DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to 5/27/2022 claim-set and 1/4/4026 election
Claims pending 1-20
Claims withdrawn 18-20
Claims currently under consideration 1-17
Priority
The present application has a filing date of 03/23/2022 and has
PRO 63/165,651 filed 03/24/2021.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention group I and SEQ ID 35 species in the reply filed on 1/4/4025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 stand withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/4/2025
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant's elected species was not found in the prior art, so the search was expanded to the extent set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2,4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 & 2) as being anticipated by Sheng et al (US AppPub 20180185482).
As in claims 1,2,4,5,6,7 and 8, Sheng et al teach throughout the document and especially SEQ ID 45 therein (RASQSIRRYLN), figures 3A,4C and example 4 table 3, a antibody fragment or monoclonal antibody (T-10 = VH SEQ ID 125 + VL SEQ ID 126) comprising an amino acid sequence 100 % identical to that set forth in present SEQ ID 998 and has a TIGIT dissociation constant of less than 10 nanomolar.
Claims 9,10,12,13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1 & 2) as being anticipated by Tabibiazar et al (WO 2020/0176678).
As in the first embodiment of claim 9 and claims 10,12 and 13, Tabibiazar et al teach throughout the document and especially document claim 35, SEQ ID 2538 therein from table 27 that is an antibody comprising an immunoglobulin heavy chain comprising an amino acid sequence 88% (interpreted as at least about 95%) identical to present SEQ ID 35 that may be optionally a chimera.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2,4-8 & 9,10,12,13 and 11,14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabibiazar et al (WO 2020/0176678 in view of Sheng et al (US AppPub 20180185482).
Like claims 9,10,12 and 13, Tabibiazar et al teach throughout the document and especially document claim 35, SEQ ID 2538 therein from table 27 that is a GLP1R antibody comprising an immunoglobulin heavy chain comprising an amino acid sequence 88% (interpreted as at least about 95%) identical to present SEQ ID 35 that may be optionally be a chimera or be part of a bi-specific antibody.
Tabibiazar et al do not teach: an antibody fragment that binds TIGIT with a KD of less than 10 nanomolar such as recited as the second embodiment of claim 9 and claims 14-17; nor a sequence set forth in present SEQ IDs 62-1864 of claim 11.
Sheng et al is relied upon as above regarding claims 1-2,4-8 as well as suggesting an antibody heavy chain including RASQSIRRYLN (present SEQ ID 998) that binds TIGIT with a KD of less than 10 nanomolar per claims 9,14,15,16,17 and 11, since akin to Tabibiazar et al, Sheng et al teach the disclosed antibodies may be likewise humanized from a llama (which inherently have only a heavy chain) or otherwise constitute a light chain-heavy chain fusion (cf paragraphs 0060-0061) and/or are preferably bi-specific.
It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have prepared a bi-specific antibody including both a TIGIT Fv from Sheng et al and a GLP1R Fv from Tabibiazar et al.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have prepared a bi-specific antibody including both a TIGIT Fv from Sheng et al and a GLP1R Fv from Tabibiazar et al in an effort to treat cancer, which the goal of each reference (see Tabibiazar paragraph 0141 and Sheng paragraphs 0002-0006). Indeed, as interpreted in MPEP 2144.06 the courts have held "It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980)
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making a bispecific antibody bearing a TIGIT Fv from Sheng et al and a GLP1R Fv from Tabibiazar et al since each reference expressly envision such an embodiment in the aforementioned passages.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/CHRISTOPHER M GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684