DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
The 11/07/2025 amendments of claims 1 and 15 have been noted and entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks pages 8-11, filed 11/07/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-13 and 15-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the newly added amendments. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lai et al, US 20190013297 A1 (Lai) and Pierson et al, US 6774315 B1 (Pierson).
New Grounds of Rejection
New grounds of rejection, prior art references Lai et al, US 20190013297 A1 (Lai) and Pierson et al, US 6774315 B1 (Pierson) appear below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 9-10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al, US 20210118962 A1 (Shin) in view of Wu et al, US 20210098421 A1 (Wu) in further view of Tai et al, US 11004786 B2 (Tai) in further view of Lai et al, US 20190013297 A1 (Lai).
Regarding Claim 1; Shin teaches a display device (100) comprising: a first substrate (110) comprising a display area (DA), and a non-display area (NDA) surrounding the display area (DA); light emitting elements (SP) in the display area (DA) on the first substrate (110); pads (124) in the non-display area (see paragraph [0046] of Shin: “… In the non-display area NDA, various driving circuits for driving the organic light emitting diode 130 are disposed.”);
Shin does not teach a circuit board comprising circuit board pads connected to the pads, and comprising: a first cover layer facing the first substrate, and having interior edges defining first opening holes extending in a thickness direction between opposite surfaces of the first cover layer; a metal layer on the first cover layer and having the circuit board pads therebelow; and a second cover layer on the metal layer, and defining second opening holes extending between opposite surfaces of the second cover layer exposing a portion of the metal layer.
Wu teaches a circuit board (25) comprising circuit board pads (see annotated Fig (3) of Wu) connected to the pads ((Pads) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu), and comprising: a first cover layer ((First cover layer) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu) facing the first substrate (140), and having interior edges defining first opening holes ((First hole) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu) extending in a thickness direction between opposite surfaces of the first cover layer ((First cover layer) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu); a metal layer ((Metal layer) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu) on the first cover layer and having the circuit board pads therebelow; and a second cover layer ((Second cover layer) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu) on the metal layer, and defining second opening holes ((Second hole) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu) extending between opposite surfaces of the second cover layer ((Second cover layer) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu) exposing a portion of the metal layer.
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin by using the connection structure and its cover layers disclosed in Wu to protect the circuits from short circuit incidents while providing a method of connecting the display to a circuit board.
Shin in view of Wu does not teach and respectively having central portions directly overlapping central portions of the first opening holes in the thickness direction.
Tai teaches and respectively having central portions directly overlapping central portions of the first opening holes (First Hole – see annotated Fig (2F) of Tai) in the thickness direction.
Shin in view of Wu and Tai are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin in view of Wu by making the central portions of the first and second opening holes overlap as disclosed in Tai to simplify the connection forming process for the device leading to a more efficient manufacturing process.
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai does not teach the circuit board pads are spaced from the interior edges of the first cover layer such that gaps are respectively defined between the circuit board pads and the interior edges of the first cover laver.
Lai teaches the circuit board pads (150a) are spaced from the interior edges of the first cover layer (120d) such that gaps are respectively defined between the circuit board pads (150a) and the interior edges of the first cover laver (120d).
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai and Lai are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai by constructing the interior edges of the first hole such that there is a gap between the circuit board pads and the interior edges of the first hole as disclosed in Lai to increase the tolerance for alignment errors leading to an easier alignment and installation process for the device.
Regarding claim 2; Shin does not teach wherein the pads comprise pad base layers, and pad upper layers respectively on the pad base layers, and wherein the circuit board pads are respectively integrated with the pad upper layers.
Wu teaches wherein the pads ((Pads) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu reproduced above) comprise pad base layers ((Pad base layer) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu reproduced above), and pad upper layers ((Pad upper layer) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu reproduced above) respectively on the pad base layers, and wherein the circuit board pads ((Circuit board pad) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu reproduced above) are respectively integrated with the pad upper layers.
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin by using the structure of the pads disclosed in Wu to improve the integrity of the connections of the device leading to a more reliable device.
Regarding claim 3; Shin does not teach further comprising patterns corresponding to the second opening holes, and overlapping the circuit board pads on the metal layer.
Wu teaches further comprising patterns (Patterns in the second hole – see annotated Fig (3) of Wu) corresponding to the second opening holes ((second hole) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu), and overlapping the circuit board pads ((circuit board pads) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu) on the metal layer.
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin by introducing the patterns corresponding to the opening holes and overlapping the circuit board pads as disclosed in Wu to make establishing connections between the display substrate and the circuit board easier by utilizing these patterns leading to a faster device construction process.
Regarding claim 4; Shin does not teach wherein the patterns are in the second opening holes, respectively.
Wu teaches wherein the patterns (Patterns in the second hole – see annotated Fig (3) of Wu) are in the second opening holes ((second hole) see annotated Fig (3) of Wu), respectively.
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin by introducing the patterns in the second opening holes as disclosed in Wu to facilitate establishing connections between the display substrate and the circuit board leading to a faster device production process.
Regarding claim 9; Shin teaches further comprising common electrodes ((121)+(123)+(124)) in the non-display area (NDA) on the first substrate (110), and electrically connected to the light emitting elements (130), respectively, wherein the pads respectively comprise first pads (123) at outer sides of the common electrodes ((121)+(123)+(124)), and second pads (124) at inner sides of the common electrodes ((121)+(123)+(124)) in the non- display area (NDA)
Shin does not teach wherein the first substrate defines first via holes penetrating therethrough, and respectively corresponding to the first pads, and also defines second via holes respectively corresponding to the second pads, and wherein the display device further comprises first pad connection electrodes respectively connected to the first pads and to first circuit board pads of the circuit board pads, and second pad connection electrodes respectively connected to the second pads and to second circuit board pads of the circuit board pads.
Wu teaches wherein the first substrate (140) defines first via holes (120) penetrating therethrough, and respectively corresponding to the first pads ((pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above), and also defines second via holes (120) respectively corresponding to the second pads ((pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above), and wherein the display device further comprises first pad connection electrodes ((pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) respectively connected to the first pads and to first circuit board pads ((circuit board pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) of the circuit board pads, and second pad connection electrodes ((pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) respectively connected to the second pads ((pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) and to second circuit board pads ((circuit board pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) of the circuit board pads.
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin by introducing the via connections above the different connection pads as disclosed in Wu to facilitate connecting the substrate to the display in a fastened and robust manner making the operation of the device more reliable.
Regarding claim 10; Shin does not teach wherein the circuit board is below the first substrate, wherein the first pad connection electrodes comprise first connection portions in the first via holes, respectively, and first electrode portions below the first substrate, wherein the second pad connection electrodes comprise second connection portions in the second via holes, respectively, and second electrode portions below the first substrate, wherein the first circuit board pads are integrated with the first electrode portions, respectively, and wherein the second circuit board pads are integrated with the second electrode portions, respectively.
Wu teaches wherein the circuit board (25) is below the first substrate (140), wherein the first pad connection electrodes ((pads) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) comprise first connection portions in the first via holes (120), respectively, and first electrode portions below the first substrate (140), wherein the second pad connection electrodes ((pads) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) comprise second connection portions in the second via holes (120), respectively, and second electrode portions below the first substrate (140), wherein the first circuit board pads ((circuit board pads) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) are integrated with the first electrode portions, respectively, and wherein the second circuit board pads ((circuit board pads) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) are integrated with the second electrode portions, respectively.
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin by introducing the via connections above the different connection pads as disclosed in Wu to facilitate connecting the substrate to the display in a fastened and robust manner making the operation of the device more reliable.
Regarding claim 15; Shin teaches a display device (100) comprising: a first substrate (110) comprising a display area (DA) on which light emitting elements (SP) are located, and a non-display area (NDA) surrounding the display area (DA); common electrodes (124) surrounding the display area (DA) in the non-display area (NDA), and spaced apart from each other; pads (121) spaced apart from the common electrodes (124) in the non-display area (NDA);
Shin does not teach a circuit board comprising: circuit board pads on the first substrate, and electrically connected to the pads, respectively, cover layers; and a metal layer between the cover layers, and having the circuit board pads therebelow, wherein the cover layers respectively define opening holes extending in a thickness direction between respective opposite surfaces of the cover layers exposing respective portions of the metal layer.
However, Wu teaches a circuit board (25) comprising: circuit board pads (300) on the first substrate (110), and electrically connected to the pads ((pads) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above), respectively, cover layers ((first cover layer) and (second cover layer) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above); and a metal layer ((metal layer) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) between the cover layers, and having the circuit board pads (300) therebelow, wherein the cover layers ((first cover layer) and (second cover layer) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) respectively define opening holes ((first hole) and (second hole) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) extending in a thickness direction between respective opposite surfaces of the cover layers ((first cover layer) and (second cover layer) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above); exposing respective portions of the metal layer ((metal layer) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above).
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin by using the connection structure and their cover layers disclosed in Wu to protect the circuits from short circuit incidents while providing a method of connecting the display to a circuit board.
Shin in view of Wu does not teach and respectively having central portions directly overlapping central portions of the first opening holes in the thickness direction. However, Tai teaches and respectively having central portions directly overlapping central portions of the first opening holes (First Hole – see annotated Fig (2F) of Tai) in the thickness direction.
Shin in view of Wu and Tai are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin in view of Wu by making the central portions of the first and second opening holes overlap as disclosed in Tai to simplify the connection forming process for the device leading to a more efficient manufacturing process.
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai does not teach wherein the circuit board pads are in respective ones of the opening holes of one of the cover layers such that there are gaps respectively between the circuit board pads and interior edges of the one of the cover layers that define the respective ones of the opening holes.
Lai teaches wherein the circuit board pads (150a) are in respective ones of the opening holes (holes surrounding the circuit board pad (150a)) of one of the cover layers (120d) such that there are gaps respectively between the circuit board pads (150a) and interior edges of the one of the cover layers (120d) that define the respective ones of the opening holes (hole surrounding (150a)).
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai and Lai are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai by constructing the interior edges of the first hole such that there is a gap between the circuit board pads and the interior edges of the first hole as disclosed in Lai to increase the tolerance for alignment errors leading to an easier alignment and installation process for the device.
Lai does not disclose in the embodiment shown in Fig (4) of Lai that there are more than one hole. However, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to one having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Lai by repeating the same structure for more than one hole at a time to ensure a faster production process of the device. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) (Claims at issue were directed to a water-tight masonry structure wherein a water seal of flexible material fills the joints which form between adjacent pours of concrete. The claimed water seal has a "web" which lies in the joint, and a plurality of "ribs" projecting outwardly from each side of the web into one of the adjacent concrete slabs. The prior art disclosed a flexible water stop for preventing passage of water between masses of concrete in the shape of a plus sign (+). Although the reference did not disclose a plurality of ribs, the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced.).
Regarding claim 16; Shin does not teach further comprising patterns in the opening holes, and overlapping the circuit board pads.
Wu teaches further comprising patterns in the opening holes (Second hole – see annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above), and overlapping the circuit board pads ((circuit board pads/300) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above).
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin by introducing the patterns corresponding to the opening holes and overlapping the circuit board pads as disclosed in Wu to facilitate the connections between the display substrate and the circuit board leading to an easier way of aligning contacts with circuit board pads leading to an easier device construction process.
Regarding claim 17; Shin does not teach wherein the patterns are in one of the opening holes.
Wu teaches wherein the patterns are in one of the opening holes (Second hole – see annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above).
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify Shin by introducing the patterns in the opening holes as disclosed in Wu to facilitate the connections between the display substrate and the circuit board leading to a faster device production process.
Regarding claim 18; Shin does not teach wherein the circuit board is on the first substrate on which the light emitting elements are located, and wherein the circuit board pads are respectively integrated with the pads.
Wu teaches wherein the circuit board (25) is on the first substrate (140), on which the light emitting elements are located and wherein the circuit board pads ((circuit board pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) are respectively integrated with the pads ((circuit board pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above).
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin and Tai by putting the circuit board on the first substrate as disclosed in Wu to make establishing the electrical connections easier while constructing the device leading to a more efficient construction process.
Regarding claim 19; Shin does not teach wherein the circuit board is below the first substrate, and wherein the pads are respectively electrically connected to the circuit board pads through pad connection electrodes in via holes penetrating the first substrate.
Wu teaches wherein the circuit board (25) is below the first substrate (140), and wherein the pads ((pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) are respectively electrically connected to the circuit board pads ((circuit board pads) in the annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) through pad connection electrodes in via holes (120) penetrating the first substrate (140).
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin by putting the circuit board below the first substrate as disclosed in Wu to make establishing the electrical connections easier while constructing the device leading to a faster device construction process.
Regarding claim 20; Shin does not teach wherein the pad connection electrodes respectively comprise connection portions in the via holes, and electrode portions respectively connected to the connection portions and located below the first substrate, and wherein the circuit board pads are respectively integrated with the electrode portions of the pad connection electrodes.
Wu teaches wherein the pad connection electrodes ((pads) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) respectively comprise connection portions ((first and second electrode portion) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) in the via holes (120), and electrode portions ((first and second electrode portion) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) respectively connected to the connection portions and located below the first substrate (140), and wherein the circuit board pads ((circuit board pad) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) are respectively integrated with the electrode portions of the pad connection electrodes.
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin by using the connection structures disclosed in Wu to make construction of the electrical connections in the device easier to establish leading to a more efficient device manufacturing process.
Claims 5-6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al, US 20210118962 A1 (Shin) in view of Wu et al, US 20210098421 A1 (Wu) in further view of Tai et al, US 11004786 B2 (Tai) in further view of Lai et al, US 20190013297 A1 (Lai) in further view of Ko, TW 202035157 A (Ko).
Regarding claim 5; Shin in view of Wu does not teach further comprising a thermally conductive heat transfer pattern corresponding to the second opening holes, and directly contacting the metal layer.
Tai teaches further comprising a thermally conductive heat transfer pattern (20) corresponding to the second opening holes (Second Hole – see annotated Fig (3F) of Tai).
Shin in view of Wu and Tai are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective date of filing of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin in view of Wu by using the thermally conductive heat transfer pattern as disclosed in Tai to improve the thermal dissipation properties of the device and thus create a more reliable device.
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai does not teach the thermally conductive heat transfer pattern in contact with the metal layer.
Ko teaches the thermally conductive heat transfer pattern (31) in contact with the metal layer (21).
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai and Ko are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai by making the thermally conductive heat transfer pattern be in contact with the metal layer as disclosed in Ko to improve the heat dissipation functionality of the heat transfer pattern leading to a more reliable device.
Regarding claim 6; Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai does not teach comprising patterns on a portion of the thermally conductive heat transfer pattern overlapping the circuit board pads.
Ko teaches comprising patterns (see Fig (2) of Ko) on a portion of the thermally conductive heat transfer pattern (31) overlapping the circuit board pads (45).
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai and Ko are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai by making the pattern on the thermally conductive heat transfer pattern overlap the circuit board pads as disclosed in Ko to improve the heat dissipation functionality of the pattern leading to a more reliable device.
Regarding claim 11; Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai does not teach further comprising a heat dissipation substrate below the first substrate, and located across the display area and the non- display area.
Ko teaches further comprising a heat dissipation substrate ((31) and (32)) below the first substrate (10), and located across the display area (area containing the light emitting layer (14)) and the non-display area (area containing the pattern element (21)).
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai and Ko are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai by introducing the heat dissipation substrate below the first substrate as disclosed in Ko to improve the heat dissipation properties of the device leading to a more reliable device.
Regarding claim 12; Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai does not teach wherein the circuit board further comprises a heat dissipation layer below the first substrate, and located between the first substrate and the circuit board in the display area.
Ko teaches wherein the circuit board further comprises a heat dissipation layer ((31) and (32)) below the first substrate (10), and located between the first substrate (10) and the circuit board (1) in the display area.
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai and Ko are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective date of filing of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai by using the heat dissipation layer under both the display area of the device as disclosed in Ko to increase its capability of dissipating heat efficiently improving the performance and longevity of the device.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al, US 20210118962 A1 (Shin) in view of Wu et al, US 20210098421 A1 (Wu) in further view of Tai et al, US 11004786 B2 (Tai) in further view of Lai et al, US 20190013297 A1 (Lai) in further view of Pierson et al, US 6774315 B1 (Pierson).
Regarding claim 7; Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai does not teach wherein the circuit board defines pin holes corresponding to the second opening holes, and penetrating the metal layer and the circuit board pads.
Pierson teaches wherein the circuit board (3) defines pin holes (5) corresponding to the second opening holes (holes through which the pin holes (5) exist), and penetrating the metal layer (6) and the circuit board pads (9) (see Fig (1) of Pierson shared in this OA).
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai and Pierson are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai by constructing pinholes through the circuit board such as disclosed in Pierson to achieve a more reliable connection through the circuit board.
Regarding claim 8; Shin does not teach further comprising patterns on portions of the pad upper layers overlapping the pin holes, respectively, wherein the pads and the circuit board pads are integrated with each other at a peripheral portion of the pin holes, respectively.
Wu teaches further comprising patterns on portions of the pad upper layers ((pad upper layer) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) overlapping the pin holes ((pin hole) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above), respectively, wherein the pads ((pads) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) and the circuit board pads ((circuit board pads) in annotated Fig (3) of Wu shared above) are integrated with each other at a peripheral portion of the pin holes, respectively.
Shin and Wu are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin by introducing the connection structure disclosed in Wu to improve the quality of connection and reliability of the display device.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin et al, US 20210118962 A1 (Shin) in view of Wu et al, US 20210098421 A1 (Wu) in further view of Tai et al, US 11004786 B2 (Tai) in further view of Lai et al, US 20190013297 A1 (Lai) in further view of Okumura et al, US 20210167247 A1 (Okumura).
Regarding claim 13; Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai does not teach wherein the light emitting elements comprise first semiconductor layers, active layers on the first semiconductor layers, and second semiconductor layers on the active layers, and wherein the display device further comprises a third semiconductor layer on the first substrate, and having the second semiconductor layers of the light emitting elements thereon, and common electrodes on the second semiconductor layers, respectively.
Okumura teaches wherein the light emitting elements (40) comprise first semiconductor layers (43), active layers (44) on the first semiconductor layers (43), and second semiconductor layers (45) on the active layers (44), and wherein the display device further comprises a third semiconductor layer (47) on the first substrate (10), and having the second semiconductor layers (45) of the light emitting elements (40) thereon, and common electrodes (49) on the second semiconductor layers (45), respectively.
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai and Okumura are considered analogous art. Thus, it would have been obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the instant application, to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai in further view of Lai by constructing the light emitting diode as disclosed in Okumura to improve the quality and longevity of the device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is allowable. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14; Referenced prior art sources teach a display device comprising: a first substrate comprising a display area, and anon-display area surrounding the display area; light emitting elements in the display area on the first substrate; pads in the non-display area; and a circuit board comprising circuit board pads connected to the pads, and comprising: a first cover layer facing the first substrate, and defining first opening holes formed to correspond to the circuit board pads; a metal layer on the first cover layer and having the circuit board pads therebelow; and a second cover layer on the metal layer, and defining second opening holes exposing a portion of the metal layer, wherein the light emitting elements comprise first semiconductor layers, active layers on the first semiconductor layers, and second semiconductor layers on the active layers, wherein the display device further comprises a third semiconductor layer on the first substrate, and having the second semiconductor layers of the light emitting elements thereon, and common electrodes on the second semiconductor layers, respectively
Shin in view of Wu in further view of Tai alone or in combination with other art does not teach wherein the display device further comprises first connection electrodes respectively between the light emitting elements and the first substrate in the display area, and second connection electrodes respectively between the common electrodes and the second semiconductor layers in the non-display area.
Conclusion
/M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2815
/JOSHUA BENITEZ ROSARIO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2815