DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Amendment
The amendment with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, and 11 filed on 8/19/2026 have been fully considered for examination based on their merits. The previously presented claim(s) 3, 5-7, 9-10, 12, 21-26 have been considered. Claim(s) 2, and 4 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 10-13, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) 1, and its dependent claims, 3, 5-10, and 21-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of KO.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, pages 13-15, filed 06/02/2026, with respect to independent claim(s) 11, and its dependent claims, 12, and 23-26 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim(s) 12, and 23-26 have been withdrawn.
Regarding Independent Claim 1. The Applicant argues (see Remarks, pages 11-12) that KIM fails to disclose or suggest the amended features of claim 1, now recites, “a first contact electrode electrically…light emitting element; and a second contact electrode electrically…light emitting element, wherein the first contact electrode…(1-2)th electrode, and the second contact electrode…the (2-2)th electrode.” The Examiner agrees that the arguments are persuasive and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as mentioned in the above paragraph.
For instance, the prior-art of KO teaches a display device (Fig. 1, 100) including a display area (Fig.1, 110, display panel), the display device (Fig. 1, 100) comprising: a first contact electrode (Fig. 3B, CNE1, first connection electrode) electrically connecting ([0089], [0094], [0096]) the first electrode (Fig. 3B, E1) and the light emitting element (Fig. 3B, ED); and a second contact electrode (Fig. 3B, CNE2, second connection electrode) electrically connecting ([0089], [0094], [0096]) the second electrode (Fig. 3B, E2) and the light emitting element (Fig. 3B, ED), wherein the first contact electrode (Fig. 3B, CNE1, first connection electrode) is on the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 3B, CPE1, first capping electrode) and is electrically connected ([0089], [0094], [0096]) to the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 3B, CPE1, first capping electrode), and the second contact electrode (Fig. 3B, CNE2, second connection electrode) is on the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 3B, CPE2, second capping electrode) and is electrically connected ([0089], [0094], [0096]) to the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 3B, CPE2, second capping electrode).
Regarding Claims 3, 5-10, and 21-22. The dependent claims 3, 5-10, and 21-22 follow similar arguments as Claim 1, upon further consideration, a new-grounds of rejection is made based on the prior-art mentioned above.
Regarding Independent Claim 11. The Applicant argues (see Remarks, pages 13-14) that none of the prior art disclose or suggest the amended features to claim 11, now recites, “a pad structure comprising: the first pad pattern has a planar upper surface and side surface, a lowermost surface of the third pad pattern…second pad pattern, and…continuously covers the planar…side surface of the first pad pattern.” The Examiner agrees that the arguments are persuasive and therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn.
Regarding Claims 12, and 23-26. The dependent claims 12, 23-26 follow similar arguments as Claim 11, and therefore the rejection has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 9-10, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daehyun Kim et al, (hereinafter KIM), KR 102524569 B1, in view of Seung Hyun Lee et al, (hereinafter LEE), US 20150147831 A1, Sin Chul Kang et al (hereinafter KANG), WO 2020111413 A1, and Seungcheol Ko et al, (hereinafter KO), US 20200152835 A1.
Regarding Claim 1, KIM teaches, a display device (Figs. 1a, LD, Light emitting element) including a display area (Fig. 2, DA, display area) and a pad area (Fig. 2, NDA, non-display area), the display device (Figs. 1a, LD, Light emitting element) comprising:
a first electrode (annotated Figure 5) and a second electrode (annotated Figure 5) disposed on a substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer) in the display area (Fig. 2, DA), the first electrode (annotated Figure 5) and the second electrode (annotated Figure 5) being spaced apart from each other along a widthwise direction (annotated Figure 5) of the substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer);
a transistor (Fig. 5, T1) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer) in the display area (Fig. 2, DA), the transistor (Fig. 5, T1) being electrically connected (annotated Fig. 5) to the first electrode (annotated Figure 5), and including a first transistor electrode (Fig. 5, DE of T1, drain electrode) and a second transistor electrode (Fig. 5, DE of T2, drain electrode);
a light emitting element (Fig. 5, LD1) disposed on the first electrode (annotated Figure 5) and the second electrode (annotated Figure 5); and
a power line (Figs. 3c/5, VSS/VDD/DVL, first/second driving power supply/driving voltage line, [0152]) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer), the power line (Fig. 3, VSS/VDD, first/second driving power supply, [0069]) supplying power to the light emitting element (Fig. 5, LD1), wherein:
the first electrode (annotated Figure 5) includes a (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) and a (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE1_1, 1-1st electrode) disposed on the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) in a thickness direction (Fig. 6, DR2) such that the (1-1)th electrode Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) is between the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE1_1, 1-1st electrode) and the substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer),
the second electrode (annotated Figure 5) includes a (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) and a (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE2, second contact electrode) disposed on the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) in the thickness direction (Fig. 6, DR2) such that the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) is between the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE2, second contact electrode) and the substrate (Fig. 5, BSL, Base Layer),
the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) and the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) include a transparent conductive material (REL1 (or REL1-1) and REL2 may be made of a materials having a constant reflectivity, [0134]),
the light emitting element (Fig. 5, LD1) is aligned between the first electrode (annotated Figure 5) and the second electrode (annotated Figure 5), the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode), and the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) are directly on a same layer (annotated Figure 5) of the display device (Figs. 1a, LD, Light emitting element),
the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) extends further (annotated Figure 5) than the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE1_1, 1-1st electrode) in the widthwise direction (Fig. 6, DR1), and the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) extends further (annotated Figure 5) than the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE2, second contact electrode) in the widthwise direction (Fig. 6, DR1),
the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode) is electrically connected (annotated Figure 5) to the transistor (Fig. 5, T1) through a first contact part (Fig. 5, CNL1, first connection wire) which does not contact (annotated Figure 5) the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE1_1, 1-1st electrode),
the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode) is electrically connected (annotated Figure 5) to the power line (Figs. 5, DVL, driving voltage line, [0152]) through a second contact part (Fig. 5, CNL2, second connection wire) which does not contact (annotated Figure 5) the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE2, second contact electrode), and
the first contact part (Fig. 5, CNL1, first connection wire) and the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE1_1, 1-1st electrode) are not overlapped each other (annotated Figure 5) in the thickness direction (Fig. 6, DR2), and the second contact part (Fig. 5, CNL2, second connection wire) and the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 5, CNE2, second contact electrode) are not overlapped each other (annotated Figure 5) in the thickness direction (Fig. 6, DR2).
KIM does not explicitly disclose the display device comprising: a pad structure disposed on the substrate in the pad area, the pad structure including a first pad pattern and a second pad pattern disposed on the first pad pattern, the second pad pattern being electrically connected to the first pad pattern; and the first pad pattern, the first transistor electrode, and the second transistor electrode include a same material, the second pad pattern, the (1-1)th electrode, and the (2-1)th electrode include a same material, and the light emitting element is aligned between the first electrode and the second electrode, the second pad pattern, are directly on a same layer of the display device.
LEE teaches a display device (Fig. 1, OLED device, [0008]) including a display area (Fig. 1, DA, display portion) and a pad area (Fig. 1, PA, pad portion), the display device (Figs. 1a, LD, Light emitting element) comprising:
a pad structure (Fig. 4, PAD, pad electrode, [0038]) disposed on the substrate (Fig. 4, 100, first substrate) in the pad area (Fig. 4, PA, pad portion), the pad structure (Fig. 4, PAD, pad electrode, [0038]) including a first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]) and a second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) disposed on the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]), the second pad pattern being (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) electrically connected ([0015], [0044]) to the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]); and
the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]), the first transistor electrode (Fig. 2, 103, TFT gate electrode, [0032]), and the second transistor electrode (Fig. 6A, TFT gate electrode) include a same material,
the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]), the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 2, 101b, source area, [0033]), and the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 2, 101b, source area, [0033]) include a same material, and
the light emitting element (Fig. 6A, E, OLED, [0044]) is aligned the second pad pattern (Figs. 6A/4, PA, pad portion), are directly on a same layer (annotated Figure 6A) of the display device (Fig. 1, OLED device, [0008]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have modified KIM to incorporate the teachings of LEE, such that a display device including a display area and a pad area, the display device comprising: a pad structure disposed on the substrate in the pad area, the pad structure including a first pad pattern and a second pad pattern disposed on the first pad pattern, the second pad pattern being electrically connected to the first pad pattern; and the first pad pattern, the first transistor electrode, and the second transistor electrode include a same material, the second pad pattern, the (1-1)th electrode, and the (2-1)th electrode include a same material, and the light emitting element is aligned between the first electrode and the second electrode, the second pad pattern, are directly on a same layer of the display device. The above arrangement of providing a pad portion including: at least one pad contact portion at the non-display portion, the pad portion, PA may include a pad electrode, PAD for supplying a signal voltage from an external power source to the TFT and the OLED, “E” of the device (LEE, [0015], [0038]).
Though KIM teaches a display device including a display area and a pad area, the display device comprising: the (1-1)th electrode and the (2-1)th electrode include a materials having a constant reflectivity, KIM as modified by LEE does not explicitly disclose a display area and a pad area, the display device comprising: the (1-1)th electrode and the (2-1)th electrode include a transparent conductive material.
KANG teaches in Figure 10, a display device (Figs. 3a-3b, LD, Light emitting device) including a display area (Fig. 4, DA, display area) and a pad area (Fig. 4, NDA, non-display area), the display device comprising:
the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 10, ALE11, [0221]) and the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 10, ALE21, [0221]) include a transparent conductive material ([0182-0184]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE to incorporate the teachings of KANG, such that a display device including a display area and a pad area, the display device comprising: the (1-1)th electrode and the (2-1)th electrode include a transparent conductive material, so that the light emitted from the first and second ends (EP1 and EP2) of each of the light emitting elements (LD) can be reflected by the first and second alignment electrodes (ALE1, ALE2) and further propagate toward the front direction of the display panel (PNL), accordingly the efficiency of the light emitted from light-emitting elements (LD) can be improved (KANG, [0184]).
KIM as modified by LEE and KANG does not explicitly disclose a display device including a display area, the display device comprising: a first contact electrode electrically connecting the first electrode and the light emitting element; and a second contact electrode electrically connecting the second electrode and the light emitting element, wherein the first contact electrode is on the (1-2)th electrode and is electrically connected to the (1-2)th electrode, and the second contact electrode is on the (2-2)th electrode and is electrically connected to the (2-2)th electrode.
KO teaches a display device (Fig. 1, 100) including a display area (Fig.1, 110, display panel), the display device (Fig. 1, 100) comprising:
a first contact electrode (Fig. 3B, CNE1, first connection electrode) electrically connecting ([0089], [0094], [0096]) the first electrode (Fig. 3B, E1) and the light emitting element (Fig. 3B, ED); and
a second contact electrode (Fig. 3B, CNE2, second connection electrode) electrically connecting ([0089], [0094], [0096]) the second electrode (Fig. 3B, E2) and the light emitting element (Fig. 3B, ED), wherein
the first contact electrode (Fig. 3B, CNE1, first connection electrode) is on the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 3B, CPE1, first capping electrode) and is electrically connected ([0089], [0094], [0096]) to the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 3B, CPE1, first capping electrode), and
the second contact electrode (Fig. 3B, CNE2, second connection electrode) is on the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 3B, CPE2, second capping electrode) and is electrically connected ([0089], [0094], [0096]) to the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 3B, CPE2, second capping electrode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE and KANG to incorporate the teachings of KO, such that a display device including a display area, the display device comprising: a first contact electrode electrically connecting the first electrode and the light emitting element; and a second contact electrode electrically connecting the second electrode and the light emitting element, wherein the first contact electrode is on the (1-2)th electrode and is electrically connected to the (1-2)th electrode, and the second contact electrode is on the (2-2)th electrode and is electrically connected to the (2-2)th electrode. The light emitting element, ED, may be electrically connected to the first electrode, E1 by the first connection electrode, CNE1 and to the second electrode, E2 by the second connection electrode, CNE2, so that the arrangement improves the reliability of the display device (KO, [0096], [0195]).
Regarding Claim 3, KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO teaches the display device of claim 1.
KANG further teaches, the display device (Figs. 3a-3b, LD, Light emitting device) of, wherein the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 10, ALE12, [0221]) and the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 10, ALE22, [0221]) include a reflective material ([0183-0184]) and reflect light emitted from the light emitting element (Fig. 10, LD).
Regarding Claim 4, KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO teaches the display device of claim 1.
KIM further teaches, the display device (Figs. 1a, LD, Light emitting element), further comprising:
a first contact electrode (Fig. 5, CNL1, first connection wire) electrically connecting (annotated Figure 5) the first electrode (annotated Figure 5) and the light emitting element (Fig. 5, LD1); and
a second contact electrode (Fig. 5, CNL2, second connection wire) electrically connecting (annotated Figure 5) the second electrode (annotated Figure 5) and the light emitting element (Fig. 5, LD1), wherein
the first contact electrode (Fig. 10, CNE1, first contact electrode) is electrically connected (annotated Figure 5) to the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL1_1, 1-1-1 electrode), and
the second contact electrode (Fig. 10, CNE1, first contact electrode) is electrically connected (annotated Figure 5) to the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 5, REL2, second electrode).
Regarding Claim 9, KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO teaches the display device of claim 1.
KANG further teaches, the display device (Figs. 3a-3b, LD, Light emitting device), further comprising:
an alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, EMA, [0190]) including an area in which the light emitting element (Figs. 6a/10, LD, [0190]) is disposed; and
a non-alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, PEA, [0216]) including an area in which the light emitting element (Figs. 6a/10, LD, [0190]) is not disposed ([0214-216]), wherein
the first electrode (Fig. 6a, ALE1) and the second electrode (Fig. 6a, ALE1) extend in a first direction (Fig. 6a, DR1),
the alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, EMA, [0190]) and the non-alignment area (Fig. 6a/10, PEA, [0216]) overlap each other in the first direction (annotated Figure 6a),
the (1-1)th electrode (Figs. 10/12a, ALE11) and the (1-2)th electrode (Figs. 10/12, ALE11) overlap each other (annotated Figures 12a) in the alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, EMA, [0190]), and do not overlap each other in the non-alignment area (Fig. 6a/10, PEA, [0216]) in a plan view (Figs. 6a/12a), and
the (2-1)th electrode (Figs. 10/12a, ALE21) and the (2-2)th (Figs. 10/12a, ALE22) electrode overlap each other (annotated Figures 6a/12a) in the alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, EMA, [0190]), and do not overlap each other in the non-alignment area (Figs. 6a/10, PEA, [0216]) in a plan view (Figs. 6a/12a).
Regarding Claim 10, KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO teaches the display device of claim 9.
KANG further teaches, the display device (Figs. 3a-3b, LD, Light emitting device), further comprising an open area (Figs. 6a, OPN) disposed in the non-alignment area (Fig. 6a/10, PEA, [0216]),
wherein the first electrode (Fig. 6a, ALE1) and the second (Fig. 6a, ALE1) are not disposed in the open area (Figs. 6a, OPN).
Regarding Claim 21, KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO teaches the display device of claim 4.
LEE further teaches the display device (Fig. 1, OLED device, [0008]), wherein the second pad pattern (Fig. 4, 105P, S/D material, [0051]) overlaps at least a portion (annotated Figure 4) of the first pad pattern (Fig. 4, 103P, gate pad, [0051]) in the thickness direction (annotated Figure 4).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of LEE, KANG, and KO as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 9-10, 21 as above, and further in view of Seung Chan Lee et al, (hereinafter LEE2), US 20200051966 A1.
Regarding Claim 5 KIM as modified by LEE, KANG, and KO teaches the display device of claim 1.
KIM as modified by LEE, KANG, and KO does not explicitly disclose the display device, wherein the first transistor electrode, the second transistor electrode and the first pattern include at least a conductive material such as metal. one of molybdenum (Mo), magnesium (Mg), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), and alloys thereof.
LEE2 teaches, the display device (Fig. 1, 10), wherein the first transistor electrode (Fig. 6, 109a, source electrode), the second transistor electrode (Fig. 6, 109b, gate electrode) and the first pattern (Fig. 6, 109c, first connection pattern) include at least a conductive material such as metal. one of molybdenum (Mo), magnesium (Mg), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), and alloys thereof ([0080]). It should be noted that substituting (Mo, Mg, Ag, Pt, Pd, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, Ti, Cu, Al, Li, Ca, W) for (Mo, Mg, Ag, Pt, Pd, Au, Ni, Nd, Ir, Cr, Ti, Cu and Al) is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results (See MPEP2143).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE, KANG, and KO to incorporate the teachings of LEE2, such that a display device wherein the first transistor electrode, the second transistor electrode and the first pattern include at least a conductive material such as metal. one of molybdenum (Mo), magnesium (Mg), silver (Ag), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), gold (Au), nickel (Ni), neodymium (Nd), iridium (Ir), chromium (Cr), titanium (Ti), copper (Cu), aluminum (Al), and alloys thereof. The conductive (metal/alloy) material thus provide electrical conduction between the transistor electrodes, connection patterns and the first and second electrodes (LEE2, [0080]).
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of LEE, KANG, and KO as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 9-10, 21 as above, and further in view of Sejune Kim et al, (hereinafter KIM2), US 20160351846 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO teaches the display device of claim 1.
KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO does not explicitly disclose the display device, wherein: the second pad pattern includes a material different from a material of the (1-2)th and a material of the (2-2)th electrode, and the (1-1)th electrode, the (2-1)th electrode, and the second pad pattern include at least one of Indium Tin Oxide (ITO), Indium Zinc Oxide (IZO), and Indium Tin Zinc Oxide (ITZO).
KIM2 teaches the display device (Fig. 2, the organic light-emitting display apparatus, [0032]) of claim 1, wherein:
the second pad pattern (Fig. 3, 403, cover pad electrode) includes a material (transparent conductive material, ITO or the like, [0050-0054], [0091]) different from a material (alloy (MoTi) or molybdenum (Mo) and titanium (Ti), [0088]) of the (1-2)th electrode (Fig. 3, 181, lower anode electrode) and a material (Ag, [0064]) of the (2-2)th electrode (Fig. 3, 191, lower auxiliary electrode), and
the (1-1)th electrode (Fig. 3, 183, cover anode electrode), the (2-1)th electrode (Fig. 3, 193, cover auxiliary electrode), and the second pad pattern (Fig. 3, 403, cover pad electrode) include at least one of Indium Tin Oxide (ITO), Indium Zinc Oxide (IZO), and Indium Tin Zinc Oxide (ITZO) (transparent conductive material, ITO, [0091], [0059], [0061]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO to incorporate the teachings of KIM2, such that the display device, wherein: the second pad pattern includes a material different from a material of the (1-2)th and a material of the (2-2)th electrode, and the (1-1)th electrode, the (2-1)th electrode, and the second pad pattern include at least one of Indium Tin Oxide (ITO), Indium Zinc Oxide (IZO), and Indium Tin Zinc Oxide (ITZO) so that the materials selected as mentioned above, may act as an adhesion enhancement layer or an anti-corrosion layer of the light emitting device (KIM2, [0038]).
Regarding Claim 7, KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO teaches the display device of claim 1.
KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO does not explicitly disclose the display device, wherein: the second pad pattern covers a side surface of the first pad pattern such that the first pad pattern is not exposed.
KIM2 teaches the display device (Fig. 2, the organic light-emitting display apparatus, [0032]), wherein: the second pad pattern (Fig. 3, 403, cover pad electrode) covers a side surface (annotated Figure 3) of the first pad pattern (Fig. 3, 401, first lower pad electrode) such that the first pad pattern is not exposed (annotated Figure 3, [0091]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO to incorporate the teachings of KIM2, such that the display device, wherein: the second pad pattern covers a side surface of the first pad pattern such that the first pad pattern is not exposed, so that the cover pad electrode, 403 may be formed of a material having a stronger corrosion resistance than a material forming the first lower pad electrode, 401 thus act as a corrosion protection layer (KIM2, [0091]).
Regarding Claim 8, KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO teaches the display device of claim 4.
KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO does not explicitly disclose the display device, further comprising a third pad pattern electrically connected to the second pad pattern, the third pad pattern being disposed on the second pad pattern; and a fourth pad pattern electrically connected to the third pattern, the fourth pad pattern being disposed on the third pad pattern, wherein the first contact electrode and the third pad pattern include a same material, and the second contact electrode and the fourth pad pattern include a same material.
KIM2 teaches the display device (Fig. 2, the organic light-emitting display apparatus, [0032]), further comprising:
a third pad pattern (Fig. 3, 502, center pad electrode) electrically connected (annotated Figure 3) to the second pad pattern (Fig. 3, 403, cover pad electrode), the third pad pattern being disposed on the second pad pattern; and
a fourth pad pattern (Fig. 3, 503, second upper pad electrode) electrically connected to the third pattern (Fig. 3, 502, second center pad electrode), the fourth pad pattern being disposed on the third pad pattern, wherein
the first contact electrode (Fig. 3, 202/212, second center anode electrode/second center auxiliary electrode) and the third pad pattern (Fig. 3, 502, second center pad electrode) include a same material (metals like Cu/Ag, [0052], [0060], [0096]), and
the second contact electrode (Fig. 3, 203/213, second upper anode electrode/second upper auxiliary electrode) and the fourth pad pattern (Fig. 3, 503, second upper pad electrode) include a same material (transparent conductive material, ITO, [0050], [0061], [0096]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO to incorporate the teachings of KIM2, such that the display device, further comprising a third pad pattern electrically connected to the second pad pattern, the third pad pattern being disposed on the second pad pattern; and a fourth pad pattern electrically connected to the third pattern, the fourth pad pattern being disposed on the third pad pattern, wherein the first contact electrode and the third pad pattern include a same material, and the second contact electrode and the fourth pad pattern include a same material, so that the pad electrode, 502 may be formed of the same material which has good corrosion resistance, the second center pad electrode, 502 may be prevented from being corroded (KIM2, [0097]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM, in view of LEE, KANG, and KO as applied to claims 1, 3-4, 9-10, 21 as above, and further in view of Jonghyeok Im et al, (hereinafter IM), US 20190097161 A1.
Regarding Claim 22, KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO teaches the display device of claim 1.
KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO does not explicitly disclose the display device, wherein a lower surface of the second pad pattern directly contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the first pad pattern in their entirety.
IM teaches in Figure 11J, the display device (Fig. 3, OLED display device, [0034]) of claim 1, wherein a lower surface (annotated Figure 11J) of the second pad pattern (Fig. 11J, 519c, third upper sustaining electrode layer, [0439]) directly contacts (annotated Figure 11J) an upper surface and a side surface of the first pad pattern in their entirety (Fig. 11J, 519b/519a, second/first upper sustaining electrode layer, [0439]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to have KIM as modified by LEE, KANG and KO to incorporate the teachings of IM, such that the display device, wherein a lower surface of the second pad pattern directly contacts an upper surface and a side surface of the first pad pattern in their entirety. This arrangement of planar geometry of the first/second upper sustaining electrode layer (519a/519b) having low resistive material such as Cu, encapsulated with the corrosive resistant third upper sustaining electrode layer (519c), thus protect the first/second upper sustaining electrode layer (519a/519b) from exposing to the passivation layer (515c), moisture and oxygen in spite of the third upper sustaining layer is (519c) is being exposed to the exterior (IM, [0439-0443]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 11-12, and 23-26 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Independent Claim 11. Seung Hyun Lee et al, (hereinafter LEE), and Sejune Kim et al, (hereinafter KIM2), US 20160351846 A1, are the closes prior art of record that teaches a pad structure of a display device.
The cited prior art of record, either singly or in proper combination, does not teach or make obvious, along with the other claimed features, more specifically the amended limitations to claim 11, now recites, “a pad structure comprising: the first pad pattern has a upper surface and side surface, a lowermost surface of the third pattern contacts an uppermost surface of the second pad pattern, and the second pad pattern directly and continuously covers the planar upper surface and the side surface of the first pad pattern.”
The cited art fails to disclose a pad structure comprising: a first pad pattern disposed on a substrate; a second pad pattern electrically connected to the first pad pattern, the second pad pattern being disposed on the first pad pattern; an insulating layer being not contacted with the first pad pattern, covering a portion of the second pad pattern, and comprising a contact hole exposing the second pad pattern; and a third pad pattern extending into the contact hole of the insulating layer and electrically connected to the second pad pattern through the contact hole and the third pad pattern being disposed on the second pad pattern, wherein: the second pad pattern includes a transparent conductive material and covers a side surface of the first pad pattern such that the first pad pattern is not exposed, the first pad pattern has a planar upper surface and side surface, at least a portion of the insulating film is between the second pad pattern and the third pad pattern, an upper surface of the second pad pattern is directly adjacent to the contact hole, a lowermost surface of the third pad pattern contacts an uppermost surface of the second pad pattern, and the second pad pattern directly and continuously covers the planar upper surface and the side surface of the first pad pattern.
More specifically, the prior art lacks the teaching of an amended features, “a pad structure comprising: the first pad pattern has a upper surface and side surface, a lowermost surface of the third pattern contacts an uppermost surface of the second pad pattern, and the second pad pattern directly and continuously covers the planar upper surface and the side surface of the first pad pattern.”
Claim(s) 12, and 23-26 depend on claim 11, and are allowed for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200144453 A1 – Figure 5
STATEMENT OF RELEVANCE – The first contact electrode, CTE1 and the second contact electrode, CTE2, are electrically connected the light emitting element, ED and first protruding electrode, PE1 and the second protruding electrode, PE2 respectively.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SESHA SAIRAMAN SRINIVASAN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/MARLON T FLETCHER/ Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817