DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on June 16, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5 and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stephens et al. (US 2014/0363120 A1) in view of Uhland et al. (US 2007/0254411 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 21, 22 and 25, Stephens discloses a semiconductor package (10 in Fig. 1) comprising:
a base substrate structure (11) having a top surface that includes conductive regions including first and second conductive regions disposed in a dielectric region, the conductive regions coupled to an interconnect structure in the base substrate structure (paragraph 0021 discloses backplane 11 including dielectric layers formed to cover interconnect features, and dies 12-15 including edge connectors and/or contacts used to provide electric connections to the backplane die 11);
a first die group (12-15), comprising a first die (15) and a second die (14) stacked together, wherein each of the first die and the second die includes an integrated circuit (39 in Fig. 2; paragraph 0022) formed on a semiconductor substrate (32), each die being characterized by:
a first surface that is a top surface of the integrated circuit;
a second surface that is a bottom surface of the semiconductor substrate, the first surface being opposite to the second surface;
a side surface at an edge and substantially perpendicular to the first surface and the second surface; and
a conductive region disposed at the side surface (paragraph 0021 discloses dies 12-15 including edge connectors and/or contacts used to provide electric connections within each die to the backplane die 11) and in a dielectric region (paragraph 0023 discloses each integrated circuit comprising dielectric layers) of the integrated circuit,
wherein the first surface of the first die is bonded to the second surface of the second die (paragraph 0021 discloses the dies 12-15 may be implemented as a die stack rather than separated dies);
a waveguide section (305 in Figs. 22-31) in the semiconductor substrate (301) configured to facilitate transmission of an optical signal, wherein the waveguide section is exposed at the second surface (see Figs. 22-31 showing optical TSV structure 305 exposed at bottom surface);
wherein the first die group is bonded sideways on the base substrate structure, with the side surfaces of the first and second dies bonded to the top surface of the base substrate structure, the first and second conductive regions bonded to the respective conductive regions of the base substrate structure (paragraph 0021 discloses electrically conductive devices such as solder balls used to connect the dies 12-15 with the backplane 11); and the first/top surfaces of the stacked dies being substantially perpendicular to the top surface of the base substrate structure (see Fig. 1);
whereby the first die is configured to provide: an electrical coupling to the second die through first surface (paragraph 0021 discloses each die may be formed with through-silicon vias to provide vertical signal conductors for the die stack); and an electrical coupling to the base substrate structure though the side surface.
Still regarding claims 1, 21, 22 and 25, Stephens teaches the claimed invention except for a photonic die. Uhland discloses a semiconductor package (100 in Fig. 1; 1100 in Fig. 12), comprising a first die (1118) and a second die (1116) stacked and bonded together so as to provide electrical coupling from the first die to the second die, wherein the first die includes a photonic device (1118 must include a photonic device which couples with waveguide 1162) embedded in the semiconductor substrate and comprising: an optical interface structure (end of 1162) for coupling to an optical fiber at a surface of the die (paragraph 0093 discloses waveguide 1162 coupling to external optical components; paragraph 0096 discloses positioning optical fibers that couple with 1118); and a waveguide section (1162) configured to facilitate transmission of an optical signal through the optical interface, wherein the waveguide section is exposed (see Fig. 12). Since both inventions relate to semiconductor devices, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use a photonic device as disclosed by Uhland in the package of Stephens for the purpose of providing optical connection to an external device.
Regarding claims 3 and 24, Uhland in view of the rejection above, further discloses the photonic device comprises cladding layers (1198) surrounding the waveguide section (1106) in Fig. 16.
Regarding claim 4, Stephens discloses the first die group further comprising a third die (13) stacked to the second and first die in Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 5, Stephens discloses the first die group further comprising a through via extending through the semiconductor substrate of the second die and electrically connecting the integrated circuits of the first die and the second die (paragraph 0021 discloses each die may be formed with through-silicon vias to provide vertical signal conductors for the die stack).
Regarding claim 23, the proposed combination of Stephens and Uhland teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the waveguide section comprising nitride. However, Uhland discloses the waveguide comprising the same material as the encapsulating layer 1111 (paragraph 0093), and also that the encapsulating layer 1111 can include nanoparticles such as aluminum nitride (paragraph 0099). As such, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious for the waveguide section to comprise nitride, for the purpose of adjusting the thermal conductivity. Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have the waveguide section comprise nitride, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 2, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stephens et al. (US 2014/0363120 A1) in view of Uhland et al. (US 2007/0254411 A1), further in view of Mendoza (US 11,493,714 B1).
Regarding claims 2, 26 and 27, the proposed combination of Stephens and Uhland teaches the claimed invention except for the metal pads on both sides are bonded and dielectric material at both sides are bonded. Mendoza discloses hybrid bonding between wafers wherein dielectric material and metal at the surface of both wafers are bonded together at an elevated temperature in column 8, line 66 to column 9, line 7. Since all of the inventions relate to semiconductor devices and in particular Uhland discloses the side surface including a conductive material and a dielectric material (Fig. 6), one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to bond metal pads and dielectric material on both sides as disclosed by Mendoza in the device of the proposed combination of Stephens and Uhland for the purpose of forming a more secure and robust bond.
Claims 6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stephens et al. (US 2014/0363120 A1) in view of Uhland et al. (US 2007/0254411 A1), further in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 2021/0373232 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 9-13, the proposed combination of Stephens and Uhland teaches the claimed invention except for the optical interface coupling to the optical fiber at a surface substantially perpendicular to the side surface. Ishikawa discloses a semiconductor substrate (1208 in Fig. 23) having an optical interface structure comprising a waveguide section (1207) for coupling to an optical fiber (1202) at a surface substantially perpendicular to the side surface of the substrate. Since all of the inventions relate to semiconductor devices, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to couple an optical fiber at a surface substantially perpendicular to the side surface as disclosed by Mendoza in the device of the proposed combination of Stephens and Uhland for the purpose of allowing for coupling from a wider range of locations and angles, increasing the versatility of the device and reducing the size. Further, in the proposed combination, one having ordinary skill would find it obvious to perform coupling at either the “top” or “bottom” surface depending on the orientation of the device and the location of the photonic components in the substrate.
Regarding claim 8, Uhland in view of the rejection above, further discloses the photonic device comprises one or more of a laser device and an optical sensor in paragraph 0081.id crystal moleculesand specifically stating the exposure voltage greater than a
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Stephens et al. (US 2014/0363120 A1) in view of Uhland et al. (US 2007/0254411 A1), further in view of Ishikawa et al. (US 2021/0373232 A1) and further in view of Mendoza (US 11,493,714 B1).
Regarding claim 7, the proposed combination of Stephens, Uhland and Ishikawa teaches the claimed invention except for the metal pads on both sides are bonded and dielectric material at both sides are bonded. Mendoza discloses hybrid bonding between wafers wherein dielectric material and metal at the surface of both wafers are bonded together at an elevated temperature in column 8, line 66 to column 9, line 7. Since all of the inventions relate to semiconductor devices and in particular Uhland discloses the side surface including a conductive material and a dielectric material (Fig. 6), one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to bond metal pads and dielectric material on both sides as disclosed by Mendoza in the device of the proposed combination of Stephens, Uhland and Ishikawa for the purpose of forming a more secure and robust bond.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed June 16, 2026, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. However, in order to expedite the prosecution of the application, the relevant portions of Applicant’s remarks will be addressed.
On page 11, Applicant states that Stephens fails to disclose or suggest how a photonic device would be arranged to cooperate with the mounted dies. However, Stephens discloses a waveguide section (305 in Figs. 22-31) in the semiconductor substrate (301) configured to facilitate transmission of an optical signal, wherein the waveguide section is exposed at the second surface (see Figs. 22-31 showing optical TSV structure 305 exposed at bottom surface). Thus, this teaching would lead one of ordinary skill to embed a photonic device with the semiconductor substrate to internally communicate with said waveguide section. At the other end, the bottom surface allows for connection to an external optical component. The proposed combination as described above therefore represents a prima facie rejection of the claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 August 14, 2026