Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) Form PTO-1449, filed 4/29/16. The information disclosed therein was considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eleftheriou (US 2016/0267379) in view of CN 102132351 (see Applicant’s submission of 4/29/16, herein ‘351).
Regarding claim 18, Eleftheriou discloses a method, comprising: detecting a time difference between a first pulse from a first neuron device and a second pulse from a second neuron device (see paragraph 0014, rejection of claim 1 above); generating a program voltage corresponding to the detected time difference (see Figure 5); and applying the generated program voltage to a synapse device coupled between the first neuron device and the second neuron device to program the synapse device in accordance with spike-timing dependent plasticity (see paragraph 0014, Figure 5).
Eleftheriou fails to teach that the program voltage is decreased in a stepwise manner from a maximum voltage value.
However, this was a known technique at the time of filing as shown in figure 16 of ‘351. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the time of filing to decrease the program voltage in a step-wise manner since this was a known technique for reducing the program voltage and would have yielded the predictable result of a decreased program votlage.
Regarding claim 22, Eleftheriou discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the synapse device comprises a phase change memory , the program voltage comprises a SET program voltage, and said applying comprises applying the SET program voltage to the synapse device during a quenching time of the synapse device (see paragraph 0058—see also ‘629.9 page 1).
Regarding claim 19, Eleftheriou discloses the method of claim 16, further comprising: storing a plurality of different waveform configurations correspondingly associated with different values of the time difference; and selecting, among the plurality of different waveform configurations, a waveform configuration corresponding to a value of the detected time difference. wherein said generating comprises generating the program voltage based on the selected waveform configuration (see paragaraph 0061-0064).
Regarding claim 20, Eleftheriou discloses the method of claim 19, wherein the plurality of different waveform configurations corresponds to different waveforms of the program voltage, and the different waveforms have corresponding different inclinations from a maximum voltage value (see paragraph 0061-0064).
Regarding claim 21, Eleftheriou discloses method of claim 20, wherein the different waveforms are monotonously decreased in a stepwise manner, and at the corresponding different inclinations, from the maximum voltage value (see paragraphs 0061-0064 in view of the modification above).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-15 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the record makes clear the reasons for allowance.
Conclusion
/DOUGLAS KING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824