DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed on March 10, 2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
This office Action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on June 02, 2026. Claims 1, 6, 7, 10, 12-14, 17, 19-21, and 24 have been amended. No claims have been added. No claims have been canceled. Currently claims 1 and 6-25 are pending.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 6-7, 13-14, and 20-21, overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections, thereby withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 12 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the
claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have
been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having
ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be
negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 1, 6-9, 11-16, 18-23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20170338108 A1) “YAMAZAKI-108” in view of YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20160247902 A1) “YAMAZAKI-902” further in view of KOEZUKA, Junichi (US 20170104090 A1) “KOEZUKA et al.”.
With Regard to Independent Claim 1, YAMAZAKI-108 Figs. 5B-5C and 26 discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a transistor 750 (“a transistor 750” ¶ [0497]); and
a capacitor 790 (“a capacitor 790” ¶ [0497]),
wherein the transistor 750 comprises:
a first conductor 104 (“a conductive film 104” ¶ [0162]);
a first insulator 106 (“an insulating film 106 over the substrate 102 and the conductive film 104” ¶ [0162]) over the first conductor 104;
a second insulator 114 (“an insulating film 114” ¶ [0162]) over and in contact with (Fig. 5C shows 114 is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106, the second insulator having an island shape (Fig. 5C shows island shaped 114);
an oxide semiconductor layer 108 (“an oxide semiconductor film 108” ¶ [0162]), the oxide semiconductor layer comprising a channel formation region (“oxide semiconductor film 108 functioning as a channel region” ¶ [0197]);
a second conductor 112a (“a conductive film 112a” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 5B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, a first side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 5B shows 112a is in contact with left side surface of 108),
a third conductor 112b (“a conductive film 112b” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 5B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, second side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 5B shows 112b is in contact with right side surface of 108),
wherein the capacitor 790 comprises:
a fourth conductor (lower electrode) (“lower electrode” ¶ [0501]);
the first insulator over 106 the fourth conductor (lower electrode); and
the second conductor 112a over and in contact with (Fig. 5B shows 112a is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106 (“The capacitor 790 includes a lower electrode and an upper electrode. The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750. The upper electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as source and drain electrodes. Between the lower electrode and the upper electrode, an insulating film formed through a step of forming an insulating film to be an insulating film functioning as a first gate insulating film of the transistor 750 is provided. That is, the capacitor 790 has a stacked-layer structure in which an insulating film functioning as a dielectric film is positioned between the pair of electrodes.” ¶ [0501]).
However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not explicitly disclose the second insulator having an island shape and does not disclose an oxide semiconductor layer over and in contact with the second insulator,
a first oxide and second oxide which are over the oxide semiconductor layer,
a second conductor in contact with a side surface and a top surface of the first oxide; and
a third conductor in contact with a side surface and a top surface of the second oxide,
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 25-26 discloses an oxide semiconductor layer 606b (“a semiconductor 606b over the insulator 606a” ¶ [0318]; “For the semiconductor 606b, the description of the semiconductor 406b is referred to.” ¶ [0321]; “semiconductor 406b is an oxide semiconductor” ¶ [0269]) over the second insulator 606a;
a first oxide 607a (“a region 607a” ¶ [0319]) and a second oxide 607b (“a region 607b” ¶ [0319]) which are over (Fig. 26E shows 607s and 607b is over 606b) the oxide semiconductor layer 606b.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify oxide layers of YAMAZAKI-108 with the oxide layers of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to include a region with a lower resistance than a region in the semiconductor layer (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0319]).
However, YAMAZAKI-902 Fig. 25-26 does not explicitly disclose the second insulator having an island shape and does not disclose a second conductor in contact with a side surface and a top surface of the first oxide; and
a third conductor in contact with a side surface and a top surface of the second oxide,
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 18-20 discloses a second conductor 416a (“a conductor 416a” ¶ [0257]) in contact with a side surface and a top surface (Fig. 18B shows conductor 416a is in contact with the top and side surface of left side of oxide 406b) of the first oxide (left side of 406b in fig. 18B); and
a third conductor 416b (“a conductor 416b” ¶ [0257]) in contact with a side surface and a top surface (Fig. 18B shows conductor 416b is in contact with the top and side surface of right side of oxide 406b) of the second oxide (right side of 406b in fig. 18B);
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to have a function as the source region and the drain region of the transistor (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0260]).
However, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 18-20 does not explicitly disclose the second insulator having an island shape.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, KOEZUKA et al. Figs. 4A-4C and 16A-16D discloses, disclose the second insulator (“the insulator 104 may be referred to as a first insulator, the insulator 110 may be referred to as a second insulator,” ¶ [0133]) having an island shape (“the island-shaped insulator 110 are formed (see FIG. 16A)” ¶ [0305]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the island shaped second insulating layer of conductors of KOEZUKA et al. in order to include an excess oxygen region. The insulator 110 is an insulator in which oxygen can be moved. In other words, the insulator 110 may be an insulator having oxygen permeability. For example, the insulator 110 may be an insulator having higher oxygen permeability than the oxide semiconductor 108 and the metal oxide 111. Excess oxygen released from the insulator 110 is unlikely to diffuse to the conductor 112 side and is efficiently supplied to the region 108i of the oxide semiconductor 108. As a result, oxygen vacancies that might be formed in the region 108i can be filled with excess oxygen, which can provide a highly reliable semiconductor device (¶ [0134-0135]).
With Regard to Claim 6, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator 106 comprises aluminum oxide (“insulating film 106 …. an aluminum oxide film,” ¶ [0196]).
With Regard to Claim 7, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator comprises hafnium oxide (“hafnium oxide is used for the insulating film 106” ¶ [0198]).
With Regard to Claim 8, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 Fig. 26 further discloses wherein an upper surface of the fourth conductor comprises projections and depressions (Fig. 26 shows the lower electrode of 790 has projection in the middle and depression on the left and right side).
With Regard to Claim 9, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first conductor and the fourth conductor comprise the same material (“The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750.” ¶ [0501]).
With Regard to Claim 11, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, an element M and Zn (“the oxide semiconductor film is assumed to contain indium, an element M, and zinc” ¶ [0373]), and wherein the element M is any one of Al, Ga (“the element M is gallium” ¶ [0373]), Y, and Sn.
With Regard to Claim 12, YAMAZAKI-108 Figs. 5A-5C, 10B-10C and 26 discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a transistor 750 (“a transistor 750” ¶ [0497]); and
a capacitor 790 (“a capacitor 790” ¶ [0497]),
wherein the transistor comprises:
a first conductor 104 (“conductive film 104” ¶ [0233]);
a first insulator 106 (“an insulating film 106 over the substrate 102 and the conductive film 104” ¶ [0233]) over the first conductor 104;
a second insulator 114 (“an insulating film 114” ¶ [0162]) over and in contact with (Fig. 5C shows 114 is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106, the second insulator having an island shape (Fig. 5C shows island shaped 114);
an oxide semiconductor layer 108 (“an oxide semiconductor film 108” ¶ [0162]), the oxide semiconductor layer comprising a channel formation region (“oxide semiconductor film 108 functioning as a channel region” ¶ [0197]);
a third insulator 118 (“the insulating film 118” ¶ [0254]) over the oxide semiconductor layer 108;
a second conductor 120a (“the conductive films 120a and 120b of the transistor 100E are positioned over the insulating film 118” ¶ [0254]) over the third insulator 118;
a third conductor 112a (“a conductive film 112a” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, and a first side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with left side surface of 108),
a fourth conductor 112b (“a conductive film 112b” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, second side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 10B shows 112b is in contact with a side surface of 108), and
a fourth insulator 116 (“insulating film 116” ¶ [0233]) comprising regions over the third conductor 112a and the fourth conductor 112b,
wherein the fourth insulator 116 comprises an opening 142b (“116 have an opening 142b” ¶ [0231]),
wherein the third insulator 118 and the second conductor 120a are provided (Fig. 10B and 10C shows 118 and 120a in the opening 142a) in the opening 142b, and
wherein the capacitor comprises:
a fifth conductor (lower electrode) (“lower electrode” ¶ [0501]);
the first insulator 106 over the fifth conductor (lower electrode); and
the fourth conductor 112b over and in contact with (Fig. 5B shows 112b is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106 (“The capacitor 790 includes a lower electrode and an upper electrode. The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750. The upper electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as source and drain electrodes. Between the lower electrode and the upper electrode, an insulating film formed through a step of forming an insulating film to be an insulating film functioning as a first gate insulating film of the transistor 750 is provided. That is, the capacitor 790 has a stacked-layer structure in which an insulating film functioning as a dielectric film is positioned between the pair of electrodes.” ¶ [0501]).
However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not explicitly disclose the second insulator having an island shape and does not disclose, an oxide semiconductor layer over and in contact with the second insulator, a third conductor in contact with a side surface of the third insulator, a fourth conductor in contact with another side surface of the third insulator.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 18-20 discloses
an oxide semiconductor layer 406b over and in contact with (Fig. 18-20 shows 406b is in contact with 406a) the second insulator 406a (“a semiconductor 406b over the insulator 406a” ¶ [0257]),
a third conductor 416a (“a conductor 416a” ¶ [0257]) in contact with a side surface of the third insulator 406c (“a conductor 416a and a conductor 416b which are arranged to be separated from each other while being in contact with top and side surfaces of the semiconductor 406b, an insulator 410 over the conductor 416a and the conductor 416b, an insulator 406c” ¶ [0257]),
a fourth conductor 416b (“a conductor 416b” ¶ [0257]) in contact with another side surface of the third insulator 406c (“a conductor 416a and a conductor 416b which are arranged to be separated from each other while being in contact with top and side surfaces of the semiconductor 406b, an insulator 410 over the conductor 416a and the conductor 416b, an insulator 406c” ¶ [0257]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the insulator layers of YAMAZAKI-108 with the insulator layers of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to decrease the density of defect states at the interface between the insulator and the semiconductor and the density of defect states at the interface between the semiconductor and the insulator, electron movement in the semiconductor is less likely to be inhibited and the on-sate current of the transistor can be increased. (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0303]).
However, YAMAZAKI-902 does not explicitly disclose the second insulator having an island shape.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, KOEZUKA et al. Figs. 4A-4C and 16A-16D discloses, disclose the second insulator (“the insulator 104 may be referred to as a first insulator, the insulator 110 may be referred to as a second insulator,” ¶ [0133]) having an island shape (“the island-shaped insulator 110 are formed (see FIG. 16A)” ¶ [0305]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the island shaped second insulating layer of conductors of KOEZUKA et al. in order to include an excess oxygen region. The insulator 110 is an insulator in which oxygen can be moved. In other words, the insulator 110 may be an insulator having oxygen permeability. For example, the insulator 110 may be an insulator having higher oxygen permeability than the oxide semiconductor 108 and the metal oxide 111. Excess oxygen released from the insulator 110 is unlikely to diffuse to the conductor 112 side and is efficiently supplied to the region 108i of the oxide semiconductor 108. As a result, oxygen vacancies that might be formed in the region 108i can be filled with excess oxygen, which can provide a highly reliable semiconductor device (¶ [0134-0135]).
With Regard to Claim 13, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator 106 comprises aluminum oxide (“insulating film 106 …. an aluminum oxide film,” ¶ [0196]).
With Regard to Claim 14, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator comprises hafnium oxide (“hafnium oxide is used for the insulating film 106” ¶ [0198]).
With Regard to Claim 15, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 Fig. 26 further discloses wherein an upper surface of the fifth conductor comprises projections and depressions (Fig. 26 shows the lower electrode of 790 has projection in the middle and depression on the left and right side).
With Regard to Claim 16, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first conductor and the fifth conductor comprise the same material (“The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750.” ¶ [0501]).
With Regard to Claim 18, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, an element M and Zn (“the oxide semiconductor film is assumed to contain indium, an element M, and zinc” ¶ [0373]), and wherein the element M is any one of Al, Ga (“the element M is gallium” ¶ [0373]), Y, and Sn.
With Regard to Claim 19, YAMAZAKI-108 Figs. 5A-5C, 10B-10C and 26 discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a transistor 750 (“a transistor 750” ¶ [0497]); and
a capacitor 790 (“a capacitor 790” ¶ [0497]),
wherein the transistor comprises:
a first conductor 104 (“conductive film 104” ¶ [0233]);
a first insulator 106 (“an insulating film 106 over the substrate 102 and the conductive film 104” ¶ [0233]) over the first conductor 104;
a second insulator 114 (“an insulating film 114” ¶ [0162]) over and in contact with (Fig. 5C shows 114 is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106, the second insulator having an island shape (Fig. 5C shows island shaped 114);
an oxide semiconductor layer 108 (“an oxide semiconductor film 108” ¶ [0162]), the oxide semiconductor layer comprising a channel formation region (“oxide semiconductor film 108 functioning as a channel region” ¶ [0197]);
a third insulator 118 (“the insulating film 118” ¶ [0254]) over the oxide semiconductor layer 108;
a second conductor 120a (“the conductive films 120a and 120b of the transistor 100E are positioned over the insulating film 118” ¶ [0254]) over the third insulator 118;
a third conductor 112a (“a conductive film 112a” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, and a first side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with left side surface of 108),
a fourth conductor 112b (“a conductive film 112b” ¶ [0162]) in contact (Fig. 10B shows 112a is in contact with 106) with a top surface of the first insulator 106, second side surface of the oxide semiconductor layer (Fig. 10B shows 112b is in contact with right side surface of 108), and
a fourth insulator 116 (“insulating film 116” ¶ [0233]) comprising regions over the third conductor 112a and the fourth conductor 112b,
wherein the fourth insulator 116 comprises an opening 142b (“116 have an opening 142b” ¶ [0231]),
wherein the third insulator 118 and the second conductor 120a are provided (Fig. 10B and 10C shows 118 and 120a in the opening 142a) in the opening 142b, and
wherein the capacitor comprises:
a fifth conductor (lower electrode) (“lower electrode” ¶ [0501]);
the first insulator 106 over the fifth conductor (lower electrode); and
the fourth conductor 112b over and in contact with (Fig. 5B shows 112b is in contact with 106) the first insulator 106 (“The capacitor 790 includes a lower electrode and an upper electrode. The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750. The upper electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as source and drain electrodes. Between the lower electrode and the upper electrode, an insulating film formed through a step of forming an insulating film to be an insulating film functioning as a first gate insulating film of the transistor 750 is provided. That is, the capacitor 790 has a stacked-layer structure in which an insulating film functioning as a dielectric film is positioned between the pair of electrodes.” ¶ [0501]).
However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not explicitly disclose the second insulator having an island shape and does not disclose, an oxide semiconductor layer over the second insulator,
a first oxide and second oxide which are over the oxide semiconductor layer,
a third conductor in contact with a first side surface of the third insulator and a side surface and a top surface of the first oxide;
a fourth conductor in contact with second side surface of the third insulator and a side surface and a top surface of the second oxide.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 18-20 discloses
a second insulator 406a over the first insulator 402 (“an insulator 406a over the insulator 402” ¶ [0257]);
an oxide semiconductor layer 406b over the second insulator 406a (“a semiconductor 406b over the insulator 406a” ¶ [0257]),
a third conductor 416a (“a conductor 416a” ¶ [0257]) in contact with first side surface of the third insulator 406c (“a conductor 416a and a conductor 416b which are arranged to be separated from each other while being in contact with top and side surfaces of the semiconductor 406b, an insulator 410 over the conductor 416a and the conductor 416b, an insulator 406c” ¶ [0257]),
a fourth conductor 416b (“a conductor 416b” ¶ [0257]) in contact with second side surface of the third insulator 406c (“a conductor 416a and a conductor 416b which are arranged to be separated from each other while being in contact with top and side surfaces of the semiconductor 406b, an insulator 410 over the conductor 416a and the conductor 416b, an insulator 406c” ¶ [0257]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the insulator layers of YAMAZAKI-108 with the insulator layers of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to decrease the density of defect states at the interface between the insulator and the semiconductor and the density of defect states at the interface between the semiconductor and the insulator, electron movement in the semiconductor is less likely to be inhibited and the on-sate current of the transistor can be increased. (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0303]).
However, However, YAMAZAKI-902 Fig. 18-20 does not disclose a first oxide and second oxide which are over the oxide semiconductor layer,
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-902 Figs. 25-26 discloses,
a first oxide 607a (“a region 607a” ¶ [0319]) and a second oxide 607b (“a region 607b” ¶ [0319]) which are over (Fig. 26E shows 607s and 607b is over 606b) the oxide semiconductor layer 606b.
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify oxide layers of YAMAZAKI-108 with the oxide layers of YAMAZAKI-902 in order to include a region with a lower resistance than a region in the semiconductor layer (YAMAZAKI-902, ¶ [0319]).
However, YAMAZAKI-902 does not explicitly disclose the second insulator having an island shape.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, KOEZUKA et al. Figs. 4A-4C and 16A-16D discloses, disclose the second insulator (“the insulator 104 may be referred to as a first insulator, the insulator 110 may be referred to as a second insulator,” ¶ [0133]) having an island shape (“the island-shaped insulator 110 are formed (see FIG. 16A)” ¶ [0305]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the island shaped second insulating layer of conductors of KOEZUKA et al. in order to include an excess oxygen region. The insulator 110 is an insulator in which oxygen can be moved. In other words, the insulator 110 may be an insulator having oxygen permeability. For example, the insulator 110 may be an insulator having higher oxygen permeability than the oxide semiconductor 108 and the metal oxide 111. Excess oxygen released from the insulator 110 is unlikely to diffuse to the conductor 112 side and is efficiently supplied to the region 108i of the oxide semiconductor 108. As a result, oxygen vacancies that might be formed in the region 108i can be filled with excess oxygen, which can provide a highly reliable semiconductor device (¶ [0134-0135]).
With Regard to Claim 20, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator 106 comprises aluminum oxide (“insulating film 106 …. an aluminum oxide film,” ¶ [0196]).
With Regard to Claim 21, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first insulator comprises hafnium oxide (“hafnium oxide is used for the insulating film 106” ¶ [0198]).
With Regard to Claim 22, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 Fig. 26 further discloses wherein an upper surface of the fifth conductor comprises projections and depressions (Fig. 26 shows the lower electrode of 790 has projection in the middle and depression on the left and right side).
With Regard to Claim 23, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the first conductor and the fifth conductor comprise the same material (“The lower electrode is formed through a step of processing a conductive film to be a conductive film functioning as a first gate electrode of the transistor 750.” ¶ [0501]).
With Regard to Claim 25, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. YAMAZAKI-108 further discloses wherein the oxide semiconductor layer comprises In, an element M and Zn (“the oxide semiconductor film is assumed to contain indium, an element M, and zinc” ¶ [0373]), and wherein the element M is any one of Al, Ga (“the element M is gallium” ¶ [0373]), Y, and Sn.
Claim 10, 17 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20170338108 A1) “YAMAZAKI-108” in view of YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20160247902 A1) “YAMAZAKI-902” further in view of KOEZUKA, Junichi (US 20170104090 A1) “KOEZUKA et al.” further in view of YAMAZAKI, Shunpei (US 20150084047 A1) “YAMAZAKI-047”.
With Regard to Claim 10, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above.
However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not disclose, wherein in a channel width direction, the fourth conductor extends beyond an end portion of the second conductor.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-047 Figs. 3C discloses wherein in a channel width direction, the fourth conductor (“The conductive film 108 includes a region overlapping with the conductive film 116a. Thus, a capacitor can be formed using the region. Note that the conductive film 108 may be connected to the conductive film 105 as illustrated in FIG. 3C. Consequently, a capacitor is formed including the conductive film 116a.” ¶ [0133]) extends beyond (FIG. 3C shows in a channel width direction (“on the right side of the dashed-dotted line is a cross-sectional view in the channel width direction (also referred to as a lateral direction or a short-side direction) of the transistor 51.” ¶ [0068]), the fourth conductor 108 extends beyond an end portion of the second conductor 116a.) an end portion of the second conductor (“The conductive film 116a and the conductive film 116b serve as a source electrode and a drain electrode of the transistor 51.” ¶ [0069]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the fourth conductor extends beyond an end portion of the second conductor in a channel width direction of YAMAZAKI-047 in order to provide a highly integrated semiconductor device (YAMAZAKI-047, ¶ [0013]).
With Regard to Claim 17, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 and KOEZUKA et al. discloses the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not disclose, wherein in a channel width direction, the fourth conductor extends beyond an end portion of the second conductor.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-047 Figs. 3C discloses wherein in a channel width direction, the fourth conductor (“The conductive film 108 includes a region overlapping with the conductive film 116a. Thus, a capacitor can be formed using the region. Note that the conductive film 108 may be connected to the conductive film 105 as illustrated in FIG. 3C. Consequently, a capacitor is formed including the conductive film 116a.” ¶ [0133]) extends beyond (FIG. 3C shows in a channel width direction (“on the right side of the dashed-dotted line is a cross-sectional view in the channel width direction (also referred to as a lateral direction or a short-side direction) of the transistor 51.” ¶ [0068]), the fourth conductor 108 extends beyond an end portion of the second conductor 116a.) an end portion of the second conductor (“The conductive film 116a and the conductive film 116b serve as a source electrode and a drain electrode of the transistor 51.” ¶ [0069]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the fourth conductor extends beyond an end portion of the second conductor in a channel width direction of YAMAZAKI-047 in order to provide a highly integrated semiconductor device (YAMAZAKI-047, ¶ [0013]).
With Regard to Claim 24, YAMAZAKI-108 as modified by YAMAZAKI-902 discloses the limitations of claim 19 as discussed above. However, YAMAZAKI-108 does not disclose, wherein in a channel width direction, the fourth conductor extends beyond an end portion of the second conductor.
In the similar field of endeavor of semiconductor devices, YAMAZAKI-047 Figs. 3C discloses wherein in a channel width direction, the fourth conductor (“The conductive film 108 includes a region overlapping with the conductive film 116a. Thus, a capacitor can be formed using the region. Note that the conductive film 108 may be connected to the conductive film 105 as illustrated in FIG. 3C. Consequently, a capacitor is formed including the conductive film 116a.” ¶ [0133]) extends beyond (FIG. 3C shows in a channel width direction (“on the right side of the dashed-dotted line is a cross-sectional view in the channel width direction (also referred to as a lateral direction or a short-side direction) of the transistor 51.” ¶ [0068]), the fourth conductor 108 extends beyond an end portion of the second conductor 116a.) an end portion of the second conductor (“The conductive film 116a and the conductive film 116b serve as a source electrode and a drain electrode of the transistor 51.” ¶ [0069]).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the second and third layer of conductors of YAMAZAKI-108 with the fourth conductor extends beyond an end portion of the second conductor in a channel width direction of YAMAZAKI-047 in order to provide a highly integrated semiconductor device (YAMAZAKI-047, ¶ [0013]).
Conclusion
/AKHEE SARKER-NAG/Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893