Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 6/30/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected method, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/30/25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Amano (US PGPub 2018/0331118).
Claim 1: Amano teaches (Fig. 6-12H) a memory device, comprising: a super-pillar (20/58) formed through a plurality of sub-decks; a string of memory cells formed along the super-pillar; and respective regions of transition material disposed between respective sub-decks of the plurality of sub-decks, wherein the super-pillar comprises at least a first pillar formed through a first sub-deck of the plurality of sub-decks substantially aligned with a second pillar formed through a second sub-deck of the plurality of sub-decks.
Claim 2: Amano teaches (Fig. 6-12H) the first sub-deck comprises a first layer stack with alternated layers of conductor material (146) and insulator material (132, 170), the second sub-deck comprises a second layer stack with alternated layers of conductor material (246) and insulator material (232), and wherein a first region of transition material (180) is disposed directly between a first outermost layer of insulator material (170) of the first layer stack and a second outermost layer of insulator material (232) of the second layer stack.
Claim 3: Amano teaches [0085, 0090] the first region of transition material, the first layer of insulator material, and the second layer of insulator material all comprise a same material.
Claim 4: Amano teaches [0095] the first region of transition material comprises a different material from one or more of the first layer of insulator material and the second layer of insulator material.
Claim 5: Amano teaches (Fig. 14) an array of super-pillars formed through the plurality of sub-decks; and respective strings of memory cells formed along respective super-pillars of the array of super-pillars.
Claim 6: Amano teaches [0002,0118, 0124] the memory cells comprise floating gate NAND memory cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amano (US PGPub 2018/0331118).
Claim 7: Amano teaches (Fig. 6-12H) system, comprising: a processor; and a three-dimensional (3D) memory device coupled with the processor, wherein the 3D memory device includes: a super-pillar formed through a plurality of sub-decks; a 3D string of memory cells formed along the super-pillar; and respective regions of transition material disposed between respective sub-decks of the plurality of sub-decks, wherein the super-pillar comprises at least a first pillar formed through a first sub-deck of the plurality of sub-decks is substantially aligned with a second pillar formed through a second sub-deck of the plurality of sub-decks. Amano does not specifically teach the processor in conjunction with the memory device but one of ordinary skill in the art would know their standard use together. See PTO-892 for evidence in similar prior art.
Claim 8: Amano teaches (Fig. 6-12H) the first sub-deck comprises a first layer stack with alternated layers of conductor material and insulator material, the second sub-deck comprises a second layer stack with alternated layers of conductor material and insulator material, and wherein a first region of transition material is disposed directly between a first layer of insulator material of the first layer stack and a second layer of insulator material of the second layer stack.
Claim 9: Amano teaches [0085, 0090] the first region of transition material, the first layer of insulator material, and the second layer of insulator material all comprise a same material.
Claim 10: Amano teaches [0095] the first region of transition material comprises a different material from one or more of the first layer of insulator material and the second layer of insulator material.
Claim 11: Amano teaches (Fig. 14) the 3D memory device further comprises: an array of super-pillars formed through the plurality of sub-decks; and respective 3D strings of memory cells formed along respective super-pillars of the array of super-pillars.
Claim 12: Amano teaches [0002,0118, 0124] the memory cells comprise floating gate NAND memory cells.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/SARAH K SALERNO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814