DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ching et al. (US PGPub 2018/0151450, hereinafter referred to as “Ching”).
Ching discloses the semiconductor method as claimed. See figures 1-21 and corresponding text, where Ching teaches, in claim 1, a method for forming a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
forming a channel structure (310) over a substrate (210); (figure 8; [0044-0045])
forming a dielectric layer (620) over the channel structure (310), wherein the dielectric layer (620) has a higher dielectric constant than silicon nitride (figure 8; [0044-0045]);
forming a gate stack (710) over the dielectric layer (620) (figure 9; [0045-0046]); and
forming a spacer element (820) over a sidewall of the gate stack (710) after the gate stack (710) is formed, wherein the spacer element (820) covers a portion of the dielectric layer (620) (figures 11A and 11B; [0050-0057]).
Ching teaches, in claim 2, further comprising:
partially removing portions of the channel structure beside the spacer element to form a recess; and
forming an epitaxial structure (870, 875) in the recess (figure 14; [0058-0061]).
Ching teaches, in claim 3, further comprising:
forming an insulating layer (910) over the substrate (210), wherein the insulating layer (910) covers the epitaxial structure (870, 875) and surrounds the gate stack (710);
removing the gate stack to form a trench (920) surrounded by the insulating layer (910) (figure 15; [0062-0064]); and
forming a metal gate stack (1016) in the trench (920) (figures 16A-19C; [0065-0077]).
Ching teaches, in claim 4, further comprising removing a portion of the dielectric layer exposed by the trench (figures 16A-18A; [0065-0069]).
Ching teaches, in claim 5, wherein the metal gate stack comprises a gate dielectric layer, the gate dielectric layer extends along a sidewall and a bottom of the trench, and the gate dielectric layer extends across an interface between the dielectric layer and the spacer element (figures 19A-19C; [0073-0077]).
Ching teaches, in claim 6, wherein the gate dielectric layer is formed to be in direct contact with the dielectric layer (figures 19A-19C; [0073-0077]).
Ching teaches, in claim 7, wherein the gate dielectric layer is formed to be in direct contact with the spacer element (figures 19A-19C; [0073-0077]).
Ching teaches, in claim 8, further comprising:
forming an oxide layer over the channel structure before the formation of the dielectric layer (figures 16A-19C; [0065-0077]).
Ching teaches, in claim 9, further comprising:
forming an oxide layer over the channel structure after the formation of the dielectric layer and before the formation of the gate stack (figures 16A-19C; [0065-0077]).
Ching teaches, in claim 10, wherein the dielectric layer is formed to be in direct contact with the channel structure (figures 16A-19C; [0065-0077]).
Ching teaches, in claim 11, a method for forming a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
forming a semiconductor structure (310) over a substrate (210); (figure 8; [0044-0045])
forming a metal-containing oxide layer (620) over the semiconductor structure (310); (figure 8; [0044-0045])
forming a gate stack (710) over the metal-containing oxide layer (620), wherein the gate stack (710) is a dummy gate stack; (figure 9; [0045-0046]) and
forming a spacer element (820) over a sidewall of the gate stack (710), wherein the spacer element (820) covers a top of the metal-containing oxide layer (620) (figures 11A and 11B; [0050-0057]).
Ching teaches, in claim 12, wherein the top of the metal-containing oxide layer is formed to be vertically between the substrate and a top of the spacer element.
Ching teaches, in claim 13, further comprising:
surrounding the gate stack (710) with an insulating layer (910); and
replacing the gate stack with a metal gate stack (1016).
Ching teaches, in claim 14, wherein the metal gate stack comprises a gate dielectric layer (1014) and a work function layer, and the metal-containing oxide layer (620) is formed to be in direct contact with the gate dielectric layer. (figures 19A-19C; [0073-0077]).
Ching teaches, in claim 15, wherein the metal gate stack comprises a gate dielectric layer and a work function layer, and the gate dielectric layer extends upwards along a sidewall of the metal-containing oxide layer (figures 19A-19C; [0073-0077]).
Ching teaches, in claim 21, a method for forming a semiconductor device structure, comprising:
forming a semiconductor stack (310) having a plurality of sacrificial layers (314) and a plurality of semiconductor layers (316), wherein the sacrificial layers (314) and the semiconductor layers (316) have an alternating configuration (figure 3; [0027]);
forming a dielectric layer (620) over the semiconductor stack (310), wherein the dielectric layer (620) has a higher dielectric constant than silicon nitride; figure 8; [0044-0045])
forming a gate stack (710) over the dielectric layer (620), wherein the gate stack (710) is a dummy gate stack (figure 9; [0045-0046]);
forming a spacer element (820) over a sidewall of the gate stack (710), wherein the spacer element (820) partially covers the dielectric layer (620); and
removing the gate stack (710) (figures 11A and 11B; [0050-0057]).
Ching teaches, in claim 22, further comprising:
forming a second dielectric layer over the semiconductor stack after the formation of the dielectric layer and before the formation of the gate stack ([0044], more than one layer where one is a silicon oxide).
Ching teaches, in claim 23, wherein the second dielectric layer has a lower dielectric constant than the dielectric layer ([0044], more than one layer where one is a silicon oxide).
Ching teaches, in claim 24, further comprising:
forming a second dielectric layer over the semiconductor stack before the formation of the dielectric layer ([0044], more than one layer where one is a silicon oxide).
Ching teaches, in claim 25, wherein the second dielectric layer has a lower dielectric constant than the dielectric layer ([0044], more than one layer where one is a silicon oxide).
Conclusion
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 June 25, 2026