherein said emission module is arranged on said body, said body is arranged below said chemical rechargeable battery, so that said body maintains contact between said emission module and chemical rechargeable battery through a weight of said chemical rechargeable battery. The instant claim recites a configuration wherein the weight of the battery results in a contact with the emission module of the rechargeable battery endurance enhancing device.
However, Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du does teach using a transmitting member is used to connect the outside of a chemical rechargeable battery (Kitamura, paragraph [0021], Figs. 1-3, teaches to output terminal of regeneration device 5) and emit electromagnetic waves to the chemical substances inside said chemical rechargeable battery from the outside (Kitamura, paragraph [0004], Fig. 4, teaches that, by applying ultra-short high short frequency waves between the positive and negative electrodes, the atoms in the aqueous electrolyte was activated and the lead sulfate on the surface was removed).
In light of the teaching that the electromagnetic waves are transmitted to the chemical substances inside said chemical rechargeable battery from the outside, the fact that a claimed device is in stable contact with said emission module would not have modified the operation of the device.
The term “stable contact” is interpreted as being in proximity to allow connection and emission of electromagnetic waves such that the waves arrive at the chemical substances inside said chemical rechargeable battery from the outside for enhancing endurance of a rechargeable battery because the lead acid battery 7 of Kitamura has to be in proximal distance to the regeneration device 6 of Kitamura for the electromagnetic waves to be delivered to the chemical substances inside the lead acid battery. In other words, the battery and the device must be connected by electromagnetic waves, but as long as the battery and the device are connected by electromagnetic waves, the battery and the device does not have to be at a contact at a specific distance to be operable.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success for one of ordinary skill in the art with a predictable result of delivering electromagnetic waves to the chemical substances inside said chemical rechargeable battery from the transmitting member outside from merely ensuring proximity between the transmitting member (output terminal of regeneration device 5; Kitamura, Fig. 1) of the regeneration device 6 and the lead acid battery 7 (Kitamura, Fig. 1) for the purpose of applying ultra-short waves to solve the recognized problem of sulfation (Kitamura, paragraph [0014]).
Therefore, rearrangement of parts would not be sufficient by itself to patently distinguish over an otherwise old device unless there are new or unexpected results. Please refer to MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C).
As to claim 9, Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said body is provided with a wireless signal transmission module (Choi, paragraph [0045], Fig. 1, teaches to wireless communication module 192).
As to claim 10, Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du teaches to the apparatus of claim 1, wherein said body is provided with a display member (Choi, paragraph [0036], Fig. 1, teaches to the display device 160 may visually provide information to the outside, e.g. a user).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshio Kitamura of JP 2002-334723 A (hereinafter referred to as Kitamura) in view of Hangseok Choi of US 2020/0381994 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Choi), James J. Fitzgibbon of US 2019/0020362 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Fitzgibbon), and Hui Du of US 12,272,809 B1 (hereinafter, Du), as applied to claim 1, and in further view of James D. Bennett of US 2010/0033021 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Bennett).
As to claim 7, Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du does not explicitly teach wherein said emission module is provided outside said body, an anti-jamming member is arranged on said transmitting member.
The instant specification 03/01/2022 does not describe in detail what constitutes an “anti-jamming function” on page 5. The examiner notes that anti-jamming functionalities are typically installed on the receiving portion, not an emission module. The term “anti-jamming” is interpreted herein as reducing electromagnetic interference, or achieving coherence, as understood in one of ordinary skill in the art.
In an analogous art, Bennett teaches to wherein said emission module is provided outside said body, an anti-jamming member is arranged on said transmitting member (Bennett, paragraphs [0024] and [0057], teaches to enhancing the efficiency of power delivery using a plurality of resonating coils arranged in the form of an array called the transmitter resonant phased array, wherein the combination of the coil and capacitor forms tuned circuit that can be tuned to the frequency of a controlled power source, and wherein as a result of using such arrays, the highest possible power as a result of the coherence or constructive interference is achieved; the plurality of resonating coils arranged in the form of an array reads into “an anti-jamming member”).
Both Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du and Bennett relate to delivering a power remotely (Bennett, paragraph [0019]). Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du does not explicitly teach an anti-jamming member. Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du does teach using a transmitting member (Kitamura, paragraph [0021], Figs. 1-3, teaches to output terminal of regeneration device 5) for emitting electromagnetic waves to the chemical substances inside said chemical rechargeable battery from the outside (Kitamura, paragraph [0004], Fig. 4, teaches that, by applying ultra-short high short frequency waves between the positive and negative electrodes, the atoms in the aqueous electrolyte was activated and the lead sulfate on the surface was removed). Bennett teaches an anti-jamming member (Bennett, paragraph [0024], teaches to a plurality of resonating coils arranged in the form of an array).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have modified the device of Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, and Du with the anti-jamming member of Bennett for improving efficiency in delivering power in a remote manner.
As to claim 8, Kitamura in view of Choi, Fitzgibbon, Du, and Bennett teaches to the apparatus of claim 7, wherein said anti-jamming member is an anti-jamming patch (Bennet, paragraph [0072], Fig. 2, teaches to transmitter resonant phased array 203, which reads as an anti-jamming patch).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 5 of 7, filed 04/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made. Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yoshio Kitamura of JP 2002-334723 A (hereinafter referred to as Kitamura) in view of Hangseok Choi of US 2020/0381994 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Choi), James J. Fitzgibbon of US 2019/0020362 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Fitzgibbon), and Hui Du of US 12,272,809 B1 (hereinafter, Du).
On pg. 5 of 7, the Applicant asserts that claim 1, as amended, overcomes the prior art rejection dated 11/10/2025 because Kitamura’s transmitting member does not teach or suggest being connected to an outside of a non-electrode portion of a chemical rechargeable battery. However, this assertion is found to be invalid, because state of being connected can be interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation. For instance, Kitamura does not teach that the application of the electromagnetic waves is limited to electrodes of the lead acid battery. Even if the teaching of Kitamura did teach that the application of the electromagnetic waves is limited to electrodes, the electrodes of the Kitamura’s lead acid batteries are necessarily connected to non-electrode portion of the Kitamura’s lead acid batteries, as lead acid batteries comprise more than mere electrodes which are necessarily connected to other non-electrode portion to function as a battery.
Further, the new term is not supported by specification 03/01/2022. For instance, paragraph [0019] of PGPub of the instant application teaches that “said transmitting member 121 is used to connect the outside of said chemical rechargeable battery”. Please refer to the claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) above.
Nonetheless, a new ground(s) of rejection is made for claim 1 rejection in response to the amendment. Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Yoshio Kitamura of JP 2002-334723 A (hereinafter referred to as Kitamura) in view of Hangseok Choi of US 2020/0381994 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Choi), James J. Fitzgibbon of US 2019/0020362 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Fitzgibbon), and Hui Du of US 12,272,809 B1 (hereinafter, Du). Please refer to the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794