DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendments with respect to 1, 3, and 11 filed on 12/19/2025 have been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The previously presented claims 4-10, 12, and 21-26 have been considered. Claims 13-20 have been withdrawn. Claim 2 has been canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 10-18, filed 12/19/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-12, and 21-26 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of KIM and LEE.
Regarding Independent Claim 1. Applicant argues that none of the prior art, KANG in view of KIM and BEAK disclose or suggest the amended claim limitations to claim 1. The Examiner agrees that the amendment to Claim 1 are persuasive with respect to electrodes and pad pattern of the display device. Therefore the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as mentioned above.
Regarding Independent Claim 11. Applicant argues that none of the prior art, KIM in view of IM and BEAK disclose or suggest the amended claim limitations to claim 11. The Examiner agrees that the amendment to Claim 11 are persuasive with respect to pad pattern of the display device. Therefore the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of LEE.
Regarding Claim(s) 3-12, and 21-26. The claim(s) 3-10 depend on Claim 1, and 12, 21-16 depend on Claim 11, follow the similar reasoning and are rejected based on the new grounds as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9-10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daehyun Kim et al, (hereinafter KIM), KR 102524569 B1, in view of Seung Hyun Lee et al, (hereinafter LEE), US 20150147831 A1, and further in view of Sin Chul Kang et al (hereinafter KANG), WO 2020111413 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, KIM teaches, a display device (Figs. 1a, LD, Light emitting element) including a display area (Fig. 2, DA, display area) and a pad area (Fig. 2, NDA, non-display area), the display device (Figs. 1a, LD, Light emitting element) comprising:
a first electrode (annotated Figure 5) and a second electrode (annotated Figure 5) disposed on a substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer) in the display area (Fig. 2, DA), the first electrode (annotated Figure 5) and the second electrode (annotated Figure 5) being spaced apart from each other along a widthwise direction (annotated Figure 5) of the substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer);
a transistor (Fig. 5, T1) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer) in the display area (Fig. 2, DA), the transistor (Fig. 5, T1) being electrically connected (annotated Fig. 5) to the first electrode (annotated Figure 5), and including a first transistor electrode (Fig. 5, DE of T1, drain electrode) and a second transistor electrode (Fig. 5, DE of T2, drain electrode);
a light emitting element (Fig. 5, LD1) disposed on the first electrode (annotated Figure 5) and the second electrode (annotated Figure 5); and
a power line (Figs. 3c/5, VSS/VDD/DVL, first/second driving power supply/driving voltage line, [0152]) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer), the power line (Fig. 3, VSS/VDD, first/second driving power supply, [0069]) supplying power to the light emitting element (Fig. 5, LD1), wherein:
the first electrode (annotated Figure 5) includes a (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) and a (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE1_1, 1-1st electrode) disposed on the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) in a thickness direction (Fig. 6, DR2) such that the (1-1)th electrode Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) is between the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE1_1, 1-1st electrode) and the substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer),
the second electrode (annotated Figure 5) includes a (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) and a (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE2, second contact electrode) disposed on the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) in the thickness direction (Fig. 6, DR2) such that the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) is between the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE2, second contact electrode) and the substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer),
the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) and the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) include a transparent conductive material (REL1 (or REL1-1) and REL2 may be made of a materials having a constant reflectivity, [0134]),
the light emitting element (Fig. 5, LD1) is aligned between the first electrode (annotated Figure 5) and the second electrode (annotated Figure 5), the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode), and the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) are directly on a same layer (annotated Figure 5) of the display device (Figs. 1a, LD, Light emitting element),
the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) extends further (annotated Figure 5) than the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE1_1, 1-1st electrode) in the widthwise direction (Fig. 6, DR1), and the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) extends further (annotated Figure 5) than the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE2, second contact electrode) in the widthwise direction (Fig. 6, DR1),
the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) is electrically connected (annotated Figure 5) to the transistor (Fig. 5, T1) through a first contact part (Fig. 5, CNL1, first connection wire) which does not contact (annotated Figure 5) the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE1_1, 1-1st electrode),
the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) is electrically connected (annotated Figure 5) to the power line (Figs. 5, DVL, driving voltage line, [0152]) through a second contact part (Fig. 5, CNL2, second connection wire) which does not contact (annotated Figure 5) the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE2, second contact electrode), and
the first contact part (Fig. 5, CNL1, first connection wire) and the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE1_1, 1-1st electrode) are not overlapped each other (annotated Figure 5) in the thickness direction (Fig. 6, DR2), and the second contact part (Fig. 5, CNL2, second connection wire) and the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE2, second contact electrode) are not overlapped each other (annotated Figure 5) in the thickness direction (Fig. 6, DR2).
KIM does not explicitly disclose the display device comprising: a pad structure disposed on the substrate in the pad area, the pad structure including a first pad pattern and a second pad pattern disposed on the first pad pattern, the second pad pattern being electrically connected to the first pad pattern; and the first pad pattern, the first transistor electrode, and the second transistor electrode include a same material, the second pad pattern, the (1-1)th electrode, and the (2-1)th electrode include a same material, and the light emitting element is aligned between the first electrode and the second electrode, the second pad pattern, are directly on a same layer of the display device.
LEE teaches a display device (Fig. 1, OLED device, [0008]) including a display area (Fig. 1, DA, display portion) and a pad area (Fig. 1, PA, pad portion), the display device (Figs. 1a, LD, Light emitting element) comprising:
a pad structure (Fig. 4, PAD, pad electrode, [0038]) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 4, 100, first substrate) in the pad area (Fig. 4, PA, pad portion), the pad structure (Fig. 4, PAD, pad electrode, [0038]) including a first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]) and a second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) disposed on the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]), the second pad pattern being (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) electrically connected ([0015], [0044]) to the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]); and
the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]), the first transistor electrode (Fig. 2, 103, TFT gate electrode, [0032]), and the second transistor electrode (Fig. 6A, TFT gate electrode) include a same material,
the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]), the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 2, 101b, source area, [0033]), and the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 2, 101b, source area, [0033]) include a same material, and
the light emitting element (Fig. 6A, E, OLED, [0044]) is aligned the second pad pattern (Figs. 6A/4, PA, pad portion), are directly on a same layer (annotated Figure 6A) of the display device (Fig. 1, OLED device, [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified KIM to incorporate the teachings of LEE, such that a display device including a display area and a pad area, the display device comprising: a pad structure disposed on the substrate in the pad area, the pad structure including a first pad pattern and a second pad pattern disposed on the first pad pattern, the second pad pattern being electrically connected to the first pad pattern; and the first pad pattern, the first transistor electrode, and the second transistor electrode include a same material, the second pad pattern, the (1-1)th electrode, and the (2-1)th electrode include a same material, and the light emitting element is aligned between the first electrode and the second electrode, the second pad pattern, are directly on a same layer of the display device. The above arrangement of providing a pad portion including: at least one pad contact portion at the non-display portion, the pad portion, PA may include a pad electrode, PAD for supplying a signal voltage from an external power source to the TFT and the OLED, “E” of the device (LEE, [0015], [0038]).
Though KIM teaches a display device including a display area and a pad area, the display device comprising: the (1-1)th electrode and the (2-1)th electrode include a materials having a constant reflectivity, KIM as modified by LEE does not explicitly disclose a display area and a pad area, the display device comprising: the (1-1)th electrode and the (2-1)th electrode include a transparent conductive material.
KANG teaches in Figure 10, a display device (Figs. 3a-3b, LD, Light emitting device) including a display area (Fig. 4, DA, display area) and a pad area (Fig. 4, NDA, non-display area), the display device comprising:
the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 10, ALE11, [0221]) and the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 10, ALE21, [0221]) include a transparent conductive material ([0182-0184]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE to incorporate the teachings of KANG, such that a display device including a display area and a pad area, the display device comprising: the (1-1)th electrode and the (2-1)th electrode include a transparent conductive material, so that the light emitted from the first and second ends (EP1 and EP2) of each of the light emitting elements (LD) can be reflected by the first and second alignment electrodes (ALE1, ALE2) and further propagate toward the front direction of the display panel (PNL), accordingly the efficiency of the light emitted from light-emitting elements (LD) can be improved (KANG, [0184]).
Regarding Claim 3, KIM as modified by LEE and KANG teaches the display device of claim 1.
KANG further teaches, the display device (Figs. 3a-3b, LD, Light emitting device) of, wherein the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 10, ALE12, [0221]) and the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 10, ALE22, [0221]) include a reflective material ([0183-0184]) and reflect light emitted from the light emitting element (Fig. 10, LD).
Regarding Claim 4, KIM as modified by LEE and KANG teaches the display device of claim 1.
KIM further teaches, the display device (Figs. 1a, LD, Light emitting element), further comprising:
a first contact electrode (Fig. 5, CNL1, first connection wire) electrically connecting (annotated Figure 5) the first electrode (annotated Figure 5) and the light emitting element (Fig. 5, LD1); and
a second contact electrode (Fig. 5, CNL2, second connection wire) electrically connecting (annotated Figure 5) the second electrode (annotated Figure 5) and the light emitting element (Fig. 5, LD1), wherein
the first contact electrode (Fig. 10, CNE1, first contact electrode) is electrically connected (annotated Figure 5) to the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode), and
the second contact electrode (Fig. 10, CNE1, first contact electrode) is electrically connected (annotated Figure 5) to the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode).
Regarding Claim 9, KIM as modified by LEE and KANG teaches the display device of claim 1.
KANG further teaches, the display device (Figs. 3a-3b, LD, Light emitting device), further comprising:
an alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, EMA, [0190]) including an area in which the light emitting element (Figs. 6a/10, LD, [0190]) is disposed; and
a non-alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, PEA, [0216]) including an area in which the light emitting element (Figs. 6a/10, LD, [0190]) is not disposed ([0214-216]), wherein
the first electrode (Fig. 6a, ALE1) and the second electrode (Fig. 6a, ALE1) extend in a first direction (Fig. 6a, DR1),
the alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, EMA, [0190]) and the non-alignment area (Fig. 6a/10, PEA, [0216]) overlap each other in the first direction (annotated Figure 6a),
the (1-1)th electrode (Figs. 10/12a, ALE11) and the (1-2)th electrode (Figs. 10/12, ALE11) overlap each other (annotated Figures 12a) in the alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, EMA, [0190]), and do not overlap each other in the non-alignment area (Fig. 6a/10, PEA, [0216]) in a plan view (Figs. 6a/12a), and
the (2-1)th electrode (Figs. 10/12a, ALE21) and the (2-2)th (Figs. 10/12a, ALE22) electrode overlap each other (annotated Figures 6a/12a) in the alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, EMA, [0190]), and do not overlap each other in the non-alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, PEA, [0216]) in a plan view (Figs. 6a/12a).
Regarding Claim 10, KIM as modified by LEE and KANG teaches the display device of claim 9.
KANG further teaches, the display device (Figs. 3a-3b, LD, Light emitting device), further comprising an open area (Figs. 6a, OPN) disposed in the non-alignment area (Fig. 6a/10, PEA, [0216]),
wherein the first electrode (Fig. 6a, ALE1) and the second (Fig. 6a, ALE1) are not disposed in the open area (Figs. 6a, OPN).
Regarding Claim 21, KIM as modified by LEE and KANG teaches the display device of claim 4.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, OLED device, [0008]), wherein the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) overlaps at least a portion (annotated Figure 4) of the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 4).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of LEE, further in view of KANG, and further in view of Seung Chan Lee et al, (hereinafter LEE2), US 20200051966 A1.
Regarding Claim 5 KIM as modified by LEE and KANG teaches the display device (Figs. 3a-3b, LD, Light emitting device) of claim 1.
KIM as modified by LEE and KANG does not explicitly disclose the display device, wherein the first transistor electrode, the second transistor electrode and the first pattern include at least a conductive material such as metal. one of molybdenum (Mo), magnesium (Mg), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), and alloys thereof.
LEE2 teaches, the display device (Fig. 1, 10), wherein the first transistor electrode (Fig. 6, 109a, source electrode), the second transistor electrode (Fig. 6, 109b, gate electrode) and the first pattern (Fig. 6, 109c, first connection pattern) include at least a conductive material such as metal. one of molybdenum (Mo), magnesium (Mg), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), and alloys thereof ([0080]). It should be noted that substituting (Mo, Mg, Ag, Pt, Pd, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, Ti, Cu, Al, Li, Ca, W) for (Mo, Mg, Ag, Pt, Pd, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, Ti, Cu and Al) is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP2143).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE and KANG to incorporate the teachings of LEE2, such that a display device wherein the first transistor electrode, the second transistor electrode and the first pattern include at least a conductive material such as metal. one of molybdenum (Mo), magnesium (Mg), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), and alloys thereof. The conductive (metal/alloy) material thus provide electrical conduction between the transistor electrodes, connection patterns and the first and second electrodes (LEE, [0080]).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of LEE, further in view of KANG, and further in view of Sejune Kim et al, (hereinafter KIM2), US 20160351846 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, KIM as modified by LEE and KANG teaches the display device of claim 1.
KIM as modified by LEE and KANG does not explicitly disclose the display device, wherein: the second pad pattern includes a material different from a material of the (1-2)th and a material of the (2-2)th electrode, and the (1-1)th electrode, the (2-1)th electrode, and the second pad pattern include at least one of Indium Tin Oxide (ITO), Indium Zinc Oxide (IZO), and Indium Tin Zinc Oxide (ITZO).
KIM2 teaches the display device (Fig. 2, the organic light-emitting display apparatus, [0032]) of claim 1, wherein:
the second pad pattern (Fig. 3, 403, cover pad electrode) includes a material (transparent conductive material, ITO or the like, [0050-0054], [0091]) different from a material (alloy (MoTi) or molybdenum (Mo) and titanium (Ti), [0088]) of the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 3, 181, lower anode electrode) and a material (Ag, [0064]) of the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 3, 191, lower auxiliary electrode), and
the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 3, 183, cover anode electrode), the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 3, 193, cover auxiliary electrode), and the second pad pattern (Fig. 3, 403, cover pad electrode) include at least one of Indium Tin Oxide (ITO), Indium Zinc Oxide (IZO), and Indium Tin Zinc Oxide (ITZO) (transparent conductive material, ITO, [0091], [0059], [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE and KANG to incorporate the teachings of KIM2, such that the display device, wherein: the second pad pattern includes a material different from a material of the (1-2)th and a material of the (2-2)th electrode, and the (1-1)th electrode, the (2-1)th electrode, and the second pad pattern include at least one of Indium Tin Oxide (ITO), Indium Zinc Oxide (IZO), and Indium Tin Zinc Oxide (ITZO) so that the materials selected as mentioned above, may act as an adhesion enhancement layer or an anti-corrosion layer of the light emitting device (KIM2, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 7, KIM as modified by LEE and KANG teaches the display device of claim 1.
KIM as modified by LEE and KANG does not explicitly disclose the display device, wherein: the second pad pattern covers a side surface of the first pad pattern such that the first pad pattern is not exposed.
KIM2 teaches the display device (Fig. 2, the organic light-emitting display apparatus, [0032]), wherein: the second pad pattern (Fig. 3, 403, cover pad electrode) covers a side surface (annotated Figure 3) of the first pad pattern (Fig. 3, 401, first lower pad electrode) such that the first pad pattern is not exposed (annotated Figure 3, [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE and KANG to incorporate the teachings of KIM2, such that the display device, wherein: the second pad pattern covers a side surface of the first pad pattern such that the first pad pattern is not exposed, so that the cover pad electrode, 403 may be formed of a material having a stronger corrosion resistance than a material forming the first lower pad electrode, 401 thus act as a corrosion protection layer (KIM2, [0091]).
Regarding Claim 8, KIM as modified by LEE and KANG teaches the display device of claim 4.
KIM as modified by LEE and KANG does not explicitly disclose the display device, further comprising a third pad pattern electrically connected to the second pad pattern, the third pad pattern being disposed on the second pad pattern; and a fourth pad pattern electrically connected to the third pattern, the fourth pad pattern being disposed on the third pad pattern, wherein the first contact electrode and the third pad pattern include a same material, and the second contact electrode and the fourth pad pattern include a same material.
KIM2 teaches the display device (Fig. 2, the organic light-emitting display apparatus, [0032]), further comprising:
a third pad pattern (Fig. 3, 502, center pad electrode) electrically connected (annotated Figure 3) to the second pad pattern (Fig. 3, 403, cover pad electrode), the third pad pattern being disposed on the second pad pattern; and
a fourth pad pattern (Fig. 3, 503, second upper pad electrode) electrically connected to the third pattern (Fig. 3, 502, second center pad electrode), the fourth pad pattern being disposed on the third pad pattern, wherein
the first contact electrode (Fig. 3, 202/212, second center anode electrode/second center auxiliary electrode) and the third pad pattern (Fig. 3, 502, second center pad electrode) include a same material (metals like Cu/Ag, [0052], [0060], [0096]), and
the second contact electrode (Fig. 3, 203/213, second upper anode electrode/second upper auxiliary electrode) and the fourth pad pattern (Fig. 3, 503, second upper pad electrode) include a same material (transparent conductive material, ITO, [0050], [0061], [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE and KANG to incorporate the teachings of KIM2, such that the display device, further comprising a third pad pattern electrically connected to the second pad pattern, the third pad pattern being disposed on the second pad pattern; and a fourth pad pattern electrically connected to the third pattern, the fourth pad pattern being disposed on the third pad pattern, wherein the first contact electrode and the third pad pattern include a same material, and the second contact electrode and the fourth pad pattern include a same material, so that the pad electrode, 502 may be formed of the same material which has good corrosion resistance, the second center pad electrode, 502 may be prevented from being corroded (KIM2, [0097]).
Claim(s) 11-12, 23, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of KIM2.
Regarding Claim 11, LEE teaches a pad structure (Fig. 4, PAD, pad electrode, [0038]) comprising:
a first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]) disposed on a substrate (Fig. 4, 100, first substrate);
a second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) electrically connected ([0015], [0044]) to the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]), the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) being disposed on the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]);
an insulating layer (Fig. 4, 110, protective layer, [0037]) being not contacted (annotated Figure 4) with the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]), covering a portion of the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]), and comprising a contact hole (annotated Figure 4, [0037]) exposing ([0037], [0071]) the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]); and
a third pad pattern (Fig. 4, 136P, MoTi, [0052]) extending into the contact hole (annotated Figure 4, [0037]) of the insulating layer (Fig. 4, 110, protective layer, [0037]) and electrically connected (annotated Figure 4) to the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) through the contact hole (annotated Figure 4, [0037]) and the third pad pattern (Fig. 4, 136P, MoTi, [0052]) being disposed on the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]), wherein:
the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]) is planar (annotated Figure 4),
at least a portion (annotated Figure 4) of the insulating film (Fig. 4, 110, protective layer, [0037]) is between the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) and the third pad pattern (Fig. 4, 136P, MoTi, [0052]), and
an upper surface (annotated Figure 4) of the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) is directly adjacent (annotated Figure 4) to the contact hole (annotated Figure 4, [0037]).
LEE does not explicitly disclose a pad structure comprising: the second pad pattern includes a transparent conductive material and covers a side surface of the first pad pattern such that the first pad pattern is not exposed.
KIM2 teaches in Figure 3, a pad structure (Fig. 3, 400/500, first/second pad electrode) comprising:
the second pad pattern includes a transparent conductive material (ITO or the like transparent conductive material, [0091]) and the second pad pattern being disposed on the first pad pattern and covers a side surface of the first pad pattern such that the first pad pattern is not exposed (annotated Figure 3, [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified LEE to incorporate the teachings of KIM2, such that a pad structure comprising: the second pad pattern includes a transparent conductive material and covers a side surface of the first pad pattern such that the first pad pattern is not exposed, so that the cover pad electrode, 403 may be formed of a material having a stronger corrosion resistance than a material forming the first lower pad electrode, 401 thus act as a corrosion protection layer (KIM2, [0091]).
Regarding Claim 12, LEE as modified by KIM2 teaches the pad structure of claim 11.
KIM2 further teaches in Figure 3, the pad structure (Fig. 3, 400/500, first/second pad electrode), further comprising:
a fourth pad pattern (Fig. 3, 503, second upper pad electrode) electrically connected to the third pattern (Fig. 3, 502, second center pad electrode), the fourth pad pattern being disposed on the third pad pattern, wherein
the third pad pattern and the fourth pad pattern include a transparent conductive material (the second upper anode electrode, 203 may be formed of a transparent conductive material, such as ITO or the like, 0061; the second upper pad electrode, 503 may be formed of the same material as that of the second upper anode electrode, 203, 0096]; [the second center anode electrode, 202 may be formed of a material, such as an alloy (MoTi) which are good in reflectivity, [0094]; the second center pad electrode, 502 may be formed of the same material as that of the second center anode electrode, 202, [0096]). (Note: it should be noted that substituting (transparent conductive material, e.g. ITO) for (reflective material, e.g. MoTi) is a simple substitution of one known element/compound for another to obtain predictable results [See MPEP2143]).
Regarding Claim 23, LEE as modified by KIM2 further teaches the pad structure of claim 11.
LEE further teaches a pad structure (Fig. 4, PAD, pad electrode, [0038]), wherein the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) comprises a lower surface (annotated Figure 4) directly contacting (annotated Figure 4) an upper surface of the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]).
Regarding Claim 26, LEE as modified by KIM2 further teaches the pad structure of claim 11.
LEE further teaches a pad structure (Fig. 4, PAD, pad electrode, [0038]), further comprising: a third pad pattern (Fig. 4, 136P, MoTi, [0052]) electrically connected (annotated Figure 4) to the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]), the third pad pattern (Fig. 4, 136P, MoTi, [0052]) being overlapping (annotated Figure 4) the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) in a thickness direction (annotated Figure 4) and extending beyond (annotated Figure 4) the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]) and the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) in a second direction (annotated Figure 4) intersecting the thickness direction (annotated Figure 4).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of LEE, further in view of KANG, and further in view of Jonghyeok Im et al, (hereinafter IM), US 20190097161 A1.
Regarding Claim 22, KIM as modified by LEE and KANG teaches the display device of claim 1.
KIM as modified by LEE and KANG does not explicitly disclose the display device, wherein a lower surface of the second pad pattern directly contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the first pad pattern in their entirety.
IM teaches in Figure 11J, the display device (Fig. 3, OLED display device, [0034]) of claim 1, wherein a lower surface (annotated Figure 11J) of the second pad pattern (Fig. 11J, 519c, third upper sustaining electrode layer, [0439]) directly contacts (annotated Figure 11J) an upper surface and a side surface of the first pad pattern in their entirety (Fig. 11J, 519b/519a, second/first upper sustaining electrode layer, [0439]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE and KANG to incorporate the teachings of IM, such that the display device, wherein a lower surface of the second pad pattern directly contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the first pad pattern in their entirety. This arrangement of planar geometry of the first/second upper sustaining electrode layer (519a/519b) having low resistive material such as Cu, encapsulated with the corrosive resistant third upper sustaining electrode layer (519c), thus protect the first/second upper sustaining electrode layer (519a/519b) from exposing to the passivation layer (515c), moisture and oxygen in spite of the third upper sustaining layer is (519c) is being exposed to the exterior (IM, [0439-0443]).
Claim(s) 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LEE, in view of KIM2, and further in view of IM.
Regarding Claim 24, LEE as modified by KIM2 teaches the pad structure of claim 23.
LEE as modified by KIM2 does not explicitly disclose the pad structure, wherein the lower surface of the second pad pattern directly contacts the side surface of the first pad pattern.
IM teaches in Figure 11J, the pad structure (Fig. 11J, 519, pad electrodes, [0021]) of claim 23, wherein the lower surface (annotated Figure 11J) of the second pad pattern (Fig. 11J, 519c, third upper sustaining electrode layer, [0439]) directly contacts (annotated Figure 11J) the side surface of the first pad pattern (Fig. 11J, 519b/519a, second/first upper sustaining electrode layer, [0439]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have LEE as modified by KIM2 to incorporate the teachings of IM, such that the pad structure, wherein the lower surface of the second pad pattern directly contacts the side surface of the first pad pattern. This arrangement of planar geometry of the first/second upper sustaining electrode layer (519a/519b) having low resistive material such as Cu, encapsulated with the corrosive resistant third upper sustaining electrode layer (519c), thus protect the first/second upper sustaining electrode layer (519a/519b) from exposing to the passivation layer (515c), moisture and oxygen in spite of the third upper sustaining layer is (519c) is being exposed to the exterior (IM, [0439-0443]).
Regarding Claim 25, LEE as modified by KIM2 and IM teaches the pad structure of claim 24.
IM further teaches in Figure 11J, a pad structure (Fig. 11J, 519, pad electrodes, [0021]) of claim 24, wherein the lower surface (annotated Figure 11J) of the second pad pattern (Fig. 11J, 519c, third upper sustaining electrode layer, [0439]) directly contacts (annotated Figure 11J), in their entirety, the upper surface and the side surface of the first pad pattern (Fig. 11J, 519b/519a, second/first upper sustaining electrode layer, [0439]).
Conclusion
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 /CHRISTINE S. KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2812