DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The prior objection to the specification is withdrawn in light of the amendments to the specification and drawings.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the removing a second surface portion of the semiconductor substrate on the second side, the second trench region, at least one additional mesa structure is formed within the semiconductor substrate on the second side, the second trench region are arranged in a grid pattern that defines a plurality of mesas on the…second side, the removing the second surface portion forms a second trench region within the semiconductor substrate on the second oxide layer and the second surface layer that extends to at least a second depth of the second p/n junction and into the inner region, and wherein the second trench region comprises a trench depth, and wherein the trench depth is greater than a first thickness of the first oxide layer and the first surface layer combined and a second thickness of the second oxide layer and the second surface layer combined must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 15-18 and 20-23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 15, “a first trench region within the semiconductor substrate on the first oxide layer” should be changed to -- a first trench region within the semiconductor substrate and the first oxide layer --.
This is similarly recited in claim 21 and the “on” should be changed to “and”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 21 recites “wherein removing the second surface portion forms a second trench region within the semiconductor substrate on the second oxide layer and the second surface layer that extends to at least a second depth of the second p/n junction and into the inner region”, adding new matter. The originally filed specification provided no details with respect to the wherein removing the second surface portion forms a second trench region within the semiconductor substrate on the second oxide layer. The second trench is not shown and there is no discussion with respect to forming the second trench while second oxide layer is present.
Claim 22 recites “the second trench region comprises a trench depth, and wherein the trench depth is greater than a first thickness of the first oxide layer and the first surface layer combined and a second thickness of the second oxide layer and the second surface layer combined”, adding new matter. The originally filed specification provided no details with respect to the second trench region comprises a trench depth, and wherein the trench depth is greater than a first thickness of the first oxide layer and the first surface layer combined and a second thickness of the second oxide layer and the second surface layer combined. The second trench is not shown and there is no discussion with respect the second trench having a combined thickness the four layers as claimed.
Claims 15-18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 15 and 20 recite “the second trench region”, lacking antecedence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15, 16, 18, 20, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chadda et al. (US 4,228,581) in view of Igel et al. (US 5,858,808), all of record.
(Re Claim 15) Chadda teaches a method of forming a semiconductor device, comprising:
providing a semiconductor substrate, the semiconductor substrate comprising an inner region of a first conductivity type, and a first surface layer, disposed on the inner region, on a first side of the semiconductor substrate, and a second surface layer, disposed on the inner region, on a second side of the semiconductor substrate, opposite the first side, wherein the first surface layer and the second surface layer comprise a second conductivity type, opposite the first conductivity type, wherein the first surface layer and the inner region on the first side of the semiconductor substrate define a first p/n junction and the second surface layer and the inner region on the second side of the semiconductor substrate define a second p/n junction, and wherein the first surface layer and the second surface layer are formed in a single diffusion process that also forms a first oxide layer and a second oxide layer on the first surface layer and the second surface layer, respectively (see Fig. 2 and col 3, lines 23-38, wafer is P-N-P, formed in a single diffusion step which simultaneously forms a surface oxide);
removing a first surface portion of the semiconductor substrate, on the first side, and removing a second surface portion of the semiconductor substrate on the second side, wherein removing the first surface portion forms a first trench region within the semiconductor substrate and the first oxide layer and the first surface layer that extends to at least a first depth of the first p/n junction and into the inner region (see Fig. 2 and col 3 line 23 - col 5 line 48, the oxide and surface portions are removed from each side to form trenches having a depth extending into the inner region 1);
wherein at least one mesa structure is formed within the semiconductor substrate on the first side, and at least one additional mesa structure is formed within the semiconductor substrate on the second side (see Fig. 2).
Chadda is silent regarding using a saw and cleaning the first trench region and the second trench region using a chemical process. A PHOSITA desiring to make, use, and improve upon Chadda’s process would be motivated to look to related art to teach possible improvements. Related art from Igel teaches the trenches (12) can be formed using a saw (col 3 lines 1-56) followed by a chemical clean (col 3 lines 51-56) rather than by etching. Using a saw is faster and easier than the processing required for the chemical etching (noting just the etching disclosed by Chadda takes up to 40 min, col 5 lines 46-48), which further involves forming an additional protective film on the oxide, and the use of dangerous wet chemistry, in addition having to carefully time the process to ensure the desired depth is reached. While the use of a saw is known to form rough/damaged surfaces, Igel mitigates these issues by using a chemical clean to provide a smooth surface after cutting with a saw. The saw can be easily set to a desired depth, avoiding the need to carefully test and time a wet etching process for a specific depth, and requires no additional protective layers. In view of Igel, a PHOSITA would find it obvious to quickly and easily form the trenches using a saw, followed by a cleaning step to remove damage and debris from the saw, instead of using Chadda’s more involved and time consuming masking and wet etching processes.
(Re Claim 16) wherein the first trench region comprises a trench depth, and wherein the trench depth is greater than a first thickness of the first oxide layer and the first the first surface layer combined (see Fig. 2, the trench depth extends into inner region 1 and is formed while the oxide from the diffusion process is still present, col 5 lines 46-48, as such even in the combination wherein sawing is used, the oxide is still beneficial and offers protection of the device faces of the mesas from contamination and damage).
(Re Claim 18) wherein the trench depth is at least two mils.
Chadda teaches the trenches extend into the inner region by up to 10 microns, col 5 lines 40-45, and shows the preliminary recesses 100 having a depth of up to 50 microns, col 5 lines 13-15, which are not the full thickness of layer 2 as shown in Fig. 1, and further has a surface oxide of several microns, col 3 lines 36-38, as well, thus the final trench depth in Fig. 2 is greater than 60 microns and is therefore at least 2 mils).
(Re Claim 20) wherein the first trench region and the second trench region are arranged in a grid pattern that defines a plurality of mesas on the first side and on the second side (see Fig. 2 and col 5 line 16 - col 6 line 26, the trenches symmetrically surround each device, also see Igel: see Figs. 4-7 and discussion in col 2 line 49 – col 4 line 15, conventional dicing using a saw is disclosed to make a plurality of mesa-shaped devices between a plurality of saw grooves extending across the wafer on opposite sides).
(Re Claim 23) wherein the first surface portion includes the first oxide layer and the first surface layer (Chadda removes the first surface portion including both the surface oxide and first surface layer 2/3, Fig. 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional cited art teaches oxidation, passivation, diffusion, forming trenches to different depths, and dicing mesa shaped vertical PN junction devices.
/ERIK T. K. PETERSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898