DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the amendment filed January 26, 2026.
Any Bolded text is new to the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-15, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of HATAKEYAMA et al (2018/0364574), KOTAKE et al (2019/0361348) and HATAKEYAMA et al (2018/0373150) and in view of MASUBUCHI et al (2011/0177453).
The claimed invention now recites:
HATAKEYAMA et al report a positive photosensitive resin composition comprising a resin comprising a copolymer comprising an acid generating monomer, a phenolic containing monomer, a phenolic containing monomer with acid labile groups and a carboxyl group protected with an acid labile group, see Table 1, Example 11 wherein the following polymer is used:
HATAKEYAMA et al (2018/0364574) meets the copolymer as recited in claim 1, however it lacks the use of units (A4) and (A8).
HATAKEYAMA et al ‘150 report acid generating units having the following structure (a1) and (a2) shown below:
Applicants are directed to Rf1 to Rf4 defined as hydrogen, fluorine and trifluoromethyl. If Rf1 and Rf2 are selected to be trifluoromethyl, and if Rf3 to Rf4 are hydrogen, the units of (A-4) and (A-8) would be met.
The skilled artisan would expect same or similar results when selecting any of hydrogen, fluorine and trifluoromethyl.
With respect to the amendments to (B1) and (B2), Polymer 5 in HATAKEYAMA et al ‘150 meets those units, see below:
KOTAKE et al is cited to disclose method steps for forming a photomask blank on a substrate, see para. [0181], below:
Applicants are directed to page 55, para. [0059] wherein a recurring unit (d) in the HATAKEYAMA et al ‘574 reference report the following highlighted structures below which may further be incorporated in the base polymer and meets amendment to claim 1 for formulae (C1) and (C2):
And in para. [0060] a styrene, vinyl naphthalene and vinyl anthracene are reported as a recurring unit (e) which may be incorporated in the base polymer. The disclosed unit (e) meets formula (C3) of amended claim 1 see below:
With respect to claim 17 and 18, a quencher is reported in para. [0077] – [0085] for carboxylic acid onium salts which may be formulate with the photoresist composition to improving the pattern profile and meets the structure of (F1) in claim 18.
MASUBUCHI et al is cite to disclose that the linking divalent groups in the structure can be alkylene with the view of HATAKEYAMA et al ‘574 wherein their R2 can be a lactone, hydrocarbylene with fluorine, ester and ether, see page 2, para. [0018] of HATAKEYAMA et al , while MASUBUCHI et al report Z is a substitute or unsubstituted alkylene teaching the skilled artisan that the divalent linking group can be any of those groups in HATAKEYAMA et al ‘574 and MASUBUCHI et al, see below:
HATAKEYAMA et al ‘574 wherein Z2 can be a cyclic ester from formula (f2), page 2, para [0018] above with a specific unit on page 61 :
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of photosensitive composition to use trifluoromethyl substituents on the acid generating units at Rf1 to Rf2 and use additional recurring units (d) and (e) as taught in HATAKEYAMA et al ‘574 and further have alkylene groups with esters, lactone and others disclosed in HATAKEYAMA et al and MASUBUCHI et al a method for forming photomask blanks with the reasonable expectation of improved sensitivity, resolution and improved CDU.
HATAKEYAMA et al ’150 discloses in Examples 1-8 compositions that contain an acid generating repeating unit with a bromine substituent in X2 , however HATAKEYAMA et al ‘574 and MASUBUCHI et al teach other divalent groups not having bromine.
HATAKEYAMA et al ’150 show that the photoresist compositions can contain or lack a PAG compound, see Table 1, page 92, see below:
The skilled artisan seeing that the composition can both contain an extra PAG compounds or not as seen in Examples 1-8 and 9-10 (with a PAG) would be taught to remove the PAG and still expect same or similar results as reported in HATAKEYAMA et al ‘150.
The rejection is repeated.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
HATAKEYAMA et al (2017/0351177) disclose carboxylic salt quenchers having iodine substituted aromatic rings, see para. [0053] below:
.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/John S. Chu/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737
J. Chu
May 16, 2026