DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This action is responsive to the amendments filed on 11/25/2025. Applicant has submitted Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 21-24 for examination.
Examiner finds the following: 1) Claims 1, 3-6, 8-10, 12-13, 15-17, and 21-24 are rejected; 2) no claims objected to; and 3) no claims allowable.
Response to Arguments and Remarks
Examiner respectfully acknowledges Applicant’s arguments, remarks, and amendments.
Regarding Applicant’s amendments and remarks about the 112(a) rejections, Examiner agrees and retracts those rejections.
Regarding the remarks about Farhadiroushan (US20230221151A1):
First, Applicant argues that Farhadiroushan fails to a signal strength monitoring module connected to a fiber optic cable through a signal tap coupler.
Farhadiroushan discusses interrogator 20 which receives signal from circulator 22. As shown most simply in FIG. 1, interrogator 20 is connected to circulator 22. Examiner cannot find specific mention in Farhadiroushan that the line connecting interrogator 20 and circulator 22 is an optical fiber, Examiner argues that PHOSITA would have been aware that it was, at least, implied to be an optical fiber.
The other connecting lines in FIG. 1 in the same manner as the connection in question are optical fibers 24 and 26. Examiner believes it reasonable that PHOSITA would understand that an optical fiber, as disclosed and shown in FIG. 1, would also work between interrogator 20 and circulator 22.
Additionally, PHOSITA would understand to use an optical fiber with circulator 22 as, from [0081]:
The return fiber 26 then transports the reflections and backscatter back to the first optical circulator 22, and is connected to a third port of the first optical circulator 22, and then directed back out of the first port of the first optical circulator 22, to be input back into the interrogator 20.
Two of the three ports shown in FIG. 1 of circulator 22 are optical fiber connections, and as such Examiner believes it reasonable that PHOSITA would understand that the third port of circulator 22 is also an optical fiber. Thus, Examiner understands interrogator 20 as being optically connected the transmission fiber through circulator 22. As such, Examiner is not persuaded.
Second, Applicant argues that Farhadiroushan does not disclose a control function coupled to the first signal strength monitoring module, the second signal strength monitoring module, the first Raman pump, and the second Raman pump that automatically controls the first Raman pump and the second Raman pump utilizing data from the first signal strength monitoring module or the second signal strength monitoring module.
The cited paragraph from Farhadiroushan is [0092]:
It is expected that the powers from each of the pumped lasers sources can be controlled and optimised independently, as is required to optimally amplify the sensing pulses on the forward transport path and the weaker quasi-continuous reflected light on the return transport path.
Examiner understood and interpreted this as the claimed control function. If each component can be optimized to account for and adjust for the other components, at minimum, their interactions and how they are accounted for are coupled together. Examiner grants that Farhadiroushan does not explicitly disclose that there is an overarching system that can adjust the individual components automatically, as now claimed. As such, Examiner relies on a new combination.
Third, Applicant argues that Examiner’s rejection is improper for citing to a single component disclosed in Farhadiroushan to reject two different claim elements, specifically Farhadiroushan’s optical fiber sensor interrogator 20 as teaching the first signal strength monitoring module and the optical connection to the transmission fiber.
Examiner apologizes for any confusion, but due to the connection between Farhadiroushan’s interrogator 20 and circulator 22 is unlabeled, Examiner was attempting to direct Applicant to such connection showing that interrogator 20 and circulator 22 are clearly connected, and that interrogator 20 is optically connected to fiber 24 through circulator 22. As such, Examiner is not persuaded.
Fourth, Applicant argues that Examiner’s rejection is improper for citing to a single component disclosed in Farhadiroushan to reject two different claim elements, specifically Farhadiroushan’s first optical circulator 22 as teaching the passive optical device and the first signal tap coupler.
Examiner notes that the circulator 22 in Farhadiroushan is operating in both the manner claimed by the components Examiner mapped to. As such, Examiner is not persuaded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or non-obviousness.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10, 12-13, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farhadiroushan (US20230221151A1) in view of Dong (US 20140152995).
Regarding Claim 1, Farhadiroushan discloses:
A system comprising:
a fiber optic cable configured to receive an optical signal comprising:
a transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0091], “onto the forward transport fiber 24”); and
a return fiber optically connected to the transmission fiber at a first end and at a second end opposite the first end (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0091], “onto the return transport fiber 26”); and
a passive optical device optically connected to the transmission fiber and the return fiber at the first end (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], “first optical circulator 22”);
a first wavelength division multiplexer (WDM) optically connected to the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 6-8 and [0095], wavelength division multiplexer 66);
a second WDM optically connected to the return fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 6-8 and [0095], wavelength division multiplexer 68);
a first Raman pump optically connected to the first WDM (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 6-8 and [0095], Raman pump source 62);
a second Raman pump optically connected to the second WDM (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 6-8 and [0091], Raman pump source 64); and
a first signal strength monitoring module configured to convert optical energy of the optical signal into one or more electrical signals (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], optical fiber sensor interrogator 20), where the signal strength monitoring module is optically connected to the transmission fiber through a first signal tap coupler (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], first optical circulator 22''), wherein the first signal tap coupler is optically connected to the transmission fiber and operates to divert a portion of the optical signal to the first signal strength monitoring module (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], "optical fiber sensor interrogator 20, which may be an optical fiber distributed acoustic sensor ... is provided, having an output port on which sensing pulses are output to an optical fiber, which is connected to the first port of a first optical circulator 22''); …
… a control function coupled to the first signal strength monitoring module, ..., the first Raman pump, and the second Raman pump (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0083], “In use the interrogator outputs sensing pulses to the optical circulator 22, the sensing pulses travel along the outbound transport fiber 24, and are directed via the second optical circulator 28 into the sensing fiber. Reflections and backscatter from along the sensing fiber are then directed via the second optical circulator 28 onto the return transport fiber 26, which then carries them to the third port of the first optical circulator 22, which then outputs them back into the interrogator for processing”);
wherein the control function is configured to … adjust, via one or more processors, a current of the first Raman pump, the second Raman pump, or both utilizing … feedback from the first signal strength monitoring module (Farhadiroushan, [0092], “It is expected that the powers from each of the pumped lasers sources can be controlled and optimised independently, as is required to optimally amplify the sensing pulses on the forward transport path and the weaker quasi-continuous reflected light on the return transport path”), … ;
wherein the first signal strength monitor monitors a back scattered Rayleigh signal strength of a transmitted pulse on the transmission fiber, the control function being responsive to the back scattered Rayleigh signal strength to control power to the first Raman pump laser power to maximize Rayleigh signal pulse power on the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIG. 7, [0101], “such that both Raman amplification and optical fiber amplification of the outward sensing pulse and the pseudo-continuous backscatter and reflections is performed, to provide extended range and increased signal to noise ratio”); …
Farhadiroushan discloses the above limitations but does not explicitly disclose:
… a second signal strength monitoring module optically connected to the return fiber through a second signal tap coupler, wherein the second signal tap coupler is optically connected to the return fiber; …
… a control function coupled to … the second signal strength monitoring module …
… wherein the control function automatically controls the first Raman pump and the second Raman pump utilizing data from … the second signal strength monitoring module …
… and wherein the second signal strength monitor monitors a back scattered signal strength on the return fiber, the control function being responsive to the back scattered signal on the return fiber to control power to the second Raman pump to maximize an optical signal-to-noise ratio of the back scattered signal on the return fiber.
However, Farhadiroushan discloses a first signal strength monitoring module and first signal tap coupler, reproduced below:
… a first signal strength monitoring module (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], optical fiber sensor interrogator 20) optically connected to the transmission fiber through a first signal tap coupler (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], first optical circulator 22''), wherein the first signal tap coupler is optically connected to the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], "optical fiber sensor interrogator 20, which may be an optical fiber distributed acoustic sensor ... is provided, having an output port on which sensing pulses are output to an optical fiber, which is connected to the first port of a first optical circulator 22''); …
… a control function coupled to the first signal strength monitoring module, ..., the first Raman pump, and the second Raman pump (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0083], “In use the interrogator outputs sensing pulses to the optical circulator 22, the sensing pulses travel along the outbound transport fiber 24, and are directed via the second optical circulator 28 into the sensing fiber. Reflections and backscatter from along the sensing fiber are then directed via the second optical circulator 28 onto the return transport fiber 26, which then carries them to the third port of the first optical circulator 22, which then outputs them back into the interrogator for processing”);
wherein the control function automatically controls the first Raman pump and the second Raman pump utilizing data from the first signal strength monitoring module, …, the transmitter, and the receiver as inputs (Farhadiroushan, [0092], “It is expected that the powers from each of the pumped lasers sources can be controlled and optimised independently, as is required to optimally amplify the sensing pulses on the forward transport path and the weaker quasi-continuous reflected light on the return transport path”);
wherein the first signal strength monitor monitors a back scattered Rayleigh signal strength of a transmitted pulse on the transmission fiber, the control function being responsive to the back scattered Rayleigh signal strength to control power to the first Raman pump laser power to maximize Rayleigh signal pulse power on the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIG. 7, [0101], “such that both Raman amplification and optical fiber amplification of the outward sensing pulse and the pseudo-continuous backscatter and reflections is performed, to provide extended range and increased signal to noise ratio”); …
Based on information and belief, Examiner understands the second signal strength monitor and the second signal tap coupler, as claimed, to be obvious to PHOSITA as being a duplication of parts (see MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B)). As claimed, Examiner understands the second signal strength monitor and the second signal tap coupler to operate in the same manner as the as one disclosed by Farhadiroushan without any new or unexpected results. Examiner grants that Farhadiroushan does not explicitly show how to add the second signal strength monitor and the second signal tap coupler as claimed, but a PHOSITA would know how to change and modify Farhadiroushan to do so as routine modification.
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Farhadiroushan with understands the second signal strength monitor and the second signal tap coupler. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of signal strength monitors and signal tap couplers, and how to use them to modify Farhadiroushan. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a simple duplication of parts as a means to run multiple scans at once (see MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Farhadiroushan discloses the above limitations but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the control function is configured to automatically adjust, … utilizing real-time feedback …
However, Dong, in a similar field of endeavor (FBG interrogator), discloses:
… wherein the control function is configured to automatically adjust, … utilizing real-time feedback (Dong, [0074], “One beam travels to the laser calibrator and the reflected signal from the calibrator may be detected by the photodetector for the real-time laser calibration in both laser intensity and wavelength. The other laser beam propagates to the sensor which may be an FBG, an FP sensor or any other interferometric or wavelength-modulated sensor. The reflection from the sensor may be detected by the second photodetector. By the signal from the laser calibrator, the optical spectrum reflected by the sensor may be accurately determined. If the sensor may be an interferometer, the optical path difference or OPD of the sensor may be calculated based on the reflected optical spectrum via a white light interferometry algorithm. If the sensor may be an FBG, the reflection spectrum permits accurate measurement of a small shift to the spectrum due to FBG condition change, such as temperature variation.” Examiner notes that for the purposes of the combination that Examiner is merely relying on the real-time system and grants that Dong is structurally different that are irrelevant to the purposes of mapping).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Farhadiroushan with the real-time laser calibration of Dong. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of real-time laser calibration as disclosed by Dong and how to use them to modify Farhadiroushan. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(D)), as a means to take the individual adjusts disclosed by Farhadiroushan and incorporate them into an overarching system for monitoring the system.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 1, and Farhadiroushan further discloses:
… further comprising … optically connected to the return fiber through a second signal tap coupler (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0083], “In use the interrogator outputs sensing pulses to the optical circulator 22, the sensing pulses travel along the outbound transport fiber 24, and are directed via the second optical circulator 28 into the sensing fiber. Reflections and backscatter from along the sensing fiber are then directed via the second optical circulator 28 onto the return transport fiber 26, which then carries them to the third port of the first optical circulator 22, which then outputs them back into the interrogator for processing”); and
a second control function coupled to the second signal strength monitoring module and to the second Raman pump, the second control function utilizing data from the second signal strength monitoring module to control output from the second Raman pump (Farhadiroushan, [0092], “It is expected that the powers from each of the pumped lasers sources can be controlled and optimised independently, as is required to optimally amplify the sensing pulses on the forward transport path and the weaker quasi-continuous reflected light on the return transport path”).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 1, and Farhadiroushan further discloses:
… further comprising a first set of reflective elements (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 7-8 and [0106], fiber amplifiers 57) optically connected to a third WDM optically connected to and disposed on the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 7-8 and [0091], wavelength division multiplexer 56) and a second set of reflective elements (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 7-8 and [0106], fiber amplifiers 59) optically connected to a fourth WDM optically connected to and disposed on the return fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 7-8 and [0091], wavelength division multiplexer 58), and wherein the first set of reflective elements and the second set of reflective elements are mirrors or Fiber Bragg Gratings (Farhadiroushan, [0077], “either or both of the forward and return paths may be provided with a Bragg grating, or other wavelength selective reflector, which reflects the continuous wave Raman pump light back along the transport fiber towards the pump source”).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 1, and Farhadiroushan further discloses:
… further comprising a downhole sensing fiber optically connected to a second passive optical device, wherein the second passive optical device is optically connected to the transmission fiber and the return fiber at the second end (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], “Connected to a second port of the second optical circulator 28 is the sensing fiber 30, which is deployed within the environment in which sensing is to be undertaken”).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 1, and Farhadiroushan further discloses:
… further comprising an information handling system optically connected to the first Raman Pump, the second Raman Pump, the first signal strength monitoring module, a transmitter, and a receiver (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0083], “In use the interrogator outputs sensing pulses to the optical circulator 22, the sensing pulses travel along the outbound transport fiber 24, and are directed via the second optical circulator 28 into the sensing fiber. Reflections and backscatter from along the sensing fiber are then directed via the second optical circulator 28 onto the return transport fiber 26, which then carries them to the third port of the first optical circulator 22, which then outputs them back into the interrogator for processing”).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 1, and Farhadiroushan further discloses:
… wherein the passive optical device comprises a circulator (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], first optical circulator 22).
Regarding Claim 10, Farhadiroushan discloses:
A system comprising:
a fiber optic cable configured to receive an optical signal comprising:
a transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0091], “onto the forward transport fiber 24”);
a return fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0091], “onto the return transport fiber 26”); and
a first passive optical device optically connected to a first end of the transmission fiber and a first end of the return fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], “first optical circulator 22”);
a first wavelength division multiplexer (WDM) optically connected to a second end of the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 6-8 and [0095], wavelength division multiplexer 66);
a second WDM optically connected to a second end of the return fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 6-8 and [0095], wavelength division multiplexer 68);
a first Raman pump optically connected to the first WDM (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 6-8 and [0095], Raman pump source 62);
a second Raman pump optically connected to the second WDM (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 6-8 and [0091], Raman pump source 64);
one or more downhole sensing fibers optically connected to the first passive optical device (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], “transports pulses from the interrogator 20 to a first port of a second optical circulator 28”);
one or more transmitters optically connected to the first WDM by a first fiber optic cable (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 6-8 and [0095], Raman pump source 62);
one or more receivers optically connected to the second WDM by a second fiber optic cable (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], “transports pulses from the interrogator 20 to a first port of a second optical circulator 28”);
a first signal strength monitoring module configured to convert optical energy of the optical signal into one or more electrical signals (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], optical fiber sensor interrogator 20), where the signal strength monitoring module is optically connected to the transmission fiber through a first signal tap coupler (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], first optical circulator 22''), wherein the first signal tap coupler is optically connected to the transmission fiber and operates to divert a portion of the optical signal to the first signal strength monitoring module (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], "optical fiber sensor interrogator 20, which may be an optical fiber distributed acoustic sensor ... is provided, having an output port on which sensing pulses are output to an optical fiber, which is connected to the first port of a first optical circulator 22''); …
… a control function coupled to the first signal strength monitoring module, the … signal strength monitoring module, the first Raman pump, and the second Raman pump (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0083], “In use the interrogator outputs sensing pulses to the optical circulator 22, the sensing pulses travel along the outbound transport fiber 24, and are directed via the second optical circulator 28 into the sensing fiber. Reflections and backscatter from along the sensing fiber are then directed via the second optical circulator 28 onto the return transport fiber 26, which then carries them to the third port of the first optical circulator 22, which then outputs them back into the interrogator for processing”);
wherein the control function is configured to … adjust, via one or more processors, a current of the first Raman pump, the second Raman pump, or both utilizing … feedback from the first signal strength monitoring module (Farhadiroushan, [0092], “It is expected that the powers from each of the pumped lasers sources can be controlled and optimised independently, as is required to optimally amplify the sensing pulses on the forward transport path and the weaker quasi-continuous reflected light on the return transport path”), … ;
wherein the first signal strength monitor monitors a back scattered Rayleigh signal strength of a transmitted pulse on the transmission fiber, the control function being responsive to the back scattered Rayleigh signal strength to control power to the first Raman pump laser power to maximize Rayleigh signal pulse power on the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIG. 7, [0101], “such that both Raman amplification and optical fiber amplification of the outward sensing pulse and the pseudo-continuous backscatter and reflections is performed, to provide extended range and increased signal to noise ratio”); …
Farhadiroushan discloses the above limitations but does not explicitly disclose:
… a second signal strength monitoring module optically connected to the return fiber through a second signal tap coupler, wherein the second signal tap coupler is optically connected to the return fiber between;
a control function coupled to … the second signal strength monitoring module…;
wherein the control function automatically controls the first Raman pump and the second Raman pump utilizing data from … the second signal strength monitoring module …: …
… and wherein the second signal strength monitor monitors a back scattered signal strength on the return fiber, the control function being responsive to the back scattered signal on the return fiber to control power to the second Raman pump to maximize an optical signal-to-noise ratio of the back scattered signal on the return fiber.
However, Farhadiroushan discloses a first signal strength monitoring module and first signal tap coupler, reproduced below:
… a first signal strength monitoring module (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], optical fiber sensor interrogator 20) optically connected to the transmission fiber through a first signal tap coupler (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], first optical circulator 22''), wherein the first signal tap coupler is optically connected to the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], "optical fiber sensor interrogator 20, which may be an optical fiber distributed acoustic sensor ... is provided, having an output port on which sensing pulses are output to an optical fiber, which is connected to the first port of a first optical circulator 22''); …
… a control function coupled to the first signal strength monitoring module, ..., the first Raman pump, and the second Raman pump (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0083], “In use the interrogator outputs sensing pulses to the optical circulator 22, the sensing pulses travel along the outbound transport fiber 24, and are directed via the second optical circulator 28 into the sensing fiber. Reflections and backscatter from along the sensing fiber are then directed via the second optical circulator 28 onto the return transport fiber 26, which then carries them to the third port of the first optical circulator 22, which then outputs them back into the interrogator for processing”);
wherein the control function automatically controls the first Raman pump and the second Raman pump utilizing data from the first signal strength monitoring module, …, the transmitter, and the receiver as inputs (Farhadiroushan, [0092], “It is expected that the powers from each of the pumped lasers sources can be controlled and optimised independently, as is required to optimally amplify the sensing pulses on the forward transport path and the weaker quasi-continuous reflected light on the return transport path”);
wherein the first signal strength monitor monitors a back scattered Rayleigh signal strength of a transmitted pulse on the transmission fiber, the control function being responsive to the back scattered Rayleigh signal strength to control power to the first Raman pump laser power to maximize Rayleigh signal pulse power on the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIG. 7, [0101], “such that both Raman amplification and optical fiber amplification of the outward sensing pulse and the pseudo-continuous backscatter and reflections is performed, to provide extended range and increased signal to noise ratio”); …
Based on information and belief, Examiner understands the second signal strength monitor and the second signal tap coupler, as claimed, to be obvious to PHOSITA as being a duplication of parts (see MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B)). As claimed, Examiner understands the second signal strength monitor and the second signal tap coupler to operate in the same manner as the as one disclosed by Farhadiroushan without any new or unexpected results. Examiner grants that Farhadiroushan does not explicitly show how to add the second signal strength monitor and the second signal tap coupler as claimed, but a PHOSITA would know how to change and modify Farhadiroushan to do so as routine modification.
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Farhadiroushan with understands the second signal strength monitor and the second signal tap coupler. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of signal strength monitors and signal tap couplers, and how to use them to modify Farhadiroushan. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a simple duplication of parts as a means to run multiple scans at once (see MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B)).
Farhadiroushan discloses the above limitations but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the control function is configured to automatically adjust, … utilizing real-time feedback …
However, Dong, in a similar field of endeavor (FBG interrogator), discloses:
… wherein the control function is configured to automatically adjust, … utilizing real-time feedback (Dong, [0074], “One beam travels to the laser calibrator and the reflected signal from the calibrator may be detected by the photodetector for the real-time laser calibration in both laser intensity and wavelength. The other laser beam propagates to the sensor which may be an FBG, an FP sensor or any other interferometric or wavelength-modulated sensor. The reflection from the sensor may be detected by the second photodetector. By the signal from the laser calibrator, the optical spectrum reflected by the sensor may be accurately determined. If the sensor may be an interferometer, the optical path difference or OPD of the sensor may be calculated based on the reflected optical spectrum via a white light interferometry algorithm. If the sensor may be an FBG, the reflection spectrum permits accurate measurement of a small shift to the spectrum due to FBG condition change, such as temperature variation.” Examiner notes that for the purposes of the combination that Examiner is merely relying on the real-time system and grants that Dong is structurally different that are irrelevant to the purposes of mapping).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Farhadiroushan with the real-time laser calibration of Dong. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of real-time laser calibration as disclosed by Dong and how to use them to modify Farhadiroushan. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(D)), as a means to take the individual adjusts disclosed by Farhadiroushan and incorporate them into an overarching system for monitoring the system.
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 10, and Farhadiroushan further discloses:
… further comprising … optically connected to the second fiber optic cable through a second signal tap coupler, wherein the second signal tap coupler is optically connected to the second fiber optic cable between the second WDM and the one or more receivers (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0083], “In use the interrogator outputs sensing pulses to the optical circulator 22, the sensing pulses travel along the outbound transport fiber 24, and are directed via the second optical circulator 28 into the sensing fiber. Reflections and backscatter from along the sensing fiber are then directed via the second optical circulator 28 onto the return transport fiber 26, which then carries them to the third port of the first optical circulator 22, which then outputs them back into the interrogator for processing.” Examiner notes that in FIGS. 6-8, wavelength division multiplexer 68 is connected as part of the loop described above); and
a second control function coupled to the second signal strength monitoring module and to the second Raman pump, the second control function utilizing data from the second signal strength monitoring module to control power from the second Raman pump (Farhadiroushan, [0092], “It is expected that the powers from each of the pumped lasers sources can be controlled and optimised independently, as is required to optimally amplify the sensing pulses on the forward transport path and the weaker quasi-continuous reflected light on the return transport path”).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 10, and Farhadiroushan further discloses:
… further comprising a first set of reflective elements (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 7-8 and [0106], fiber amplifiers 57) connected to a third WDM optically connected to and disposed on the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 7-8 and [0091], wavelength division multiplexer 56) and a second set of reflective elements (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 7-8 and [0106], fiber amplifiers 59) connected to a fourth WDM optically connected to and disposed on the return fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 7-8 and [0091], wavelength division multiplexer 58), and wherein the first set of reflective elements and the second set of reflective elements are mirrors or Fiber Bragg Gratings (Farhadiroushan, [0077], “either or both of the forward and return paths may be provided with a Bragg grating, or other wavelength selective reflector, which reflects the continuous wave Raman pump light back along the transport fiber towards the pump source”).
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 10, and Farhadiroushan further discloses:
… further comprising a first set of dissipative elements (Farhadiroushan, FIG. 8 and [0108], “reflective grating 82 such as a Fiber Bragg Grating (FBG) is placed at the junction of the high power fiber 24 and the ULL fiber 32”) connected to a third WDM optically connected to and disposed on the transmission fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 7-8 and [0091], wavelength division multiplexer 56), a second set of dissipative elements (Farhadiroushan, FIG. 8 and [0108], “In the return path a similar grating 84 is included at the far end of the transport fiber”) connected to a fourth WDM optically connected to and disposed on the return fiber (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 7-8 and [0091], wavelength division multiplexer 58), and wherein the dissipative elements are a coreless termination fiber or a fiber end cap (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 8 and [0114], wavelength division multiplexer 58).
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 10, and Farhadiroushan further discloses:
… wherein the first passive optical device is a circulator (Farhadiroushan, FIGS. 2-3 & 5-8 and [0078], “The FBG 82 could be located at a convenient place, such as at an umbilical termination assembly (where lengths of umbilicals join), at the wellhead, or could be written into the umbilical transport fibre itself. The use of a pump wavelength reflector also provides a protection for the wellhead wet-mat connector as it cuts off the pump power reaching the connector termination end, thus avoiding potential connector damage”).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 1, and Dong further discloses:
… further comprising a signal generator connected to the transmitter and the receiver (Dong, FIG. 1 and [0026], computer oscilloscope 170).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Farhadiroushan with the connected computer oscilloscope of Dong. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of connected computer oscilloscopes as disclosed by Dong and how to use them to modify Farhadiroushan. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(D)), as a means to observe the change of an electrical signal over time.
Regarding Claim 22, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses Claim 21, and Dong further discloses:
… wherein the signal generator is configurable to apply a dynamic voltage signal to the transmitter wherein the transmitter transmits a phase modulation directly proportional to the dynamic voltage signal (Dong, [0037], “One of the example low cost tunable lasers may be the distributed feedback or DFB lasers whose emission wavelength may he tuned thermally by varying the voltage or current applied to the built-in TEC”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong with the voltage tuning of Dong. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of voltage tuning as disclosed by Dong and how to use them to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(D)), specifically as a known method to tune the wavelength.
Claims 9 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farhadiroushan (US20230221151A1), in view of Dong (US 20140152995), in further view of Agiltron (Agiltron, “Fused Couplers/Splitters,” Internet Archive Copy Dated 09/28/2020, https://agiltron.com/category/fiber-optical-splitter-coupler/fused-couplers-filters-splitters-wdms-combiners/) and in further view of SPIE (The International Society for Optics and Photonics, “UV direct writing of planar waveguides: basics and applications,” Gates, et al., 08/12/2013, https://spie.org/news/5036-uv-direct-writing-of-planar-waveguides-basics-and-applications#_=_).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the passive optical device comprises a fused type fiber optic splitter, or …
However, Agiltron, in a similar field of endeavor (optical splitters), discloses:
… wherein the passive optical device comprises a fused type fiber optic splitter (Agiltron, Header, “Fused fiber optical devices offer the advantageous attributes of ultra-low loss and intrinsic high power handling”) or…
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong with the fused typed optic splitter of Agiltron. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of fused typed optic splitters as disclosed by Agiltron and how to use them to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(D)), specifically for the advantageous attributes of ultra-low loss and intrinsic high-power handling.
The combination of Farhadiroushan, Dong, and Agiltron discloses the above limitations, but does not explicitly disclose:
… a Planar Waveguide Circuit (PLC) fiber optic splitter.
However, SPIE, in a similar field of endeavor (UV direct writing of planar waveguides), discloses:
… a Planar Waveguide Circuit (PLC) fiber optic splitter (SPIE, P. 1, Paragraph 1, “Planar waveguides, or planar lightwave circuits (PLCs), are a hybrid between optical fibers and silicon microchips. They are used in optical fiber networks as well as in lasers and biological and chemical sensing, and are increasingly becoming the platform of choice for quantum information processing”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan, Dong, and Agiltron with the PLC of SPIE. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of PLC’s as disclosed by SPIE and how to use them to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan, Dong, and Agiltron. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(D)), specifically for the increased information processing.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses the limitations of Claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the passive optical device comprises a fused type fiber optic splitter, or …
However, Agiltron, in a similar field of endeavor (optical splitters), discloses:
… wherein the first passive optical device comprises a fused type fiber optic splitter (Agiltron, Header, “Fused fiber optical devices offer the advantageous attributes of ultra-low loss and intrinsic high power handling”), or…
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong with the fused typed optic splitter of Agiltron. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of fused typed optic splitters as disclosed by Agiltron and how to use them to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(D)), specifically for the advantageous attributes of ultra-low loss and intrinsic high-power handling.
The combination of Farhadiroushan, Dong, and Agiltron discloses the above limitations, but does not explicitly disclose:
… a Planar Waveguide Circuit (PLC) fiber optic splitter.
However, SPIE, in a similar field of endeavor (UV direct writing of planar waveguides), discloses:
…a Planar Waveguide Circuit (PLC) fiber optic splitter (SPIE, P. 1, Paragraph 1, “Planar waveguides, or planar lightwave circuits (PLCs), are a hybrid between optical fibers and silicon microchips. They are used in optical fiber networks as well as in lasers and biological and chemical sensing, and are increasingly becoming the platform of choice for quantum information processing”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan, Dong, and Agiltron with the PLC of SPIE. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of PLC’s as disclosed by SPIE and how to use them to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan, Dong, and Agiltron. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(D)), specifically for the increased information processing.
Claim 23-24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Farhadiroushan (US20230221151A1), in view of Dong (US 20140152995), and in further view of Maida (US 20040113104 A1).
Regarding Claim 23, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the back scattered signal strength on the return fiber comprises a backscattered Rayleigh signal strength.
However, Maida, in a similar field of endeavor (Remotely Deployed Optical Fiber Circulator), discloses:
… wherein the back scattered signal strength on the return fiber comprises a backscattered Rayleigh signal strength (Madia, [0007], “Optical scattering phenomenon, such as Rayleigh backscatter in reflective single-fiber optic sensor transmission line systems, can limit the achievable deployment distances. Similarly, Mie (scattering of visible light wavelengths by spherical particles), Brillouin (scattering due to the interaction of laser light with sound waves) and Raman (scattering of laser light as it passes through a transparent medium) scattering phenomena further limit the distance over which optical sensing systems can be employed due to the elevated signal-to-noise ratio they cause. Other optical scattering noise such as Freznel (reverse propagating) reflections due to the connectors or couplers used in optical fiber technology can further contribute to high signal-to-noise ratio. These intrinsic (Raman, Mie, Brillouin, Rayleigh) and extrinsic (Freznel) effects add to the limit of achievable deployment distances in optical fiber monitoring technology, and suggest that expensive lower-loss fiber optic splices, instead of connectors or couplers, should be used when connecting components together along the array”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong with the Rayleigh scattering detection of Madia. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of Rayleigh scattering detection as disclosed by Madia and how to use them to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a use of known technique to improve similar (devices, methods, or products) in the same way (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(C)), specifically the detection of a known backscatter common in the field.
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong discloses the limitations of Claim 10, but does not explicitly disclose:
… wherein the back scattered signal strength on the return fiber comprises a backscattered Rayleigh signal strength.
However, Maida, in a similar field of endeavor (Remotely Deployed Optical Fiber Circulator), discloses:
… wherein the back scattered signal strength on the return fiber comprises a backscattered Rayleigh signal strength (Madia, [0007], “Optical scattering phenomenon, such as Rayleigh backscatter in reflective single-fiber optic sensor transmission line systems, can limit the achievable deployment distances. Similarly, Mie (scattering of visible light wavelengths by spherical particles), Brillouin (scattering due to the interaction of laser light with sound waves) and Raman (scattering of laser light as it passes through a transparent medium) scattering phenomena further limit the distance over which optical sensing systems can be employed due to the elevated signal-to-noise ratio they cause. Other optical scattering noise such as Freznel (reverse propagating) reflections due to the connectors or couplers used in optical fiber technology can further contribute to high signal-to-noise ratio. These intrinsic (Raman, Mie, Brillouin, Rayleigh) and extrinsic (Freznel) effects add to the limit of achievable deployment distances in optical fiber monitoring technology, and suggest that expensive lower-loss fiber optic splices, instead of connectors or couplers, should be used when connecting components together along the array”).
It would have been obvious to PHOSITA before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong with the Rayleigh scattering detection of Madia. PHOSITA would have known about the uses of Rayleigh scattering detection as disclosed by Madia and how to use them to modify the combination of Farhadiroushan and Dong. PHOSITA would have been motivated to do this as a use of known technique to improve similar (devices, methods, or products) in the same way (See MPEP § 2143 (I)(C)), specifically the detection of a known backscatter common in the field.
Allowable Subject Matter
Examiner finds no allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHAD ANDREW REVERMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877