DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed on March 10, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
This office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on January 06, 2026. Claims 11, 6, 7, 10, 12-14, 17, 19-21, and 24 have been amended. No claims have been added. No claims have been canceled. Currently claims 1 and 6-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12 and 19 have been considered but they are not persuasive. The reason is set forth below.
Regarding amended independent claim 1, 12 and 19 in the remarks document pages 1, the applicant stated “FIGS. 25 and 26 of Yamazaki '902 for showing a semiconductor 606b over an insulator 606a (equated with the recited "second insulator"). However, Yamazaki '902 describes, at paragraphs [0294], [0298], and [0321], that the insulator 606a purposely comprises materials including indium, an element M, and zinc, or gallium oxide. While FIGS. 25 and 26 Yamazaki '902 may depict the semiconductor 606b being over the insulator 606a (the recited "second insulator"), one of ordinary skill in the art would have had no reason to modify the transistor structure depicted in FIGS. 5B,5C, and 26 of Yamazaki '108 to include the structures depicted in FIGS. 25 and 26 of Yamazaki '902 without also including the materials implemented for the insulator 606a, which exclude silicon oxide and silicon oxynitride. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had no reason to modify Yamazaki '108 in view of the material requirements of Yamazaki '902 in order to arrive at the combination of noted features of claim 1. For at least these reasons, the Office Action fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness in view of Yamazaki '108 and Yamazaki '902 with respect to claim 1, and the rejection of claim 1, and its dependent claims, should be withdrawn.”
However, Examiner disagrees with the Applicant’s argument. “Yamazaki 108” Fig. 5C shows second insulator layer 114 is contact with first insulator 106. Furthermore “Yamazaki 108” ¶ [209] discloses “A silicon oxynitride film that releases less nitrogen oxide, an aluminum oxynitride film that releases less nitrogen oxide, and the like can be used as the above oxide insulating film.”. Furthermore “Yamazaki 908” ¶ [0294] discloses, “Other elements which can be used as the element M are boron, silicon, titanium, iron, nickel, germanium, zirconium, molybdenum, lanthanum, cerium, neodymium, hafnium, tantalum, tungsten, and the like”.
Therefore, primary reference YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20170338108 A1) “YAMAZAKI-108” in view of secondary reference “Yamazaki 908” overcomes the limitations cited in amended independent claims 1, 12 and 19.
For the stated reasons above a final rejection has been made using YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20170338108 A1) “YAMAZAKI-108” in view of YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20160247902 A1) “YAMAZAKI-902”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6-7, 13-14, and 20-21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6, 13 and 20 recited " wherein the first insulator comprises aluminum and oxygen.". However, the original claim set and the specification does not mention “oxygen” while describing the first insulator layer. Therefore, it introduces new matter which is not covered by the original specification filed with the application.
Claim 7, 14 and 21 recited " wherein the first insulator comprises hafnium and oxygen.". However, the original claim set and the specification does not mention “oxygen” while describing the first insulator layer. Therefore, it introduces new matter which is not covered by the original specification filed with the application.
For examination purpose, claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20-21 remained as previously presented.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the
claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have
been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having
ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be
negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1, 6-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20170338108 A1) “YAMAZAKI-108” in view of YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20160247902 A1) “YAMAZAKI-902”.
With Regard to Independent Claim 1, YAMAZAKI-108 Figs. 5B-5C and 26 discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a transistor 750 (“a transistor 750” ¶ [0497]); and
a capacitor 790 (“a capacitor 790” ¶ [0497]),
wherein the transistor 750 comprises:
a first conductor 104 (“a conductive film 104” ¶ [0162]);
a first insulator 106 (“an insulating film 106 over the substrate 102 and the conductive film 104” ¶ [0162]) over the first conductor 104;
a second insulator 114 (“an insulating film 114” ¶ [0162]) over and in contact with (Fig. 5C shows 114 is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106, the second insulator comprising silicon oxide or silicon oxynitride (“A silicon oxynitride film that releases less nitrogen oxide, an aluminum oxynitride film that releases less nitrogen oxide, and the like can be used as the above oxide insulating film.” ¶ [0209]);
an oxide semiconductor layer 108 (“an oxide semiconductor film 108” ¶ [0162]), the oxide semiconductor layer comprising a channel formation region (“oxide semiconductor film 108 functioning as a channel region” ¶ [0197]);
a second conductor 112a (“a conductive film 112a” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 5B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, a first side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 5B shows 112a is in contact with left side surface of 108),
a third conductor 112b (“a conductive film 112b” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 5B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, second side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 5B shows 112b is in contact with right side surface of 108),
wherein the capacitor 790 comprises:
a fourth conductor (lower electrode) (“lower electrode” ¶ [0501]);
the first insulator over 106 the fourth conductor (lower electrode); and
the second conductor 112a over and in contact with (Fig. 5B shows 112a is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106 (“The capacitor 790 includes a lower electrode and an upper electrode. The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750. The upper electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as source and drain electrodes. Between the lower electrode and the upper electrode, an insulating film formed through a step of forming an insulating film to be an insulating film functioning as a first gate insulating film of the transistor 750 is provided. That is, the capacitor 790 has a stacked-layer structure in which an insulating film functioning as a dielectric film is positioned between the pair of electrodes.” ¶ [0501]).
However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not disclose an oxide semiconductor layer over and in contact with the second insulator,
a first oxide and second oxide which are over the oxide semiconductor layer,
a second conductor in contact with a side surface and a top surface of the first oxide; and
a third conductor in contact with a side surface and a top surface of the second oxide,
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 25-26 discloses an oxide semiconductor layer 606b (“a semiconductor 606b over the insulator 606a” ¶ [0318]; “For the semiconductor 606b, the description of the semiconductor 406b is referred to.” ¶ [0321]; “semiconductor 406b is an oxide semiconductor” ¶ [0269]) over the second insulator 606a;
a first oxide 607a (“a region 607a” ¶ [0319]) and a second oxide 607b (“a region 607b” ¶ [0319]) which are over (Fig. 26E shows 607s and 607b is over 606b) the oxide semiconductor layer 606b.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify oxide layers of YAMAZAKI-108 with the oxide layers of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to include a region with a lower resistance than a region in the semiconductor layer (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0319]).
However, YAMAZAKI-902 Fig. 25-26 does not disclose a second conductor in contact with a side surface and a top surface of the first oxide; and
a third conductor in contact with a side surface and a top surface of the second oxide,
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 18-20 discloses a second conductor 416a (“a conductor 416a” ¶ [0257]) in contact with a side surface and a top surface (Fig. 18B shows conductor 416a is in contact with the top and side surface of left side of oxide 406b) of the first oxide (left side of 406b in fig. 18B); and
a third conductor 416b (“a conductor 416b” ¶ [0257]) in contact with a side surface and a top surface (Fig. 18B shows conductor 416b is in contact with the top and side surface of right side of oxide 406b) of the second oxide (right side of 406b in fig. 18B);
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to have a function as the source region and the drain region of the transistor (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0260]).
With Regard to Claim 6, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator 106 comprises aluminum and oxide (“insulating film 106 …. an aluminum oxide film,” ¶ [0196]).
With Regard to Claim 7, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator comprises hafnium and oxide (“hafnium oxide is used for the insulating film 106” ¶ [0198]).
With Regard to Claim 8, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 Fig. 26 further discloses wherein an upper surface of the fourth conductor comprises projections and depressions (Fig. 26 shows the lower electrode of 790 has projection in the middle and depression on the left and right side).
With Regard to Claim 9, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first conductor and the fourth conductor comprise the same material (“The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750.” ¶ [0501]).
With Regard to Claim 10, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses,
wherein the first conductor and the fourth conductor are formed in the same layer (“The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750.” ¶ [0501]; Fig. 26 shows the conductive film 104 of transistor 750 and the lower electrode of capacitor 790, are in the same layer on top of 701),
However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not disclose further comprising a third insulator between the first conductor and the fourth conductor, and wherein the first insulator comprises a region in contact with the third insulator and positioned over the first conductor and the fourth conductor.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 28-29 discloses further comprising a third insulator (“insulator 490” ¶ [0337]) between the first conductor (“a conductor 474a” ¶ [0337]) and the fourth conductor (“a conductor 474b” ¶ [0337]), and wherein the first insulator (“insulator 502” ¶ [0337]) comprises a region in contact with the third insulator 490 and positioned over (Figs. 28A and 29A shows 502 is in contact with 502 and over 474a and 474b) the first conductor 474a and the fourth conductor 474b.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the insulators and conductors of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to suppress a punch-through phenomenon; thus, the electrical characteristics of the transistor in a saturation region can be stable (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0344]).
With Regard to Claim 11, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, an element M and Zn (“the oxide semiconductor film is assumed to contain indium, an element M, and zinc” ¶ [0373]), and wherein the element M is any one of Al, Ga (“the element M is gallium” ¶ [0373]), Y, and Sn.
With Regard to Claim 12, YAMAZAKI-108 Figs. 5A-5C, 10B-10C and 26 discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a transistor 750 (“a transistor 750” ¶ [0497]); and
a capacitor 790 (“a capacitor 790” ¶ [0497]),
wherein the transistor comprises:
a first conductor 104 (“conductive film 104” ¶ [0233]);
a first insulator 106 (“an insulating film 106 over the substrate 102 and the conductive film 104” ¶ [0233]) over the first conductor 104;
a second insulator 114 (“an insulating film 114” ¶ [0162]) over and in contact with (Fig. 5C shows 114 is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106, the second insulator comprising silicon oxide or silicon oxynitride (“A silicon oxynitride film that releases less nitrogen oxide, an aluminum oxynitride film that releases less nitrogen oxide, and the like can be used as the above oxide insulating film.” ¶ [0209]);
an oxide semiconductor layer 108 (“an oxide semiconductor film 108” ¶ [0162]), the oxide semiconductor layer comprising a channel formation region (“oxide semiconductor film 108 functioning as a channel region” ¶ [0197]);
a third insulator 118 (“the insulating film 118” ¶ [0254]) over the oxide semiconductor layer 108;
a second conductor 120a (“the conductive films 120a and 120b of the transistor 100E are positioned over the insulating film 118” ¶ [0254]) over the third insulator 118;
a third conductor 112a (“a conductive film 112a” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, and a first side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with left side surface of 108),
a fourth conductor 112b (“a conductive film 112b” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, second side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 10B shows 112b is in contact with a side surface of 108), and
a fourth insulator 116 (“insulating film 116” ¶ [0233]) comprising regions over the third conductor 112a and the fourth conductor 112b,
wherein the fourth insulator 116 comprises an opening 142b (“116 have an opening 142b” ¶ [0231]),
wherein the third insulator 118 and the second conductor 120a are provided (Fig. 10B and 10C shows 118 and 120a in the opening 142a) in the opening 142b, and
wherein the capacitor comprises:
a fifth conductor (lower electrode) (“lower electrode” ¶ [0501]);
the first insulator 106 over the fifth conductor (lower electrode); and
the fourth conductor 112b over and in contact with (Fig. 5B shows 112b is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106 (“The capacitor 790 includes a lower electrode and an upper electrode. The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750. The upper electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as source and drain electrodes. Between the lower electrode and the upper electrode, an insulating film formed through a step of forming an insulating film to be an insulating film functioning as a first gate insulating film of the transistor 750 is provided. That is, the capacitor 790 has a stacked-layer structure in which an insulating film functioning as a dielectric film is positioned between the pair of electrodes.” ¶ [0501]).
However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not disclose, an oxide semiconductor layer over and in contact with the second insulator, a third conductor in contact with a side surface of the third insulator, a fourth conductor in contact with another side surface of the third insulator.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 18-20 discloses
an oxide semiconductor layer 406b over and in contact with (Fig. 18-20 shows 406b is in contact with 406a) the second insulator 406a (“a semiconductor 406b over the insulator 406a” ¶ [0257]),
a third conductor 416a (“a conductor 416a” ¶ [0257]) in contact with a side surface of the third insulator 406c (“a conductor 416a and a conductor 416b which are arranged to be separated from each other while being in contact with top and side surfaces of the semiconductor 406b, an insulator 410 over the conductor 416a and the conductor 416b, an insulator 406c” ¶ [0257]),
a fourth conductor 416b (“a conductor 416b” ¶ [0257]) in contact with another side surface of the third insulator 406c (“a conductor 416a and a conductor 416b which are arranged to be separated from each other while being in contact with top and side surfaces of the semiconductor 406b, an insulator 410 over the conductor 416a and the conductor 416b, an insulator 406c” ¶ [0257]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the insulator layers of YAMAZAKI-108 with the insulator layers of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to decrease the density of defect states at the interface between the insulator and the semiconductor and the density of defect states at the interface between the semiconductor and the insulator, electron movement in the semiconductor is less likely to be inhibited and the on-sate current of the transistor can be increased. (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0303]).
With Regard to Claim 13, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator 106 comprises aluminum and oxide (“insulating film 106 …. an aluminum oxide film,” ¶ [0196]).
With Regard to Claim 14, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator comprises hafnium and oxide (“hafnium oxide is used for the insulating film 106” ¶ [0198]).
With Regard to Claim 15, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 Fig. 26 further discloses wherein an upper surface of the fifth conductor comprises projections and depressions (Fig. 26 shows the lower electrode of 790 has projection in the middle and depression on the left and right side).
With Regard to Claim 16, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first conductor and the fifth conductor comprise the same material (“The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750.” ¶ [0501]).
With Regard to Claim 17, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses,
wherein the first conductor and the fifth conductor are formed in the same layer (“The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750.” ¶ [0501]; Fig. 26 shows the conductive film 104 of transistor 750 and the lower electrode of capacitor 790, are in the same layer on top of 701), and
However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not disclose further comprising a fifth insulator between the first conductor and the fourth conductor,
wherein the first insulator comprises a region in contact with the fifth insulator and positioned over the first conductor and the fifth conductor.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 28-29 discloses further comprising a fifth insulator (“insulator 490” ¶ [0337]) between the first conductor (“a conductor 474a” ¶ [0337]) and the fourth conductor (“a conductor 474b” ¶ [0337]), and wherein the first insulator (“insulator 502” ¶ [0337]) comprises a region in contact with the fifth insulator 490 and positioned over (Figs. 28A and 29A shows 502 is in contact with 502 and over 474a and 474b) the first conductor 474a and the fourth conductor 474b.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the insulators and conductors of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to suppress a punch-through phenomenon; thus, the electrical characteristics of the transistor in a saturation region can be stable (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0344]).
With Regard to Claim 18, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, an element M and Zn (“the oxide semiconductor film is assumed to contain indium, an element M, and zinc” ¶ [0373]), and wherein the element M is any one of Al, Ga (“the element M is gallium” ¶ [0373]), Y, and Sn.
With Regard to Claim 19, YAMAZAKI-108 Figs. 5A-5C, 10B-10C and 26 discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a transistor 750 (“a transistor 750” ¶ [0497]); and
a capacitor 790 (“a capacitor 790” ¶ [0497]),
wherein the transistor comprises:
a first conductor 104 (“conductive film 104” ¶ [0233]);
a first insulator 106 (“an insulating film 106 over the substrate 102 and the conductive film 104” ¶ [0233]) over the first conductor 104;
a second insulator 114 (“an insulating film 114” ¶ [0162]) over and in contact with (Fig. 5C shows 114 is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106, the second insulator comprising silicon oxide or silicon oxynitride (“A silicon oxynitride film that releases less nitrogen oxide, an aluminum oxynitride film that releases less nitrogen oxide, and the like can be used as the above oxide insulating film.” ¶ [0209]);
an oxide semiconductor layer 108 (“an oxide semiconductor film 108” ¶ [0162]), the oxide semiconductor layer comprising a channel formation region (“oxide semiconductor film 108 functioning as a channel region” ¶ [0197]);
a third insulator 118 (“the insulating film 118” ¶ [0254]) over the oxide semiconductor layer 108;
a second conductor 120a (“the conductive films 120a and 120b of the transistor 100E are positioned over the insulating film 118” ¶ [0254]) over the third insulator 118;
a third conductor 112a (“a conductive film 112a” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, and a first side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with left side surface of 108),
a fourth conductor 112b (“a conductive film 112b” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, second side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 10B shows 112b is in contact with right side surface of 108), and
a fourth insulator 116 (“insulating film 116” ¶ [0233]) comprising regions over the third conductor 112a and the fourth conductor 112b,
wherein the fourth insulator 116 comprises an opening 142b (“116 have an opening 142b” ¶ [0231]),
wherein the third insulator 118 and the second conductor 120a are provided (Fig. 10B and 10C shows 118 and 120a in the opening 142a) in the opening 142b, and
wherein the capacitor comprises:
a fifth conductor (lower electrode) (“lower electrode” ¶ [0501]);
the first insulator 106 over the fifth conductor (lower electrode); and
the fourth conductor 112b over and in contact with (Fig. 5B shows 112b is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106 (“The capacitor 790 includes a lower electrode and an upper electrode. The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750. The upper electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as source and drain electrodes. Between the lower electrode and the upper electrode, an insulating film formed through a step of forming an insulating film to be an insulating film functioning as a first gate insulating film of the transistor 750 is provided. That is, the capacitor 790 has a stacked-layer structure in which an insulating film functioning as a dielectric film is positioned between the pair of electrodes.” ¶ [0501]).
However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not disclose, an oxide semiconductor layer over the second insulator,
a first oxide and second oxide which are over the oxide semiconductor layer,
a third conductor in contact with a first side surface of the third insulator and a side surface and a top surface of the first oxide;
a fourth conductor in contact with second side surface of the third insulator and a side surface and a top surface of the second oxide.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 18-20 discloses
a second insulator 406a over the first insulator 402 (“an insulator 406a over the insulator 402” ¶ [0257]);
an oxide semiconductor layer 406b over the second insulator 406a (“a semiconductor 406b over the insulator 406a” ¶ [0257]),
a third conductor 416a (“a conductor 416a” ¶ [0257]) in contact with first side surface of the third insulator 406c (“a conductor 416a and a conductor 416b which are arranged to be separated from each other while being in contact with top and side surfaces of the semiconductor 406b, an insulator 410 over the conductor 416a and the conductor 416b, an insulator 406c” ¶ [0257]),
a fourth conductor 416b (“a conductor 416b” ¶ [0257]) in contact with second side surface of the third insulator 406c (“a conductor 416a and a conductor 416b which are arranged to be separated from each other while being in contact with top and side surfaces of the semiconductor 406b, an insulator 410 over the conductor 416a and the conductor 416b, an insulator 406c” ¶ [0257]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the insulator layers of YAMAZAKI-108 with the insulator layers of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to decrease the density of defect states at the interface between the insulator and the semiconductor and the density of defect states at the interface between the semiconductor and the insulator, electron movement in the semiconductor is less likely to be inhibited and the on-sate current of the transistor can be increased. (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0303]).
However, However, YAMAZAKI-902 Fig. 18-20 does not disclose a first oxide and second oxide which are over the oxide semiconductor layer,
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 25-26 discloses,
a first oxide 607a (“a region 607a” ¶ [0319]) and a second oxide 607b (“a region 607b” ¶ [0319]) which are over (Fig. 26E shows 607s and 607b is over 606b) the oxide semiconductor layer 606b.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify oxide layers of YAMAZAKI-108 with the oxide layers of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to include a region with a lower resistance than a region in the semiconductor layer (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0319]).
With Regard to Claim 20, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator 106 comprises aluminum and oxide (“insulating film 106 …. an aluminum oxide film,” ¶ [0196]).
With Regard to Claim 21, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator comprises hafnium and oxide (“hafnium oxide is used for the insulating film 106” ¶ [0198]).
With Regard to Claim 22, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 Fig. 26 further discloses wherein an upper surface of the fifth conductor comprises projections and depressions (Fig. 26 shows the lower electrode of 790 has projection in the middle and depression on the left and right side).
With Regard to Claim 23, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first conductor and the fifth conductor comprise the same material (“The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750.” ¶ [0501]).
With Regard to Claim 24, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses, wherein the first conductor and the fifth conductor are formed in the same layer (“The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750.” ¶ [0501]; Fig. 26 shows the conductive film 104 of transistor 750 and the lower electrode of capacitor 790, are in the same layer on top of 701),
However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not disclose further comprising a fifth insulator between the first conductor and the fourth conductor,
wherein the first insulator comprises a region in contact with the fifth insulator and positioned over the first conductor and the fifth conductor.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 28-29 discloses further comprising a fifth insulator (“insulator 490” ¶ [0337]) between the first conductor (“a conductor 474a” ¶ [0337]) and the fourth conductor (“a conductor 474b” ¶ [0337]), and wherein the first insulator (“insulator 502” ¶ [0337]) comprises a region in contact with the fifth insulator 490 and positioned over (Figs. 28A and 29A shows 502 is in contact with 502 and over 474a and 474b) the first conductor 474a and the fourth conductor 474b.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the insulators and conductors of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to suppress a punch-through phenomenon; thus, the electrical characteristics of the transistor in a saturation region can be stable (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0344]).
With Regard to Claim 25, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, an element M and Zn (“the oxide semiconductor film is assumed to contain indium, an element M, and zinc” ¶ [0373]), and wherein the element M is any one of Al, Ga (“the element M is gallium” ¶ [0373]), Y, and Sn.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AKHEE SARKER-NAG/Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893